paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on ~XF~ Dukester's Review / Comments on ~XF~ Dukester's Review / Comments on ~XF~ Dukester's Review / Comments on ~XF~ Dukester's Review / Comments on ~XF~ Dukester's Review / Comments on ~XF~ Dukester's Review

Comments on ~XF~ Dukester's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

~XF~ Dukester Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months20 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: The Tippmann A-5 with a Smarts Parts All American barrel and a Flatline barrel for the scenario games when you just need to reach out and touch someone. I have also place an E-trigger on which really makes the gun ROCK
Strengths: You can occationally get a 3 round burst
Weaknesses: It just doesn't work well with compressed air
Review: I received my A-5 with the RT. I spent months on trying to get the RT to shoot rapid. I spoke with Tippmann, other players and air smiths but I just couldn't get it to work well. I'm on a team and we had 5 with the RT's and none of us could get it to work. I had shot one before I bought the A-5 and it worked great. I finally learned that the RT does not like compressed air. I'm told by people who use CO2 that the RT really rocks but when they switched to Nitro it wouldn't work. The one I shot before I bought mine was also on CO2.
Conclusion: If your shooting compressed air get the stock gun and buy an E-trigger. If your on CO2 I have shot the RT and they really work well. I have to rate the RT a 5 only because it works with about 50% of what is out there.
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
|2ogu3 4ssassin Thursday, May 1st, 2003 | 6:50 pm PST
Hey i got the rt and i was thinkin about runnin nitro so thx for takin me out of it. i am on a team, but i jsut got my rt and i havent practiced much with it. can u email me and tell me how to werk it? guitarplayinsk8er@hotmail.com
   

TippyMan5 Sunday, June 1st, 2003 | 8:02 pm PST
Yeah, I think you are right, my friend has the response trigger on C02 and works awesome. He can get a 100 round burst everytime! Unless his tank is low.
   

tippmannluvr Monday, November 10th, 2003 | 8:04 pm PST
I've looked at this post before I got my a-5 w/rt and I have a 3000 psi nitro and its worked flawlessly. I've used it many times and I have not had any problems. I don't know what the problem is but it has worked better with nitro than it has with co2. Co2 freezes my gun to fast with it has that high rate of fire. Maybe there is just something wrong with yours b/c its worked great with me and my partners a-5 w/rt.
   

Brian McGrath Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 | 11:21 am PST
Same... my rt wont work as well an a 1/3 full tank of co2... nirtogen works fine though.....hmmm
   

ghilliesnipe Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 10:37 am PST
The recharge rate of the nitro tank is a big issue. You shouldnt have trouble with a crossfire tank.
   

Tippmann ace Tuesday, September 6th, 2005 | 12:43 pm PST
yeah for som reason i cant seem to get it to work right, and the piston doesnt shoot back the trigger as fast when u have a low tank
   

Cool shoes Monday, November 14th, 2005 | 7:39 pm PST
I'm sry but ur review rele doesn;t make sense, N2 and Compressed Air would have to work better because there is no condensation that forms in the breech and barrel. IT also won't freeze up. It also is more consistent than CO2. What kind of tank does ur team use? If it is one particular brand that may b the problem. If not install a regulator, that will undoubtedly fix it.
   

docsatan Friday, November 25th, 2005 | 11:33 pm PST
hey i have a a-5 with a RT I use compressed air and i have no problem with it i can run through half a hopper if i get the sweet spot. i need to get it clocked to find out what the ROF is but it is up there. i am going to the pb field this weekend so i will get it checked. but it works perfect much better then my 98c.
   

Cool shoes Saturday, November 26th, 2005 | 6:02 am PST
Yeah I have a A5 RT and use a 88/4500 Pure Energy fiber tank and it goes pretty fast (not as fast as my Shocker though!!!!)
   

Govinda_T Monday, December 5th, 2005 | 10:47 am PST
The problem may be that you are running it at too low a pressure. If you run it LP, you need to get an LPK. Or as mentioned before, you may need a secondary reg, or a tank with a faster recharge rate. If you already have a reg, you may want to get it repaired or replace it with a new / better one. By the way, I believe CO2 runs at 800 psi, somebody please correct me if I am mistaken. You might want to set your pressure @800 psi, if your reg or tank are adjustable.

EDIT: This has been confirmed. I recently went paintballing at a local indoor field, and used CO2 and Nitrogen (rented) back-to-back. The Nitro lent a HUGE improvement in performance. Just make sure that you run it between 800-850 psi, or use a fixed High Pressure output tank (800 or 850 psi.)
Last edited on Thursday, January 19th, 2006 at 3:31 pm PST
   

NimbleJack Friday, February 3rd, 2006 | 1:25 pm PST
Dispute:
I find the information in this review to be far from the truth. I have an A-5 and it came with the RT when I first bought it. I started out with everything on the gun stock exept for the RT and I ran it on a 20 oz CO2 canaster. Through about 2-3 years I've slowely upgraded it and I now run on Compressed Air which works great with my RT. I havnt had any problems with it and actually I like it better cuz the A-5 is a gas hog and my Compressed Air tank holds a lot more air so I can play a lot longer before needing to refill my air. The only thing that I can think of that may have made the A-5's RT supposedly not work is that I have a Regulator for my A-5 which may make a difference in the way the RT is effected by the compressed air. Besides that maybe they wernt hooked up correctly or something. I also have a bullet drp with on/off switch, and a Dead on Paintball Verticle Adapter, but those shouldnt effect anything as far as the RT working or not. But I have compressed Air, and use it with my A-5 with RT and it works GREAT. Something had to of been done wrong with the A-5's that didnt work correctly.
   

Darkshadows Sunday, March 5th, 2006 | 9:44 pm PST
Dispute:
My son recently bought a a5 witht he RT installed and only runs air, he doesnt like co2 and has had No problems with the functioning of the gun whatso ever Nor had any problem finding the sweet spot
   

MiStEr_XxX Saturday, April 29th, 2006 | 5:47 pm PST
my rt runs perfect with air no problems at all and its easy to sweetspot
   

MiStEr_XxX Saturday, April 29th, 2006 | 5:47 pm PST
my rt runs perfect with air no problems at all and its easy to sweetspot
   

ExoSkull Wednesday, September 13th, 2006 | 9:46 pm PST
Dispute:
for compreesed air and low pressure kits for a-5 you call up tippmann and they will send you new tubes for your rt according to the set-up you have!
   

tippy98marksman Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 | 6:32 pm PST
Dispute:
The only only difference between CO2 and HPA on your gun is that CO2 isn't as consistent and can freeze your gun if liquid C02 gets in it. I fail to see how this would help your R/T. Try loosening the big shiny screw on the R/T, under the trigger frame. I have used both CO2 and HPA on my a-5 w/ R/T. If anything HPA works better b/c it won't freeze up ur gun up at high ROF. (Don't wry, im not dissing CO2, i luv it 2 , just don't go nuts with it, [CO2 + High ROF = Ordering a new power tube 2 replace the 1 u broke {tippmann will replace it 4 free (i think i'm using 2 many parenthesis[oh well])}])
THE END
   

broadsword Friday, October 27th, 2006 | 10:32 am PST
Dispute:
If you adjust your RT trigger you can find the sweet spot easily i can hold my trigger in and keep shooting forever.
   

'Ol Paintless Thursday, May 12th, 2011 | 8:47 pm PST
I have a Tippmann A5 RT and I like it more than my Tippmann A5 HE E-Grip. I used the E-Grip for almost a year. The RT I have been using for 3 months. I only use HPA. Perhaps you installed your RT kit to tightly / loosely. If you install it without being careful you can lose or break an O-Ring.

Long story short, this review is HIGHLY uncharacteristic of an A5 RT. Heck I would even say they are better than the E-Grip (read my review of the A5 HE E-Grip for more)!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media