paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review

Comments on Mark00A-5's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Mark00A-5 Friday, March 28th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month63 of 105 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scepter
Empire Barrel Kit
Kapp barrels with bore sizes for the front and backs (you will prolly have to special order those...)
Marker Setup: No marker right now. Selling my impulse, baught an AKA Viking. Underground is the way to go :)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Sheesh... I'm not sure... just about any paintballs that are anything resembling round.
Strengths:
Bore Changing
Customizing
Volume
Weaknesses:
Price
Accuracy
Durability
Review: Goods-

Bore Changing - You have the new and improved option to change the bore sizes in the rear of the gun. This will help result in less paint breakage, greater air effiancy, and in some cases greater accuracy.
Customizing - When you buy this barrel, you get the new option to use different fronts, this does include fronts that dye has issued on their new boomsticks and ultralites. You can also chose the back, to be stainless steal, or aluminum.
Volume - The barrel does seem to quiet down my shots a little bit

Bads-

Price - The price is horrible. This barrel kit is a great, but definatly not worth the price.
Accuracy - Althought the accuracy is a HUGE step up from any stock barrel, its not nearly as good as some of the other barrels out there. My suggestion is to mimic the boomstick and make stainless steel inserts, stainless steal provides less friction on the ball, and with the aluminum front combo, it seems to make very good accuracy. Want proof? Take a look at the boomstick... very successful and accurate barrel.

Boomstick/Freak Hybrid? I like the sound of that :)
Durability - The inserts sure ai'nt titainium people, treat them with care because they will dent.
Conclusion: Good barrel. Bad price. Accuracy could be better. I reccomend to any tourny players, but not to any low budget players. Get a boomstick, pretty soon dye will have changable backs for their boomsticks and ultralites, I would go for one of those.
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
dyeman274 Thursday, February 10th, 2005 | 2:36 pm PST
i bought a freak kit for my shocker and compared it to the all american, it definately increased accuracy due to the sizing ability but i only use like 2 or three of the bores on a big day, it would have been much much more money efficient if i just bought the bores i need. but to clarify YES better barrels like the freak that have customizeable bores DO effect accuracy. read the latest APG. but come on. its a sphere. not a rifled bullet. its not gonna be dead on (except that one time it happened 5 in a row with the freak) all in all the freak is the best CONCEPT of changing bores, like buying different backs for the DYE barrels, both that and porting is the greatest accuracy booster you can buy. oh and don't buy a shocker or any gun for that matter USED. bad move.
   

IrishPipe87 Sunday, March 6th, 2005 | 9:11 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by the Ydna
I can't believe that you actually think that one aftermarket barrel is "more accurate" than another. You need to step back and look at the two objectively.
Well, seeing how some barrels make a paintball curve off to the left or the right, an obviously seen curve, then yeah sure.
   

shaasta Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 | 1:31 pm PST
Im thinking of buying a freak kit, but im not sure weather to buy the teardrop style porting or the all american. My friend said that the all american had more distance because the teardrop lobs balls. What would you suggest?
   

JAYCEN4025 Saturday, March 12th, 2005 | 12:20 pm PST
Getting back into the whole freak barrel system discussion....Back 2001 when i was a newbie, I looked at the Smart Parts Freak, and though, ok, this has to be some kind of super barrel, and if i had one on my gun its going to make my gun really accurate....However, i am a little wiser now.

Freaks are still excellent for a versatile barrel system.....but they are not really as acurate as a lot of other one and two-piece barrels that are matched to good paint. I would classify them as having decent all around accuracy, since able to use a wide variety of paint. Versatility, not really good accuracy, is the freak's main selling point.

Now keep in mind, I'm not bashing freaks, but to all people out there who think that a freak system is going to really improve your accuracy, you might be rather unimpressed when comparing it to other aftermarket barrels that are matched with the right paint.

i guess the bottom line is this....the freak isn't anymore accurate that any other decent barrel....

Last edited on Saturday, March 12th, 2005 at 12:21 pm PST
   

JAYCEN4025 Saturday, March 12th, 2005 | 1:14 pm PST
Originally posted by Magical Peanut
the back is as long as it needs to be for the inserts and yes you can have different sizes for the front length. you can have sizes that will make the barrel an over all length of 12" 14" 16" or 18". and ya i agree with mark on the whole barrel issue there about them all being the same well they arent and thats that. i have one las thing here for everyone now. i dont know what kins of crappy stuff you guys have gotten but i have played with my friends freak on his nightkast and i was getting grouping across the field that was just sick. i dont know what you guys are talking about saying that the freak has bad accuracy so eh whatever.

The reason it was accurate is because you are shooting it on an autococker. Anyway, if you have shot other aftermarket barrels, you would see that the freak is more along the lines of decent all around accuracy, but it's not something to be wow'd about.
Last edited on Saturday, March 12th, 2005 at 1:15 pm PST
   

Crazylegs1087 Wednesday, August 31st, 2005 | 2:13 pm PST
nope sorry to break it to YDNA is right barrels have nothing what so ever to do with accuracy as long as their smooth. its just an assumption people make since real guns kind of work that way but that has to do with rifling and paintball barrels arn't for the most part rifled accuracy depends mostly on how similar the paint is and how consistent the air is you also have to take into account small things like recoil and the movement on the gun when you tap the trigger. try it i took a stock wgp barrel cut it to be 2'' long and it shot fine pb2x also did an article about it a few years ago if you dont belive me read the article and if not ask and one who knows physics
   

shot-on-sight Monday, January 9th, 2006 | 3:02 pm PST
A 2' inch barrel isnt going to have very good accuracy or range, because the ball dosent have enough surface area to reach its full velocity on. Its also gona be really loud. I still think the evil pipe is the god of all barrel systems its just a little tricky to line up the two halfes some time. The kaner kit (like the one on my karni) is also very nice.
   

dyepaintball05 Friday, February 3rd, 2006 | 10:35 pm PST
about what size insert would work for diablo heat paint.
   

dunkedinpaint Monday, April 10th, 2006 | 2:30 pm PST
the inserts do come in stainless steel. Also how the heck did you test it without a gun?
Last edited on Monday, April 10th, 2006 at 2:31 pm PST
   

sick_sk8er99 Sunday, April 30th, 2006 | 5:23 pm PST
Dispute:
you can get stainless steel inserts for the freek barrel >.<
   

Uberface Monday, May 8th, 2006 | 9:48 pm PST
The Freak isn't the the most accurate barrel kit (close, tho), but it is the most versitile. For accuracy I would reccommend the J&J Edge Kit, but its problem is for different guns u need a whole new set of backs.
   

trivisual Saturday, May 20th, 2006 | 7:04 am PST
the freak is the most accurate barrel on the market. accuracy is based on bore/paint matching and porting. and definately how clean ur barrel is and how smooth the surface is. and a non blemished surface with a perfect bore match will be incredible.

anyways, this mark guy has an a-5 so he doesnt know much about pb.
   

alex456 Saturday, May 20th, 2006 | 11:35 pm PST
yall are idiots this i prolly most accurate barrel. o and by the way wat is that the reason its accurate isnt because its aftermarket its because you can have the right bore match. 80% of accuracy is bore match and most of the other 20% is honing and smart parts ig good at both. sp does 3 things right- guns, tanks, and barrels
   

Lyxtwing Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006 | 7:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sick_sk8er99
you can get stainless steel inserts for the freek barrel >.<

Read the date of the review.
   

alex456 Sunday, June 4th, 2006 | 9:06 pm PST
freak is the best diff lengh, diff guns, diff sizes. everything u could ask for. and everything about paintball costs a lot. besides im goin from ion to shocker so for 50 bucks i get a brand new 06 freak back and i can keep the aa front or use my 06 freak front, too. can u do that wai pipes or boomy or ul? nope
   

iownnoobs Sunday, June 18th, 2006 | 9:08 am PST
Ok i dont know about you guys but i use a freak with all american front and when i used my stock front or different barrell and they had the same bore/paint match the paintball would travel the same length, everything if the paintball was the same as the other. Some other barrells may have horrible shot after the break such as the Evil Driver barrell but if you get right bore/paint math all barrells should shoot the same. No barrell or barrel kit is worth $200 but a used ones for $80 or the j&j for $80 or do what i did but the Jr. freak set and use that just as good but cheaper than buy the different tips later. But thats my opinion.
roth
   

Lyxtwing Monday, June 19th, 2006 | 4:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by iownnoobs
Ok i dont know about you guys but i use a freak with all american front and when i used my stock front or different barrell and they had the same bore/paint match the paintball would travel the same length, everything if the paintball was the same as the other. Some other barrells may have horrible shot after the break such as the Evil Driver barrell but if you get right bore/paint math all barrells should shoot the same. No barrell or barrel kit is worth $200 but a used ones for $80 or the j&j for $80 or do what i did but the Jr. freak set and use that just as good but cheaper than buy the different tips later. But thats my opinion.
roth


You are right and wrong. There are only two barrels that I know of that can increase the length of a shot, but that is not what the freak is made to do. Most barrels will have near the same accuracy as long as the paint matches the barrels bore. What you left out is the honing quality among other things. A tippman stock barrel may have the same bore size as one of my freak inserts, but you tell me which will have a larger spread.

Now my question to you is why do you suggest buying different tips for a freak when you say that the kit isn't worth the money? A freak jr tip, a freak tip, and an AA tip will all shoot just as accurately. Someone who is picky about the price of the barrel should just stick with one. If someone buys a freak jr. kit, all they will ever have to buy is some extra inserts (unless they break something).
   

LONG_SHOT Monday, July 10th, 2006 | 5:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by trivisual


anyways, this mark guy has an a-5 so he doesnt know much about pb.


That's a bit uncalled for. I own an A5 and i know a lot about paintball.

Any barrel can be accurate as long as its honed and clean, as most barrels are, and theres nothing with the freak specifically that would make it any less accurate than any other barrel. Anyways, if mark thinks the accuracy was bad, it was because of 1 of 4 things
1. He was not getting the bore match right
2. He was using crap/old paint
3. He was low on air, or had another gun problem
4. He doesn't know how to aim.
   

sureshot98 Thursday, August 10th, 2006 | 3:02 pm PST
this barrel can't be beat, period. the pipe sucks cuz if you get a new gun then you have to get all the backs changed. wit da freak, all you need is a new back and thats like 40 bucks. i tried this barrel out today. from 60 feet on a stable plat form, it was on a gun holder, there was a 5 inch spread at 17 bps and a 4 inch spread at 5.
   

XtReMeCaRnAgE Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 | 3:52 pm PST
Dispute:
This is not right at any level.... What he says is untrue.. The barrel is extremely accurate
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media