paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review

Comments on Forsayken's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Forsayken Monday, May 19th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month400 of 417 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various other blowback semi's. Sherriden, tippmann 98 custom, a few brass eagles (I pity the owners) and I saw an angel fired once. In terms of rate of fire and accuracy, only the angel beats it. And the angel had an electro trigger and it didn't beat the A-5 by much.
Marker Setup: I use the A-5 right out of the box. That's it. It's all I need.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only minor things for casual players because this gun has so many extra features that are usually mods or upgrades. You dont need electric hopper because this has a unique cyclone feed. You dont need electro trigger because this thing fires too fast as it is. You dont need longer barrel because this I use open sights and can hit small targets (probably about 4 inches x 4 inches) from 50 feet away without any problems. A fun thing to get would be a red dot or a scope because this gun does have the standard scope grooves. I don't have either of these upgrades yet, but I'm looking into them.
Strengths: -Durability: strong
-Reliability: accuracty, rate of fire
-Built-in features: cyclone feed, vertical CO2 adapter
Weaknesses: -slightly bulky hopper
-VERY slight Co2 inefficiency due to cyclone feed.
Review: I did a lot of homework before making a final purchase decision. I wanted a marker that I know what last, have great durability, reliability, stability and accuracy, but I didn't want to spend a lot of money. This sounds sort of selfish in a way: I want an awesome marker for not a lot of money. Well, after doing a lot of research and reading a lot of reviews on this site as well as any others I could find, I started shopping around for prices on a Tippmann A-5. I finally found a place that had the Tippmann A-5 for a nice price and that shipped to Canada.

Now onto my review of the gun: This marker was so easy to set up out of the box: put it on safety, load it, and attach the Co2 cylinder. Done. From the very first shot I knew I had made the right decision. Just holding this marker gives you the feeling that a lot of work went into making this marker just right. And it's worth every penny even if it is slightly more expensive than most blowbacks. This gun has everything the average paintballer would ever need: Amazing accuracy, height rate of fire when it's needed, durable construction, easy to use sights, and the almighty cyclone feed.

What this really means is that you don't have to go out and spend another $200 to get the gun to work the way you thought it would. You can get about 10 balls a second just by pulling the trigger normally. The cyclone feed works just as well as the advertisements say: the faster you pull the trigger, the faster this thing loads the balls. And it never messes up (well, not so far. And I've done some pretty rigorous testing). The gun shoots pretty straight compared to every other gun I've seen, this is the most accurate. This gun also has a built in front handle that's darned comfortable albeit a little small for those with big hands. Also, the vertical Co2 adapter is a nice feature when you want a compact marker for indoor play.

First off, I'm going to break down the cocking, loading of the balls, rate of fire and accuracy. The cocking handle is located on the left side at the front of the fun. It's easy to pull back and actually quite fun to load because it mimics a real gun.

If you don't know how the cyclone feed works, it's actually pretty simple. A star shaped object (a sprocket if you will) sits at the bottom of the hopper. In between the sprocket are 5 balls. To the left of the sprocket is the hole where the balls are pushed from the sprocket located at the bottom of the hopper and go into the chamber. When the trigger is pulled, the ball in the chamber is fired. At the same time, excess Co2 is diverted from the barrel to a smaller chamber to force the sprocket to rotate, pushing a fresh ball into the chamber. This sounds like a timely process, but it's not. It can happen up to 15 times a second according to the advertisements. Of course, you do need an electronic trigger to achieve a rate of 15 rounds per second. It's the main reason this gun fires as quickly as it does. The faster you pull the trigger, the faster a fresh ball will enter the chamber after firing. So far it has worked perfectly. Not a single ball has backfired or been chopped by the bolt.

Traditionally, rate of fire is usually inversely proportional to the accuracy. Well this is not the case with the A-5. The accuracy is just as great if you are sniping while prone or charging the enemy base. The balls shoot pretty much as straight as a spherical object can given that wind and air resistance can have a profound affect on its trajectory. For example, in a low wind situation, I can kneel about 30 feet away from a pole about 1 inch in diameter and hit it more than 50% of the time at a rate of about 4 balls a second. Most of the misses are within 1-inch left of right of the pole. Bear in mind that I am in a kneeling position and attempting to react to the slight recoil while maintaining a constant ROF. With practice I'm sure I could get up to 75% accuracy.

Secondly, I will know discuss the construction, weight and durability of the marker.

The gun weighs in at about 6 pounds total with 200 balls in the hopper and a 12oz Co2 tank attached. I'm not really sure if that is heavier than the average gun, but it feels very solid and stable. The frame of the gun is a very dense plastic.Strong plastic! Almost every piece of the body of the marker is held in place by additional support as well. My only concern is the manual-loading arm for the cyclone feed. It's only normal plastic and does not have much support. The armís only use is to manually rotate the sprocket in the event that a ball is not pushed into the chamber (You can also just fire 1 blank round to force the cyclone feed into action to load a new ball anyways). This arm is also needed when your Co2 tank is low on gas. Occasionally the sprocket wonít rotate, but at this point, your muzzle velocity is so low due to lack of gas that you should just replace the cylinder anyways. I'm sure that I will never break this piece off in the lifetime of this gun because it runs parallel to the main part of the body and has some protection from the strong hopper. This arm is also very flexible too; I'm sure it would take a lot of stress to break it off.

Another great feature of this gun is the quick strip. Me, being the casual paintballer, will probably never need to use this feature. But I did quick strip it just to see some of the innards of this marker. And yes. You can strip this gun down very quickly. 2 pushpins and the handle falls off. A few more and you can get to any piece of the gun. Also, you donít have to worry about the pushpins falling out while playing. A pin has to be pushed from one side of the gun, and then pulled from the other side. The pin is also securely fitted as well.

All right, I've pretty much gone over the technical end of things. I will now proceed to my experiences while using the gun in a game.

I have to say, I love the realistic look of this gun. From the sights down to the handle and the cocking handle, it feels very authentic. You probably donít want to carry this one in your front seat on the way down to your local park, nor would you want to ever fire this gun in an urban area. I live in the bush so no one cares. Anyways, this is the best thing I have ever invested money in. So far it's performed exactly how I wanted it to. With the exception of the weak looking manual cyclone feed loader arm and the slightly bulky hopper I am thoroughly satisfied with my purchase. The hopper only looks bulky because of the wide neck. It's really not any bigger than any other 200 round hoppers. It's just that I place the gun on my left shoulder so the hopper blocks a small portion of my field of view. For everyone else that places the Co2 against their right shoulder, you probably won't even notice. And let me reiterate that reliability of the cyclone feed and the gun in general: I thought it would be a good idea to waste what was left of a 200 can of Brass Eagle paintballs that were nearing the age of one year. I fired them off as fast as I could and not a single ball broke nor did they curve off of their trajectory. I then proceeded to load up some quality paint and was very pleased with the results.
Conclusion: If this in-depth review doesn't convince you to spend the extra bit of cash and get an A-5 as opposed to a marker that will need more maintenance and upgrades, then nothing will. For approximately $240 US (lower if you shop around) you get a lot more bang for your buck because of all the included extra features at are otherwise mods or upgrades for every other gun. I sincerely hope this review helps someone out. Inthefrey, another person who wrote an excellet review of the Tippmann A-5 under this section was posted on march 7, 2003 sold me on this marker. So I hope I am writing this to atleast back up his claims that the A-5 is an "excellent piece of Tippmann engineering and workmanship". It was worth every penny to get it. I hope anyone who buys this gun enjoys it even half as much as I have.

P.S. I want to thank all those that submitted whole-hearted, detailed reviews of the Tippmann A-5. You helped me make the right purchase decision.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
pbN00B Thursday, July 17th, 2003 | 9:16 am PST
Great review.
   

paintballindude Wednesday, July 30th, 2003 | 4:28 am PST
GREAT!!!!! review. u and a few other reviews on this site have helped me decide that i NEEED the A-5. thank you again for this awesome review!!!!!
   

Stupified Friday, August 15th, 2003 | 10:26 pm PST
You just convinced me to get an A-5.
   

bddrumer8802 Saturday, September 13th, 2003 | 11:32 am PST
stupified it all depends on your style of play. if you just want a gun to get started and plan on getting another gun (autococker,impulse, etc) i would go with a 98 b/c its a lot cheaper. and then the A-5, which is a good gun to get if you play a lot and want it to last a long time. though im not saying that the a-5 is better than the 98c. it just all depends on what your next step is.
   

tbon Tuesday, December 9th, 2003 | 6:51 pm PST
bddrummer8802 put it correctly, when my POS piranha broke down i jsut used my brothers 98 and did alot better with it than the PMI
   

A-5 buddy Wednesday, January 7th, 2004 | 12:42 pm PST
Great review man. I have my a-5 for about a year and this was the best review yet. I agree with you about it being great. dont get a scope though. i had one and it was a tasco red dot. It got hit for the 2nd time and broke. just a suggestion.
   

paintball bob Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 | 7:22 pm PST
Great review man, I don't have a A-5 but i'm looking into a 98c or A-5, I have a question when I look at the pictures of the A-5 the cyclone feed looks kind of fragile. Is this really the case? Also I have heard that is completely plastic inside is this true? If it is how durable is it? Thanks!
   

Fear_Paintball Thursday, January 29th, 2004 | 4:57 pm PST
The Gun Is made of plastic it already sounds crappy it also can only do 12 bps with that huge as hopper thats pretty worthless and the gun suxs if its made of plastic who pays like 400 dollars for a peice of plastic crap i think you are all insane if you buy this gun there is like no upgrades it is got the the worst aim in the world and its heavy as hell
   

paintball bob Sunday, February 1st, 2004 | 9:14 pm PST
Hey, first of all it only costs 228$, and the tippmann guns have the most upgrades for them in the world! And if it has the worst aim in the world get a flat line! Or a better barrel, the barrel it comes with is not that great, but no gun has a good stock barrel. AND YOU SAID IT WEIGHTS TO MUCH?!?!?! SELL YOUR PAINTBALL GUN AND BUY A PEE SHOOTER!!! IF YOU THINK IT WEIGHTS TOO MUCH!! What are you smokin? You noob!
   

paintball bob Sunday, February 1st, 2004 | 9:17 pm PST
Can anyone (with a Iq higher than a rock(fear paintball)) that has had a A-5 or has one, answer my question?
   

cybrax Wednesday, February 25th, 2004 | 12:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by A-5 buddy
Great review man. I have my a-5 for about a year and this was the best review yet. I agree with you about it being great. dont get a scope though. i had one and it was a tasco red dot. It got hit for the 2nd time and broke. just a suggestion.

I have to agree with a-5 buddy but for a different reason. I purchased one a while back and it has been quite durable. But the sight, well at least a tasco red dot is not very helpfull. Although if you play allot of arena paint ball i found leaving a laser pointer on is great to scare newbies :)

Also this thing really doesnt chop. I tested this with some really goofy deformed BE balls(BE IS CRAP) and my a-5 didnt chop a single one while my brothers avenger was nothing more than a paint thrower!

My a-5 has been real durrable and never chops. However strongly consider upgrading the barrel cause its stock barrel is crap. Overall great gun so far although the pin on the cyclone feed does seem a little weak :S
Last edited on Wednesday, February 25th, 2004 at 10:09 pm PST
   

CarlosLN Sunday, March 14th, 2004 | 10:37 pm PST
Tippmann owners are all the same well i have to say this to you if you want a slow marker that weighs more than your fat prom date go ahead and get an a-5. For the money though you would be better getting a BKO it's about the same and with a couple upgrades you can get around 23-25bps. Speaking as someone who owned and used this gun for a while it absolutely sucks in just about every area imaginable. I'm talking speed, accuracy, weight and cost. These are the meat and potatos of the marker shopping folks learn them. 1)Speed it's at most 12 bps tops thats a joke even to most spyders (which are cheaper to buy) 2)Accuracy if your shooting anything other than marbs or hard paint your accuracy will suck with this gun it's just sad really 3) it weighs a lot and for speedball when timing is critical thats a problem. Personally if i had to start over knowing what i know now i would have never bought an A-5 at all i would have gone with a BKO or an Impulse (since almost all of you have bought the flatline for this gun thats an extra $100 into the gun and a stock impulse isn't that far of a stretch). In fact i know someone who went into a paintball store to buy a gun choose the A-5 and got every upgrade and ended up spending $700 bucks i mean come on. That much money would have nabbed him a VISION IMPULSE lets not be freaking retarded here. I mean dang i know a few places that for a hundred dollars more he could have gotten an angel speed. The A-5 is a purely recreational marker meant for people in the woods at best mabye. Once you get something better like i did you'll look at it in disgust and think of ways to get rid of it since it will be in the corner collecting dust. If you bleed Tippmann and absolutely MUST have one you would be better off getting a 98 custom. For the price this gun should be a LOT better and it's a joke (plus it resells poorly) to even squeeze a little performance out of the marker you have to upgrade it which is an even bigger waste of money.
   

PaintballHottie Tuesday, May 11th, 2004 | 9:42 pm PST
The Tippmann A-5 with the Flatline i have is the best paintball gun I've ever used and i have had about 6 or 7 guns but the A-5 is by far the best. Fear Paintball you can kiss my @$$ you little paintball noob who wouldnt know a good gun if he shot it for 4 years and won every tournament and match he was in. I might be only 14 but I've beat every good paintball player in my town. I've been playing paintball with my brother since i was 8 years old. The A-5 is by far the best gun I've shot with the Flatlin of course. I play on a Tippmann paintball team and we kick everybody's @$$ that gets in our way. So Fear Paintball, learn how to play paintball and actually learn somethin about paintball guns before you put a bull$hit comment on one of the best guns out there.
   

PaintballHottie Thursday, May 13th, 2004 | 8:58 pm PST
I Love You All
   

Party of A-5 Friday, June 4th, 2004 | 11:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintball bob
Can anyone (with a Iq higher than a rock(fear paintball)) that has had a A-5 or has one, answer my question?
Okay, the 98c and a5 differ in many ways. There are strong points between the 98c and a5. first of all, the 98 custom: lighter, cheaper ($150), little more upgradeable. it also has a detatchable elbow, which makes for easier cleaning. also it is made of aluminum. now, for the a5: cyclone feed system, quick field strip (60 seconds), more expensive ($230). I guess it's all a matter of taste. if you have the money, definately go with the a5. But if not, that's okay too. The 98 custom will suit you just fine, and is much better than many other guns on the market. Also, you asked if the cylindrical a5 loader is fragile. to some extent, it is fragile. i have read some bizarre reviews saying that their cyclone loader was shot and left a hole the size of an egg. this simply is impossible, unless the speed was at an insane rate. and even then it probably wouldn't break through. You also asked if the insides of the gun are made from plastic. Well, unlike it's aluminum made predessor the 98 custom, the whole a5 marker is made of plastic. but don't let the plastic fool you. i own both the 98 c and the a5 and i am serious when i say this: you cannot tell the difference. the plastic is so tough that you can't even tell what it is made of unless notified. this marker is EXTREMELY DURABLE, just like any other tippmann. I highly recommend it. I hope this response helped you out a bit.
   

Party of A-5 Friday, June 4th, 2004 | 11:53 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintball bob
Can anyone (with a Iq higher than a rock(fear paintball)) that has had a A-5 or has one, answer my question?
Okay, the 98c and a5 differ in many ways. There are strong points between the 98c and a5. first of all, the 98 custom: lighter, cheaper ($150), little more upgradeable. it also has a detatchable elbow, which makes for easier cleaning. also it is made of aluminum. now, for the a5: cyclone feed system, quick field strip (60 seconds), more expensive ($230). I guess it's all a matter of taste. if you have the money, definately go with the a5. But if not, that's okay too. The 98 custom will suit you just fine, and is much better than many other guns on the market. Also, you asked if the cylindrical a5 loader is fragile. to some extent, it is fragile. i have read some bizarre reviews saying that their cyclone loader was shot and left a hole the size of an egg. this simply is impossible, unless the speed was at an insane rate. and even then it probably wouldn't break through. You also asked if the insides of the gun are made from plastic. Well, unlike it's aluminum made predessor the 98 custom, the whole a5 marker is made of plastic. but don't let the plastic fool you. i own both the 98 c and the a5 and i am serious when i say this: you cannot tell the difference. the plastic is so tough that you can't even tell what it is made of unless notified. this marker is EXTREMELY DURABLE, just like any other tippmann. I highly recommend it. I hope this response helped you out a bit.
   

erik vandenavon Monday, June 7th, 2004 | 5:48 pm PST
people with tipmanns always play like their in fighting in a war. and the tipmanns look like real guns but paintball is not war if you play like you are a soldier in the army you will lose.
   

acetippy Monday, June 21st, 2004 | 9:42 am PST
that was an awsome review!
   

intruder_89 Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004 | 7:32 pm PST
if anyone wants a "military" simulation u shouldent be playing paintball. one word AIRSOFT!!! airsofts guns actually look exactly like a real gun.
   

tippmann987 Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 | 5:15 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintball bob
Great review man, I don't have a A-5 but i'm looking into a 98c or A-5, I have a question when I look at the pictures of the A-5 the cyclone feed looks kind of fragile. Is this really the case? Also I have heard that is completely plastic inside is this true? If it is how durable is it? Thanks!
the cyclone is incredibly durable just like the rest of the gun. I was in the same position as you and when i got the A-5, i was amazed at how much quality work was put into it.
   
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media