paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on quik's Review / Comments on quik's Review / Comments on quik's Review / Comments on quik's Review / Comments on quik's Review

Comments on quik's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

quik Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months50 of 84 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 68 Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
20 oz. Co2
Home-made drop foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel(unless you polish it)
A expansion chamber(if you really want to)
maybe a D/F becuase with a 20oz co2 it does get somewhat end heavy.
Strengths: The ability to shoot liquid and gas co2, also its sturdyness.
Weaknesses: Its barrel, its end heavyness, and maybe the design? *shrugs*
Review: I got this gun for christmas, and so far, so good, thats all I got to say. Although before asking for it, I did some research for it, and concluded that this was one hell of a gun(for a begginer/intermediate, depends on those upgrades ^_^) to get . I got it, and I sure was correct. I wasnt expecting anything like a Angel or Cocker, but I'm happy with what I got. Hopefully, soon, I'm going to get some more upgrades for it, which would be nice to have.

Even though its a great gun, I cant just go and say that its the best begginer/intermediate gun around(heh, which it just might be). It does have some problems. I liked the layout of the old reviews more, so I'm going to go back to basics...

||||The Good||||
++Built very strong, is able to take a lickin' and keep on tickin.

++Co2 - It has the ability to shoot liquid and gas co2, so if you live in a colder state like me(michigan), and your not looking to spend 100+ for HPA(becuase your just plain cheap), then this gun definitley helps in winter.

++Paint - Shoots alot of different kinds of paint pretty well, just make sure you match the paint to the barrel, RPS Big Ball worked for me.

++X-Chamber - Honestly, there really isnt any need for one really, considering it can shoot liquid co2 almost as good as gas co2. But I'd say get one (or a Reg.) since your shots will be alot more consistant, no mo' velocity spikes ^_^.


||||The Bad||||
--The Barell - although it isnt THAT bad, mine seems to shoot pretty nice.

--Field Stripping - It'll take around 30-45 min. when you just start, but when you know what your doing, it takes about 10-15 minutes, max.

--Not Compact - Not as compact as I would like, and pretty long with a 12'' barrel and 20oz co2 on it, I'd advise a remote or drop foward(or cradle)
Conclusion: Its a great biggner/intermediate gun, and if your not *too* serious about paintballing, your not in it to compete with the big boys(even though you probably good with some well placed upgrades), and just in it for fun with your friends, I highly reccomend this gun, its easy to maintain and the upgrades are really easy(most) to put in. The good pretty much counteracts with the bad, and the bads can be remedied quite well. I'm not going to give it a 9 or 10, because those spaces are reserved for the Angels and Cockers.

If you are on a tight budget, and looking for a gun that can get the job done, the Tippmann 98 Custom is definitley for you! And if your NOT on a tight budget and want a even better Tippmann, look out for the A-5, its moving on up with the ranks of the big boys. Soon, I'm guessing that the gun will quite the hit, and maybe someday, you'll even see someone on a pro team(besides T-Effect) using a tricked ol' Tippmann ^_^.
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
tippmann92387 Saturday, April 26th, 2003 | 11:03 pm PST
Ok this gun is awesome.I had it for 2 years and upgraded it to its best.i have had a couple problems with the gun but they were all minor problems suck as my r/t tube cracking but thats about it.The only thing i would like is if it would shoout a little farther but thats ok.But yeah this gun is awesome.
   

tyger_eyes Wednesday, May 28th, 2003 | 1:11 pm PST
You can always buy a Flatline barrel for it. That increases the range of your tippy. I thought you said that you had upgraded it to its fullest?
   

iownu@pball Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003 | 3:11 pm PST
the tippmann gets good distance as it is. the stock barrel doesnt however. just get a high end smooth bore barrel. i owned a flatline and was very dissaponted by the accuracy. The distance wa sgreat, but when the ball actually hits the person it bounces off from far distances,making the distance shots worthless, making your money worthless, get any smooth bore barrel over 40.00 and notice the godly distance!!!!
get a lp kit for the accuracy tippys were made to run at 300 psi, youll notice the diffrerece
   

Woogie12 Friday, June 13th, 2003 | 9:03 am PST
lol a home made drop and a polished barrel huh? thats pretty funny but pretty cool in a way
   

SEALLogan Monday, August 4th, 2003 | 6:41 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by iownu@pball
the tippmann gets good distance as it is. the stock barrel doesnt however. just get a high end smooth bore barrel. i owned a flatline and was very dissaponted by the accuracy. The distance wa sgreat, but when the ball actually hits the person it bounces off from far distances,making the distance shots worthless, making your money worthless, get any smooth bore barrel over 40.00 and notice the godly distance!!!!
get a lp kit for the accuracy tippys were made to run at 300 psi, youll notice the diffrerece

You do realize that the only way to get more distance out of a Tippmann is to turn up the velocity or get the flatline barrel. Those are the only 2 ways to get more distance.

And Tippmanns are not made to run at 300 PSI. They were made to shoot with CO2 which is at 800-850 PSI. That is what the CVX (or something like that) valve is all about.

Getting the LP kit will replace all of your internals. You get a special vertical adapter, LP chamber, new valve, new rear bolt, new main spring, and I think you also get a new power tube. That replaces everything. So yes the Tippmann is made to shoot at 300 PSI....but only if you get the LP kit.
   

Brentiss Sunday, October 26th, 2003 | 11:07 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by BF1942dude
hello, if any1 is reading this i was wondering if i should get a spyder imagine or a tippmann 98 custom. At first i wanted to get imagine because it was automatic but then my friend said that electric guns suck. I have enough money ot get either one but i can not decide. This will be my 1st gun

sincerely,
bf1942dude


ok my friend got the imagaine and is now looking for a new gun because he dropped his in the water and now it shorted out now he is a really rich kid and can afford it but i however got the 98 c and it can take a heck of a beating and still keep going i would highly recomonend this gun to any person because it can b equipted with enoguh stuff to make it do what ever u want, my friend was pushing 13-14 b balls per second with his imagine and he was realy pissed when he realized that we could fired as fast as him with only semi-auto I WOULD RECOMEND THIS GUN TO N E ONE
   

BF1942dude Sunday, October 26th, 2003 | 11:36 am PST
thnx alot.....i already got 98 a few days ago LOL
   

imacrazy Friday, October 31st, 2003 | 11:01 pm PST
Good job I got one it chopped paint like a chines chief way to many problems. Way to go getting a tippmann A+
   

InTeL PainTBaLL Thursday, November 6th, 2003 | 6:02 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by tippmann92387
Ok this gun is awesome.I had it for 2 years and upgraded it to its best.i have had a couple problems with the gun but they were all minor problems suck as my r/t tube cracking but thats about it.The only thing i would like is if it would shoout a little farther but thats ok.But yeah this gun is awesome.

upgrade to a flatline... that makes it shoot farther and better upgraded to its best ? nah u havent
   

InTeL PainTBaLL Thursday, November 6th, 2003 | 6:04 am PST
i agree the only electo gun i have had success with is the e-99 which u cant play in rain or snow with WHICH IS FUN but cold :(
   

bloodman666 Thursday, November 20th, 2003 | 9:23 am PST
should i get a flatline for my new model 98 custom?????? asap please hit me back at motxguy12345@aol.com much apreciated
   

imacrazy Thursday, November 20th, 2003 | 10:13 am PST
Flatline barrels will give you distance but not accuracy I would just stick with a normal barrel!
   

Shulacker Sunday, December 28th, 2003 | 9:13 pm PST
here's what you should get, when i was a newb i had a tippman. i realized that it's not the most accurate gun in the world, so i got a DYE Boomstick 14in. barrel. it made it 10 times better, and increased range quite a bit too.
   

pimpdragon75 Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 | 2:09 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by tippmann92387
Ok this gun is awesome.I had it for 2 years and upgraded it to its best.i have had a couple problems with the gun but they were all minor problems suck as my r/t tube cracking but thats about it.The only thing i would like is if it would shoout a little farther but thats ok.But yeah this gun is awesome.

upgrading it to the best would be selling it and buying a new marker
Last edited on Monday, January 5th, 2004 at 3:39 pm PST
   

pimpdragon75 Monday, January 5th, 2004 | 3:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Brentiss


ok my friend got the imagaine and is now looking for a new gun because he dropped his in the water and now it shorted out now he is a really rich kid and can afford it but i however got the 98 c and it can take a heck of a beating and still keep going i would highly recomonend this gun to any person because it can b equipted with enoguh stuff to make it do what ever u want, my friend was pushing 13-14 b balls per second with his imagine and he was realy pissed when he realized that we could fired as fast as him with only semi-auto I WOULD RECOMEND THIS GUN TO N E ONE

any electronic marker dropped in the water will short out, your friends is just retarted
   

Allaballa062584 Saturday, January 24th, 2004 | 8:53 am PST
I have a Tippman 98 Custom all stock with a Teardrop barrel and that sucker ripps my buddies up when we are playin at the local paintball fields. I love my Tippman and all, but my 32 Degrees Icon-e is great if ur lookin for a nice durable elec. gun.
   

Allaballa062584 Saturday, January 24th, 2004 | 8:55 am PST
Oh yeah, and Brentiss, only people who arent smart will take out their elec. guns on a wet day!!
   

LeftwardPie Friday, April 9th, 2004 | 9:54 pm PST
bf1942dude go for the tippmann
   

bbl337 Friday, May 14th, 2004 | 6:14 am PST
I personally have the Tippmann 98 custom. I think it's one of the best guns out there because it's better than most guns to start, but then if you put in about 5-300$ it's as good as any 1500$ gun. I recommend this to people who don't want an expensive marker, but want to have a good gun. Also, if you get it, i recommend you get the Smart Parts Tear Drop barrel, it is a great addon for the gun. happy shooting
   

GX34life Tuesday, June 15th, 2004 | 12:02 am PST
My cocker out shoots a flatline, yes distance, ive done it twice at my local field and im ready to do it again
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media