paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Taste_Me's Review / Comments on Taste_Me's Review / Comments on Taste_Me's Review / Comments on Taste_Me's Review

Comments on Taste_Me's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Taste_Me Monday, March 10th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year13 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
numerous barrels from Freak's to the Stock barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Blaze
Strengths: light weight
nice and Smooth
looks very nice (imo)
Cleans it's self
low price
Weaknesses: one pice
no o-ring so it comes loose a lot
Review: This barrel is every thing the budget concise rec baller could want. It's extremely light weight and very smooth thanks to a Teflon coating which means that it will clean its self more times than not. Unfortunately it's only one piece which itsn't too bad considering its a very nice one-pice. the biggest problem I have with it is it always seems to be coming loose epically when I go up in BPS and it's not good to have to reach up to tighten your barrel during a game. I know some one who has the J&J 2 piece and he has the exact same problem so it may just be inherent in all J&J barrels.
Conclusion: Great barrel on a budget but it's still almost nothing compared to some of the nicer, higher end barrels out there so it gets a 7
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 30th, 2003 at 1:31 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Holy Thunder Friday, April 11th, 2003 | 3:39 pm PST
Uh, you said it doesn't come with an o-ring...mine did, and I only bought it about 8 months ago.
   

Taste_Me Sunday, April 13th, 2003 | 2:32 pm PST
I got mine about 1 1/2 - 2 years ago... it didnt come with one
   

Viper5030 Tuesday, April 29th, 2003 | 6:41 am PST
I got mine less than a month ago and it didn't have one. What he said is true, though. The barrel comes loose on my E-99 alot, probably cuz of the high rate of fire.
   

Taste_Me Wednesday, April 30th, 2003 | 1:04 pm PST
Maybe its only the spyder versions that don't have the o-ring
   

yesindeed Tuesday, May 6th, 2003 | 4:36 pm PST
I was thinking about getting a flatline for my tippman 98 custom. I havent used either on any gun before so I was wondering...should I save my money and buy the ceramic or get the flatline. I was earlier thinking about getting a flatline but have heard some things about it that make me think I don't want it. What do u think?
   

Taste_Me Tuesday, May 6th, 2003 | 6:23 pm PST
I think that there are much better barrels to spend your money on. in my experience flat-lines are useless. Sure you get a little longer distance but the accuracy get thrown off way too much for it to make a difference. There is a reason why when they tried to sell the flat-lines on tournament level guns it bombed. your much better off with a ceramic or a boomstick.
   

getto_alf Sunday, May 11th, 2003 | 9:20 pm PST
I dont know how it could come loose because my friend has a cheap zap gun and his barrel doesn't have an o-ring and its fine.
   

jsoenx Thursday, July 3rd, 2003 | 5:27 pm PST
Yeah, if your barrel comes loose just go down to a local machine shop and get an o-ring that fits for a few cents. (50 cents max)
   

Menohl Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003 | 10:16 am PST
I have a tippmann 98 and mine did come with an O ring. When i first screwed the barrel in it damn near would not come out because the grip was so tight.

I guess the non-tippmann barrels don't have o-rings, but then again, i'd never own anything but a tippmann.
   

knuckhead09 Monday, December 22nd, 2003 | 8:33 pm PST
j&j ceramics dont use o-rings. thats why they don't come with one
   

Menohl Saturday, January 10th, 2004 | 5:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by knuckhead09
j&j ceramics dont use o-rings. thats why they don't come with one

The one's for the TIppmann 98 do. And to agree with the post 2 ahead of me, when i first put my barrel in with the o-ring, it was damn near impossible to screw out it was so tight.
   

geezus Monday, February 23rd, 2004 | 8:10 pm PST
Mine doesn't have a spot for a o-ring but my friend's does, both are for spyders, his is 14 and mine is 12 I dunno if that makes a difference
   

G_unit_gangsta Wednesday, February 25th, 2004 | 6:07 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Taste_Me
Maybe its only the spyder versions that don't have the o-ring
yeah i have a spyder version and it came with an o ring. i got it about 4 months ago. by the way, its a very nice barrell
   

dispense05 Sunday, March 7th, 2004 | 1:21 pm PST
that little groove at the end of the threads, thats where the O-ring goes.
   

knuckhead09 Sunday, March 7th, 2004 | 5:54 pm PST
I have no clue, all i know is mine doesnt use an o-ring.
   

Golden God Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 | 10:49 am PST
I don't think it really matters if it is "one pice". There's nothing wrong with a one piece barrel/
   

knuckhead09 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 | 12:20 pm PST
Yeah, infact the only time you should want a 2 peice is if it is a kit with a back and about 4 different bored fronts. Other than that, one pieces in my opinion are actually better. For example, everyone recommends the custom products one peice over the two piece.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 at 12:20 pm PST
   

murder dolls77 Saturday, March 27th, 2004 | 5:46 pm PST
To fix the problem of the barrel coming lose, put an o-ring on it. Its not that hard to fix.
   

TXtippmann Thursday, August 26th, 2004 | 8:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Taste_Me
I think that there are much better barrels to spend your money on. in my experience flat-lines are useless. Sure you get a little longer distance but the accuracy get thrown off way too much for it to make a difference. There is a reason why when they tried to sell the flat-lines on tournament level guns it bombed. your much better off with a ceramic or a boomstick.
Your experience must involve laziness and ignorance. The flatline is not useless. It just involves a little more work and knowledge to operate properly. If you like things easy, I'm sure the ceramic will do just fine. If you don't mind working with your barrel, the flatline will do even better.
   

Battleaxe3 Thursday, September 30th, 2004 | 3:09 pm PST
Well The flatline is only good for back man, if youre a front man the J&J is good enough. So since i play up front, the flat line is kinda useless.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media