paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on coyote's Review / Comments on coyote's Review / Comments on coyote's Review / Comments on coyote's Review / Comments on coyote's Review

Comments on coyote's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

coyote Tuesday, January 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom, PPS pumps
Marker Setup: Stock class, rear quickchanger, L stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed
Strengths: Stainless steel. If this is too heavy for you mix in some pushups! It is heavier than a Phantom because it is made from stainless steel and not aluminum. Nelson valvetrain= compact and simple. Easy to clean, easy to strip. Shoots like a dream. Cocker threaded.
Weaknesses: People whine about the price. Everyone and his bald headed granny is willing to buy a $1000 cocker, but a $650 pump is too expensive? This is a champagne marker. If you have a beer budget get a Phantom.

If i have one genuine problem with it it is that the thumscrews get loose fast.
Conclusion: This is a marker for the comitted pump player. Not the guy that might play a game or 2 with his Maverick. I has the cost of a #1 marker because it is built that way. If you don't get it, buy a Phantom. If I could drop a 15 rating on this beast I would. If you want to save $100 off the suggested retail price shoot me an email. Then join a small elite group of players that know that pump isn't just a cheapo way to play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Blacksheep Thursday, April 3rd, 2003 | 4:16 pm PST
The Carter costs $650.00

Phantoms cost $180.00-$280.00 for base black markers, sometimes up to $450.00 if you want something custom.

The guns are basically the same except that Mike's stock barrel is much, much better than that of a Carter (this is the only real stock barrel that is good; when I say stock, I mean not another barrel taken from another, like KAPP Flames with Boomsticks, etc).

So, for $650.00, I could have every breech, 4 sixes of barrel, 2 pump handles, a stock, quick changer, and maybe even a back-bottle kit.

So...which is more versitile? The Carter is limited in verastility to suit the user and the Phantom name just sounds better.

Just my thoughts, don't take this as a personal attack.
   

coyote Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003 | 5:47 pm PST
I don't...

Carters are hand made
Phantoms are not

Carters are made of stainless steel
Phantoms are made of aluminum(much cheaper)

Trigger pull the Phantom doesn't touch the Buzzard.

Carters can be configured in the same way Phantoms can. In fact there are more base parts available. I sell both markers. I know my product. Carters are also cocker threaded. Phantoms have a unique proprietary barrel thread. It has also changed slightly over the years so not all barrels fit all markers. They have few aftermarket barrels made by few manufacturers. The stock Buzzard barrel is a fine piece of work, and is every bit as solid in form and function as the CCI barrel.

I will have to check and see if you write the same thing under the reviews of the Chipley J2. Yes a stock Sniper is cheaper and performs well, but it is nowhere near as nice. Custom gear like Carters and Chipleys are for the player that can can chose without checking his bank account first.

If you are telling me a Carter barrel is inferior to a CCI I know you have never shot one with matched paint.
   

joe98200 Monday, November 22nd, 2004 | 8:03 am PST
um both the phantom and buzzard r hand made. unless there was something that i dont kno of.
   

blkbelt Tuesday, January 11th, 2005 | 3:25 am PST
both buzzard and phantoms are hand made. and buzzards are aluminum too except for the barrel. but two thing the buzzards have one up on... the buzzards shoot flatter and the pump stroke. other than that i like both. actually the buzzard is my backup to my phant. if i had a buzzard. and just to let you know i have played with buzzards on many occasions.
   

coyote Friday, January 27th, 2006 | 1:18 pm PST
No you gomers...

Earon Carter machines Buzzard parts by hand. Thats expensive. The buzzard body is stainless, not aluminum.

Mike Cassidey assembles Phantoms by hand, the parts are manufactured at a CNC shop and the tolerances aren't as tight as Carters.

Carters are made from a more expensive base material. The process is also more expensive.
   

VibePower17 Tuesday, March 3rd, 2009 | 4:25 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by coyote
I don't...

Carters are hand made
Phantoms are not

Carters are made of stainless steel
Phantoms are made of aluminum(much cheaper)

Trigger pull the Phantom doesn't touch the Buzzard.

Carters can be configured in the same way Phantoms can. In fact there are more base parts available. I sell both markers. I know my product. Carters are also cocker threaded. Phantoms have a unique proprietary barrel thread. It has also changed slightly over the years so not all barrels fit all markers. They have few aftermarket barrels made by few manufacturers. The stock Buzzard barrel is a fine piece of work, and is every bit as solid in form and function as the CCI barrel.

I will have to check and see if you write the same thing under the reviews of the Chipley J2. Yes a stock Sniper is cheaper and performs well, but it is nowhere near as nice. Custom gear like Carters and Chipleys are for the player that can can chose without checking his bank account first.

If you are telling me a Carter barrel is inferior to a CCI I know you have never shot one with matched paint.


Who cares if its handmade? 99% of markers are not.. so they must all suck? lol..

You fools stick your nose up a little higher I will place a ball from my non handmade marker right up ur mask.

Ur like all these famous people "omg this is italian tiles all throughout my patio.. i had to get them custom shipped over here they are one of a kind" yet 99% of the rest of us have tiles that work just as well..
Last edited on Tuesday, March 3rd, 2009 at 4:25 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media