paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on dbf1066's Review / Comments on dbf1066's Review / Comments on dbf1066's Review / Comments on dbf1066's Review

Comments on dbf1066's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

dbf1066 Saturday, April 12th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months64 of 172 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
revolution X
Marker Setup: Dragon Timmy, halo-b, mac-dev, freak barrel
Angel (LCD), halo-b, freak barrel, mac-dev.
Strengths: Speed, well shaped hopper, center mount neck
Weaknesses: Neck, Torque from motor, weight, eye mechanism
Review: This hopper is extremely fast, there is no doubting that! If you are totally enamored with speed then this is the hopper for you. I believe this isn't the best hopper out there because it has many integration issues. If all you are worried about is speed then by all means by a HALO-B, if you are at all concerned with chopping/weight/integrating it with your marker then I would suggest a different hopper.

The bad-
1. The neck is so fat your not going to be able to find a feedneck that fits it. Your still going to have to start sanding until you can get it on. This will drive you mad. Additionally the only ones that are even close are the two-part adjustable feednecks that are fundamentally poor quality.

2. It feeds balls into the gun with so much force that your going to have to start replacing components to deal with this (or just chop balls) I had to replace my detents and bolt (on my timmy) to accommodate my hopper. My angel was totally overwhelmed (only 1 detent) When I investigated I found the forums filled with LOTS of people having problems with the halo shoving balls down so hard it causes problems. So big is the problem that Halo is on the 3rd mod to the halo to try and control the ball feed torque. The best adjustment you are left with is to grease the belt to reduce the torque the motor is transmitting and thus how hard the hopper is jamming balls down into the gun. Think about it, what a rotten solution this is!

3. It is a very heavy hopper once you add the batteries

4. You run into performance problems with the halo and dark paint. The eye has difficulty "seeing" it. On the surface its no big deal, just don't use dark paint. But this is a major problem if the tournament you are at only sells PMI premium or the like.

5. The on/off isn't exactly straight forward, you have to push it very quickly to turn it on, but push and hold to turn off. But it can be difficult to tell if its on or off. When this becomes a big problem is when you didn't get it turned on before the start and now with your gloves on it can be a challenge to get it done, especially when your bunker is under fire and your struggling to get it done. If you push the on for too long, it doesn't come on (interesting design feature)

the good
1. The hopper design principle is actually a very good one, it is a very fast and can feed balls very fast. The long track before the balls exits the hopper will ensure that the paintballs fall straight into the marker without alot of swirling or jiggle.

2. The center mount neck is also a nice feature that allows the hopper to be well balanced on the gun.

3. The shape of the hopper is nice, its a good balance between being large enough to accommodate a good amount of paintballs while minimizing the profile.
Conclusion: The hopper itself has great potential, the problem is that there isn't a gun out there (that I am aware of) that it is suited to work for. If Halo would mod the board and sacrifice one or two balls per sec to get the torque issue fixed and adjust the size of the neck to fit most feednecks then this would be the top contender. Unless that happens it will cause you alot of problems with your marker that are not easily overcome, thus I would discourage anyone from purchasing one.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2003 at 9:18 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
the arch angel Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 | 2:47 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SheizerKopf
So if I'm a jackass what does that make you guys for insulting everything I say. Maybe you feel the need to show off in front of everyone so they thing your tough. Congradulations! You're tough now. You'll recieve your certificates of Badassness in the mail in roughly 6 to 8 weeks.

though i would like to carry this argument on i think i'll be the bigger man and say sorry i called you a jackass and if you stop i'll stop
   

the arch angel Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 | 2:51 pm PST
a badass certifcate would be cool though
   

remingtn457 Saturday, February 26th, 2005 | 5:09 pm PST
the first comment guy on here sounds like a tree hugging BlTCH
   

davco Tuesday, March 1st, 2005 | 8:53 pm PST
I think I'll get the Evo II b/c it better suits my needs on my mongoose II. If it sucks then I 'll sell it and buy something better.

I think its interesting that most of the people that post on this review are kids that have a bedtime set by mommy, got their guns from mommy and daddy's wallet, ride the school bus to school every day, and are waiting for the day to get hair under their arms. Yet they cuss people out, they threaten to "beat you at paintball", and say things that would make their parents wash their mouths out with soap.

My favorite is the 12 year olds calling people noobs for having an opinion. You're cool!
Last edited on Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 at 4:02 am PST
   

P8ntballer223 Sunday, April 3rd, 2005 | 3:58 pm PST
eh i got a dialo wrath and i was wondering if this would be a good hopper for it, its detents seem like the would be able to hold it back .. if ne one has a wrath and has ne trouble tell me
Last edited on Sunday, April 3rd, 2005 at 3:59 pm PST
   

kriptic119 Friday, April 8th, 2005 | 9:45 am PST
you might be able to use a spyer with the new rocket trigger that shoots 30+ balls per second.
   

evildevil Tuesday, April 26th, 2005 | 4:03 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by davco
I think I'll get the Evo II b/c it better suits my needs on my mongoose II. If it sucks then I 'll sell it and buy something better.

I think its interesting that most of the people that post on this review are kids that have a bedtime set by mommy, got their guns from mommy and daddy's wallet, ride the school bus to school every day, and are waiting for the day to get hair under their arms. Yet they cuss people out, they threaten to "beat you at paintball", and say things that would make their parents wash their mouths out with soap.

My favorite is the 12 year olds calling people noobs for having an opinion. You're cool!


lol that is right, i mean i am 14 but i have bought all my gear with my own money, and when i go to play paintball i see little 5 year olds with angels, god what next.
   

ips518 Sunday, June 26th, 2005 | 8:10 am PST
WOW YOUVE ONLY BEEN PLAYING FOR 1 YEAR AND YOU ALREADY HAVE A TIMMY AND AN ANGEL, DUDE, THESE ARE FOR MORE EXPERIANCED PEOPLE, GET A MORE BEGINNER GUN OR SOMTHING LIKE AN ION, U NEED MORE EXPERIENCE
   

YaDaDukGotBalls Saturday, October 22nd, 2005 | 8:10 pm PST
i agree with some of the other comments on here, u should have done ur homework, halo's just dont work on angels, i dont meen to attack u in any way, but thats just my opinion
   

Azmodon Sunday, November 27th, 2005 | 7:28 pm PST
k... wow... some corrections.

"dark paint absorbs infrared rays"...no, this would be a good thing, because without a receive signal it would agitate. gg there

"egg can't go as fast as halo" (with Y or Z board) correction, stock haloB and stock Y-board can go the same speed if you know what you are doing and have an exacto knife and like to fiddle. I got a y board egg to hit 19 bps on gun... which was the exact same speed my, and my brothers halo got.

"you need a loader that feeds 22 bps for the warp to feed 22 bps" - you're just dumb, the warp has a burst feed much higher than it's actual feed speed, just like the halo

"you need more experience" - you're a pud, sorry but regardless of how often he plays or how long he's been playing, it doesn't matter what gun he's using. The gun helps you but does not make you better, you can not buy skill.... something the poster of this comment must lack in large reserves.

gameface--- wow, don't be hatin broham silly jack yo cuz i b c in you aiight dawg, but you want a "faster" stock loader, get a q-loader, now don't cry sayin all that jive about "oh wassup ma hisso it ony holds teh 100 bawls yo" you said faster, it's faster, don't believe me, go to warpig.

finally, angel 4 life, yes, out of the many first versions there was one, and only one specifically designed to shut u angel owners such as myself for complaining about how tey sucked on angels... and some timmy's... and at times spyders... just about every gun has had a mishap with the halo, which is why when i can im selling mine and getting the VLution thingy, looks ugly but having thought about making one shaped pretty much the same, and all the things it can do, it's better than waiting for the Equalizer board from WAS to come out for the halo which will make it do the same thing, but will make your halo cost about 260 can. total.
   

paintballer667 Wednesday, November 30th, 2005 | 2:19 pm PST
Every one has there own opinion
   

187inc Sunday, December 18th, 2005 | 7:53 pm PST
'the bad'
this guy states that the feed neck is so fat that your not going to find a feed neck thats going to fit it. i wander if he's heard of a clamping feed neck. CCM ring a bell?

chopping balls? maintain your gun, your detents where prolly worn out anyway. as for the angel, your not supposed to use a force feed on a 1-detent gun

it is heavy, but so is your angel

as far as the eyes not reading the paint, i have had no problems with dark paint, and if i did, i wouldnt worry about it

umm... wow, press for about half a second and release to turn it on tap the power button and if the green led blinks, its on, if not, its not on. to turn it off, hold until the led turns red, release and its off. the button is very tactile, so unless your wearing twelve mittens, on/off will not be a problem

he also states that it has a major torque problem, but fe prolly needs to replace the drive cone spring, if he does that, he shouldnt have any more problems

other than the six errors, great review
   

dyepaintball05 Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 9:51 pm PST
well just sand down the feedneck
   

alpha20 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 | 5:29 pm PST
I like how you really explained your reasoning, and didn't just give a B.S. review. Nice job. I would've liked to see a little higher rating though, I'm rather sure the Halo B deserves a higher rating than that, but you are entitled to your opinion.

Overall, nice review. Have a good one.
   

Timmykilla Sunday, May 21st, 2006 | 12:06 pm PST
1 year of experience and you have all that i played for 3 years before I got my ego you had better be playing in some serious tournments
   

8===D (o)Y(o) Monday, December 4th, 2006 | 6:55 am PST
Halo B hoppers are awsome you prick. you are a brown noser and you like it up the butt you treehugger em kay.
   

mr2man24 Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 | 6:32 am PST
hey i have a question can you still use it if its half way in cause i dont want to mess it up tryin to sand it what should i do i have one of those crappy plastis elbows on an mr2 with a halo b
   

Ratters Monday, December 18th, 2006 | 8:38 am PST
It's an awsome hopper but the gun you need to use with it is the MR2!

Ratters
   

TeamPossum Tuesday, February 13th, 2007 | 6:43 pm PST
Dispute:
Just WRONG!
   

pulseisbetter13 Friday, March 30th, 2007 | 9:12 pm PST
I know that it is four years later from when you wrote the review, but why do you have one years experience and a dragon timmy and an angel LCD?
Last edited on Friday, March 30th, 2007 at 9:12 pm PST
   
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media