paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on danschroeder89's Review / Comments on danschroeder89's Review / Comments on danschroeder89's Review / Comments on danschroeder89's Review

Comments on danschroeder89's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

danschroeder89 Sunday, May 4th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: The marker I tested it on was a 98 custom with ultralight barrel, hot shot dot sight with a 20 ounce tank............a bit back heavy with the ultralight, but after a minute or two of holding the gun your already used to it
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs(RPS is the way to go)
diablo dusk(great paint and very cheap)
pmi premiums
Strengths: ACCURACY IS AMAZING
Weaknesses: Range Isn't the best
Review: If you are looking for a barrel totally made for accuracy you've found it, this barrel is amazingly accurate. The lightness of the barrel is interesting, one squeegee and the barrel is brand new looking, although if your shooting marbs through this you should not be breaking anything(in the barrel for that matter) I play a lot of woods ball with two big forts about 100 feet away. my friend is the one with the ultralight, I popped a mask up about 5 separate times before parting my base to test his accuracy. Out of the 5 times the extra mask was in the air he fired 7 shots, 6 of them landed on the mask from 100 feet. I shot his gun after the game and was swept away how accurately I was shooting.

This gun does not have the range as other barrels, and no im not just saying that because I have a flatline, I have used a many barrels with better range. If your a front player this is definitely the barrel for you. If not it's not like this gun is going to go 100 feet and die.

If your a sniper I would recommend this barrel to you anyway, just get a little closer to your targets.
Conclusion: This is the only barrel that makes me wonder if I should give up my A-5 flatline system for an ultralight. I am trying to decide as I am typing this review right now. Buy this, you will NOT be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 4th, 2003 at 9:01 am PST
 

Review Comments
Mutated Goose Sunday, May 4th, 2003 | 10:09 am PST
well unless the new style ultralights are bent downward... it's gonna shoot as far as other barrels. (minus flatline)
   

danschroeder89 Sunday, May 25th, 2003 | 9:24 pm PST
Everyone who is reading my review I am sorry. The gun I tried the barrel on was on a lower velocity then the gun owner and I thought. I tried the gun again at 275fps and it shot just as far as my All American and any other barrel i've tried with the exclusion on the flatline.
   

athanaseus Sunday, February 29th, 2004 | 10:43 am PST
then edit it fool
   

MRFIXIT08 Saturday, April 3rd, 2004 | 5:10 pm PST
give the guy a break sheesh. honest mistake.
   

bevoduz Tuesday, May 4th, 2004 | 8:38 pm PST
Dude, I've got a 14" ultralight on my a-5, and it shoots better than my friends who have flatlines on theirs. Farther, and more accurate. Now, when I whip out my dm4....

They all go running because it's far more accurate and shoots farther than any a-5 ever will.
   

PBSpartan Friday, June 25th, 2004 | 11:25 am PST
not true bevoduz...every barrel shoots the same distance with the same velocity. The flatline is ane xception because it uses backspin to make gravity = backspin to get longer range. But as far as paintball goes it's the ONLY way to add distance. Also the gun doesn't change the range either. It's all about velocity.


Also and by better with the Ultralite to the Flatlines, try to take all factors into consideration. Was is shooting more accurate. was it shooting as far (I doubt it if it was put on correctly). How much gas was it using. How long was the barrel? How heavy was the barrel. There's too many factors to list but you get the idea. Most barrels have their ups and downs, calling one barrel better or the best is biased. That's my opinion.
   

happenen Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 | 8:36 am PST
PBSpartan are you trying to say that a cheap low end brass eagle gun can shoot as far as a top of the line gun with an ultralite.
Not going to happen.
   

PBSpartan Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 | 9:35 am PST
Sorry, I should have been more specific. Most aftermarket barrels shoot the same distance, range wise, with about teh same accuracy. Stock barrels of lower quality can't match this just because of that. Quality. But somthing a little higher end stock barrel, for example the 98 custom stock barrel, can shoot just as far as any other barrel, with teh same velocity, with a difference of up to maybe about 10-20 feet.

I believe WebDogRadio just made a video on this a few weeks back...interesting stuff. Check it out if you're still skeptical.

www.webdogradio.us

It's one of the newer season episodes.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 9:37 am PST
   

Ace-o-Spades Friday, July 29th, 2005 | 5:53 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by bevoduz
Dude, I've got a 14" ultralight on my a-5, and it shoots better than my friends who have flatlines on theirs. Farther, and more accurate. Now, when I whip out my dm4....

They all go running because it's far more accurate and shoots farther than any a-5 ever will.

the dm4 will never shoot farther than an a5 with a flatline will because only velocity and spin affects distance... and the barrel only affects accuracy.....
think before you say stuff like that...
   

mcongdon Saturday, December 31st, 2005 | 5:29 pm PST
anybody who has taken a physics class should know that if the guns are shooting at the same velocity, then the ball will travel the same distance, unless backspin is occuring.
   

double agent Monday, June 4th, 2007 | 2:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by happenen
PBSpartan are you trying to say that a cheap low end brass eagle gun can shoot as far as a top of the line gun with an ultralite.
Not going to happen.


I'm not PB Spartan, but that is exactly what he is saying, and he is right. A ball traveling 280bps out of a Brass Eagle barrel will go just as far as a ball traveling 280bps out of an Ultralite will go. Unless backspin is added, two of the same balls traveling the same speed at the same trajectory will travel the same distance. Accuracy and noise are what set barrels apart (well, looks, construction quality, weight, too).
   

O'C Sunday, July 22nd, 2007 | 7:28 pm PST
Dispute:
No barrel is going to have more range than the other, with the exception of the Apex and Flatline. Better accuracy, yes... more range, no. Paintball can only reach a maximum of 150 ft without long balling or the use of Flatlines and Apexs.
   

misfit0022 Saturday, November 17th, 2007 | 9:57 am PST
haha, barrels dont affecy range, your funny.
   

KoRo5u5oo Monday, January 21st, 2008 | 3:14 am PST
you're all idiots, of course you can make a paintball go further without using backspin.
you just angle your gun up a bit :P
   

joethemetaldude Wednesday, September 17th, 2008 | 10:31 am PST
Dispute:
Pure noob review.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media