paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on inthefrey's Review / Comments on inthefrey's Review / Comments on inthefrey's Review / Comments on inthefrey's Review / Comments on inthefrey's Review

Comments on inthefrey's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

inthefrey Friday, March 7th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month819 of 858 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder
Marker Setup: Response Trigger
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Well, here’s this 43-year-old satellite engineer who gets convinced to try paintball with his 15-year-old son. So, I started doing research on paintball products a little after Christmas 2002. By the beginning of March, I had read almost every article on the subject. The technology is getting better every day. And since I have a wife, kids, mortgage, car payment, insurance, food, fuel and those domestic things that some 15-year-old kids think magically appear, I chose the Tippmann A5.
Here are several reasons. Let me share just a few.

**The Tippmann marker LOOKS Awesome!**
The marker is an excellent piece of Tippmann engineering and workmanship. There is the distinct ‘feel’ of craftsmanship when holding it. It doesn’t feel in any way like a toy. The coatings are perfect with only a few mold marks where the two halves of the frame come together across the site rail. It closely resembles an MP5.( Maybe too close for the sensibilities of some parents )

**The Mechanicals**
So many markers of today look like they are straight out of the prop room of a low-budget science fiction movie – with enough gadgets to confuse even the most adept button pusher. The Tippmann A5 is a workhorse of integrated technology. The only adjustments are the safe button and the needle valve for the Response Trigger. That’s it! Needless to say the markers’ 100+ pieces were laid out on my kitchen table the night the UPS truck brought it home. I inspected everything. (Special note: NEVER take this marker apart in the woods – other than the basic field strip – you WILL loose something. Trust me on this!) Almost everything about this marker fits tightly together. Nothing looks like it was added as an after thought and needed to be re-engineered. However, I’m a little disappointed in the piston that drives the Cyclone Feeder system. Although it works perfectly, it seems a little fragile. A little longer collar on the feed chamber to support this piston would correct the wobble. You are definitely getting an original product and not someone else’s ideas. The mechanism should last a long time with the proper care and maintenance.

**Accuracy**
A friend of mine has a Tippmann 98 with R/T and Flatline barrel. He raves about it! The stock barrel on my A5 seems just fine however, many, many, many reviews are telling the tale of the A5 Flatline barrel. The A5 Stock barrel on my setup can hit a 9”x15” target 9 out of ten times using Co2 and RPS/PMI Super Swirl Tournament balls at 100’. ( I know! Don’t give me any heat about cheap balls!) The outside temp was about 40. I shot almost 500. I didn’t chop a single one. My next purchase for the marker would be the Flatline barrel. And yes, I will be getting some better balls for that. The reviews say Marbleizers or Diablo.


**Rate of Fire**
Well, I guess this is where the purist comes out in me. Although Tippmann doesn't advertise this very well, for a NON-electric marker, this shoots like a paintball fire hose! No missed feeds, no broken balls, just a steady stream of flying hell from the muzzle. I would estimate 10 to 12 per second. It truly didn’t miss a lick! Although with the cost of paintballs, this novelty will wear off soon enough. Consistency and accuracy will always prevail.
Weaknesses: We'll have to see about this. Nothing too bad so far to report.
It could use a little bigger hopper and a little bit better barrel.
Say that 5 times fast!
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone that wants reliability. The extra $75 to $100 bucks you spend will be well worth it in agony spent on lesser markers.

If I’m not too ‘geezed’ by then, I hope to be using it 5 years from now. Or maybe, my son’s or daughter's children will be using it someday. Now if you want to pay ($$$$) for a phased plasma rifle in the 40 watt range, go buy a Cocker or an Angel.
If you want an excellent, well engineered marker, and still be able to afford a family, this may be the one for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
±Í†çhý± Saturday, July 17th, 2004 | 11:56 pm PST
Your review was intelligent and insightful, a true pleasure to read. It didn't change my mind (as I'm already purchasing one) but thanks anyways. From a 20 year old punk, you've got my gratitude grandpa.
   

Slyclops14 Saturday, August 14th, 2004 | 3:04 pm PST
Great review, and I would definitely suggest getting the flatline. My brother has one and it rocks. The balls seem to go on forever. Oh, also, the balls won't "bounce" off someone at 160ft enless you're using really crappy paint.
   

kylethecocker88 Saturday, September 4th, 2004 | 1:14 pm PST
this is a great review
   

Im13seriously Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 | 8:50 pm PST
Welp, I'm 13.....I convinced by dad to get me a paintball gun (hehe) and he's about your age...I looked at this review...and I'm like "THIS IS THE ONE" I mean...heh...can't beat that plasma rifle with 40 watt range...A-5 is incredible. Your review DEFINETLY helped me get this gun, thanks a TON
   

eatmypaint90 Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 | 3:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by BruiseMaker


Hmmm.. a very opinionated person aiming in the wrong direction. You can't seriously mean that the quality of Tippmann is below your electro markers. In winter when all the electro markers aren't even working, the Tippmann keeps going. Drop that nice shinning electro on the ground and it's pretty much useless unlike the Tippy. If the person likes to take the time to learn and constantly maintain a cocker or keep feeding batteries and tuning the electro, then fine. If they want to play without maintenance, then it's the Tippy. If you play Speedball OR if you need the "electro crutch" (something that sprays the most paint in case you aren't a good player) then get an electro.

Bottom line. Tippmann = quality, extremely low maintenance, dependable even with some abuse and bad weather. The glock of the paintball world.

   

ghilliesnipe Tuesday, November 16th, 2004 | 5:18 pm PST
100 feet isn't that far so maybe the commentor on this review who said the stock barrel can't shoot that far needs to get out the tape measure.

Nice review by the way. The only thing that would be nice would be a follow up to the review since you were a total newbie at the time of writing the original review
Last edited on Tuesday, November 16th, 2004 at 5:36 pm PST
   

pballer4587 Monday, November 29th, 2004 | 3:27 pm PST
Can somebody help me i dont know which gun to get for speedball the kingman spyder pilot or the tippman A-5??? by the way great review.
   

cmorris326 Monday, January 10th, 2005 | 5:21 am PST
For speedball get the pilot with an ACS bolt. But if you plan on doing any other play besides speedball definitly go with the A5.

I have a 98 custom and a flatline barrel and wondering if anyone can tell me if its worth it to buy the A5 and a Flatline for it or just stick with my 98 custom.
   

cafras Thursday, January 13th, 2005 | 9:24 am PST
good reveiw, I have a friend who bought one(accualy 2 friends) but we play strikly in the woods, no speedball here, if they break a ball they have to take there flatline barrel off to clean it, not smart, especially when theres half a dozen people pinning them down.
give me a a5 without a flatline or a Spyder Imagine any day.
   

ironfreak Thursday, January 20th, 2005 | 6:01 pm PST
the a5 sucks get a timmy

no im not rich

tippman just sucks

Spyder>tippman

No really the a5 really does suck the cyclone feeding system is nothing but hype the accuracy is the same as a 98 and all pintball guns have the same range with the exeption of the flatline. but how accurete is the flatline a 200 feet. Play sppedball it is paintballs future!!!!
   

RageRocker Friday, January 28th, 2005 | 6:36 pm PST
This gun does not suck. I personally dont own an A-5, but i have tested it out for a couple of games of both woods and speed. The speed wasnt as bad as i thought it would be and the woods was great. very fun times had with that gun. Although i own a Spyder, this is a very good gun and also a very very good review. i wish all reviews were written like this one. :-)
   

Partytimebhs Friday, January 28th, 2005 | 8:37 pm PST
the SIM-15 could beat this gun any day
   

TippyA-5pro911 Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 2:45 pm PST
I love this gun
   

UAreNotMyFather Friday, February 25th, 2005 | 12:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ironfreak
the a5 sucks get a timmy

no im not rich

tippman just sucks

Spyder>tippman

No really the a5 really does suck the cyclone feeding system is nothing but hype the accuracy is the same as a 98 and all pintball guns have the same range with the exeption of the flatline. but how accurete is the flatline a 200 feet. Play sppedball it is paintballs future!!!!


Notice how the vast majority of flamers are always the ones conveying the least amount of intelligence.

Explain to me how the cyclone feed is hype when I've put over 9,000 rounds through my gun over the course of the summer and broke one paintball. That break occured when I was new to the gun and didn't realize that when the gun stops feeding, it means the CO2 is low. I instinctually pushed the manual feed button, and there happened to be a paintball already in the breech; so when I fired, it snapped two balls apart. THAT was my break. My SINGLE break.

"The A-5 sucks, get an Intimidator." LOL! How can you even compare the two? I'll tell you how to compare them. They're about 13 benjamins apart (don't scratch your head too hard on that one). I wanted to get into speedball so I bought a Shocker. The A-5 isn't suited for speedball, and it wasn't designed for it either; that doesn't mean it's a "bad" gun, the difference is that I'm not an idiot and instead of bashing a gun because it doesn't perform well in one realm of paintball play (completely OPPOSITE of it's intended area) doesn't mean I'm going to bash it. Would you use a rasta dust Angel in the woods? Sure, if you want to make yourself a giant green, yellow, and red target.

"Spyder>Tippmann."

You=Fool.

"Play speedball it is paintball's future."

If you want to really find out what's going to kill the sport, I suggest you look in the mirror; but now that we're on the topic of professional speedball, let me retort by saying that you're absolutely incorrect, that speedball is going to kill the sport. There is absolutely no shame in the player's behavior or attitude, aggression and redneckish hoo-rah run unchecked and the cheating is unbearable. Woods players aren't necessarily giving the sport as much publicity, but at least they aren't giving the public the wrong impression about us as a whole.

In conclusion, here's something maybe you can understand: YOU SUX F@gZ0Rz HAHA.

Get a life.
   

Sporefrog Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 | 11:20 am PST
Woodsball is hardly a sport. Speedball is so much better. How can you say that there is more cheating in Speedball than woodsball? In proffesional Speedball, there are more refs than players. When someone trys to cheat, they get caught and are penalized for it. Aggression? In what sport arn't players aggressive? Ever heard of Football? Everyone is aggressive in that sport and I don't think it killed it.

Aside from that, there is so much more skill involved in Speedball. You acctually need skill to play it, you can't just hide in a bush with lots of camo on and hope the other team doesn't see you. You are face-to-face with your opponent and your team just has to out play the other team. Woodsball is dumb. And the A-5 sucks. Instead of a crappy A-5 you should probobly get the BKO. It cost $280 and its electo-pnuematic. The 2005's are coming out soon with break beam eyes.

Don't give me that "THIS GUN IS GOOD FOR WOODSBALL" crap. A good gun is a good gun. If its because of colors you could get a black DM4, Angel, or any gun for that matter. Every gun comes in black. And yes, i would rather use a rasta angel than an A-5 for woodsball. I take performance over having my gun slightly more visable.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 at 11:27 am PST
   

p8ntballrebel89 Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 | 10:20 pm PST
yeah, that is one thing that I have never got. Why do people say all the time that certain guns aren't good for woodsball? Besides the colors I don't see how certain guns are bad for woodsball. And just like the guy above me said, you can pretty much get every gun in black. Wouldn't an angel be awesome for the woods? Yea, that's what I call suppressive fire. And yes, I know that's not every ones tactic in the woods. Seems to me like having a full auto non typical woods gun would be really good for fireing and maneuvering. Apparently the US military thinks that having fast firing weapons is a good idea. Any full auto or really fast gun (Angel, Bob Longs, Shocker, or basically anything full auto) would be compared to the BAR (Browning Automatic Rifle) of World War 2, or the modern m60 and m249. They lay down a sustained fast amount of fire to keep the enemy down. I don't know about any of you all, but if I am in the woods and I stumble upon some dude shooting full auto 13+ balls a second on me then I am definitely going to be down way faster and longer than with just some guy with a basic semi-auto. Not to mention more freaked out. I have just always heard about certain guns being bad for woods and am just wandering why.
   

the arch angel Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 11:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by p8ntballrebel89
yeah, that is one thing that I have never got. Why do people say all the time that certain guns aren't good for woodsball? Besides the colors I don't see how certain guns are bad for woodsball. And just like the guy above me said, you can pretty much get every gun in black. Wouldn't an angel be awesome for the woods? Yea, that's what I call suppressive fire. And yes, I know that's not every ones tactic in the woods. Seems to me like having a full auto non typical woods gun would be really good for fireing and maneuvering. Apparently the US military thinks that having fast firing weapons is a good idea. Any full auto or really fast gun (Angel, Bob Longs, Shocker, or basically anything full auto) would be compared to the BAR (Browning Automatic Rifle) of World War 2, or the modern m60 and m249. They lay down a sustained fast amount of fire to keep the enemy down. I don't know about any of you all, but if I am in the woods and I stumble upon some dude shooting full auto 13+ balls a second on me then I am definitely going to be down way faster and longer than with just some guy with a basic semi-auto. Not to mention more freaked out. I have just always heard about certain guns being bad for woods and am just wandering why.

guns that are good for speedball are good for woodsball/but guns that are good for woodsball aren't necessarily good for speedball........ does that make sense , i heard that in a tippy review somewhere
   

p8ntballrebel89 Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 5:03 pm PST
I know what you mean. Any Armortech or Arikon type gun would be pretty bad in my opinion for speedball because of how heavy they are and how the way their built. Same with pump guns. I think that they would be better for woodsball than speedball. But the whole "this gun is bad for woodsball" doesn't make sense to me.
   

UAreNotMyFather Monday, March 7th, 2005 | 10:47 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Sporefrog
Woodsball is hardly a sport. Speedball is so much better. How can you say that there is more cheating in Speedball than woodsball? In proffesional Speedball, there are more refs than players. When someone trys to cheat, they get caught and are penalized for it. Aggression? In what sport arn't players aggressive? Ever heard of Football? Everyone is aggressive in that sport and I don't think it killed it.

Aside from that, there is so much more skill involved in Speedball. You acctually need skill to play it, you can't just hide in a bush with lots of camo on and hope the other team doesn't see you. You are face-to-face with your opponent and your team just has to out play the other team. Woodsball is dumb. And the A-5 sucks. Instead of a crappy A-5 you should probobly get the BKO. It cost $280 and its electo-pnuematic. The 2005's are coming out soon with break beam eyes.

Don't give me that "THIS GUN IS GOOD FOR WOODSBALL" crap. A good gun is a good gun. If its because of colors you could get a black DM4, Angel, or any gun for that matter. Every gun comes in black. And yes, i would rather use a rasta angel than an A-5 for woodsball. I take performance over having my gun slightly more visable.


Sport, hobby, whatever... don't call me out uselessly.

I don't consider woodsballl to be a sport, I consider it to be a hobby amongst friends. When we play woodsball, we don't cheat. A hit is a hit. We're talking about a hobby here, a good time. What I think is appauling about cheating in speedball is that players, surrounded by spectators and dozens of cameras, will actually attempt to wipe paint off their jerseys to stay in the game. That shows a GREAT deal about someone's attitude and ethics. And don't be so naive as to say "if they cheat, they're caught, that's how it works" because that's NOT always the final outcome. It's as if they don't give a damn so long as a single person (the referee) doesn't catch it... that's pathetic. Hundreds of spectators would walk away knowing so-and-so cheated, but he doesn't give it a second thought because he still won. Do you understand what I mean?

Don't compare aggression in paintball to aggression in football. You can't compare a LIVE WEAPON to sports pads, and the problem with aggression in paintball is that the game is full of pre-pubescent youngers who grew up watching The Matrix and numerous Schwarzenegger movies, and you can't tell me they don't dream to impersonate their heroes with a gun in their hands.. "Hasta la vista, baby." You know what I mean, there are countless other examples out there if you just open your eyes. And sadly, a lot of professional paintball players are merely older children.

Sure, maybe the issue of color isn't that big a deal. Yes, Angels are available in black. However, out in the woods, I'd much rather have a flatlined A-5 in my hands, a real rugged gun with a long, rifle-like feel, as opposed to my Shocker. I also personally wouldn't want to bring my Shocker to a muddy area or any place with high humidity or heat - in either case, an A-5 is a more reliable choice, and not to mention less expensive should you need (god forbid in any high-ender) electronic maintenance.

Obviously you havne't had much woodsball experience if you think there is no skill behind it; though specifically I wouldn't call it skill, I would call it more like tactics. Take this for example; in speedball, the chess piece is what matters. In woodsball, who's behind that piece is what matters.

"I take performance over having my gun slightly more visable."

Once again, I can appreciate that you know nothing about woods play. Maybe you should try it sometime. And to let you know, a rasta angel Fly is not "slightly" more visible, it's more like a bullseye.

"Woodsball is dumb. And the A-5 sucks."

Wow, as if that didn't convey obvious bias. Can we take anything else you ever say about Tippmann or scenario play serious?

Oh and by the way, the Ion is going to kill your BKO.
   

Sporefrog Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 | 9:10 am PST
quote:

Sport, hobby, whatever... don't call me out uselessly.

I don't consider woodsballl to be a sport, I consider it to be a hobby amongst friends. When we play woodsball, we don't cheat. A hit is a hit. We're talking about a hobby here, a good time. What I think is appauling about cheating in speedball is that players, surrounded by spectators and dozens of cameras, will actually attempt to wipe paint off their jerseys to stay in the game. That shows a GREAT deal about someone's attitude and ethics. And don't be so naive as to say "if they cheat, they're caught, that's how it works" because that's NOT always the final outcome. It's as if they don't give a damn so long as a single person (the referee) doesn't catch it... that's pathetic. Hundreds of spectators would walk away knowing so-and-so cheated, but he doesn't give it a second thought because he still won. Do you understand what I mean?


So just because a few people cheat in Speedball you stereotype everyone that plays it to have a bad attitude and cheats? I bet that there are a lot of Woodsballers that cheat they just don’t get caught so no one knows. At my local field there is hardly ever cheating.

quote:
Don't compare aggression in paintball to aggression in football. You can't compare a LIVE WEAPON to sports pads, and the problem with aggression in paintball is that the game is full of pre-pubescent youngers who grew up watching The Matrix and numerous Schwarzenegger movies, and you can't tell me they don't dream to impersonate their heroes with a gun in their hands.. "Hasta la vista, baby." You know what I mean, there are countless other examples out there if you just open your eyes. And sadly, a lot of professional paintball players are merely older children.


Again, you are just stereotyping. The only people I am trying to impersonate while I’m playing are pro paintballers.

quote:
Sure, maybe the issue of color isn't that big a deal. Yes, Angels are available in black. However, out in the woods, I'd much rather have a flatlined A-5 in my hands, a real rugged gun with a long, rifle-like feel, as opposed to my Shocker. I also personally wouldn't want to bring my Shocker to a muddy area or any place with high humidity or heat - in either case, an A-5 is a more reliable choice, and not to mention less expensive should you need (god forbid in any high-ender) electronic maintenance.


Why wouldn’t you use a shocker? It shoots more accurate, more consistent, more efficient, and overall just better than an A-5. Maybe you can’t take a shocker out there because they aren’t very durable but if you get a better gun like a DM4, Angel, or Freestyle then I wouldn’t worry about it.

quote:
Obviously you havne't had much woodsball experience if you think there is no skill behind it; though specifically I wouldn't call it skill, I would call it more like tactics. Take this for example; in speedball, the chess piece is what matters. In woodsball, who's behind that piece is what matters.


No, just because someone makes it to a key bunker in speedball doesn’t mean that they are going to get someone out. They still need skills like snap shooting and stuff. Plus you need skills to get to a key bunker and to keep people from getting to other key bunkers. In woodsball most of it is just who-sees-who-first.


quote:
Once again, I can appreciate that you know nothing about woods play. Maybe you should try it sometime. And to let you know, a rasta angel Fly is not "slightly" more visible, it's more like a bullseye.


Ok, I would rather have a very visible gun then less performance. Still you could you know, cover the gun up with leaves and stuff if you are lying on the ground. A good woodsball player would know that.

quote:
Wow, as if that didn't convey obvious bias. Can we take anything else you ever say about Tippmann or scenario play serious?


Its no different then you saying, “I like woodsball” or “The A-5 is a good gun.”

quote:
Oh and by the way, the Ion is going to kill your BKO.


I own a BKO? I’m pretty sure I don’t so I don’t know why you said the ION is going to kill “my” BKO. Its not like I designed it or own it.
   
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media