paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on DMclean's Review / Comments on DMclean's Review / Comments on DMclean's Review / Comments on DMclean's Review / Comments on DMclean's Review

Comments on DMclean's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

DMclean Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month70 of 78 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Red B2K3 with PDS Dye sticky 3's, Black ice reg, full freak kit, ACI Bulldog II 68/3K, ro connect, 12V revvy with xboard.
Completely tricked out minicocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, regulator, chip
Strengths: extremely light, looks great, very fast, eye system, nice trigger, very adjustable, simple, upgradable
Weaknesses: there's room for improvement on the stock chip
Review: I just got this gun in, I haven't field tested it yet...

Appearance:

The first thing that struck me was the appearance of the gun, it looks far better in person than in photos, i was apprehensive about buying the gun as i thought the milling looked really cheesy, but the photos take away the depth and make is look too plain, in person it looks honestly 10x better and the colour is awesome. I have only seen mine which is a red one, but it again looks much better in person than on their site, it is a dark red dusted colour. The new grip frame also fits in with the gun design much better than the old ones did and improves the appearance drastically. One criticisms i would make are that you can see some milling marks, but no biggie, and the vert AS is a plain black and imo an ugly vert asa, ICD could have at least anno'd it to match the rest of the gun. Also the ICD jewel looks kind of cheesy.

Feel:

I absolutely love the feel of the gun, it is extremely light, bushy's are the lightest electros out I believe, the B2K3's second only to the shocktech version of the bushmaster. It is also very compact and very maneuverable, the trigger frame is extremely comfortable and easy to rip on. Snap shooting is a breeze.

Features:

ICD has removed all of the excess firing modes and kept it to just semi auto, which I prefer as on the old bushy's I don't believe there was a way to lock down the modes which could cause problems at tournaments. It features PDS (paintball detection system) which i've found to be very effective and after literally dumping 500 rounds straight at about 12bps average on a revvy I didn't get a single chop. The board is set at 36 cycles per second and you can rip with this gun right out of the box. It is easy to get trigger bounce with the trigger, even my sister who had never shot a paintball gun got a burst of trigger bounce... by accident. ICD has finally fixed some basic issues I had with their old gun... they switched to cocker threading making the range of available aftermarket barrels much larger, and they have finally made a universal threaded vert ASA, so you can just screw an aftermarket reg right in instead of buying an adapter from Lapco/macdev/kapp/eclipse. The eye system can be turned off too which is cool as it lets you dryfire.

Trigger:

I love the trigger on this gun, extremely adjustable and easy to walk. You can make this trigger so light that the slightest wouch will fire it, or heavy enough that a decent smack is required and you can shorten the trigger pull to under a mm or set it longer than a cm. You can also change the pivot points on the trigger. The trigger is extremely easy to walk on and getting trigger bounce is simple. They've also really cut down slop from the old trigger, but there is still a little bit present.

Performance:

with an upgraded barrel the gun shoots well. The efficience isn't excellent but it isn't horrible either. The eye system works well, yet you need a fast loader to feed paint to it, otherwise you won't hit above 10... if you're lucky. Overall though I think for the price it is the best bang for your buck. $520 for B2K3's with PDS at actionvillage
Conclusion: Great gun... read above... The best gun ICD has put out to date in my opinion, they have really improved on a lot of their mistakes in the past on this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
CoUcHKinG Friday, April 25th, 2003 | 3:41 pm PST
This is a GREAT review. Thanks for posting it. It helped me choose between the Bushmaster and an angel. THANKS AGAIN!
   

magsrule Saturday, May 24th, 2003 | 8:33 am PST
Thanx for the great review. It helped my little brother decide between an imp and a bushy. Just to let you know, 2k3 fly angels and Xmags are a few oz lighter than a bushy, but you're right, bushy are hella light.
   

RockdaTrix Sunday, December 21st, 2003 | 10:02 pm PST
Okay, impulse123456 whatever the hell your name is, first things first, why post twice. Friggin' 'tard . . . One of my teammates is running a B2K3 that he bought at 'Cup and the little fu$#er can pull 23bps, and it is limited to that because his HALO doesn't feed any faster. The only thing that keeps me from snatching one is that I am a righteous Matrix user but those little B2K3's with the proper upgrades can run with any tried and true electro out there such as Impys, Angels or Timmys, and even surpass some in performance. But IMO the B2K3's are just as good if not better than Impys(I've never heard of an Impy outshooting a HALO, but hey, I don't hear everything.)

B2K3's: Extremely user friendly is their biggest + but their performance with speed, accuracy and effieciency is outstanding, not to mention a sweet looking little gun.
   

jonbob Tuesday, January 6th, 2004 | 5:00 pm PST
The reason pro teams don't use bushmasters is because ICD doesn't sponsor teams. Different marketing strategy.

The rest of Impulse2343260034's comment was also retarded and not entirely accurate.
   

Simpsons11 Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004 | 11:28 am PST
impulse1007892 the reason you don't see many pro teams with them is ICD doesn't sponser like Smart Parts does get your facts stright
   

tippmann_nick27 Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004 | 1:45 pm PST
yo is this better to by over and impulse with a verticle reg?there around the same price
   

jonbob Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004 | 3:16 pm PST
Yes this is better than an impulse. It's lighter, smaller, and comes with better parts stock except the reg. If you get the '04 regulator then you don't need to upgrade it.
   

tippmann_nick27 Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004 | 5:11 pm PST
are you talkin about the 2004 b2k... and does this shoot over 20 bps without the pds?
   

jonbob Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004 | 6:18 pm PST
Yes it does shoot over 20 bps, you'll probably chop without PDS unless you get a good loader though. I was hinting that you should just get the 2k4 when I told you to get one with the '04 reg, but there were some late model '03s that came with the new reg as well (like mine).
   

tippmann_nick27 Thursday, March 4th, 2004 | 5:04 am PST
thanks
   

wakeupandbord Friday, June 18th, 2004 | 5:42 pm PST
What upgrades do i need to put on a B2K 04 w/PDS to make it kick a$$? and where can i get the upgrades? Also, how many bps are these capable with the vision and can you change the ROF on the gripframe?
   

JaeJin Thursday, July 22nd, 2004 | 10:29 pm PST
I was really curious about the trigger adjustments... Thnx for mentioning that... and my brand new b2k4 black to red fade with PDS is on the way to my house!!!
overall a good review.
   

tapecocker Monday, August 16th, 2004 | 1:04 pm PST
Hey man! Thanks a lot for the review! You convinced me to buy a bushy over an impulse, keep up the good work!
   

tes_man2000 Wednesday, August 18th, 2004 | 12:40 pm PST
hey yall i just got my b2k3 with pds last weekend and i was wondering how do u make the trigger pull really light like the kid said in his review and how do u bring the trigger back more like he said in his review.thnx
   

AirSin2000 Wednesday, August 18th, 2004 | 1:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by impulse1007892
Man you are freakin retarted if you choose a bushy craper over an impulse. Theres only one are two people who use bushy that are on pro teems.That is aftershock becuase they have to have a few pros using them are know one will by them. Now think of all the people who use pulses aka all-americans one of the best teams. and many more.why do they use pulses, fast, low pressure, cositant, criket board w/ vision that atually works, max-flo, also they have hundreds of upgrades for impulses.

Dude grow up. Impies suck out of the box. I have heard numerous accounts of them needing to be fixed or needing to have new parts right out of the box. Now I am not a ICD fans, but with any of their guns, they work like they should out of the box.
   

MrShaun98 Thursday, August 19th, 2004 | 1:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by impulse1007892
Man you are freakin retarted if you choose a bushy craper over an impulse. Theres only one are two people who use bushy that are on pro teems.That is aftershock becuase they have to have a few pros using them are know one will by them. Now think of all the people who use pulses aka all-americans one of the best teams. and many more.why do they use pulses, fast, low pressure, cositant, criket board w/ vision that atually works, max-flo, also they have hundreds of upgrades for impulses.
i had a impy and it was a load of crap out of the box i sent it off and it worked for 1 day and went to crap again and after 150+ bucks of upgrades its still a load of crap sp is a good dealer and stuff but u gotta spend 1000 bucks to get ur impy to RUN
Last edited on Thursday, August 19th, 2004 at 1:22 pm PST
   

tes_man2000 Thursday, August 19th, 2004 | 5:23 pm PST
will somebody please tell me how to make the trigger lighter and move it back more
   

Smart Paint Tuesday, August 24th, 2004 | 7:40 am PST
That was a great review. Have fun with your Bush Master "B2K3," and remember: play safe, and have fun!


Oh, by the way, "impulse1007892," just because professional teams don't use Bush Masters, doesn't mean they suck. I rarely see Gen-X autocockers used by teams, and I heard they are great. So, think before you post. Once again, you should have fun and play safe, "impulse1007892."

- Smart Paint

If you want to "instant-message" me, my screenname is "G UNIT931."
   

tapecocker Saturday, October 30th, 2004 | 10:48 pm PST
how do you adjust the velocity on this gun?
   

autacocka luva Tuesday, November 30th, 2004 | 3:08 pm PST
my friend had a 2k2 bushy without pds, and it really wasn't that good. It would leak some, and it really wasn't that great, but it was a 2k2, so what do you expect. I am probably gona get a 2k4 with pds.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media