paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on 9er's Review / Comments on 9er's Review / Comments on 9er's Review / Comments on 9er's Review / Comments on 9er's Review

Comments on 9er's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

9er Sunday, September 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt excellerator 5.0 (sux big time)
Marker Setup: model 98 with e-bolt
14"dye boomer
dye sticky grips
12 volt revy
tippmann low pressure kit with palmer reg.
3000/68 pmi carbon fiber tank with dye cover
tippmann double trigger kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
I've noticed improvement with all, but would say the boomer and 12v revy are a must to get the full benefit of the e-bolt.
Strengths: mega kick butt fast
accurate
dosn't break allot of ball's
easy 2 install
made by tippmann 4 tippmann (super rad tech support)
it's a 98 on crack, turbo: put fear into the hearts of those with cocker's.
adjustable light trigger pull
reliable
Weaknesses: I have yet 2 find anything bad with the e-bolt. I guess for those that don't have great jobs it is a little pricey.
the electronics r hard 2 get at 2 switch modes(grip must b removed)
Conclusion: If you have a 98 custom and want to make your gun into a cool sleeper, get the kit. If your new 2 the sport u may not b supper accurate, but with this kit u can spray and pray. This really can make those with the thousand dollar cocker's mad when their offed by a guy with "just 98 custom"
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
kujo006 Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 3:27 pm PST
"If your new 2 the sport u may not b supper accurate, but with this kit u can spray and pray."
spray and pray isn't really a good stratgy in fact it's one of the worst ones accuracy is one of the biggest factor of paintball.


"This really can make those with the thousand dollar cocker's mad when their offed by a guy with "just 98 custom" "
i would disagree some people don't like custom 98s but most think different when they get it e-bolted or do some major upgrade to it, a e-bolted custom 98 user gets my respect, i woudln't mind getting shot out but a tipmman they're not bad guns, i jsut don't use them because cockers are still far more accurate then they are, have a fast firing rate, and much more smaller and lighter, tippmanns are too huge and their upgrades cost as much as a cocker then y not go for one? =P
   

the arch angel Thursday, January 6th, 2005 | 3:06 pm PST
cockers are'nt any more accurate than a tippmann, angel, timmy, or even a spyder. people have known this for while man.

i've been playing for what? hmm 10 years i think, and in my personal opinion e-spyders are the best beginner guns. brass eagles suk and tippmans are super heavy, specially when they're all decked out like this. to me cockers and angels are the best for speed.
   

Mr.Matrix Thursday, January 6th, 2005 | 9:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by the arch angel
cockers are'nt any more accurate than a tippmann, angel, timmy, or even a spyder. people have known this for while man.

i've been playing for what? hmm 10 years i think, and in my personal opinion e-spyders are the best beginner guns. brass eagles suk and tippmans are super heavy, specially when they're all decked out like this. to me cockers and angels are the best for speed.



I would agree with the part about e-spyders being a good beginners gun but cockers will always be more accurate and shoot faster and farther than tippmanns.
   

the arch angel Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 4:24 pm PST
http://www.icedillusions.com/PBP/Physics/Lesson_2.html

copy , paste , and learn the truth
   

supersam08 Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 | 5:40 pm PST
I dunno, I have never felt the slightest bit intimidated by ANY guy with ANY kind of tippmann.... like ever... Maybe its just the 20000 players at my field, i need someone really good with one of these to whoop me arse a few times
   

Dyeplaya123 Thursday, July 21st, 2005 | 12:00 pm PST
it says the reccomended price for this gun is 500 i know its less but if u pay anywhere close to 500$ for this gun ur being ripped tippmanns are super heavy and the best speed guns i think are angels and dm4,dm5,dmc
   

kryptoniannativ Saturday, July 30th, 2005 | 6:46 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by the arch angel
cockers are'nt any more accurate than a tippmann, angel, timmy, or even a spyder. people have known this for while man.


Um..... Cockers are more accurate than any gun on earth for one reason, an autococker's bolt doesn't slap against the ball when you pull the trigger. If you look at a Tippmann, the hammer and the bolt are connected, so when you pull the trigger everything moves forward both the hammer and bolt ram the ball forward over the ball detent and shooting at its apex. This makes the gun less accurate due to the ball being in motion when it is shot. An autococker's bolt and hammer are on two different plains, the bolt and hammer are independent so when a cocker "cocks" the bolt backs up allowing a ball to load, cocks itself, then the bolt comes back into a stationary position and ready to fire. An autococker shoots like a pump, the bolt is in a stationary position when it fires, and no one can deny a pumps accuracy.
   

shot-on-sight Thursday, August 4th, 2005 | 9:43 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by kryptoniannativ


Um..... Cockers are more accurate than any gun on earth for one reason, an autococker's bolt doesn't slap against the ball when you pull the trigger. If you look at a Tippmann, the hammer and the bolt are connected, so when you pull the trigger everything moves forward both the hammer and bolt ram the ball forward over the ball detent and shooting at its apex. This makes the gun less accurate due to the ball being in motion when it is shot. An autococker's bolt and hammer are on two different plains, the bolt and hammer are independent so when a cocker "cocks" the bolt backs up allowing a ball to load, cocks itself, then the bolt comes back into a stationary position and ready to fire. An autococker shoots like a pump, the bolt is in a stationary position when it fires, and no one can deny a pumps accuracy.


SO TRUE !, i shoot a Dye cocker (relics though they may be) and for me to say to myself "geee my spyder xtra has the exact same accuracy as this" is just unbelievable, closed bolt markers always will and are the most accurate guns on earth. Btw autocockers arent ddesigned for speed theyre designed for accuracy wich is why theyre built around the closed bolt design.
   

kryptoniannativ Saturday, August 6th, 2005 | 10:48 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by the arch angel
http://www.icedillusions.com/PBP/Physics/Lesson_2.html

copy , paste , and learn the truth


I'm getting bored with this. If you were to take the same barrel and ball, and i mean identical in every way imaginable, and lets say they were a perfect match in the most perfect of ways and i mean there is no argument that this ball and this barrel were meant to be together. If you were to take any other marker on the market and put it up against an autococker, it would be less consistently accurate. YOU CAN NOT COMPETE AGAINST A STATIONARY BOLT, I DON'T CARE WHAT THE ARTICLE SAYS. ** In the very most basic sense yes, yes a million times over, most of a paintball gun's accuracy comes from a good barrel ball match, but if you were to eliminate all of the barrel and ball variables it comes down to how the ball is delivered down the barrel.
   

westwrestlngguy Monday, October 10th, 2005 | 8:41 am PST
The autococker was designed to have better accuracy over open-bolt, this is true.

The design of the 'cocker does give it a slight increase in accuracy, this is also true. But just as kryptoniannativ said above, the biggest factor in accuracy is a good paint-to-barrel match. If a tippmann and an autococker both shot using the same paint through the same barrel, and the paint fit the barrel juuuuuuuuuuust right, then the autococker would have a tighter shot pattern... by about .1 of an inch. The difference in accuracy is noticeable, but just barely.

Also, another major factor in accuracy is how the gas is delivered to the ball. A bolt with a venturi face (spreads out the gas so it hits the paintball on all points evenly and at once) will also have better accuracy over a plain bolt (sends the gas to the ball without an even spreading). Correct me if im wrong, but can't the autococker and Tippmann both be upgraded with a venturi bolt???

There are other factors that affect a paintballs flight, and all of them are more important than whether or not the bolt design is open or closed.

This debate is usless guys. It has nothing to do with the review, so drop it.
   

LAMB_OF_GOD Wednesday, January 18th, 2006 | 11:40 am PST
auto cockers are accurate because theyre consistent. tippmanns dont come with regulators yet theyre still relatively consistent. ill admit after using my friends wgp im blown away ata cockers accuracy.it gives the user an almost unfair advantage lol.BUT my tippmann has been upgraded and it runs on LP and i have a system x reg(ok reg) and my gun when i use a smart parts progressive was just as accurate as my friends wgp..as far as distance...velocity is the only thing that affects distance. all of us should know that. so a good paint/barrel match and a good reg(or two) is really all that will affect your accuracy and of course a good bolt like west wrestlingguy said.but i seriously out shoot cockers in distance due to my flatline.and yes its accurate.on a stock tippmann it sucks believe me but with the LP its amazing.i think theyre just really sensitive to velocity spikes. oh yes my tippmann is closed bolt now because my brother welded over the cocking slot on the slide and then i grinded it and polished it out. this did not affect accuracy at all. but it is quieter
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media