paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Fatboy's Review / Comments on Fatboy's Review / Comments on Fatboy's Review / Comments on Fatboy's Review / Comments on Fatboy's Review

Comments on Fatboy's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Fatboy Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested45 of 62 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker - big old and slow compared to the Omen
Eblade Clocker - still clunky, obviously not made to be an electro
Marker Setup: I also have an Impulse. The field I play at got an Omen for testing and it riiiiiips. Super accurate and super fast.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel where you can size paint like the Pipe. The no drop on/off is perfect. Very nice stock set up.
Strengths: Way too accurate for words & the cam-feed makes sure you don't break paint.
Weaknesses: Only available in black.
Review: Cam feed is much better than I thought it would be. It doesn't get in the way and it is nice to never chop paint, even when you outchase your hopper. I used it with an eggolution and it was bloody fast. I could outchase the egg with it, but it would never chop. It just dry fired a shot. The Omen is way faster than the eBlade. I've never even outchased a 12 volt rev with an eBlade but the Omen is faster than an Egg 2 cranked all the way up.
Conclusion: Well worth the money. I'm saving up for it. Super fast and easily as accurate as a cocker. Plus the on/off drop is very nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Paintballpimpin Sunday, June 1st, 2003 | 7:25 am PST
how can u not outshoot a 12v revvy with an e-blade its really easy

mabey u just dont know how to shoot cockers
   

tonysk83 Tuesday, July 1st, 2003 | 1:22 pm PST
i got a question, how the heck does this thing work, like the internals etc
   

xkornxjr Friday, July 4th, 2003 | 8:24 pm PST
I can't decide what to get in your opinion whats a better gun the new evil omen or the Smart Parts Impulse.
   

Side Burns Saturday, July 19th, 2003 | 7:32 pm PST
bro do not get this gun it is so poorly made if you cant out shoot a revvy with a e-blade then you totally cant out shoot an egg with thi piece of crap oh ya it's way over priced
   

Side Burns Saturday, July 19th, 2003 | 7:35 pm PST
get the imp with vision and a halo-b for the same price as the omen and you will shoot alot faster and get a better gun, the internals of the omen is a pirranah clone
   

Hobbes Monday, July 21st, 2003 | 7:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Side Burns
get the imp with vision and a halo-b for the same price as the omen and you will shoot alot faster and get a better gun, the internals of the omen is a pirranah clone

where the hell can u get an impy w/ vision and a halo b for $450?! an omen and an egg is $520-$530 and an impulse w/ vision and a halo is $675 e-pbo. who cares about the omen's internals if it functions as well as it does? Although, I do think its a little overpriced it is still a great gun And its easy as hell to outshoot a revvy with this "piece of crap" Have u even shot an omen that was properly tuned? I don't think you'd be dissing it if u had
Last edited on Monday, July 21st, 2003 at 8:10 am PST
   

luisodude Thursday, July 24th, 2003 | 10:26 am PST
side burns you dont know what you are talking about it is closed bolt and it is $400 oh wait isnt that the same as an impulse? O it is. I tottaly agree with hobbes. Before you talk do your research i suggest you go read up in the pmi forum.
   

acunaj Tuesday, July 29th, 2003 | 5:30 pm PST
How quiet is the Omen? At what pressure does it operate?
   

joerocket1 Friday, August 1st, 2003 | 2:13 pm PST
the omen isn't exactly quiet. actually it is probably slightly loud. it is designed to operate below 500 psi. 250-500 i think. it is not super low pressure. it is a closed bolt gun which means the bolt is forward in the waiting position. there is no detent because the ball is actually loaded into the barrel. that is why a multi-bore barrel is nice and helps to keep your accuracy and velocity more constant. it has a 2 piece hammer assembly so when it is cocked only half of the hammer is back which allows the bolt and the rest of the hammer to be forward. it is kind of cool. this thing is definitely not a piranha clone. whoever said that obviously knows nothing about this gun and probably knows nothing about any gun so i would ignore him. the block assembly comes back when it is fired, like a cocker. the cam feed system is not at all like an A-5. it does not rotate. there are 2 reed-like thingies that are pushed in toward the chamber by the bolt each time it comes back. one of them shoves a ball in the chamber while the other stops halfway so the next ball on deck isn't loaded yet. it is kind of cool. it is kind of finicky to adjust. people who are breaking balls probably don't know how to adjust it correctly. you have to adjust the velocity by adjusting the pressure on the reg. and you have to adjust the re-cock pressure EACH time you mess with the reg. if the re-cock pressure is too high the bolt slams the ball too hard and breaks it.
Last edited on Friday, August 1st, 2003 at 2:32 pm PST
   

Hobbes Friday, September 5th, 2003 | 8:27 pm PST
wow they should post this as a "before you review try doing this" warning. This needs to be stickied or something just so everyone realizes they have to adjust the recock each time the adjust velocity.
   

JiGGaMaNwOOt Thursday, November 6th, 2003 | 4:18 pm PST
and i have newly seen the gun in black to red fade, which looks so sexey
=)

ebay is such a great invention COU-360$-GH ARGH SNAKE!!!
....
b.l.e.h.
   

Mr. Needels Tuesday, November 18th, 2003 | 10:11 am PST
what is side burns talking about?!?!?!? the piranah is a blow back and the omen is closed bolt like a cocker. how can the internals be the same? i hate stupid newbs who think they are smart. and whats up with the little comment about get an imp with vision and a halo? omens and NON-vision imps are the same price doofus. check youre facts before you flame.
   

OmenMan Monday, November 24th, 2003 | 5:42 am PST
yea side you have no clue wut your talking about when the pdp chip comes out for the omen, it can shoot faster then impy WITH vison.
Last edited on Monday, November 24th, 2003 at 5:43 am PST
   

underated Thursday, January 1st, 2004 | 10:17 pm PST
you said that you out shot your evolution. I find that hard to believe because the max bps of an omen is 15 bps.
   

Uncreative Tuesday, January 13th, 2004 | 12:52 pm PST
Sometimes Eggs don't feed as fast as they're supposed to.
   

Paintballin_dan Saturday, January 17th, 2004 | 11:04 am PST
Fatboy, Of course u wont be able to outshoot a 12v revvy w/ an eblade. The eye wont let u outshoot ur hopper. if u have an egg,and u put on the factory fast setting, u'll be able to shoot as fast as your hopper can feed.You can also easily tweak the eblade trigger to make it ideal.
   

komoto Tuesday, February 10th, 2004 | 3:12 pm PST
you seem unbelievable bias fatty
   

westwahawk51 Thursday, March 11th, 2004 | 7:44 am PST
you said that the omen comes only in black. thats wrong. Go to evil-paintball.com
   

0322D Friday, March 12th, 2004 | 1:11 pm PST
reading all the reviews and haveing alot of stuff go wrong is starting to scare me from buying this gun actually..even tho i really do wanna buy it
   

daReese61 Sunday, April 18th, 2004 | 4:58 pm PST
i dont know weather to buy an omen, black magic, or imp. whats a better gun?
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media