paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Mike F.'s Review / Comments on Mike F.'s Review / Comments on Mike F.'s Review / Comments on Mike F.'s Review

Comments on Mike F.'s Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Mike F. Thursday, March 20th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha STS with Smart Parts Teardrop barrel which is a good barrel but a step under the All American
Marker Setup: KAPP Autococker w/ All American, 8" Drop forward, Crossfire nitro tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap, Diablo, PMI
Strengths: Very accurate, quiet, and easy to clean.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Smart Parts makes, in my opinion, the best barrels on the market. The All American is no exception. I love my All American. This barrel is very very accurate, it shots a very far distance, and it is almost completely silent. I can hit the exact same spot on a target every shot from long ways off. Its also pretty easy to clean. Much easier then the Teardrop because the porting is pretty small and not much paint get stuck in.
Conclusion: I would recommend the All American to anyone whos looking to upgrade their gun. Barrels are one of the most important parts in having a good gun and if you want to own people get the All American. These barrels are only like $35 right now so pick one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 6:38 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
doyoung2win Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003 | 8:52 am PST
with Smart Parts Teardrop barrel which is a good barrel but a step under the All American
u say that the all american is better than the tear drop
the company had created the tear drop later on though i do not think that they would release another barrel if it was worse than what they already have
The tear drop has better porting because they are controlled directions because of the grooves on the porting

please EXPLAIN to me why the all american is better than teardrop in your opinion

email me at doyoung2win@yahoo.com
thx
   

sonnemann Thursday, January 29th, 2004 | 4:26 pm PST
because it's a 2-piece design, which allows swapping of different front colors and lengths, and different backs for different bore sizes and different threads for different guns. Plus, I think it looks cooler than teardrop.
   

masternewb Sunday, April 11th, 2004 | 1:20 pm PST
They do not cost 35 dollars on pbgear
   

silentsnipe260 Saturday, May 29th, 2004 | 12:48 pm PST
I was kinda wondering the same thing as doyoung2win. I currently own a teadrop for a spyder but as i am getting an a-5 i need a new barrel. What is the difference between the teardrop and all american in terms of performance? Is it worth the extra 30$ ? Thanx for the help.
   

sonnemann Sunday, May 30th, 2004 | 10:39 am PST
silentsnipe, if you get an all-american, that means you can eventually buy a freak back (and use the freak insert system) and keep your aa front for later use. The 2-piece design is nice if you want to have different sized fronts for different types of play, and different sized backs for different sizes of paint. The all-american is nice, but I'd also check out a CP 2-piece, for much less.
In terms of performance, the AA is a much higher quality barrel; it has a much nicer finish and is in general a higher-end barrel (hence the increase in price.)
   

TXtippmann Wednesday, August 25th, 2004 | 8:35 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by silentsnipe260
I was kinda wondering the same thing as doyoung2win. I currently own a teadrop for a spyder but as i am getting an a-5 i need a new barrel. What is the difference between the teardrop and all american in terms of performance? Is it worth the extra 30$ ? Thanx for the help.
Congratulations on the upgrade to a better gun.
   

sonnemann Thursday, August 26th, 2004 | 5:57 am PST
Depends on the type of Spyder from which he "upgraded"...
   

TXtippmann Thursday, August 26th, 2004 | 8:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sonnemann
Depends on the type of Spyder from which he "upgraded"...
No it doesn't. Any Spyder to an A5 is an upgrade.
   

sonnemann Thursday, August 26th, 2004 | 10:41 pm PST
How did I know you'd say that...heh. Check out www.suprbugman.com and www.polecatpaintball.com to see some Spyders that you wish you owned. Also check out Ebonclaw's Super-Shutter.
   

TXtippmann Wednesday, September 1st, 2004 | 9:57 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sonnemann
How did I know you'd say that...heh. Check out www.suprbugman.com and www.polecatpaintball.com to see some Spyders that you wish you owned. Also check out Ebonclaw's Super-Shutter.
I don't have to look at them to know that I don't want them. Let me guess, they have hundreds of dollars of upgrades to make them better because they suck so bad out of the box. You can have your ball chopping, shiny, tin foil, cheap science fiction movie ray gun rejects. I'll stick to my Tippmanns like the rest of the real paintballers. Don't try to convince me otherwise. I will stay with Tippmanns, you will stay with Spyders. You won't sway me because I know better, and I won't sway you because your too stupid to know better. You just go play with your toy Spyder now, little boy.
   

sonnemann Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 | 8:33 am PST
Hahaha. You're the kind of paintballer that gives everyone the image that we're all a bunch of camo-clad gun freaks who want nothing better than to "snipe their enemies."

The rest of the "real paintballers" have Tippmanns, eh? Have you ever ventured onto the forums? I invite you to go there and see just how many "real paintballers" use Tippmanns. Truth be told, they're a beginner's gun. A Spyder can be made faster, have eyes, can be made true electropneumatic or true autococking...much more versatlity than a Tippmann could ever dream of having. If any Spyder you were using was having trouble with chopping, chances are it was a user error, becuase 99% of the new players who use Spyders are more than happy with them.

Spyders suck out of the box? Really? Is that why their reviews have such high ratings?

Tin foil? To my knowledge, it's never been used on any paintball gun, let alone a Spyder.

And actually, I shoot a Viking...teeheehee
   

TXtippmann Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 | 3:21 pm PST
To upgrade a Spyder like you're talking about takes more money than most of us have. That's why I shoot a Tippmann. It takes very few upgrades for what I need it for, and I don't have to worry about it breaking. And you want to bring up reviews? Look at the 98 reviews. They have a higher average rating than all but two of the Spyders (in the blowback category). Those two don't have as many reviews as the 98, so it's harder to get a more accurate average with those. If you put so much stock into the ratings, you would have no reason to doubt that the 98 is so good. Also, you make it sound like we play in a military style. Well, we are shooting eachother with guns to achieve a given objective. That sounds like the military to me. What is so wrong with that? The tin foil remark was figurative. What I was getting at that went over your head because you're an idiot, is that Spyders are made out of cheaper materials. And yes, Tippmanns are beginner's guns. They are also very experienced player's guns and everything in between. Who do you think is buying Spyders? Mostly beginners. They buy both of these markers because they are affordable, moron. I also noticed that you didn't list your birthday. Is that because you don't want anyone to know that you are too young to be on here? You sound like you are about 10.
   

sonnemann Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 | 4:11 pm PST
Of course the tin-foil remark was figurative, I was doing what's called "nitpicking."

The fact remains-Spyder don't just break into pieces. They're durable enough for most new players, and can be upgraded to a high level of performance for much less than you would pay for a new Tippmann.

Spyders are made of cheaper materials? Is that why Tippmann aluminum is so cheap that it can't be reanodized for fear of disintegration?

Too young to be on here? Personally, if you're actually going to go on the internet, start an argument like this, insult me and attack me personally just because we have differing views, I think you're the one who appears to be more immature. I'm just goin to stop wasting space on Andrew's great site, because you'll never be swayed from your one-track arguments.

I'll be honest; I'm 15. Got a problem?
Last edited on Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 at 4:13 pm PST
   

TXtippmann Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 | 6:02 pm PST
If you look at our previous comments, you will see that I did not attack you. I defended myself against your attacks, then I attacked you. I never said Spyders break into pieces. I said they weren't as tough or reliable as Tippmanns. Why would a Tippmann need to be reanodized? They are fine the way they are. Let me guess, you like pretty, colorful paint jobs that stick out like a sore thumb. I'll bet you have a pretty rainbow paint job on yours to match the rainbow sticker on your car. Oh, that's right, you don't have a vehicle yet. That's where you get all of your money. Mommy and daddy buy all of your things and spoil you. That explains a lot. You say I won't be swayed from my one-track arguments. Hmmm. That sounds familiar. Maybe it's because I said that earlier about both of us. You are just as bad. I don't expect you to change your views. I realize you are too stupid for any sound reasoning. I only got into the argument that you started to set things straight. And yes, this is a great site. I'm sure a lot of people will love to hear that you have stopped wasting space with your futile arguments.
   

sonnemann Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 | 7:34 pm PST
You were the one that called me "stupid" first...but that's not important.

My Viking is black, and even if I was attracted to men, I'd think you'd be more intelligent than to use that sort of baseless insult.

I worked every day through this summer to get my Viking and am proud to say so, thank you very much. I'm sorry you're too lazy to work hard to get a nice marker.

Wait...are you kidding me? You're insulting me becasue I don't have a car yet? It's somehow my fault that I wasn't born a few years earlier? Your insults are laughable.

At this point, the argument has been cast aside in favor of bandying peurile remarks back and forth....you can have your opinion, and I shall keep mine.

Good day, Mr. Bush Vote.
   

TXtippmann Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 | 9:40 pm PST
Too lazy to work hard to get a nice marker? I have bills to pay like rent, truck payments, gas, food, and other hobbies like hunting and fishing. I work 10-35 hours of overtime every week (not just during the summer) to pay for these things. Things a little boy wouldn't know about. I still manage to have a nice marker, whether you think so or not. I understand why you don't have a car. I was making a point about you being a spoiled brat. You missed that one. More evidence of your stupidity. Nice try at sounding sophisticated with your fancy remarks, but you misspelled puerile. You are also a liar. You continued to waste space on here after claiming to be finished. That's something Kerry would do. And yes, I will vote for Bush. I value my right to bear arms and enjoy the great outdoors. That's something that liberals care nothing about. They would rather kill babies, take away our guns (which would eventually mean paintball guns), dispose of Christianity, and ruin the Constitution and Bill of Rights. I suppose you are opposed to Bush because your daddy is. I'll bet you don't know a dang thing about him or Kerry. Well, you say you're done with the argument (again). We'll see if you lie (like Kerry and all liberals) again and come back with another weak comment. Good day, Mr. "I'm a war hero wannabe" Vote.
   

sonnemann Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 | 9:50 pm PST
:laughs:
   

TXtippmann Friday, September 3rd, 2004 | 12:51 pm PST
Yes, you lied again. Yes, another weak comment. No more comebacks? I guess your daddy isn't around to tell you what to type. Oh well. I guess I can find some other pathetic loser to set straight.
   

PbBob Sunday, December 26th, 2004 | 9:19 pm PST
Sonnemann&TXtippmann lol that was one hell of a post fight. but sonnemann i think that TXtippmann is right tippmanns are more dependable than a spyder in the same price range. And where do i come to my conclusion? My 1st gun was a spyder i had it for about 6 months it was good but i am way more happy with my tippmann. o yea btw nice review im gonna buy the AA but what front to choose..........
   

sonnemann Monday, December 27th, 2004 | 7:43 am PST
Apparently my daddy isn't around to tell me what to type so I can't form a coherent response :rolleyes:

To each his own, and I certainly will not say that I do not respect your opinion. The fact of the matter is that I don't really care, I just like to debate.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media