paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on inthefrey's Review / Comments on inthefrey's Review / Comments on inthefrey's Review / Comments on inthefrey's Review / Comments on inthefrey's Review

Comments on inthefrey's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

inthefrey Friday, March 7th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month819 of 858 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder
Marker Setup: Response Trigger
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Well, here’s this 43-year-old satellite engineer who gets convinced to try paintball with his 15-year-old son. So, I started doing research on paintball products a little after Christmas 2002. By the beginning of March, I had read almost every article on the subject. The technology is getting better every day. And since I have a wife, kids, mortgage, car payment, insurance, food, fuel and those domestic things that some 15-year-old kids think magically appear, I chose the Tippmann A5.
Here are several reasons. Let me share just a few.

**The Tippmann marker LOOKS Awesome!**
The marker is an excellent piece of Tippmann engineering and workmanship. There is the distinct ‘feel’ of craftsmanship when holding it. It doesn’t feel in any way like a toy. The coatings are perfect with only a few mold marks where the two halves of the frame come together across the site rail. It closely resembles an MP5.( Maybe too close for the sensibilities of some parents )

**The Mechanicals**
So many markers of today look like they are straight out of the prop room of a low-budget science fiction movie – with enough gadgets to confuse even the most adept button pusher. The Tippmann A5 is a workhorse of integrated technology. The only adjustments are the safe button and the needle valve for the Response Trigger. That’s it! Needless to say the markers’ 100+ pieces were laid out on my kitchen table the night the UPS truck brought it home. I inspected everything. (Special note: NEVER take this marker apart in the woods – other than the basic field strip – you WILL loose something. Trust me on this!) Almost everything about this marker fits tightly together. Nothing looks like it was added as an after thought and needed to be re-engineered. However, I’m a little disappointed in the piston that drives the Cyclone Feeder system. Although it works perfectly, it seems a little fragile. A little longer collar on the feed chamber to support this piston would correct the wobble. You are definitely getting an original product and not someone else’s ideas. The mechanism should last a long time with the proper care and maintenance.

**Accuracy**
A friend of mine has a Tippmann 98 with R/T and Flatline barrel. He raves about it! The stock barrel on my A5 seems just fine however, many, many, many reviews are telling the tale of the A5 Flatline barrel. The A5 Stock barrel on my setup can hit a 9”x15” target 9 out of ten times using Co2 and RPS/PMI Super Swirl Tournament balls at 100’. ( I know! Don’t give me any heat about cheap balls!) The outside temp was about 40. I shot almost 500. I didn’t chop a single one. My next purchase for the marker would be the Flatline barrel. And yes, I will be getting some better balls for that. The reviews say Marbleizers or Diablo.


**Rate of Fire**
Well, I guess this is where the purist comes out in me. Although Tippmann doesn't advertise this very well, for a NON-electric marker, this shoots like a paintball fire hose! No missed feeds, no broken balls, just a steady stream of flying hell from the muzzle. I would estimate 10 to 12 per second. It truly didn’t miss a lick! Although with the cost of paintballs, this novelty will wear off soon enough. Consistency and accuracy will always prevail.
Weaknesses: We'll have to see about this. Nothing too bad so far to report.
It could use a little bigger hopper and a little bit better barrel.
Say that 5 times fast!
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone that wants reliability. The extra $75 to $100 bucks you spend will be well worth it in agony spent on lesser markers.

If I’m not too ‘geezed’ by then, I hope to be using it 5 years from now. Or maybe, my son’s or daughter's children will be using it someday. Now if you want to pay ($$$$) for a phased plasma rifle in the 40 watt range, go buy a Cocker or an Angel.
If you want an excellent, well engineered marker, and still be able to afford a family, this may be the one for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
X13426196 Sunday, September 14th, 2003 | 4:56 pm PST
THank you very much for you review. It helped me decide on th A-5. I was sooooooooo confused. Thanx Again!!!!!!!!!!!
   

Porby Saturday, October 4th, 2003 | 5:35 pm PST
i went on the autococker and angel website and have yet to find their plasma rifles : (


I really enjoyed this review because i really dispise electropneumatics and im glad that tippman has created an awesome technology for fast effecient semi auto fire, one that people actually buy and like.

Still wondering why gas-powered non-electric/non-response trigger guns can go fully automatic while paintguns can not, when the dynamics of the two are not much different. : T i want a crap worthless hammer to test my theories on, because im very determined to make my semi into an automatic without a response trigger.

Semi-auto makes me happy tho, for info on my homemade upgrades Email me at

BourneYesterdayI@hotmail.com
   

pntballer555 Saturday, October 25th, 2003 | 1:12 pm PST
Thanks for a well reviewed gun.
   

Shulacker Friday, October 31st, 2003 | 7:33 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by philk803c
thanks for the very detailed review. i have always wanted an A-5 when i first saw it. it looked so slick(cool) and sturdy. but to bad it was out of my price range. once i turn sixteen next year i'm going to save up 300 bucks instead and get the A-5 AND NOT GET A ANGEL OR IMPULSE FROM SMART PARTS.
SERIOUSLY MAN, impy's and angels are 10 times better than an A-5, they're not even comparable, they're in a completely different quality/ price range. Nice review old man, but, u said "The extra $75 to $100 bucks you spend will be well worth it in agony spent on lesser markers" but then why not pay an extra 50 bucks on that to get a '03 WGP autococker (a very nice gun)? I would. other than that, great review.
   

Shulacker Friday, October 31st, 2003 | 7:35 am PST
WHOOPS, my bad, i meant to say SAVE some money on getting a WGP autococker, they're 350, and the A-5's 370. MY BAD
   

wicked one Tuesday, November 11th, 2003 | 4:24 pm PST
i, id just like to say that i loved ur review and if i didnt have one of those 40 watt doo dads u were talking about i would go out and buy this right now...i must say tho, dont get a flatline, it will kill ur accuracy so much and so many more bounces will be caused by the barrel that it would be a waste of paint. and one complaint about the review......cockers are not 40 watt plasma deely's they are very easy to use and maintain.
   

inthefrey Thursday, November 20th, 2003 | 8:26 am PST
I have now played countless games with the A5 I reviewed back in March 2003. I still enjoy the sport and will play again this weekend. I have since upgraded to a FlatLine barrel.

Now, here are some important issued I have discovered about the A5 that should help in your personal critique of the marker.

#1 About the Flatline barrel.
· If you use this barrel wet, you will loose accuracy. These balls are basically made from the same material a gelatin capsule is made from. They are made to dissolve when wet. Condensation or moisture on the ball (or in the barrel with CO2) will cause it to leave traces of gelatin in the barrel. Inconsistent drag coefficient with the inside surface of the barrel causes the inaccuracy.
#2 Too Much Power!
· At 250 to 310 FPS the FlatLine barrel will hit the mark every time. Those of you who take your trusty Allen Wrench with you to the field and dial-up after you’re crono’d, will loose accuracy. I bought a Shooting-Crony just to test this theory. Why? The dynamics of the barrel were made to 300fps specifications. (General field rules) Since I’m generally not in the mood to be hit with a 400fps projectile, and respect the fact that I am shooting a 300fps projectile at someone else that could result in permanent injury, 300fps is all the power I need. If you’re out there to hurt someone, you shouldn’t be on the field.
· Most barrels have a muzzle brake. (Those holes at the end of the barrel) The FlatLine does not. If you over-power it, eddy currents are produced at the point of ejection (pop!). This hurts accuracy – PERIOD!

Other the above issues, I am still extremely pleased with my purchase and the performance of the marker. I would still recommend the FlatLine and if you follow the guidelines above, you shouldn’t have a problem.
   

isuck2 Sunday, November 30th, 2003 | 10:09 am PST
I have the 98 flatline and have shot the a5 flatline and they truly are amazing, but i've found that evil paintballs wor the best
   

sypher_yankee Monday, December 1st, 2003 | 11:25 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Shulacker
SERIOUSLY MAN, impy's and angels are 10 times better than an A-5, they're not even comparable, they're in a completely different quality/ price range. Nice review old man, but, u said "The extra $75 to $100 bucks you spend will be well worth it in agony spent on lesser markers" but then why not pay an extra 50 bucks on that to get a '03 WGP autococker (a very nice gun)? I would. other than that, great review.

this guy is out of his mind the A-5 is way better than the WGP Autocockers i have used both and Autocockers will need more upgrades than this gun all i think the A-5 needs is a barrel if you get a Autococker you will need a barrel a new trigger and flat triggers suck well anyways 15 BPS is more than enough for speedball and it is durable so it is good for woodball good review i give it a perfect 10 but the A-5 gets like a 30 lol
   

Killjoy_TeamGZ0 Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003 | 8:06 am PST
I have been reading the reviews on PBReview for a long time now but never got around to creating an account . But this review was enough to get me to do so. Thank you fine Sir for a truly informative review. I really think that this review should be rated as on of the Top 10</a> all time PBReview.com reviews.

Thanks again.
   

mccrea08 Saturday, December 20th, 2003 | 2:51 pm PST
All of u who keep saying the flatline sucks obviously have no clue what u are doing. First of all the a-5 flatline is around 10 inches long, about 4 inches shorter than the 98c's flatline. Because of this a more dramatic spin on the ball is needed to get the effect. so to do this USE THE SMALLEST BORE BALLS! Smaller bore balls give it greater backspin thus letting the barrel do its job. For better consistency/accuracy use better balls with this barrel. Small balls with the least imperfections work best. RPS all star and marbalizer are fairly small bore balls that are good quality and seem to work well with this barrel. If u use crap balls with this barrel, expect crap results. That doesnt mean all crap balls are bad, just but some thought when considering what balls to use.
   

Rockfootball47 Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003 | 7:22 pm PST
Hey. Just a little advice, don't get the A-5 flatline barrel. It seems great but u would do just fine with a 14in barrel from tippmann for $40.00. I tried the flatline and it was okay but I like my barrel other 14in barrel a lot better. Your review was great though.
   

keoki0929 Wednesday, January 7th, 2004 | 4:54 pm PST
I have not bought the A5 yet but plan to next year. Though I have tried one. Yes It dosent feel like anything else Ive shot to date. Pluse it resembles an MP-5K
   

Layman Wednesday, January 7th, 2004 | 10:33 pm PST
I sold my A-5 because of the response trigger. I too have children and couldn't afford the paint sprayer thing. One case in six hours... Be careful you don't blast away too much money. =)
   

kangaroodent Friday, January 9th, 2004 | 5:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by philk803c
i'm going to save up 300 bucks instead and get the A-5 AND NOT GET A ANGEL OR IMPULSE FROM SMART PARTS.

Huh... When were Angels made by Smart Parts?
   

endisforever12 Saturday, January 10th, 2004 | 1:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Shulacker
SERIOUSLY MAN, impy's and angels are 10 times better than an A-5, they're not even comparable, they're in a completely different quality/ price range. Nice review old man, but, u said "The extra $75 to $100 bucks you spend will be well worth it in agony spent on lesser markers" but then why not pay an extra 50 bucks on that to get a '03 WGP autococker (a very nice gun)? I would. other than that, great review.

Well I know they are, but I like the a-5 better. I have seen it in action and am now deciding on the impy or a-5. Angels, from what i finally decided are too xpensive and why should I buy a 1000 dollar gun, it isn't worth it to me.
   

endisforever12 Saturday, January 10th, 2004 | 1:06 pm PST
I was saying an Angel or a Smart Parts Impulse
   

Allaballa062584 Monday, January 26th, 2004 | 5:39 pm PST
I personally think that with the money you spend on this gun, why not just get something better? This gun is waaay overpriced, just like every tippman product!
   

paintball bob Sunday, February 1st, 2004 | 9:26 pm PST
Hey it may be a little expensive, but at least you know it wont fall apart in you hands when you shoot it!
   

nadrethepadre Friday, February 13th, 2004 | 11:40 am PST
I just bought a tippmann a-5 from this guy down the street. It is a great gun I go the 16'' dye boomstick barrel for my gun it shoots great
   
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media