paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on diver's Review / Comments on diver's Review / Comments on diver's Review / Comments on diver's Review

Comments on diver's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

diver Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years737 of 752 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spiders, piranha, tippmann m98 have used bigshot, jj ceramic, and stock barrels on all the before mentioned.
A freak barrel on the spiders
Marker Setup: A-5 tippmann with a flatline barrel and an e-grip on pure energy HPA
tippmann m98 with a JJ ceramic barrel on Pure energy HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs. (good)
evils (better)
big ball (the best) I'll explain below
Strengths: Distance, accuracy, does not break balls, flies real flat
Weaknesses: You have to have the right paint to barrel match and the speed set right.
Review: First off let me start by saying I have read a lot of reviews about this barrel and would like to put an end to some myths. The reviews go from real good to real bad. Most people who dislike this barrel have not given it a chance or do not own one just borrowed it for a game or witnessed someone shooting one. So here we go

Myth one. The barrel floats the shoots out to the target making the balls move slower. One person on a review I read even stated that the balls move so slow that he could “swat them out of the air” so when my gun/barrel showed up I when to my local range to test this out. I set my speed to 275 fps (deviation of 5 fps up and down) measured at the end of the barrel. I then backed off 30 yards (90 feet) and shot again speed average was 265 at 55 yards (165 feet) I was still going 250 fps and at 75 yards (225 feet) now I do not know about you but I would love to see a player try to swat a ball from the air at 225 fps I am not saying it can’t be done (I have seen people catch arrows at that distance) I would just like to see it. For comparison I did the same with my jj ceramic barrel the numbers are 275 at the barrel, 30 yards was 260 fps, 55 yards 240 fps, 75 yards 200 fps. Some of the reason that the jj was so much slower could have been the arc path it was following as it when over the radar gun.

Myth two. This is an inaccurate barrel. When my barrel showed up I tried shooting a five-gallon bucket end on from about 15 yards and sent 2 out of ten in the bucket. This bothered me. At the range I found out what was happening the gun was set to 200 fps as I increased the speed I was able to hit 5 out of 10 at 250 fps at 25 yards. Then at 275 fps I was able to send all ten into the bucket. At 285 fps I was able to hit a standard CD at 30 yards 10 out of 10 times, with the right paint. At 300 fps I could not hit the bucket at all. The speed that you set a flatline to is very important. So go to the range and find out what speed your gun likes the most and keep it there.
Paint is everything. I started with marbs. They were ok. I read that evil worked well, they did. All in all I tried 27 different paints from super swirls, and dusk (Wal-Mart), venom, inferno, maxim (1 and 2), nelson, etc. to platinum, evil, marbs. The one that worked the best in my barrel was big ball (lucky for me $45 a case at the local sporting goods store). Big ball placed 7 out of 10 hits on a police issue man size silhouette target at 75 yard (225 feet!!!!!!) my jj hit 2 out of 250 rounds. Note: my friends gun, an identical setup to mine, does not like the big ball at all. His setup liked the evils. So try them all and find which on works for you.

Myth three this barrel is an air hog. My jj ceramic gets 550 shot out of my pure energy 48 cu HPA set to a speed of 275 fps my flatline get 540 shots set at 275 fps. Is that an air hog I do not think so. Ten shots out of 550 has not won or lost a game for me yet.

Myth four. This barrel and the a-5 hopper are a “paint blender” in the effort to find the right paint I shot over 27 different paints from 14 sellers and 6000 round. Any ball bigger then platinum will come out the end of the barrel as a squirt of liquid. The old test of placing the paint in the barrel and looking for two half moons around the ball has never been better then here. Big diameter paint will come out of your barrel in a stream of liquid paint. The second it hits the top of the arc in your barrel it will explode. With that said. I have shot Marbs, Evils and big ball over 2000 rounds with out one break in the barrel. Even when set to full auto and 18 rounds a second.

Myth five the barrel is hard to get off incase of a break in the field. Well let’s get a little creative here folks. I am a Mechanical Engineer by trade. If you do not like something then change it. You customize every other part of your gun why not this one. Could it be because there is not a kit you can buy? I went down to my local nuts and bolts store and bought three thumbscrews (cadmium coated they are black to match the gun and will not rust when they come in contact with aluminum or water) that match the three bolts on the front of my A-5. All I have to do is use my hand to twist the screws two turns each turn the barrel one quarter turn and remove. Clean barrel and reinstall in reverse order. I have raced my friends, which have spiders, m98s and auto cockers. Only the 98 beat me the big threads on the 98s take a lot less turns to get off. The total mod cost me a dollar fifty.

Myth six this barrel does not like the wind. I was out playing in a mesa canyon with a 10 mile per hour wind and did not notice any difference between the wind affect on my flatline and ceramic barrels. With one exception when you shoot directly into the wind. The flatline tends to rise a little (one foot over 55 yards). But my ceramic was not even getting to the 55 yard mark so in trade the rise did not bother me that much.

Myth seven you can shoot around corners with this barrel. Not exactly but if you turn it on its side you can get it to throw on very useful curve ball. Just like in base ball the curve ball does not turn 90 degrees all at once. But it does let you hit a player that is behind a barricade or wall before they can get a clean shot off at you. The arc is about two feet at 30 yards. I can compare this to using the wind with my ceramic barrel to arc a shot around a barricade and hit someone. The only difference is I do not have to rely on wind to be there. Also for those shots in the wind where you need your ball to fly straight but the wind is making it arc. You can with a little practice tilt the flatline and compensate for the wind allowing you to get a straight shot.

I hope this helps some of you who are on the fence about this barrel/gun combination. Please do not believe the things you read out there about this barrel/gun combination go out and try one yourself, And not just for one game ether. Play with the speed setting and the ball combinations. if you put a little time into your set up you will not find a more accurate, flat shooting gun that will reach out and touch someone at 75 yards.

January 29 2004
I am adding a section because of questions I have received about the screw replacement.
The number one question I have received is where do you find the thumbscrews that replace the ones on the front of the a-5 so you can remove the barrel fast. The link is as follows: http://www.mcmaster.com/ then in the top left corner type in thumbscrew and do a search. You will come up with a page that has all the choices. I liked the knurled head shouldered screw with in Stainless Stee, part number xxxxxxxx in 10-32 with a 1 inch long thread. You can choose anyone you would like they even have plastic covered large headed t-handles.
I have been sent e-mails telling me that the screw part number are not right. so please give me some time to recheck my part numbers and get back to you on the right part numbers.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel. Those of you that play in a small area will like this barrel those of you like myself that play in large area like the woods, mesa, or town scenarios will love this barrel. Snipers and back players will love the distance and front players will love the short length, flat shooting (great for those tight shots thru trees and bushes) and fast shooting ability of this barrel. Put an e-grip on this thing and you will have a very fast (18+ round a second) long reaching (75 yards) gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 at 5:33 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
TXtippmann Thursday, August 19th, 2004 | 12:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by PBA5
Great review, but i also heard reports of a flatline ball going so slow people could catch them. Please tell me what could cause that in a flatline barrel.
I'll tell you. What causes that is the superior engineering by Tippmann. The barrel is so accurate and has such excellent range, that people can and do catch paintballs from this barrel all the time. They catch them with their hands, their mask, in the chest, the back, the arm, the leg, all over really. It's true, I've seen it. People catch paintballs from my flatline all the time. They really hate it, too.
   

gsxrmike Friday, August 27th, 2004 | 10:16 pm PST
Do you have problems with the A-5 / Flatline setup getting up to 280fps? I cant get mine over 230fps, and I have got the velocity adjustment screw almost all the way out! Can you help me? do I need a new spring? Are the internals bad? is the valve bad? Help me!

Mike

gsxrmike@tampabay.rr.com
   

TXtippmann Thursday, September 2nd, 2004 | 10:07 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by gsxrmike
Do you have problems with the A-5 / Flatline setup getting up to 280fps? I cant get mine over 230fps, and I have got the velocity adjustment screw almost all the way out! Can you help me? do I need a new spring? Are the internals bad? is the valve bad? Help me!

Mike

gsxrmike@tampabay.rr.com

Have you taken it apart to make sure everything is clean, and nothing is blocking the air flow? If it is the gun, Tippmann customer service should be able to help you. I would call them before doing anything. Also, make sure it's not the chronograph.
   

diver Tuesday, September 14th, 2004 | 2:28 pm PST
TXtippmann, thanks for the help answering the mail. I would have answered the same way.
gsxrmike, you should clean the marker inside and out, make sure all of the o-rings are oiled and are in good shape if this does not fix the problem send it to tipmann there tech support is fast and free.
   

ikey Thursday, September 16th, 2004 | 5:12 pm PST
actually yea this barrel is hard to clean compared to toehr barrels, see u dont have to take ur barrel on to clean it, i have a battel swab, shove it down the barrel, pull it out.....done. it doesnt get any faster. try shouving a battel swab or straight shot sqeegee down a flatline.....not gonna happen. and if this barrel is so good, then why doesnt team tippman effect use them?
Last edited on Thursday, September 16th, 2004 at 5:13 pm PST
   

diver Friday, September 17th, 2004 | 11:06 am PST
Ikey, you can use a flip disk barrel cleaner thru the front of a a-5 flatline and clean the barrel just as fast. you flip the disk slide it in the barrel, let it click flat and pull out barrel clean. very easy to do.
tippman affect is not tippmann's team. team tippmann is tippmanns team and they use flatlines.
follow this link to the 2000 finals and what do you see team tippmann using a flatline barrel.
http://www.warpig.com/paintball/tournament/nppl/nashville/20
00/gallery/MVC021S_jpg.shtml
most of the team uses flatlines...
Last edited on Friday, September 17th, 2004 at 11:14 am PST
   

acetippy Sunday, November 14th, 2004 | 8:17 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by DaleBrother
I think it would be helpful if you also posted the correct size screws that are used to replace the existing ones. Thanks for a great post!


i agree. I just ordered the screws, and when they came in, none of the screws fitted in the screw hole in that keeps the cyclone feed connected to the gun :(
But great review though! :)
Last edited on Sunday, November 14th, 2004 at 8:18 am PST
   

JHart Wednesday, December 29th, 2004 | 4:39 pm PST
I just got the flatline for christmas and i was wondering if there is an easier way to clean out the barrel if a ball breaks. If it is a kind of squeegee what kind would u recommend. Thanks. Great review
Last edited on Wednesday, December 29th, 2004 at 4:40 pm PST
   

Gumbie_1234 Tuesday, January 18th, 2005 | 2:46 pm PST
Hey good review man, I already had the tippmann A-5 flatline and was looking at the reviews to see what other people said about it and I stoped reading them after I saw yours. I think the flatline works really great in my gun because I dont even need good paint. I usually use the CHEAP STUFF! and works really really well and never breaks in my gun, I havent tried the different speeds but I will give the 285 fps a try and see how that will do in my gun.

THANKS ALOT FOR THE AWSOME REVIEW!
Last edited on Tuesday, January 18th, 2005 at 2:48 pm PST
   

DANTE A-5 Friday, January 21st, 2005 | 6:27 pm PST
You know what your talking about... I respected your post
   

DANTE A-5 Friday, January 21st, 2005 | 6:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by gsxrmike
Do you have problems with the A-5 / Flatline setup getting up to 280fps? I cant get mine over 230fps, and I have got the velocity adjustment screw almost all the way out! Can you help me? do I need a new spring? Are the internals bad? is the valve bad? Help me!

Mike

gsxrmike@tampabay.rr.com

   

MRFIXIT08 Sunday, January 30th, 2005 | 12:56 pm PST
Actually there is a person who can catch paintballs shot that fast. it was on Ripley's. but anyway good review.
   

cmorris326 Monday, March 14th, 2005 | 8:33 am PST
Is it worth upgrading from the Custom with Flatline to the A-5 with Flatline?
   

diver Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 | 5:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by MRFIXIT08
Actually there is a person who can catch paintballs shot that fast. it was on Ripley's. but anyway good review.


mrfix08, I saw that also and i was very impressed but there is one small thing called showmanship here. the balls were going 200+ feet not 275 he was 30 yards away the guy was shooting beside him not at him and the first three tries broke before he caught them. also the gun was not a flatline it was an autococker so his magical feat was a little staged but still very impressive, not a real life game situation but impressive.
   

p8ntballer1234 Monday, April 4th, 2005 | 7:10 am PST
Look my friend has this gun and barrel and it is insanely accurate but the balls do fly very slow!!! We had the velocity all the way up but at fifty feet I could easy catch 9 out fo 10 balls he shot at me. While we were playing he came up behind me and loaded up my back from a pretty close distance; not only did none of them bust but I didn't even feel them though a T-shirt. I don't know if it is the barrel making it do this or what but his brother just bought the same gun and barrel and it does the same thing. It was a great review though every thing else is TRUE.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 at 4:19 pm PST
   

King21 Saturday, April 16th, 2005 | 10:58 pm PST
Great Review man, I think im gonna buy the barrel now!!! Great review
   

SplatMan98 Thursday, April 28th, 2005 | 12:30 pm PST
Great review. Does the flatline make your gun a little more accurate or accurate as a cocker?
   

diver Wednesday, May 18th, 2005 | 4:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by p8ntballer1234
Look my friend has this gun and barrel and it is insanely accurate but the balls do fly very slow!!! We had the velocity all the way up but at fifty feet I could easy catch 9 out fo 10 balls he shot at me. While we were playing he came up behind me and loaded up my back from a pretty close distance; not only did none of them bust but I didn't even feel them though a T-shirt. I don't know if it is the barrel making it do this or what but his brother just bought the same gun and barrel and it does the same thing. It was a great review though every thing else is TRUE.

what speed are the balls leaving the gun at. if they are not going fast enough to feel them at fifty feet then there is a problem with the gun not the barrel a ball going 275 will feel the same no matter what gun/barrel it comes out of send me an e-mail and we will try to fix your gun.
   

jbritto80 Wednesday, May 18th, 2005 | 8:27 pm PST
I recently purchased an A-5 with the RT and Flatline installed, there is a kit sold now that has the three screws with a big flat disc like head on them with grips like the edge of a quarter on them. Very helpful when playing, quick dis-assembly in the field, no allen wrenches. The only regret I had was, I payed $22 and some change on the Internet for the kit, thumbscrews would have ran me like a couple bucks at the most. Great review, I must say. A-5 rules.

Any comments questions welcome at jbritto80@yahoo.com
   

pbplayer55 Monday, June 6th, 2005 | 3:13 pm PST
I was playing a guy with a flatline barrel and he was shooting at me from about 200 ft at 280 fps velocity and they appeared to be coming in slow but they were hitting harder then my autococker at that distance, mind you i have to lob to get that amount of range from my autococker.I because flatlines shoot from so far that you have more time to see the round and track it with your eyes thus making it look slower.
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media