paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on BBjones' Review / Comments on BBjones' Review / Comments on BBjones' Review / Comments on BBjones' Review

Comments on BBjones' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

BBjones Saturday, March 8th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month126 of 139 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares at all.
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline, 68/3000 nitro duck tank, remote cord.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any RPS balls. (use a small bore size)
Strengths: The good-

1. This is the most accurate barrel ever, and its consistant.
2. distance, distance distance.
3. serves as a great shroud.
4. DOES NOT BREAK PAINT MORE THAN ANY OTHER BARREL (some people say this barrel broke so much paint, thats a myth no matter how fast ur shooting)
5. makes it look like a HKsd (silenced) but when u shoot it gives it that nice loud, realistic submachine gun sound, its awsome.
6. made by tippmann
7. i can hit a soda pop can with 1 shot form 100 feet away. all u gotta do is line up the sights perfectly to the pop can and pull the trigger without moving the gun and it just giudes the ball to the taget, amazes me. just like a real fire arm
8. Flat Trajectory, this is the best part, because u can just aim it like u would a real rifle, this is much much much much better than triying to angle a regular barrel.
9. Takes me about 20 seconds to install (no kidding)
10. form about 200 feet away i can hit the size of a head 1 out of 4 times while still maintaining a flat trajectory. u can probably go further, but i dont have that much room in NJ where i live.
11. this barrel is so great for speedball, its about 10 inches, and its great close up, makes it super accurate. and form one side of a speedball field to the other u can easily just aim strait and shoot someone with one shot from one side to the other!!
12. This barrel is much better than the 98 version, the a-5 flatline is rougher on the inside to give the ball better backspin and is 10 times easier to intall, (litterally i timed it)
13. did i mention instalation is extremely easy? the barrel adapter is permanenlty attacked to the flatline, and all u do is losen 3 screws, pull the old adapter out, push the flatline in and twist it all the way to the right, and wha la, ur done. its perfectly lined up when twisted as far as it goes to the right
(gun facing at you)
14. theirs so much good about this barrel, i dont feel like typing it in sorry. i told u all the importand stuff already.

Weaknesses: the bad is..um wow, i just thout really hard about whats bad about this barrel , and out of all honesty, i cant find one single thing.
Conclusion: By putting this barrel on your gun, your A-5 is officially the baddest ass marker on the planet.
i spent alot on other 100$ barrels, and nothing compares to the flatlines accuarcy, consitancy and distance. and its many other great pluses.

Some people call them selves snipers (haha) , i thout this was funny until i got the flatline, then i realized that the flatline bassiaclly makes you a sniper when you compare it to any other barrel, besides another flatline.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
RuffRyderZilla Wednesday, July 16th, 2003 | 8:07 pm PST
Nice. I keep getting information from people who keep saying that it is impossible to install this barrel.

My barrel adaptor fell out once and I just put it back in and twisted it.
I find a picture of a flatline and there's that same adaptor installed onto the flatline. I thought "How hard can it possibly be to install this." Heh, I got really confused until now.
   

Paintballkiddd Saturday, May 1st, 2004 | 6:52 pm PST
tell me do you have time in a game
to line up your sight perfectly?
   

mstorer Wednesday, September 1st, 2004 | 9:45 am PST
7. i can hit a soda pop can with 1 shot form 100 feet away. all u gotta do is line up the sights perfectly to the pop can and pull the trigger without moving the gun and it just giudes the ball to the taget, amazes me. just like a real fire arm

"Just like a real fire arm"? Nope.

I've seen this same mistake in numerous reviews here... saying how the flatline barrels makes it "fire like a real gun" in that the balls fly straight. NEWS FLASH: Bullets from a firearm drop exactly as fast as balls from a marker... 32 feet (9.8 meters) per second per second. The only difference is muzzle velocity. <300f/s (and some hefty drag from the ball shape) vs 850 f/s (for some pistols) and up. Rifles regularly get 2000f/s... a .50 caliber sniper rifle can exceed 3000 feet per second. Heck, the m16 gets 3100f/s. But when you're firing at a target a mile and a half away... you have to arc your shots, like we do at 50 feet.

I still want a flatline though. Other than that, good review.
Last edited on Wednesday, September 1st, 2004 at 9:47 am PST
   

TXtippmann Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 | 10:16 pm PST
Technically, that's all true. A bullet starts dropping as soon as it leaves the barrel, just like a paintball, and the flatline reverses this. But, with the speed of a bullet compared to the speed of a paintball, a flatline SEEMS more like a rifle. A .270 sighted in at 100 yards will drop an inch at 200 yards (150 grain bullet). Paintball guns don't have that kind of performance. A flatline is as close as you can get. It shoots flat like a rifle. It just uses backspin instead of blistering speed. So, you are correct about the physics involved, but I think it's reasonable to compare the shooting characteristics of a flatline to a rifle (in modesty).
   

blastin balls Monday, November 15th, 2004 | 2:40 pm PST


"I've seen this same mistake in numerous reviews here... saying how the flatline barrels makes it "fire like a real gun" in that the balls fly straight. NEWS FLASH: Bullets from a firearm drop exactly as fast as balls from a marker... 32 feet (9.8 meters) per second per second. The only difference is muzzle velocity. <300f/s (and some hefty drag from the ball shape) vs 850 f/s (for some pistols) and up. Rifles regularly get 2000f/s... a .50 caliber sniper rifle can exceed 3000 feet per second. Heck, the m16 gets 3100f/s. But when you're firing at a target a mile and a half away... you have to arc your shots, like we do at 50 feet."

HAHAHA dont you love when ppl talk about something they have no clue about i bet this kid never even shot a gun
   

Shifty01 Saturday, April 9th, 2005 | 12:32 am PST
I'm having a tough time deciding between a flatline and an Armson Stealth barrel for the A-5 I'm ordering, between the two, which is the more accurate, or overall better barrel? The price difference doesn't matter.
   

the bigg Ben Sunday, May 15th, 2005 | 7:35 pm PST
good review but the 98 flatty is better it has been proven that it shoots 20 feet further just cheak out a5og.net and look at the thread where flatlines up puts a 98 FL on an a5
Last edited on Sunday, May 15th, 2005 at 7:36 pm PST
   

Tippmann ace Tuesday, June 14th, 2005 | 1:21 pm PST
"Just like a real fire arm"? Nope.

come on for a paintball gun hitting a pop can from that far away?!?! has never been done before this barrel was invented, its amazing for a paintball gun so i wouldnt really complain
   

Medium Gunner Friday, September 16th, 2005 | 7:15 pm PST
thats awesome i agree the baddest ass marker
   

Medium Gunner Friday, September 16th, 2005 | 7:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by the bigg Ben
good review but the 98 flatty is better it has been proven that it shoots 20 feet further just cheak out a5og.net and look at the thread where flatlines up puts a 98 FL on an a5
wow 20 feet if you in the woods it really dose not matter
   

cradle_of_filth Friday, November 18th, 2005 | 7:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mstorer
7. i can hit a soda pop can with 1 shot form 100 feet away. all u gotta do is line up the sights perfectly to the pop can and pull the trigger without moving the gun and it just giudes the ball to the taget, amazes me. just like a real fire arm

"Just like a real fire arm"? Nope.

I've seen this same mistake in numerous reviews here... saying how the flatline barrels makes it "fire like a real gun" in that the balls fly straight. NEWS FLASH: Bullets from a firearm drop exactly as fast as balls from a marker... 32 feet (9.8 meters) per second per second. The only difference is muzzle velocity. <300f/s (and some hefty drag from the ball shape) vs 850 f/s (for some pistols) and up. Rifles regularly get 2000f/s... a .50 caliber sniper rifle can exceed 3000 feet per second. Heck, the m16 gets 3100f/s. But when you're firing at a target a mile and a half away... you have to arc your shots, like we do at 50 feet.

I still want a flatline though. Other than that, good review.


dude hes just stating that its a more simlar flight path to a real gun.not that real guns bullets dont drop or anything. but you do have it right. snipers have to adjust their scopes for every shot they take depending on the distace and of course windage. ordinary paintball guns paintballs start to drop like 20 feet into their flight.not a dramatic drop but you know what im saying hopefully.the flatlines trajectory is straight until the velocity slows down to almost nothing.which is why some people complain about balls not breaking but anyways that be all you all get it
   

southern_pber Monday, March 20th, 2006 | 2:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Medium Gunner
wow 20 feet if you in the woods it really dose not matter


Dude you have never played in the woods before have you. if you can get paint on them first they will spend more behind cover, giving you and your team more time to set up and flank.
also providing you play back you can hit them without them getting paint within a unconfortable distance of you . i dont own a flatline i dont really want or need one i think its neat that their is more range , but im a middle and front man and really dont need the distance. i use a lapco bigshot the best barrel a middle player can buy.
   

paintball2010 Friday, February 15th, 2008 | 7:39 pm PST
My friend breaks a ball every round with this barrel. It does break a lot of paint. It is also not that accurate at short ranges because it is curved.
   

Legendaryspleen Sunday, September 21st, 2008 | 5:42 pm PST
Key word...LOUD... think of it this way, if your an acre away from the enemies and your gun goes off they now know where your comming from as opposed to them being oblivious to the sound a normal barrel makes. Another thing is a normal barrel can shoot the same distance, its called long balling and its very easy. just aim your friken gun upwards and you get the same distance at the same velocity and the same guy at the other end seeing your paint coming right for him so that he can just duck under cover and he's safe... and who cares about how much distance you can hit me at when i can just take cover, move up, and bunker your sorry butt with a normal barrel.
   

Backman89 Friday, November 28th, 2008 | 12:50 pm PST
Dispute:
Reviewer claims the barrel is more accurate and consistant, It is a proven fact accuracy comes from shooting conditions, and paint to barrel match. Consistancy comes from how well the regulation system on the marker preforms. It has nothing to do with the barrel.
   

nootz Sunday, August 16th, 2009 | 1:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintball2010
My friend breaks a ball every round with this barrel. It does break a lot of paint.

If it breaks paint every shot, then your friend has to adjust the velocity down a bit. Between 250fps and 280fps is a good number.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media