paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review / Comments on Mark00A-5's Review

Comments on Mark00A-5's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Mark00A-5 Monday, April 7th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested24 of 49 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any electro blowbacks such as:
Spyders
Piranahs
WGP E-Ranger
Ect...
Marker Setup: No marker currently. Sold my impulse and am buying 5 vikings with my team.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Reg 12v Revy Reg Bottomline (I HATE dropforwards, once you learn how to correctly hold your gun, you will too) Macroline Mabey, New bolt
Strengths: LCD
Fast
Looks Cool
Good 1st Marker for the Company
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Volume (loudness)
Recoil
Price
Distance
Blowback
Review: I tried one of these out a local feild, heres what I have to say about the marker...

Goods- :)

LCD- Give your firing modes on a basic LCD screen. Kinda nifty and you get 'bragging rights' to owning a LCD marker.
Fast- Trigger pull was nice after I adjusted the crappy trigger job the kid did to it. He was happy that I adjusted it. Pretty fast, basic mouse click trigger pull all electro-blowbacks bost.
Looks Cool- Gotta admitt, this thing does look pretty sleek.
Good 1st Marker for the Company- Gotta hand it to raven for their first gun released, not a bad job at all.

Bads- :(

Accuracy- Accuracy... like all electro blowbacks will never be as good as a electropuematic. An impulse with vert reg for the same price will deliver better performance, speed, and accuracy then this gun will.
Volume (loudness)- Again, another blowback-electro sideeffect is the volume. Quite loud. Barrel helps that a little though.
Price- The price is HORRIBLE! Get an impulse for that kinda price. The impulse will break down more but it will definatly out shoot any one of these guns. Raven, get real, you can't sell guns like this at prices like that.
Distance- Like accuracy, distance isnt very good.
Recoil- Its just the internals people, too much stuff moving inside causing it to 'kick'

Blowback-
Conclusion: I would recomend to any player starting out that has the extra 100 dollars the shell twords a better blowback electro. But you will outgrow it fast if you start playing adult-series tournaments. I would rather get an impulse or autococker (stock of course) Both would dominate this marker 2 ways to sunday. I give it a 5. Not bad, not good, nothing amazing.
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Mark00A-5 Monday, April 7th, 2003 | 2:13 pm PST
Hello,

I would just like to thank the people that voted 'Helpfull" on my review. It helps keep reliable true review at the top so people who want good information on the marker find it easier.

Thanks again,
Mark West
   

pulsar Thursday, April 10th, 2003 | 9:58 am PST
Thanx man this is a good rev. I will call it helpfull, and I definatly wont buy this marker
   

Paintballpimpin Tuesday, July 1st, 2003 | 4:54 pm PST
(I HATE dropforwards, once you learn how to correctly hold your gun, you will too) you use your tank as a stock dont you drop forwards are to keep you compact while playing speed ball you want to make your wrist that your shooting with into kind of a goose neck and twist your torso so the SIDE of the tank is resting against your CHEST that way you expose as little of yourself as possible if you have a paintball movie of some sort you will notice all the pros do this (p.s. i know how to hold a gun correctly i have been shooting shotguns+rifles since i was 7)

Recoil- Its just the internals people, too much stuff moving inside causing it to 'kick'

not moving stuff that causes it to kick its the open bolt design and how much pressure it needs to reset the hammer and bolt and stuff if that was true autococker, being the guns that have the most moving parts, would have the worst kick

and they dont i own one

but anyways nice review just informing you on a few mistakes
Last edited on Tuesday, July 1st, 2003 at 5:11 pm PST
   

pbN00B Tuesday, August 5th, 2003 | 1:12 pm PST
im getting sick of you morons saying impulses break down. YOU DONT HAVE TO DO ANYTHING TO THE MARKER AT ALL. I dont care who you are if your impulse broke alot, you either abused it or you over tinker with it. Mod it do what ever then leave it. jeez you guys are so stupid, its got about 3 or 4 parts that actually move then a bunch of o-rings. The only thing you have to lube is the bolt and hammer and thats after a month of hard play. I dont really get what could possibly break. Either you over gas it and destroy the solenoids, or you blow an o-ring in the marker or reg. There is not thing else. And dont try to BS and tell me i dont know what im talking about when i built my imp from the ground up, never had a problem, and also have a stock one i won a while back that works awesome. Learn your damn topic before you talk.
   

pumplayer Saturday, September 6th, 2003 | 11:08 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Paintballpimpin
(I HATE dropforwards, once you learn how to correctly hold your gun, you will too) you use your tank as a stock dont you drop forwards are to keep you compact while playing speed ball you want to make your wrist that your shooting with into kind of a goose neck and twist your torso so the SIDE of the tank is resting against your CHEST that way you expose as little of yourself as possible if you have a paintball movie of some sort you will notice all the pros do this (p.s. i know how to hold a gun correctly i have been shooting shotguns+rifles since i was 7)

I personally love drop forwards for the compactnes it gives ur gun i guess it just depends on the way u play dropforwards for me give greater rof and dont say i hold my gun wrong i have ruined in tournys and like paintballpimpin i have been handling guns from a young it is ur preference
   

ssfocus Wednesday, October 1st, 2003 | 2:28 am PST
Might want to edit this post seeing that you can get this thing for $300 just about anywhere, its a lot better value than most people think, Also you only TESTED it , I OWN one, and with small obvious upgrades like a good barrel, fast loader, and a good HPA source I can hold my own on the local speedball field against all the guys who spent a grand on their cockers and timmies.
   

Takon Thursday, February 12th, 2004 | 1:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pbN00B
im getting sick of you morons saying impulses break down. YOU DONT HAVE TO DO ANYTHING TO THE MARKER AT ALL. I dont care who you are if your impulse broke alot, you either abused it or you over tinker with it. Mod it do what ever then leave it. jeez you guys are so stupid, its got about 3 or 4 parts that actually move then a bunch of o-rings. The only thing you have to lube is the bolt and hammer and thats after a month of hard play. I dont really get what could possibly break. Either you over gas it and destroy the solenoids, or you blow an o-ring in the marker or reg. There is not thing else. And dont try to BS and tell me i dont know what im talking about when i built my imp from the ground up, never had a problem, and also have a stock one i won a while back that works awesome. Learn your damn topic before you talk.

You are OBVIOUSLY ignorant of the truth, Bushys and Vikings are FAR superior to Impulses, They are more reliable and shoot faster, plus they both use cocker threads, which means they are compatable for us cocker owners. I live in the land of the impy, everyone and their brother has an impulse here in STL. And they all break or give their owners problems, I'm glad I didn't buy one, don't leave home without your cocker!
   

AirSin2000 Sunday, August 15th, 2004 | 8:11 pm PST
Impies are pieces of crap out of the box. I have heard of numerous ones needing new rams, or new parts(i dunno which ones) Impies never perform like a 500 gun should out of the box, but who cares, certainly not smart parts especially sice they make money off of it.
   

kevkid Monday, May 2nd, 2005 | 8:02 pm PST
if you dont like the recoil then just get a lighter bolt that should help. but seeing as you only tested it that doesnt really matter
i own one and once i got on the feild i owned. i ended up haveing to conserve paint in the middle of the game
Last edited on Monday, May 2nd, 2005 at 8:04 pm PST
   

HeWhoAtePie Wednesday, August 31st, 2005 | 6:22 pm PST
i own a nexion and no, they aren't serious full-scale tourney markers, that's why they cost $300, and if you ask me, the recoil is manageable, if you have any small amount of fire-arms knowledge, you would know that all you have to do is lean into the marker/gun, (not that its a serious recoil anyway), and on semi, i got up to about 15bps, which is faster that an impulse (whether you like it or not, its true), and with N2, this marker is fairly acceptable, up to rookie/novice tournament standards, so every one, quit you bit**'en
   

buzzboy Thursday, January 5th, 2006 | 1:19 pm PST
I am wondering how a raven nexion has bad distance. That is very untrue. All guns have the same distance. Its flatline or not flatline. It will perform the same.

In other terms great review. I am with you. Ok gun but much better for equal or lesser prices.
   

Baker2g180 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 | 2:04 pm PST
Why do people love autocockers so much? I have seen them (used them and played against them) They are nothing special. Definatly not more accurate than my Diablo Wrath, or my friends ION. Not even close. Stay away from cockers unless you are buying a Karnivore, but if your gonna dop a grand on a gun, get a Timmy or Angel Speed
   

junkietrash21 Friday, May 26th, 2006 | 11:50 pm PST
what gun has better accuracy ? Nexion or Smart parts Ion? and which would you prefer bcz on any sites ions go for 200 bucks and i found on Orderpaintball.com u can get a nexion for 170 bucks...
   

Daramoe X Monday, June 5th, 2006 | 5:20 am PST
Not good distance? Turn up the velocity then.
   

yoyovannydog Thursday, July 6th, 2006 | 6:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ssfocus
Might want to edit this post seeing that you can get this thing for $300 just about anywhere, its a lot better value than most people think, Also you only TESTED it , I OWN one, and with small obvious upgrades like a good barrel, fast loader, and a good HPA source I can hold my own on the local speedball field against all the guys who spent a grand on their cockers and timmies.
at my local store this buy is sweet and its only 249.99 canadian!! thats a real good bargain
   

99BPS Saturday, August 26th, 2006 | 8:46 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by junkietrash21
what gun has better accuracy ? Nexion or Smart parts Ion? and which would you prefer bcz on any sites ions go for 200 bucks and i found on Orderpaintball.com u can get a nexion for 170 bucks...
blowbacks will never have the same accuracy as an ION due to the kick. Empiricly the ION is more accurate.
   

PB Juggalo Thursday, October 19th, 2006 | 5:04 pm PST
Dispute:
I have Raven Nexion and i think it has good recoil and distance i have shot a shocker and to me their is not that ig of a difference in distance and the recoil i think is comparable to a diablo which i think is good so
   

dude1200 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 | 7:15 pm PST
You can get this gun for like $100 now
   

philberg Wednesday, July 1st, 2009 | 11:50 am PST
Yeah, they are cheap now, my brother got one from big-5 for $83! it was on sale but still, dang cheap. ive shot it and the distance could be better, but other than that its a pretty good gun.
   

philberg Wednesday, July 1st, 2009 | 11:53 am PST
Yeah, they are cheap now, my brother got one from big-5 for $83! it was on sale but still, dang cheap. ive shot it and the distance could be better, but other than that its a pretty good gun.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media