paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Seriuqs' Review / Comments on Seriuqs' Review / Comments on Seriuqs' Review / Comments on Seriuqs' Review / Comments on Seriuqs' Review

Comments on Seriuqs' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Seriuqs Sunday, December 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years80 of 86 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder: Didnt like too much, then again, was just a rental
'98 Autococker: Love it
Marker Setup: Pro-Lite: Dye barrel, starfire bolt (Replacing with stock), kapp drop forward, PMI pure energy reg., .45 grip, shark gill raised sight rail
'98 Autococker: CP 12" barrel, Palmer Rock Reg., Supa Fly bolt, lapco drop forward, stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel should always be the first and most important upgrade, because it has the most effect on your accuracy (obviously). Tippmann makes great markers, but is not known for its barrel making. Recommend LAPCO Big Shot for monetarily challenged types (like me). Revolution loader helps.
Strengths: Built like a tank. I know its been said before, but I am going to say it again, theres a reason why fields use this as a rental. Its a work horse gun, which is why I love it. I am an avid woods player and love to get down and dirty when I play, and not have to worry about whether my equipment will keep up. I could pour sand in this thing and it would still shoot. With an aftermarket barrel this thing is pretty accurate, dont let anyone tell you its a "sniper" paintball gun, because theres no such thing in paintball. These two other features are subjective, because some may like them and some may not (I DO like them) but here goes: The gun is a little heavy to start (as markers go) and add to that a stainless steel barrel, a 20 oz. CO2, and a full hopper of paint, and you have a lot of weight. I personally love the feel, makes me feel like I am carrying something solid enough to keep up with me. The second is that this has a very "rifle" like feel to it. Again, I LOVE the rifle feel, because its better to aim and I cant stand a gun without something to put up against my shoulder. If you are not a big fan of either of these features in your gun then you can either exercise to get stronger, or look into a lighter, more compact gun. So to recap the good things:
--Legendary reliability
--Solid construction, you know it wont break
--Accurate with an aftermarket barrel
--Rifle feel
--Easy to acquire parts for because so many fields have them as rentals

If you are new, or even if you are a die hard rec baller like me, this is an awesome 'gun to play with, and I will always trust the Tippmann brand name because it means great quality and great service
Weaknesses: Now for the bad. Theres not a whole lot to criticize, but then again, nothing is ever perfect, not even Tippmann products. The bad:

--Can get heavy (If you like heavy guns, then disregard
--Long 'gun, especially with a 14" barrel - can get hard to maneuver around corners for speedball
--Limited upgrade path (Then again, not much to upgrade, less to waste money on)
--Fairly slow ROF (Then again, if you know how to shoot, this shouldnt be an issue)
--Not neccessarily a tournament level gun.
Conclusion: Ok, so that about does it. I love the pro lite/carbine, its probably my most favorite paintball gun, and will remain so. Theres nothing quite like the solid feel of a tippmann when you play. I am going to give it a 9, because nothings perfect, not even this exceptionally good marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Blacksheep Thursday, June 12th, 2003 | 10:29 am PST
Just as a sidenote, for those that want to reduce the trigger pull, get an SL68II trigger spring, that will bring the pull length down to 3lbs. Then, visit http://www.procarbine.cjb.net and get the lower reciever mods and use the trigger pull mod which will reduce the trigger pull length by a lot!

Good luck.
   

rickyboy211 Friday, August 15th, 2003 | 4:14 am PST
where can you buy a cheap procarbine?what kind of barrel (thread)
   

jiujitsufighter Thursday, October 7th, 2004 | 7:30 pm PST
Maybe you need to look up the definition for sniper. Straight from webster's.

Function: intransitive verb
Inflected Form(s): sniped; snip∑ing
1 : to shoot at exposed individuals (as of an enemy's forces) from a usually concealed point of vantage

So what you are saying you cant hide and shoot people in paintball?
Last edited on Friday, October 8th, 2004 at 10:30 pm PST
   

Tippmann ace Monday, June 20th, 2005 | 8:21 am PST
Ya you crack head there is a such thing as a sniper, ur just a dumb speedball player
   

shot-on-sight Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 | 6:50 pm PST
I think what this fellow ment was that there really isnt any such thing as a long range sniper in paintball (unless your using the flatline) sure you can hide and shoot somone but i think what he was refering to was more sniping as in long range strikes
   

Tippmann ace Wednesday, August 10th, 2005 | 11:56 am PST
ohh lol okay, yeah i do have an A-5 with a flatline and a scope too, it looks like an assault rifle with a scope on it, works like a sniper rifle too
   

OrangeBatman Saturday, September 10th, 2005 | 6:23 pm PST
pro carbine has a5 threads...
   

Tippmann ace Monday, September 12th, 2005 | 4:44 pm PST
i didnt know that except the flat line doesnt screw into the gun like the procarbine, the flat line barrel has its special adapter so it only fits the a5, unless ur a mahcinest or some theres no was its gonna fit sadly:-(
   

cradle_of_filth Friday, November 11th, 2005 | 11:16 pm PST
thats why the adapter comes with the flatline...
   

SABRECRUSADER Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005 | 5:48 pm PST
Hey the sniper is a great aspect of a paintball team...me knowing being the leader of the Crusaders paintball team...the sniper pretty much has your @ss covered so dont say that sniping isnt in paintball cause youd be screwed in a live match against my ballers
   

chocolatemilk Tuesday, November 29th, 2005 | 1:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Tippmann ace
Ya you crack head there is a such thing as a sniper, ur just a dumb speedball player
   

chocolatemilk Tuesday, November 29th, 2005 | 1:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by OrangeBatman
pro carbine has a5 threads...

procarbine has a5 threads becase it came out first you jacka#s plus woodsball is stupid
   

SABRECRUSADER Sunday, December 11th, 2005 | 2:30 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by chocolatemilk


procarbine has a5 threads becase it came out first you jacka#s plus woodsball is stupid

woodsball actually takes skillz... speedball is a spray and pray sport
   

Fragmasta_Fong Wednesday, December 14th, 2005 | 1:47 am PST
Hey im looking for upgrades for my pro-lite, and i heard some good things about the starfire bolt, does anyone know if the starfire bolt just one of the A5 ones or does it actually have to be specifically a Pro-lite bol or summin similar? Cheers
   

chilegod Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 6:58 pm PST
tippmanns are not good guns, save $50 and get a trilogy pro
   

Dagger88 Friday, January 20th, 2006 | 8:24 pm PST
Umm...I think that the "trilogy pro" is some alien lookin piece of junk, Speedball is for wimps.
   

tippmannmandan Monday, January 30th, 2006 | 2:18 pm PST
ummm how so? and speedball is not spray and pray, look up snap shooting.
yea.....kinda sad when woodsballers won't admit that woodsball is the roots of paintball but not the evolutionary path
   

Green Buret Saturday, March 4th, 2006 | 2:23 pm PST
To snap-shoot is to, all in one quick, fluent motion, take your gun from a lowered ready position, raise it to a shooting position, and fire one single shot.
I do have to agree that although i don't like the game, speedball is not spray and pray, there is some skill invoved. But snap-shooting in speedball? Maybe if your name was something along the lines of God. Speedball guns aren't built to do a proper snap-shot either, they aren't weighted right and, most of the time, lack a horizontal foregrip.
   

ahballa98 Tuesday, March 14th, 2006 | 7:46 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Tippmann ace
Ya you crack head there is a such thing as a sniper, ur just a dumb speedball player

lol
   

ahballa98 Tuesday, March 14th, 2006 | 7:48 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by SABRECRUSADER
woodsball actually takes skillz... speedball is a spray and pray sport

true dat... i be reppresentin woodsplayas
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media