paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Murph1's Review / Comments on Murph1's Review / Comments on Murph1's Review / Comments on Murph1's Review / Comments on Murph1's Review

Comments on Murph1's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Murph1 Saturday, October 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month32 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Tigershark - Very nice beginners gun. Suggested if you ever wanna try pump without breaking the bank. However, in terms of customizability, it's on par with the phantom, in all other measurements, it's inferior. Buck for Buck, though, it lasted me 3 years with very little maintenance, and only cost me 40 bucks... I guess that's good. Actually, now, thinking about it, it got better gas efficiency out of a 12 gram at 45 good shots and 7 decreasing ones.
Marker Setup: CCI Backbottle stock class phantom. .45 frame, acid blue.

Backup - Brass Eagle Raptor - Eagleworks barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
T-stock, and a decent sight (yes they are worth crap on this marker.) Dont forget a stock class harness. Nothing's more annoying than running with your hand covering the pocket full of 12 grams in an effort to stop the rattling.
Strengths: This is a beauty of a paintball gun, I have to say off the bat. It just looks sexy.

For accuracy - Definately ranks an excellent. Better accuracy and therefore effective range than any other marker I've seen for under a thousand dollars.

Feel - Solidly Constructed, nothing rattles around too bad, I can get running pretty fast without worrying about it falling apart. It's very light. It's not bad running with it at all. And it balances perfectly in the palm of my hand, since most of the stainless components are right over the grip frame.

Durability - I havent given it a torture test, but it feels solid. All internal parts are stainless steel, it hardly rattles (Just the plastic pump arm.) The exterior is aluminum so you can have it ano'd. I have a feeling it will last a while.

Gas efficiency - This matters in a stock class gun. I get 30 good shots before changing cartridges. I imagine I could get more if I were able to keep liquid co2 from being fired (1 shot of liquid is something like 7 shots of gas at 850 psi, if I remember correctly.) But anyway, you get good gas efficiency running 12 grams out of the backbottle position.

Looks - The acid wash patterns (like my acid blue.) are excellent.

Reloading - Yes this is a stock class gun, so you have to reload a little differently than you would have if you were using a direct-feed gun. Reloading paint is pretty easy once you get used to using little cigar tube thingies. Co2 is very easy, the changer comes off in two or three twists.
Weaknesses: I couldn't find anything I didnt like about it. A couple friends who shot a couple shots expressed their concern with the lack of an anti-double pump, but if you know how to test the trigger without firing, you should be good to go. I'm not gonna go into detail.
Conclusion: An excellent gun overall. A must buy. I don't give a crap about not possibly being a ten since no gun is perfect. That may be true, but this is based on experience and my Phantom is the best gun I've used in my experience, earning it a "Perfect" ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
spor Sunday, July 18th, 2004 | 8:21 pm PST
dunno,

the pump on a newer old style pgp is delron
   

eatmypaint90 Tuesday, September 7th, 2004 | 3:19 pm PST
y stock play guys
   

CCI Sunday, September 26th, 2004 | 7:27 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by eatmypaint90
y stock play guys

-Saves money
-People underesamate you
-Fun as hell
theres probaly much more
   

nahthan Friday, October 8th, 2004 | 1:03 pm PST
Move more often and farther etc.
   

angel 4 life Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 | 12:29 am PST
Better accuracy and therefore effective range than any other marker you've seen for under a thousand dollars huh'?

sorry to brake your heart but this gun isn't any more accurate than a $1000 dollar angel or intimidator
   

joe98200 Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 | 2:50 pm PST
yeah, we all know that, angel, pumps force u to aim.

and eatmypaint, here's my answer for u. with a pump, ur forced to get better positions, aim, and think more clearly. yeah, like wut cci said, it does save money and it loads of fun!
   

kjpmkjp Wednesday, December 29th, 2004 | 6:03 pm PST
exactly, stock play is waay fun, and its a very good way to learn how to play (eg. for newbs).
   

Crazylegs Wednesday, January 5th, 2005 | 8:46 am PST
here's the thing angel boy, angel can shoot as far the accuracy at that speed is hit or miss and angels do cost $1000 phantoms cost 185 and take more skill to use not more money. Point closed Phantoms rock.
   

freetheflow Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 8:28 pm PST
oh dont forget timmys suck on accuracy. they dont shoot far but there fast. i would know i own one. i love it but its not accurate.
angels are accurate but thyey drop off so soon, and they are $$$$
   

gazorp Thursday, February 3rd, 2005 | 8:30 pm PST
angel guy: for the price of an angel, you could buy a phantom stock, a lifetime supply of 12g co2, paintballs, get it custom ano'd, and still have enough money for a cocker. streams of paint cant always win games. Sometimes it takes a bit of thinking.
   

pbjon Monday, February 7th, 2005 | 8:16 pm PST
yes
   

angel 4 life Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 8:20 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by gazorp
angel guy: for the price of an angel, you could buy a phantom stock, a lifetime supply of 12g co2, paintballs, get it custom ano'd, and still have enough money for a cocker. streams of paint cant always win games. Sometimes it takes a bit of thinking.


no duh it takes thinking... you think people with high end electros just stand in the middle of the field spin in circles ripping at 20 bps??? no thats not what we do. people with with fast guns think just as much as someone with a pump.

all pumps are just cockers that need to be manually pumped which makes them slower. no better accuracy. so when you say streams of paint cant always win games, your right they cant, but it helps. EXAMPLE : shooting off the break, think it will be effective when your shootin at 2bps??? and i've never met a person who would take all that crap and waste a 1000 bucks on a pump. SO TAKE THE PUMP you'll just be another easy target

crazylegs i'd love to see what would would happen when evenly skilled teams of angels went up against phantoms. what do you think would happen? thats right phantoms would walk away slowly covered in paint because the damn guns exceed 5 bps. POINT CLOSED PHANTOMS SUCK !!!!!!!
   

Crazylegs Sunday, February 20th, 2005 | 12:11 pm PST
all right angel boy yeah if evenly skilled teams of phantoms and angels played the angels would win every time, however if both teams played with angels the people who played with phantoms for practice or even every now and then would wi 9 out of 10 games why? simple phantoms build hand eye coordination help your snap shots and do in fact make you think more and if girly speedballers wouldn't wipe every single hit save gog hits i'm sure phantoms would do much better in tournaments, and don't argue tournament players CHEAT I would know I used to play speedball too.
   

spor Tuesday, April 12th, 2005 | 4:40 pm PST
Angel for life, please read this http://apg.cfw2.com/article.asp?content_id=6609
   

Psycho_warden Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 | 10:11 am PST
:( Why do people always pick on us stock class players. And I have taken out alot of guys with high end guns, infact, just last week, I took a guy out with an Angel.
   

sharpfitz Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 | 6:54 pm PST
if anyone thinks pumps suck.....tell them to visit the Blowfish website, and to see how good they are.

Blowfish all the effing way
   

paintballapro2 Monday, April 25th, 2005 | 5:59 am PST
i know for a fact that phantoms are way better than angels if you can use them right. i saw this guy play for 6 hours with one against us on a speedball field and he got hit once all day. he was also really really really good to though. and angel boy why are you in here looking at phantoms if you dont like them?
   

paintballapro2 Monday, April 25th, 2005 | 6:03 am PST
i know for a fact that phantoms are way better than angels if you can use them right. i saw this guy play for 6 hours with one against us on a speedball field and he got hit once all day. he was also really really really good to though. and angel boy why are you in here looking at phantoms if you dont like them?
   

mattmaster34 Tuesday, September 6th, 2005 | 5:06 pm PST
Angel 4 Life, Its obvious were right and you're wrong. You dont even play pump so what are you even doing here? Did you just decide to pick on the stock players today? Anyway, on to my argument that has a point. Angels are okay, but massively expensive, not counting HPA, a HALO ( You'll look like an idiot if you have a grav. feed on your G7) I chose stock play because I dont want to waste a lot of paint. There are some pros at my field who go through 3 pods/ game. I barely get through half my stock harness. Plus, I used the fact that I had to change 12 grams to my advantage. There was some hotshot with his angel going after me, so I just stuck behind my bunker. Obviously, this guy thought I had to change a 12 g., so he ran up to bunker me, and I popped him righ in the goggles as he ran at my bunker. SUCKA!!
P.S. Phantoms Rule!
Last edited on Tuesday, September 6th, 2005 at 5:07 pm PST
   

Bunkerking1337 Wednesday, September 28th, 2005 | 10:55 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by freetheflow
oh dont forget timmys suck on accuracy. they dont shoot far but there fast. i would know i own one. i love it but its not accurate.


Well then you were another one of those dumb newbs who don't know how to use a Timmy. As for bad accuracy you probably didn't have a good paint to barrel bore match. When I have a good barrel bore match I have great accuracy with my Alias. How do they not shoot as far. That is one of the most ignorant newb statement I have ever heard. All guns have a max range of 150ft. A Phantom and a Timmy would both shoot.the same distance if they had about the same velocity. I'm with Angel for life on this one. I would rather have a Alias or Angel at a tourney then a stock gun that can only do a whole 1 ball per second.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media