paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on C]-[iLDe's Review / Comments on C]-[iLDe's Review / Comments on C]-[iLDe's Review / Comments on C]-[iLDe's Review

Comments on C]-[iLDe's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

C]-[iLDe Wednesday, October 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year162 of 172 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo A
Evo 2
Revvy
Marker Setup: Champagne Fly iR3
Silver/Champagne/Bronze Fade Dark iR3
Smoke Halo B
68/45 Pure Energy OR 45/45 Nitro Duck Mega Reg
J&J Edge Barrels
Strengths: - PERFORMANCE
The Halo will feed in excess of 22 balls per second. I did some impromptu testing of my own; Over 10 attempts, the Halo emptied 100 rounds in an average of 4.2 seconds (23.8 bps). It is simply the fastest loader available today. It is not humanly possible to outshoot this loader with any gun in semi-auto mode; There will ALWAYS be a ball chambered and ready to fire when you pull the trigger. End your chopping woes FOREVER!

- CUSTOMER SERVICE
Odyssey goes above and beyond the call of duty in supporting their customers. After a customer's initial purchase, they will correct any problem or replace any damaged shells free of charge. Whats more, they are available thru email and telephone to answer questions and address concerns. Odyssey will NEVER leave you without product support.

- BATTERY EFFICIENCY
I shot about 8-10 cases through my Halo B before the batteries needed to be replaced. A word of caution, when the Halo's low battery light comes on, replace the batteries IMMEDIATELY!

- UPGRADES from 'A' VERSION
The Halo B is now easier [than the Halo A] to turn on and off, its easier on paint, its quieter, faster and comes in a variety of colored shells. The battery drainage problem also seems to have been remedied in the B version.
Weaknesses: - WEIGHT
While not very heavy in itself, the Halo B is heavier than any other loader available, due in part to the complexity of the force-feed mechanisms.

- PRICE
When I first bought my Halo B, it was about $140, although now they can be found for $100 or lower.

- LARGE FEED NECK
While its a good idea to allow players to size their feed necks to their individual markers, its quite bothersome to sand/melt/grind down the Halo neck to the correct size. I was forced to purchase a Dremel ($65) to properly sand mine down - I wasn't about to use sandpaper by hand.

- BROKEN SHELLS
I encountered an issue with my Halo shells cracking for apparently no reason. On several occasions, I observed damage to the loader even though it hadn't been hit, banged up or anything. However, Albert from Odyssey was MORE than helpful in getting my shells replaced and getting me up and running again. This seems to be an isolated occurrence; I haven't heard of many other people complaining about it.
Conclusion: The Halo is the fastest loader in the world. Odyssey's customer service is second to none. If you are serious about maximizing your ROF while eliminating chopped paint, get the Halo B. You won't be sorry; there simply is no other choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
mmcleish Thursday, April 3rd, 2003 | 3:18 pm PST
Kudos on a great review!

All very well explained, and with a fair rating. More reviews should be like this.
   

jabbster Friday, July 4th, 2003 | 8:49 am PST
I can outshoot it occasionally on my speed when I really try. Just thought you should know, since you said it can not be outshot. Good review.
   

toolfan60 Thursday, July 10th, 2003 | 2:55 pm PST
when he said it couldnt be outshot the speed wasnt even out yet
   

pblover124 Saturday, November 22nd, 2003 | 5:00 am PST
dude the halo cannot be overshot becuase it is impossible to shoot a speed faster then 25 bps. It could cycle it but the computer knows only to shoot as fast as the loader. So this guy is bull sh*ting.
   

exhale Friday, December 5th, 2003 | 2:09 pm PST
25 bps max? my friend makes custom guns and tricked guns. he got an angel ir3 to hit 27.
   

BigYellowTaxi Sunday, December 21st, 2003 | 9:27 am PST
My shell easily cracked as well for no apparent reason. Halo replaced no questions asked. Will I need to do this routinely??????????
   

ArcticH2O Wednesday, December 31st, 2003 | 10:33 pm PST
Very nice review, excellent
   

spammersdie Tuesday, January 6th, 2004 | 10:10 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by exhale
25 bps max? my friend makes custom guns and tricked guns. he got an angel ir3 to hit 27.

Actually, thats a lie. Good review though.
   

bluesealteam Friday, January 23rd, 2004 | 5:15 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by spammersdie


Actually, thats a lie. Good review though.


Not it's not, I have shot a dark angel and been chroned at 29bps. I had the Q-loader on it. So it really could outshoot the Halo B. But it is still an awesome loader.
   

bluesealteam Friday, January 23rd, 2004 | 5:15 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by spammersdie


Actually, thats a lie. Good review though.


Not it's not, I have shot a dark angel and been chroned at 29bps. I had the Q-loader on it. So it really could outshoot the Halo B. But it is still an awesome loader.
   

athanaseus Saturday, March 6th, 2004 | 6:49 pm PST
like the q?
   

angelfreak0829 Wednesday, April 14th, 2004 | 7:56 am PST
angel ir3 can not shoot over 21bps. you are telling b.s and jabbster you can not outshot a halo with your talon pump.
   

tbz Friday, April 23rd, 2004 | 3:47 pm PST
No angel can shoot 27-29 with the stock board...if you have it all custom tweaked out then maybe...MAYBE. But get WAS and thatll do the trick.
   

Superball Sunday, April 25th, 2004 | 4:42 pm PST
where exactly can you find this for $100. the best i found is 109 w/ free shipping.
   

dan77904 Saturday, May 15th, 2004 | 1:09 pm PST
If you read the HALO manual and some of the forums, it shoots 22+ at a CONSISTANT rate, it can burst at about 50.
Last edited on Sunday, June 20th, 2004 at 8:06 am PST
   

cyprus223 Tuesday, July 13th, 2004 | 11:05 pm PST
ok a bushmaster i shot shot about 29 - 31 bps with a egg2 with y board it shot so fast we couldnt even see it and all the balls dissapeared so fast
   

Pang Man Monday, September 20th, 2004 | 1:56 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cyprus223
ok a bushmaster i shot shot about 29 - 31 bps with a egg2 with y board it shot so fast we couldnt even see it and all the balls dissapeared so fast
Sure it did....
   

prospeedballer Thursday, October 21st, 2004 | 10:55 am PST
lol
   

silent angel Tuesday, November 9th, 2004 | 2:28 pm PST
after reading all of these reviews i still have one question.

why would you need to shoot 29 balls a second as opposed to 17bps.If all of you guys spent more time working on your shot than upgrading your boards and trying to shoot faster you may actually get better. Just a thought.
   

remingtn457 Monday, January 3rd, 2005 | 7:36 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pblover124
dude the halo cannot be overshot becuase it is impossible to shoot a speed faster then 25 bps. It could cycle it but the computer knows only to shoot as fast as the loader. So this guy is bull sh*ting.
thank you! recognizing the retards, as we all should do
   
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media