paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on HampsterFist's Review / Comments on HampsterFist's Review / Comments on HampsterFist's Review / Comments on HampsterFist's Review

Comments on HampsterFist's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

HampsterFist Monday, June 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month51 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Dragun E-1 - Stainless Steel Turbo Valve, Lapco Cup Seal, M3 Barrel Kit , CIP Dragun Full Force Delrin Bolt, CIP Dragun Sweet Spot Trigger Flat, CIP High Volume Cell, CMI R2000 linked to an ACI Sub-Zero 4stg X-Chamber, Java High Pressure Coiled Remote, 20oz Pure Energy Co2 Tank, Ricochet AK

32* PT Xtreme - Spyder Spring Guide, Modified Spyder main spring
Strengths: I purchased ths hopper from Check-It Paintball in Santa Ana, California, and have not been dissapointed in it. The Ricochet AK is the R2k, just stripped down, lacking all the unneccessary gizmo's that you don't really need. The AK is very effecient for what it is, as it feeds around 12 a second with a small +/- variable, and works only off of a 9 volt. Which means this 9v hopper will keep up woth a View Loader 12v Revy, and is more affordable, and effecient. For the single 9v battery that powers it, life expectancy on box is around 5,000 to 6,000 rounds. The newer Ricochets require you to sand down the neck to fit your marker. It is possible to over sand so be careful, however if you do over sand, Ricochet stands by its products and will send you a new shell.
Weaknesses: You have to get used to loading it from the top, but doesn't take long to get the hang of it. I don't see anything wrong with the hopper, I have had no negative experiences with it, however I can see possible bad things, such as over sanding the neck when trying to fit it to your marker, but its not really bad since you can get the shell replaced for free if you over sand it.
Conclusion: Here's the verdict
-170 round capacity
-9 volt operation feeding at an average of 12 bps
-Ball Deflecting design actually works, so long as you don't get hit on the side, or on the lid
-$59.95 in most stores
-Looks Beautiful

If you look at that, and look at the more expensive 12 volt Revvy's, it isn't too hard to make a choice in what loader to buy. Its the most bang for your buck. Only difference between this and the Rev, is that the Rev has an aftermarket following. Just give it some time, and you may see upgrades for your Ricochet AK's, and for the R2K's. I give it a 9 for reliability, effeciency, feed speed, and cosmetics.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
sonnemann Monday, October 6th, 2003 | 5:02 pm PST
i dunno what the prices were like then but now revvies are only 44 new and these are 55 new.
   

jonbob Monday, November 10th, 2003 | 6:57 pm PST
Dude, it's still worth it to pay the extra 10 bucks and get a loader that won't break at the feed neck, not to mention the money you'll save in 9 volts.
   

sonnemann Tuesday, November 11th, 2003 | 12:10 pm PST
yeah, ok, too bad the new revvys are slowly being sold with the good shells, and the ricos are made of the worst plastic in the industry. check warpig, it's true. Plus, Revvy 9v last longer because it agitates when it senses a gap, not on every shot (the revvy's only downfall.) Notice, all the pros that aren't using eggs or halos yeat are using revvys, not ricos. so hah.
   

jonbob Monday, November 17th, 2003 | 5:40 pm PST
Out of curiosity, where on warpig does it say that ricochet uses the worst plastic in the industry? Because I haven't found anything in their reviews...
   

sonnemann Tuesday, November 18th, 2003 | 12:12 pm PST
ok i cant fined it either but just look at all the forums on the main pb sites (this one included) and youll find it
plus its true like you can mark AK plastic with a fingernail and not a revyy one
   

jonbob Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 | 8:47 am PST
Hmmm... I still can't find very much about weak rico shells, but I did notice Warpig's test where they hung 20 lbs of weight from a rico upside down and they didn't say it broke. Anyway, even if rico does use cheap plastic they don't seem to mind replacing cracked shells, but I've heard several instances of Revvy owners having to buy new ones.
   

sonnemann Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 | 12:08 pm PST
it's just another of the never-ending paintball debates.
open vs. closed bolt
angel vs. tricked cocker
spyder vs tippmann
revvy vs rico vs reloader
...and so on. neither side can win because the superiority of either one depends solely upon personal opinion and preference.
And, I hate to keep the argument going, but if Rico shells are replaced for free by Ricochet, then why do stores and online stores sell replacement rico shells?...they wouldn't make any money if rico shells were free...
   

Danman69 Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003 | 7:42 am PST
i got shot straight on the side of the ak on a cold day and it didnt break or crack
   

jdolla Monday, December 15th, 2003 | 1:13 pm PST
If the price of a Ricochet AK is the biggest turnoff, you can find it on ebay for 40 bucks (new), plus six bucks shipping.
   

intruder_89 Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 4:30 pm PST
allow me to set the record straight
1.closed bolt is better than open bolt
2.autocockers are better than angels
3.spyder is better than tippmann
4.revy's are better than ricochets
   

Be0da0o Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 9:52 pm PST
dont bash me here, but i really dont like this hopper. it broke the feed tube on me when it fell off my gun, so i got a 12vt.....it is a heck of alot more reliable.
   

CnCmaster4life Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 | 10:29 pm PST
meh the only problem i found with the rico is taht it doesn't like water....and electronics arnt' sapose to be good with water so its not a flaw...cuz i fell in a river during scenario game and when i took my rico apart the motor and the two wires connecting to it had snapped off.... but the board was still working when i put the wires to the motor cuz it made the motor spin. so its nothing a soddering iron can't fix. but anyways the rico is good and the shell is hard so it'll last longer than the rev shells...and since u guys r talking about which things are better its all opinionated.... i mean somepeople like accurace some people like speed...others like speed others like duriablity... somepeople like duriablity others like cheap stuff..
   

captain_chaos Saturday, January 3rd, 2004 | 4:14 pm PST
ok, CnCmaster4life to me seems like the smartest one here. gave good info and backed it with proof and then ended with the opinionated thing. id say i would have done the same thing. bravo!
   

Menohl Tuesday, January 20th, 2004 | 10:13 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by intruder_89
allow me to set the record straight
1.closed bolt is better than open bolt
2.autocockers are better than angels
3.spyder is better than tippmann
4.revy's are better than ricochets


I just want to comment on number 3. If I had a nickel for every spyder owner i've seen end up having to rent a tippmann at my home field because they jack up and refuse to work i'd be using a Evo II Hopper instead of my Revy 12V.

I'm not saying that nationwide in all area's i'm right, i'm just saying from what i've seen over the last several months i've been playing at my new home field (Huge Woodsball field, with 2 speedball fields and one big open field) spyders break alot and tippmanns never do. One of my buddies had a Spyder Custom, and it was always breaking on him, all the rest of us had Tippy 98C's after 3 games of having to rent a marker cause his gun was always jacking up, he showed up one day with a Tippy A-5 and has had zero problems since. This is only 1 of several cases i could tell you about spyders breaking down, but i'm starting to realize that this conversation should be moved to the forum's if it is to be continued, so i will stop.
   

NIMBO Monday, February 2nd, 2004 | 9:47 am PST
i just think I'll point out that if revvys were so superior, then they would have beaten
the rico's 9.3/10 rating but instead they got a 7.8/10.

I'm much more impressed with the 9.3, and I'm not alone...
   

swfreak Sunday, March 7th, 2004 | 4:47 pm PST
eh NIMBO i dont know which one of these hoppers is better and im not saying the revvy is but when looking at reviews you have to take the amount of revews into factor. The revvy has like 300 reviews so there are a lot of stuff to lower the score. The Rico has like 110 or somtin so not as many opinions. Its not like youd get somthing with a 10 review if it was only thought by one person u know?
   

98cman Wednesday, March 31st, 2004 | 4:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by intruder_89
allow me to set the record straight
1.closed bolt is better than open bolt
2.autocockers are better than angels
3.spyder is better than tippmann
4.revy's are better than ricochets


This is rediculous! Angels are better than autocockers, Tippys are better than Spyders and im yet to see 1 revvy deflect a ball!
   

sonnemann Saturday, April 3rd, 2004 | 8:17 pm PST
Originally posted by intruder_89
allow me to set the record straight
1.closed bolt is better than open bolt
2.autocockers are better than angels
3.spyder is better than tippmann
4.revy's are better than ricochets

This is what intruder said. Assuming it wasn't flippant sarcasm...let's review what I said prior to his comment.

it's just another of the never-ending paintball debates.
open vs. closed bolt
angel vs. tricked cocker
spyder vs tippmann
revvy vs rico vs reloader
...and so on. neither side can win because the superiority of either one depends solely upon personal opinion and preference.

Key words there, guys...PERSONAL OPINION AND PREFERENCE.

By the way, I am buying a Rico AK soon for the sole reson that I think it looks better than a Revvy...I'll see ifit really performs as well as HamsterFist said.
   

ghost1 Saturday, May 15th, 2004 | 6:20 pm PST
spyders are better than tippmans
ricos are better than revvys

by the way,what happens when a paintball hits a ricochet on its side?
   

FlyingBeefStew Monday, May 24th, 2004 | 3:31 pm PST
Yeah. I'm a Canuck, and it costs a lot to get one.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media