paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Hsuve's Review / Comments on Hsuve's Review / Comments on Hsuve's Review / Comments on Hsuve's Review

Comments on Hsuve's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Hsuve Wednesday, July 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months29 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't used any other similar products (Bore changing barrels)
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant
-Smart Parts Freak kit
-Mac Dev Sonic LPR
-Mac Dev Sonic vertical adapter
-Air America Messiah
-Shocktech drop forward
-Macrolines
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that is reasonably round. I personally use Diablo Blaze, Hellfire, and PMI Premiums.
Strengths: Paint matching is easy with this barrel, as you can have up to 8 different bore sizes. Put a ball in, blow on it, and through that, you can test to see if it's too tight or too loose. Carrying case makes things easy to lug around with you, no need for boxes or ziplock bags. If you have a different gun, buy a different Freak back to fit those threads on your other gun, and now you have 8 more barrels for it. Length of the barrel can also easily be changed by changing the tip of the barrel. The Freak tip that I use, the Teardrop, is rather quiet as well, as there are many ports to disperse the sudden release of the compressed air source behind the valve.
Weaknesses: Though the fronts tend to be heavily ported to keep the noise down, they also reduce the velocity, as gas is wasted. By doing so, you need to increase the air to propel the paintball, and thus wastes gas. The inserts are aluminum, and aren't as durable as stainless, though they don't make them. Though I personally haven't had the experience of inserts bending, I have often heard that to be a miserable situation when you accidentally step here, step there, and bend an insert or so. The Freak barrel is also very expensive, and can easily burn a hole through one's wallet/purse. Breaking a ball in the barrel can be a pain in the arse to clean as well, specially when the paint gets lodged in the ports and eventually creeps its way into the barrel.
Conclusion: I enjoy using this product, as I don't need to figure out what bore size a paintball is used in a field and then purchasing a barrel to fit it. Carrying the case with your inserts to a field makes ball fitting a breeze. I dislike how it's so expensive for just a back or front piece, and where the price of that can buy you an entire barrel, rather than a unusable 6" back piece (Well, without an insert and front anyways). It's a nice product which has caused a revolution in paintball, many companies are now using barrels that can switch between bore sizes either in buying new backs or inserts. I have to say that it is a tad overrated when people say that it puts ball on top of ball consistently. There are very many good reviews on this product, I'm sure, but I would still recommend that in the end you go shoot one and find out if you think $180 for such a kit is worth the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
the Ydna Tuesday, May 20th, 2003 | 10:42 am PST
You are wrong. If there was less porting, accuracy and consistency would suffer. Without poering you'd have one hell of a junk barrel.
   

felipe chavez Tuesday, October 7th, 2003 | 9:54 pm PST
you are wrong again i own the stainless steel inserts just ask for dave at smart parts he will hook you up. It shoots slicker.
   

2002COCKERBOY Sunday, December 28th, 2003 | 2:10 am PST
Once again you are wrong. The porting doesn't give the barrel bad air efficiency. One big reason for making different bore sizes is to have air efficiency at its highest, no matter what kind of paint is going through your barrel. If the barrel's bore is too small, it wastes air because it needs more air to push the ball out out of the barrel. If it is too big, it also wastes air because some of the air is going past the ball, rather than behind it. That decreases velocity. If you have the right bore size for that paint, your velocity will not suffer, you will have a more controlled shot, you will clean out any that may have broken, and you wont be wasting air.
   

pbplayer#14 Friday, March 26th, 2004 | 10:48 pm PST
dude conclusions CONCLUDE THINGS. for those of us who fell like actually gettin the cons and pros outa certain products, chop down the chat and stick to the facts please
   

paintballfool27 Monday, April 12th, 2004 | 2:05 pm PST
Look at a paintball magazine. Look at every picture. If you would take some time to see the barrels of the most respected pro's youd see that they use Freak Barrels. If you say that it sucks then why do so many goddam pros use it.
   

SpyderOWNAGE Friday, September 24th, 2004 | 10:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintballfool27
If you say that it sucks then why do so many goddam pros use it.

where did he say it sucks? he just said it was overrated...
   

TXtippmann Friday, October 1st, 2004 | 10:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SpyderOWNAGE

where did he say it sucks? he just said it was overrated...

Yeah, an 8 is not exactly what you rate a product that sucks. If he thought that badly of it he would have rated it lower than 5.
   

roach441 Sunday, March 20th, 2005 | 4:17 pm PST
pros use what there sponsers tell them too anyway
   

mattlaforgia Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005 | 5:17 pm PST
yea roach441, pros use what their sponsors tell them to, if there was one "best" gun or "best" barrel everyone would use it. if your sponsors says you have to use certain equipment you have two options, use it, or get a new sponsor to tell you what to use.
although i wouldnt mind being sponsored by dye and being "told i have to" use the DM5 lol like i could afford one anyway
   

MrBuzzard Friday, September 2nd, 2005 | 8:00 pm PST
You guys are all wrong....When u fire a gun your using the SAME amount of air PER shot...not like the gun is letting air in to the gun untill th ball leaves the barrel...its a single *puff* of air...a paintball only needs anywhere from 4-6in for it to get up to 300fps....why do u think the insert is only 8in long??? and look at most Stepped bore barrels....they are all done in the back...Porting has nothing to do with the guns velocity or how "efficent" it is....it matters all on paint to bore match....
   

bluntfoot Friday, March 24th, 2006 | 1:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by the Ydna
You are wrong. If there was less porting, accuracy and consistency would suffer. Without poering you'd have one hell of a junk barrel.

I wouldnt say this...the ultralite has insanely good accuracy...better than the freak, and it doesnt work with insers...
   

dyepaintball05 Friday, March 24th, 2006 | 6:41 pm PST
what size paint is good for diablo heat
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media