paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review

Comments on Mark00A-5's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Mark00A-5 Friday, March 28th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month63 of 105 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scepter
Empire Barrel Kit
Kapp barrels with bore sizes for the front and backs (you will prolly have to special order those...)
Marker Setup: No marker right now. Selling my impulse, baught an AKA Viking. Underground is the way to go :)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Sheesh... I'm not sure... just about any paintballs that are anything resembling round.
Strengths:
Bore Changing
Customizing
Volume
Weaknesses:
Price
Accuracy
Durability
Review: Goods-

Bore Changing - You have the new and improved option to change the bore sizes in the rear of the gun. This will help result in less paint breakage, greater air effiancy, and in some cases greater accuracy.
Customizing - When you buy this barrel, you get the new option to use different fronts, this does include fronts that dye has issued on their new boomsticks and ultralites. You can also chose the back, to be stainless steal, or aluminum.
Volume - The barrel does seem to quiet down my shots a little bit

Bads-

Price - The price is horrible. This barrel kit is a great, but definatly not worth the price.
Accuracy - Althought the accuracy is a HUGE step up from any stock barrel, its not nearly as good as some of the other barrels out there. My suggestion is to mimic the boomstick and make stainless steel inserts, stainless steal provides less friction on the ball, and with the aluminum front combo, it seems to make very good accuracy. Want proof? Take a look at the boomstick... very successful and accurate barrel.

Boomstick/Freak Hybrid? I like the sound of that :)
Durability - The inserts sure ai'nt titainium people, treat them with care because they will dent.
Conclusion: Good barrel. Bad price. Accuracy could be better. I reccomend to any tourny players, but not to any low budget players. Get a boomstick, pretty soon dye will have changable backs for their boomsticks and ultralites, I would go for one of those.
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
MarX0069 Saturday, March 29th, 2003 | 3:42 pm PST
Good review Mark, might I comment on your taste in first names ;)

One more thing I would like to add, for all of you that don't know much about bore, and barrels. I thought I would add this for our friend Mark.

Bore= Callibur, not all paintballs are the same size, some are bigger then others. The standard size is .689
Why its important= If your balls are too smalls, its quite bad, it will make you use more air and be less accurate and possibly break balls.

Just thought I would mention this to all you new players out there who don't understand. This might help a little.

Mark
   

Mark00A-5 Saturday, April 5th, 2003 | 11:37 am PST
Hello,

I would just like to thank all of you that voted helpfull on my review, it helps keep it on top so that the people looking for reliable and to-the-point information about this product find it fast without having to scroll through countless other reviews. Thanks again

Mark! :)
   

the Ydna Tuesday, May 20th, 2003 | 10:41 am PST
I can't believe that you actually think that one aftermarket barrel is "more accurate" than another. You need to step back and look at the two objectively.
   

Mark00A-5 Tuesday, May 20th, 2003 | 11:33 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by the Ydna
I can't believe that you actually think that one aftermarket barrel is "more accurate" than another. You need to step back and look at the two objectively.

Why is that so hard to beleive? You don't think that certain designs of stock and aftermarket barrels have propertys that ultimatly result in greater accuracy? I'm not sure I get what you mean Andy (ydnA). I'm not taking offence, but I would like to hear more of what you ment by that... if I understand correctly, you are saying that aftermarket barrels all offer the same accuracy? I'm sorry but I don't understand the mentallity here :-/
   

the Ydna Monday, June 2nd, 2003 | 10:05 am PST
Yes, that's almost exactly what I mean. Take any group of barrels, say the whisper, boomstick, teardrop, infinity, anything you want. Shoot them all on the same gun and you will see no differences in accuracy. As long as they're all hones and all arn't chipped or otherwise damaged, they will all shoot the same. Any differences you notice are from your own opinions beforehand.

But htink what you want, I don't care.
   

Mark00A-5 Monday, June 2nd, 2003 | 11:47 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by the Ydna
Yes, that's almost exactly what I mean. Take any group of barrels, say the whisper, boomstick, teardrop, infinity, anything you want. Shoot them all on the same gun and you will see no differences in accuracy. As long as they're all hones and all arn't chipped or otherwise damaged, they will all shoot the same. Any differences you notice are from your own opinions beforehand.

But htink what you want, I don't care.


In ways I agree with you, but ways I do not agree with you. Alot of reviews are very opinionated, and because of this products are praised, or frowned upon unjustly. I try to write all of my reviews after extensive testing and researching about the product to reduce any bigotry or descrimination in my reviews. I hope I do well.

I do not agree with your beleif that all barrels offer the same performance. I've gone through several kits, two-peice barrels, and single peice barrels in my time of play, and I do think that different barrels offer different pros and cons. Such pros include volume, accuracy, distance, consistancy. Such cons would include volume, paint breakage, grouping, consistancy, and distance. The reasons for these pros and cons are differences in design. For example: Longer barrels tend to reduce velocity by puting more friction on the ball before it leaves the barrel. Because of this, you must increase your velocity to get the ball moving at an acceptable speed. So in essance, barrels that are longer will require more air/co2 to operate at its fullest.

This is one of countless examples I could list to you. However, I'm not trying to change your opinion, I'm just trying to help justify my views for you. Perhapts we can talk about this through e-mail if you wish to continue the debate, if you will. My e-mail is raven@pivot.net - Stay cool, Andy :)

   

felipe chavez Monday, October 6th, 2003 | 8:29 am PST
Dude your so right but guess what the smart parts now has stainless steel inserts i used this past weekend and the balls fly out like frisbees.
   

Mark00A-5 Tuesday, October 7th, 2003 | 2:48 am PST
Yeah! I saw those inserts on the internet myself not but the other day - I want to get my hands on them and edit my review. I'll do so when I have some time to play with them. =P

Mark
   

pblover124 Thursday, October 23rd, 2003 | 5:15 pm PST
uhhh, the fronts arent any thing like a boomstick front. U either get AA fronts or freak fronts, which dont look anything like a boomstick. lol
   

ase Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 | 8:37 pm PST
ur name is Mark00A-5

Got an A-5? if so they rock, ey?

i would also like to know about the lengths, it gives you an option for the front , but do you add that to the back for the full length? how long is the back?
nice review
   

Magical Peanut Sunday, March 28th, 2004 | 10:42 am PST
the back is as long as it needs to be for the inserts and yes you can have different sizes for the front length. you can have sizes that will make the barrel an over all length of 12" 14" 16" or 18". and ya i agree with mark on the whole barrel issue there about them all being the same well they arent and thats that. i have one las thing here for everyone now. i dont know what kins of crappy stuff you guys have gotten but i have played with my friends freak on his nightkast and i was getting grouping across the field that was just sick. i dont know what you guys are talking about saying that the freak has bad accuracy so eh whatever.
   

Tony_needspills Tuesday, May 11th, 2004 | 9:52 pm PST
guys if yout blowing away a bunker with 19 balls a second your going to hit why does it matter if your like an inch off
Last edited on Tuesday, May 11th, 2004 at 9:53 pm PST
   

Tony_needspills Tuesday, May 11th, 2004 | 9:56 pm PST
and what is with the whole :P ; o :p ::::::::D O :
i dont understand
   

daniel144 Tuesday, June 15th, 2004 | 5:23 am PST
this gun is a bunch of sh#t
   

madp8ntballerdc Tuesday, August 17th, 2004 | 6:55 am PST
i like eggs but not reely
   

Goat Master Friday, August 20th, 2004 | 12:58 am PST
ok... are you saying the viking sucks? If so... You really need to take some smart pills, the AKA vikings are insanely nice man. But if not, what are you talking about?
   

Alivinglegend06 Thursday, October 28th, 2004 | 7:59 pm PST
i have to let you know that you CAN get stainless steel instert for the freak, they are just a little more expensive.
   

tippmannstealth Saturday, December 4th, 2004 | 9:34 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mark00A-5


Why is that so hard to beleive? You don't think that certain designs of stock and aftermarket barrels have propertys that ultimatly result in greater accuracy? I'm not sure I get what you mean Andy (ydnA). I'm not taking offence, but I would like to hear more of what you ment by that... if I understand correctly, you are saying that aftermarket barrels all offer the same accuracy? I'm sorry but I don't understand the mentallity here :-/


hey mark I agree i bought an after market barrel and it was better than MOST of the ohter high prich barrels
   

PbBob Sunday, December 26th, 2004 | 7:26 pm PST
in your reveiw you said the accuracy could be better.......but accuracy comes from a large # of factors but the most important is the paint/barrel match. so did you use the wrong bore size insert?
   

moo moo face Thursday, January 20th, 2005 | 6:25 pm PST
i like this barrel. dont like the pricse tho.
in my oppinion no barrel is worth like 150 or 200 bucks.
just my oppinions tho
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media