paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Rain Samuti's Review / Comments on Rain Samuti's Review / Comments on Rain Samuti's Review / Comments on Rain Samuti's Review / Comments on Rain Samuti's Review

Comments on Rain Samuti's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Rain Samuti Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months142 of 170 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No paintball guns of similar price.
Oh, a Brass Eagle Talon... Significantly more accurate than you'd expect, but sucks CO2 like it's going out of style.
Marker Setup: A Brass Eagle Eradicator - an identical gun to the Marauder, but in green, and sold as part of a package. It's all standard.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a new barrel... See the reasons below.
The electronic point sight (again from Brass Eagle) came with my gun, and it's spot-on. Get one.
Anti-syphon tube for your bottle.
New hopper. ANY new hopper.
Strengths: VERY cheap, but VERY tough. Nicely balanced. Strip it in a heartbeat. Easily available.
Weaknesses: Loud. Breaks the occasional ball. You get mocked for buying an from unfashionable manufacturer.
Review: Okay, let's get started.
This is the first paintball marker I've owned, but in no way the first I've used. It's nice looking, VERY cheap, and it's made by Brass Eagle.
If you've got some experience, you'll know that it's VERY fashionable, right now, to take the mickey out of Brass Eagle products. Being a limey, none of this reached my ears at the time I bought the gun while on holiday in Arizona (and trust me, I had fun getting it back through airport security). I think that this is mostly 'cause they're cheap, and typically something newbies like myself would buy.
Well, the Marauder/Eradicator (they're the same gun, just with a different name) IS cheap, and it IS something that newbies like myself would buy, and be very pleased with. 'cause let's face it, if we're new to the game, we're only gonna want a cheap gun for messing about in the woods; unless you take this game very, VERY seriously, most people wouldn't dream of any thousand-pound custom-made jobs.
So, here are the good points.
It's cheap, first of all. By that, I don't mean cheap and nasty, I mean well worth the pittance you pay for it. It's made out of some kind of polymer which is REALLY tough. Very hard to break indeed. And if you play in the woods, that's great, 'cause it reflects no light. It's an easy gun to lose, in England's terrain.
Despite being cheap, it feels very nicely put together. It has a couple of pins you can pull out on the side, in case you need to strip it down in a hurry. I've never needed to use them on the field, but it's nice having them right there for when it needs lubing up.
Every action on the gun is positive, solid, and tight. For thirty quid, I was blown away by the overall quality of the marker.
And on both accuracy and power, this thing behaves like it cost about a hundred quid more than it actually did. It fires FAR, and it fires STRAIGHT. No problems there.
And now, the bad points. Most of these are very petty, especially considering the price, but criticism is necessary in any review.
It feels a bit of an awkward size - not big enough for a front grip, but too big to use like a pistol, so I find myself unconsciously holding on to the bottle.
The cheapness can show, here and there... Seams on the polymer, kinda thing.
The double-finger trigger is a godsend. However, if one day you find you only want to use one finger, you'll soon figure out that there's not enough room on the handle for your extra finger. The trigger guard gets in the way, y'see. Kinda petty, and I know for thirty quid I shouldn't be complaining, but you gotta show the rough with the smooth. What else...
Oh, yeah - the rings on the quick-pull pins, although very useful, can clatter when you move the gun. Not good if you're going for stealth, but easily corrected with rubber pads, or just replacing the rings with a different sort.
The grip, although it fits and feels right ergonimically, feels very cheap indeed. Another "What did you expect for thirty bob?" criticism.
My main problem with the gun... When you fire it, some little metal part inside goes "TWIIIIING!". That gets annoying.
The barrel you get with the gun is horrible. Going against pretty well every design principle of the rest of the gun, it's nice SHINY stainless steel that almost glows in the dark. Also, it's scored on the outside in those kinds of tight spirals that make your teeth itch if you run your finger along them. Don't wanna touch it. Put a camo sock over it.
The hopper you get with it is absolute pants. Made of the cheapest, nastiest, Chinese Quasi-Plastic you can buy, I managed to crimp the bottom of it putting it onto the elbow, which did nothing for the feed rate as you can imagine. Replace with any five-quid hopper and you're sorted.
I think that's about it.
And now, to dispel the myths arising around this gun.
The quick pull pins DON'T fall out. They have litle spring-loaded ball bearings to stop them from doing so, and you have to pull bloody hard to get them out anyway - don't know who posted that, or what he was doing to make them fall out. Maybe he ran them through a lathe and sprayed them with WD40.
The marker DOESN'T break balls. I thought mine did, at first - little flakes and droplets of silvery white stuff exploded from the muzzle every now and then, and I thought "Hey, bits of shell!". I watched one of the fragments flutter to the ground, where it promptly evapourated. I inspected my mate's painful hit, just to be certain, and sure enough, there was enough shell there to ascertain that the ball left the barrel intact, and sped straight and true towards my friend's crotch. That's liquid CO2, that is, mate. Didn't affect my accuracy or speed at all, but an anti-siphon tube would be useful to stop it from happening.
Well, to be fair, it does splatter one or two per few hundred. But for how hard it throws them, it's to be expected that the occasional ball just won't take it. Turn the velocity down and it's sorted.
Yes, the standard barrel is bloody useless, that's not a myth at all. Well, it IS a myth when it comes to chopping balls and making 'em curve. It just doesn't FEEL nice, that's all. If I run my hand along it, it makes a nasty shweeshing sound and get me all edgy.
As for falling apart - what? I don't know where that came from. Yeah, mine's been dropped, sometimes very hard. You'd have to be REALLY mistreating this thing to actually do any damage. It's built to last, man.
Accuracy - well, mine's okay. I don't know why so many people post saying they couldn't hit the broad side of a barn, 'cause it's just not true. For thirty quid it's a sight more accurate than I'd expected.
It's fashionable amongst so-called "professionals" to diss Brass Eagle. I have no idea why. Insecure personalities, perhaps? Get over it, guys. It was kinda amusing at first, but really it's just depressing.
Conclusion: If I'd have paid eighty or even a hundred pounds for this gun, I'd be satisfied. If I'd have paid two hundred for it, I'd be mildly disappointed by its petty flaws.
But, I didn't. I paid thirty quid. And for thirty quid - that's about fifty dollars - this thing's bloody fantastic. It's powerful, spot-on accurate (try the Brass Eagle electronic point sight) and built solidly, from very high-quality materials (except for the hopper you get with it, which are easy enough to replace). Invest in an anti-siphon tube (about a tenner) to fix that snow problem, and a barrel condom, and you've got yourself a really nice gun.
What's more, you have the satisfaction of knowing that you got a really great deal.
And, as a guilty little side-note, you also have the satisfaction of knowing that you were rewarded handsomely for being wise enough to give an unfashionable brand name the benefit of the doubt.
Anyone who rejects an offer like this because they're afraid of what people will think of the label on it, is a coward. And one with his priorities back to front, at that.
And anyone who writes a raging review of a fifty-dollar paintball gun as though they paid two grand for it, is an idiot.
And anyone who writes obvious lies in order to perpetuate existing ones - well, that's just sad.
The mark I give takes into account value for money, at fifty dollars for the gun. No points are deducted for being able to get hold of one easily (why? Kind of elitist to give a gun a higher mark because it's hard to find, isn't it?), because doing so would be silly.
Like I've already said - if this were a hundred pound gun, I'd have knocked off a couple of points. But it isn't - it's thirty quid, and it's an unbelievable bargain.
And that's all I have to say on the subject.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ncoco252 Thursday, April 15th, 2004 | 12:01 pm PST
you wasted ur money on a blade? no offence but it isn't good. dont buy brass eagle. get a spyder or tippmann. they may cost more but they are a hell of a lot better than the blade or marauder. they will last a lot longer too.
   

Powerful Roger Friday, April 16th, 2004 | 2:54 pm PST
Ncoco you, my friend, are a narrow mided fool. Keep your gun clean and lubed and its all set. My Marauder will kick you and your expensive Tippy.
   

sparrow_kh Saturday, April 24th, 2004 | 8:38 am PST
Nice review, i do agree that more poeple need to write HELPFUL reviews like the author of this review instead of just writting about how much they hate guns. A lot of people use these pages to decide on which guns to purchase and buy outlining GOOD points as well as the bad helps them choose. As for BE, i own a couple of there markers and they work just great, lube and maintenance them every game and thye will outlast many other brands. As for the BE bashers who think this guy was off his rocker when he wrote this can all die of syphilis. Many players don't have thier daddy's credit card when shopping for paintball gear and have to BUDGET their money (ie pay for food, rent, etc) so BE guns suit their need. A freaking 98 with all gear will cost you 300-400 cdn, while a BE fully geared will cost 120cdn. So bont bash BE users because they buy guns like the maurader because they are inexpensive and they work just fine.
   

TheGoodReverend Monday, May 3rd, 2004 | 1:52 pm PST
"I gave my blade an honorable death (stuck a bottle rocket in the feed port)."

I think that we can all learn something from this person, that was a good way for the gun to go.
   

dude14 Monday, May 10th, 2004 | 6:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheGoodReverend
"I gave my blade an honorable death (stuck a bottle rocket in the feed port)."

I think that we can all learn something from this person, that was a good way for the gun to go.


c'mon man. a blade can be a nice gun if you know how to tinker. mine now accepts 9oz's, but it definetaly isnt my main gun. brass eagle makes incredibly crappy guns, but they can be modified and i bet i could sell my 20$ souped up blade02 for about 50$ now cause it shoots further than any gun ive ever seen.
   

FlyingBeefStew Thursday, May 13th, 2004 | 6:59 pm PST
Good job! The majority of BEs do suck, but you have given their only worthwhile gun the kudos it deserves. I've played at least 50 games with this gun, and it cut my paint, count it, once. It is accurate, an anyone who says otherwise is just a slave to the 'hate BE' movement.
   

hudson633 Friday, May 28th, 2004 | 6:28 am PST
I live in the united kingdom (UK) and its nice to see a uk review, i think i used this marker the first time i went to a field..... most "punks" that say its inaccurate and "crappy gun" are the players that spend £200 - £2000 on their markers and compare the high end guns to anything else.I think the wire thingy that flows the c02 could be in a better position and maybe fitted with another handle, best review i've seen yet its exactly what i was looking for in pbreview so i could have a better judgement on purchasing markers. -MOST HELPFUL REVIEW EVER!-
   

joshbo Sunday, July 11th, 2004 | 6:55 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ncoco252
i have shot it and it is exactly the opposite of what you said. it's not sweet with a capital ''S'', it sucks with a capital ''SUCKS''. if it breaks one ball, ur screwed cuz it breaks them all or they shoot where ever. they are easy to take apart because they break and it splits it open. i do have a tippy and it blows the whole brass eagle company out of the water. the BE company only makes them for money unlike almost every other company wants you to have fun. and all BE guns immediately suck. fragile P.O.S, inaccurate, crap is more like it.

im w/ u
   

cockercane Sunday, August 1st, 2004 | 5:23 pm PST
Thank you for using your mind Rain Samuti.
   

EvilGTI Saturday, September 11th, 2004 | 2:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by hudson633
I live in the united kingdom (UK) and its nice to see a uk review, i think i used this marker the first time i went to a field..... most "punks" that say its inaccurate and "crappy gun" are the players that spend £200 - £2000 on their markers and compare the high end guns to anything else.I think the wire thingy that flows the c02 could be in a better position and maybe fitted with another handle, best review i've seen yet its exactly what i was looking for in pbreview so i could have a better judgement on purchasing markers. -MOST HELPFUL REVIEW EVER!-

I might not be the most expericed player here but I HAVE used a Maruder and I know its a bad gun, Tippmanns, Spyders, you name it they are all better brands then Brass Eagle and all their markers are dependable. I personally think all you really need it a dependable marker and thats not how I would describe this gun or any BE gun or even View Loader gun for that matter. Lastly wire thingy that flows CO2 thats called the steel braided hose, read a little about the workings and parts of a gun before you start flapping your mouth.
   

Powerful Roger Tuesday, September 14th, 2004 | 3:58 pm PST
^ Labeling every Brass Eagle gun as inferior is not a good idea. Ever used a Rainmaker?
   

benman3187 Saturday, October 16th, 2004 | 5:34 pm PST
i thought you were one of those wierdos who uses wierd words to be cool, but halfway through i realized you were british. Good review, but my friend has an eradicator and he cant hit me from 30 feet away.
   

Mars47 Friday, November 26th, 2004 | 12:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ncoco252
i have shot it and it is exactly the opposite of what you said. it's not sweet with a capital ''S'', it sucks with a capital ''SUCKS''. if it breaks one ball, ur screwed cuz it breaks them all or they shoot where ever. they are easy to take apart because they break and it splits it open. i do have a tippy and it blows the whole brass eagle company out of the water. the BE company only makes them for money unlike almost every other company wants you to have fun. and all BE guns immediately suck. fragile P.O.S, inaccurate, crap is more like it.

You, My friend are a genius with a capital "DUMB". It is true in almost every gun that if one ball breaks, the rest after do, or it is very inaccurate. Please, learn something about paintball and get a life cause it obviously ain't paintball!

This was a very good review, Much like mine on the Eradicator. I've grown since then (bought a Tippmann), but my open-mindedness has remianed the same.

You people need to get a life, dissing something you don't know anything about seems to be cool, so I dissed this kid cause I don't know him. And until you get a life, I will continue to diss you losers.
   

lil cezar Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 | 12:59 pm PST
This gun sux (no offence to anyone ). This gun they gave it to me i used it a couple of times more like 3 times until the gun broke on me. I wouldnt susgests no one should get it instead buy a pump gun that it is better.
   

Dunty Thursday, January 6th, 2005 | 1:59 pm PST
That's quite a review, I agree, but the Marauder is not a 10 out of 10, it's a peice of crap,
it's inaccurate, it's loud, if it breaks you can't get parts replaced(Brass Eagle Customer Sevice is horrible, especially if you live in Canada...) I think you were like me when you bought this marker, you thought you knew everything, but Brass Eagle wasn't the only company,,You can buy a Spyder Victor II for like $30 or $40 dollars more, and you get way more with that.
   

PaintJared Thursday, January 20th, 2005 | 8:22 pm PST
if this guy would just do these kind of reviews on good guns.... he would fix all the problems with dumb arse reviews on this site
   

Loren Ihm Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 5:56 am PST
Good review. must have a lot of time to write this
   

i_lovesniping Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 | 4:25 pm PST
you guys are noobs this gun is the worst. I had this gun before i got a tipman. This gun is the most pathetic gun ever. I had one and it started leaking 3 weeks later. It is so unaccurate. I didnt think they were so bad just bad until about 3 months later when i had a tippmann and tried out my friends brass eagle eradicater. It was the same gun i had and it was so bad he couldnt shoot 50 feet. It is the most unaccurate gun i have fired. And the velocity is so dangerous it goes from 250 to 290 to 310 to 210 to 240. Thats horrible i dont know why the guy rated it a 10 out of 10. this marker is bad balenced to. It doesent even have a front handel. Its weak unreliable and pathetic. I wouldnt even rate this product it is total garbage.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 at 4:26 pm PST
   

crunk_juice90 Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 6:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by i_lovesniping
you guys are noobs this gun is the worst. I had this gun before i got a tipman. This gun is the most pathetic gun ever. I had one and it started leaking 3 weeks later. It is so unaccurate. I didnt think they were so bad just bad until about 3 months later when i had a tippmann and tried out my friends brass eagle eradicater. It was the same gun i had and it was so bad he couldnt shoot 50 feet. It is the most unaccurate gun i have fired. And the velocity is so dangerous it goes from 250 to 290 to 310 to 210 to 240. Thats horrible i dont know why the guy rated it a 10 out of 10. this marker is bad balenced to. It doesent even have a front handel. Its weak unreliable and pathetic. I wouldnt even rate this product it is total garbage.
"It is so unaccurate"? It's inaccurate you dumb ass. What are you, five? Why don't you learn to spell before you try to diss someone because you make yourself look like an absolute idiot. As for the review, very nice. I found it very informative and extremely well written. Good show. Oh yeah and hey, i_lovesniping, why don't you go back to school and learn a thing or two because it obviously didn't work the first time around.
   

angel 4 life Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 11:04 pm PST
hahahahahahah omg yall want to hear a funny story......... TOO BAD cuz im gonna tell you any way

last week i told a guy "man your marauder sux i bet i could kickyer ass usin a sling shot" . the guy was like "no way i can get out 6 bps" me and my friend put 20 bucks on a bet sayin that i could beat him usin a sling shot from the liquor store toy rack across the street. ............. to make a long story short about 60 secs into the game i gogged his ass when he tried to bunker me. lol that has got to be the highlight of my paintball life.

moral of the story : BE sux ANGELS & SLING SHOTS RULE
Last edited on Friday, March 4th, 2005 at 11:10 pm PST
   
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media