paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on dbf1066's Review / Comments on dbf1066's Review / Comments on dbf1066's Review / Comments on dbf1066's Review

Comments on dbf1066's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

dbf1066 Saturday, April 12th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months64 of 172 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
revolution X
Marker Setup: Dragon Timmy, halo-b, mac-dev, freak barrel
Angel (LCD), halo-b, freak barrel, mac-dev.
Strengths: Speed, well shaped hopper, center mount neck
Weaknesses: Neck, Torque from motor, weight, eye mechanism
Review: This hopper is extremely fast, there is no doubting that! If you are totally enamored with speed then this is the hopper for you. I believe this isn't the best hopper out there because it has many integration issues. If all you are worried about is speed then by all means by a HALO-B, if you are at all concerned with chopping/weight/integrating it with your marker then I would suggest a different hopper.

The bad-
1. The neck is so fat your not going to be able to find a feedneck that fits it. Your still going to have to start sanding until you can get it on. This will drive you mad. Additionally the only ones that are even close are the two-part adjustable feednecks that are fundamentally poor quality.

2. It feeds balls into the gun with so much force that your going to have to start replacing components to deal with this (or just chop balls) I had to replace my detents and bolt (on my timmy) to accommodate my hopper. My angel was totally overwhelmed (only 1 detent) When I investigated I found the forums filled with LOTS of people having problems with the halo shoving balls down so hard it causes problems. So big is the problem that Halo is on the 3rd mod to the halo to try and control the ball feed torque. The best adjustment you are left with is to grease the belt to reduce the torque the motor is transmitting and thus how hard the hopper is jamming balls down into the gun. Think about it, what a rotten solution this is!

3. It is a very heavy hopper once you add the batteries

4. You run into performance problems with the halo and dark paint. The eye has difficulty "seeing" it. On the surface its no big deal, just don't use dark paint. But this is a major problem if the tournament you are at only sells PMI premium or the like.

5. The on/off isn't exactly straight forward, you have to push it very quickly to turn it on, but push and hold to turn off. But it can be difficult to tell if its on or off. When this becomes a big problem is when you didn't get it turned on before the start and now with your gloves on it can be a challenge to get it done, especially when your bunker is under fire and your struggling to get it done. If you push the on for too long, it doesn't come on (interesting design feature)

the good
1. The hopper design principle is actually a very good one, it is a very fast and can feed balls very fast. The long track before the balls exits the hopper will ensure that the paintballs fall straight into the marker without alot of swirling or jiggle.

2. The center mount neck is also a nice feature that allows the hopper to be well balanced on the gun.

3. The shape of the hopper is nice, its a good balance between being large enough to accommodate a good amount of paintballs while minimizing the profile.
Conclusion: The hopper itself has great potential, the problem is that there isn't a gun out there (that I am aware of) that it is suited to work for. If Halo would mod the board and sacrifice one or two balls per sec to get the torque issue fixed and adjust the size of the neck to fit most feednecks then this would be the top contender. Unless that happens it will cause you alot of problems with your marker that are not easily overcome, thus I would discourage anyone from purchasing one.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2003 at 9:18 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
poser901 Sunday, May 16th, 2004 | 9:30 am PST
Less-off

j/k, halo's rule
   

gameface900 Thursday, May 27th, 2004 | 8:21 am PST
dude u dont know wat u r talkin about i have my inpulse with a vision board and the halo B is the only hopper that can keep up with my speed, If there is a stock hopper faster than the halo be tell me but from now on dont be hatin. its the best hopper hands down its never failed me yet so sit down and shut ur mouth!!!!!!
   

AngelIR4user Monday, June 7th, 2004 | 7:30 am PST
he's sayin it don't work on the angel moron cuz it ruins the ball detents so now hu's supposed to sit down and shut their mouth? by the way it's a common known fact that halos don't work on angels i have one and am stickin to an evi 2
   

Longhorn450 Tuesday, June 8th, 2004 | 2:25 pm PST
Hey, I have a BKO and I have an egg and my gun chops like crazy. do u think a halo would help?
   

vmspimpin89 Wednesday, June 30th, 2004 | 8:05 pm PST
my gun will do 20 per second so i found it nessassary to get the halo b ... its being shipped and it should be in on friday.... if it doesnt work with my gun i'll send it back ... problem solved ! by the time you read this it probobly be in by then so i'll post another comment or review when i get it and how it works ! Later Turkey
   

iwrkamcds Friday, July 2nd, 2004 | 10:32 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by worldtraveler
Glad to see others with the same opinion. None of us need 22 bps, Halos just suck. Granted, I hate evos worse than any, but evos aren't $120

Your a tard world... Just 'cause your a newb like the reviewer doesn't mean others can't shoot close to 22 bps. Maybe that is why some of us have warps.
   

hobotroll89 Sunday, July 25th, 2004 | 10:19 am PST
newbies have warps, you need something that can feed 22 bps to let the warp feed 22 bps....hims not too hard to figure out....
   

SneakyBaller7 Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004 | 8:51 pm PST
i dont get it ppl rave about the halo "omg its so fast" there are very very very few paintballers that can shoot 22bps so y spend over a hundred on a halo wen u can get an egg. im not that much of an egg person but the egg is less money and if u want a little more speed then get the z board z board will kick ur egg to bot 25bps and i dont care who you are you cant pull the trigger faster then that. all in all i recomend goin with a z boarded egg less headaches less turning on problems less sanding less posting and complaining about ur halo problems
   

Ryan Klenke Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 | 10:38 am PST
I really dont think the egg with Z can do 25 since i out shot it with my TES that is capped at 20. Unless the egg was running low on batteries, it can't feed 25 with Z. The halo on the other hand rips. I also used this on my TES and had no misfeeds at all. My detent actually broke during a game and the halo only double fed once or twice.
   

angel 4 life Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 | 2:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by oui hai pber
your not supposed to use halo b on an angel, have u heard? it does something to the gu(for some reason just angels) but its just not supposed to be used on an angel. thats why it probably isnt good for YOU.

i've owned my shop for 1year and i've heard alot of rumors but i have never heard that HALO Bs aren't compatable with angels. i mean hell there's even a HALO that only works with angels oh yeah and it holds a record for the fastest feed rate which was 38 bps on an a4 fly
Last edited on Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 at 2:45 pm PST
   

SheizerKopf Thursday, December 16th, 2004 | 9:34 pm PST
No way man, my Raptor Extreme can shoot 76 bps
   

angel 4 life Friday, December 17th, 2004 | 1:35 pm PST
THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU'RE SAYING FOR A SECOND...

A TWO HUNDRED DOLLAR BRASS EAGLE SHOOTING 76 BPS

EITHER YOU ARE EXTREMELY DUMB OR SOMEBODY EXTREMELY DUMB TOLD YOU THAT

ANYWAYS EVEN IF IT COULD SHOOT THAT FAST NO LOADER WOULD KEEP UP
CUZ THE CLOSEST YOU WOULD GET IS 35 BPS ON A V35 HALO

( WHO CARES CUZ YOUR CRAP GUN WILL NEVER GO THAT FAST )
Last edited on Friday, December 17th, 2004 at 1:49 pm PST
   

Gein Friday, December 17th, 2004 | 4:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by endisforever12
All agitated hoppers have a problem with dark paint, especially black shells, beacuse the darker colors absorb the infrared rays.

Not true. The Apache doesn't even have an eye, so it has no problems at all.
   

SheizerKopf Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 | 2:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by angel 4 life
THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU'RE SAYING FOR A SECOND...

A TWO HUNDRED DOLLAR BRASS EAGLE SHOOTING 76 BPS

EITHER YOU ARE EXTREMELY DUMB OR SOMEBODY EXTREMELY DUMB TOLD YOU THAT

ANYWAYS EVEN IF IT COULD SHOOT THAT FAST NO LOADER WOULD KEEP UP
CUZ THE CLOSEST YOU WOULD GET IS 35 BPS ON A V35 HALO

( WHO CARES CUZ YOUR CRAP GUN WILL NEVER GO THAT FAST )


I cannot believe that you actually thought that I was serious. I was just laughing and making fun of all you guys arguing over who's gun shoots faster. I don't even own a brass eagle. I've never been more sarcastic in my life, so you, my friend, are the one that's extremely dumb.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 at 2:13 pm PST
   

the arch angel Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 | 12:15 am PST
IF YOU WANNA START FIGHTS ABOUT SOMTHING STUPID GO DO IT IN THE FORUMS JACKASS

THIS IS FOR REVIEWS YOU TARD, NOT JOKES
   

angel 4 life Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 | 12:19 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by SheizerKopf


I cannot believe that you actually thought that I was serious. I was just laughing and making fun of all you guys arguing over who's gun shoots faster. I don't even own a brass eagle. I've never been more sarcastic in my life, so you, my friend, are the one that's extremely dumb.


you should listen to arch angel

if you wanna be a jackass do it in the forums
   

SheizerKopf Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 | 9:36 am PST
You guys have really hurt my feelings. I'm telling on you.
   

the arch angel Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 | 12:18 am PST
right......... you do that

moron
Last edited on Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 at 12:18 am PST
   

SheizerKopf Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 | 10:41 am PST
So if I'm a jackass what does that make you guys for insulting everything I say. Maybe you feel the need to show off in front of everyone so they thing your tough. Congradulations! You're tough now. You'll recieve your certificates of Badassness in the mail in roughly 6 to 8 weeks.
   

Phat Phill Monday, January 3rd, 2005 | 10:46 pm PST
RELODER B all the way
   
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media