paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review

Comments on Forsayken's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Forsayken Monday, May 19th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month400 of 417 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various other blowback semi's. Sherriden, tippmann 98 custom, a few brass eagles (I pity the owners) and I saw an angel fired once. In terms of rate of fire and accuracy, only the angel beats it. And the angel had an electro trigger and it didn't beat the A-5 by much.
Marker Setup: I use the A-5 right out of the box. That's it. It's all I need.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only minor things for casual players because this gun has so many extra features that are usually mods or upgrades. You dont need electric hopper because this has a unique cyclone feed. You dont need electro trigger because this thing fires too fast as it is. You dont need longer barrel because this I use open sights and can hit small targets (probably about 4 inches x 4 inches) from 50 feet away without any problems. A fun thing to get would be a red dot or a scope because this gun does have the standard scope grooves. I don't have either of these upgrades yet, but I'm looking into them.
Strengths: -Durability: strong
-Reliability: accuracty, rate of fire
-Built-in features: cyclone feed, vertical CO2 adapter
Weaknesses: -slightly bulky hopper
-VERY slight Co2 inefficiency due to cyclone feed.
Review: I did a lot of homework before making a final purchase decision. I wanted a marker that I know what last, have great durability, reliability, stability and accuracy, but I didn't want to spend a lot of money. This sounds sort of selfish in a way: I want an awesome marker for not a lot of money. Well, after doing a lot of research and reading a lot of reviews on this site as well as any others I could find, I started shopping around for prices on a Tippmann A-5. I finally found a place that had the Tippmann A-5 for a nice price and that shipped to Canada.

Now onto my review of the gun: This marker was so easy to set up out of the box: put it on safety, load it, and attach the Co2 cylinder. Done. From the very first shot I knew I had made the right decision. Just holding this marker gives you the feeling that a lot of work went into making this marker just right. And it's worth every penny even if it is slightly more expensive than most blowbacks. This gun has everything the average paintballer would ever need: Amazing accuracy, height rate of fire when it's needed, durable construction, easy to use sights, and the almighty cyclone feed.

What this really means is that you don't have to go out and spend another $200 to get the gun to work the way you thought it would. You can get about 10 balls a second just by pulling the trigger normally. The cyclone feed works just as well as the advertisements say: the faster you pull the trigger, the faster this thing loads the balls. And it never messes up (well, not so far. And I've done some pretty rigorous testing). The gun shoots pretty straight compared to every other gun I've seen, this is the most accurate. This gun also has a built in front handle that's darned comfortable albeit a little small for those with big hands. Also, the vertical Co2 adapter is a nice feature when you want a compact marker for indoor play.

First off, I'm going to break down the cocking, loading of the balls, rate of fire and accuracy. The cocking handle is located on the left side at the front of the fun. It's easy to pull back and actually quite fun to load because it mimics a real gun.

If you don't know how the cyclone feed works, it's actually pretty simple. A star shaped object (a sprocket if you will) sits at the bottom of the hopper. In between the sprocket are 5 balls. To the left of the sprocket is the hole where the balls are pushed from the sprocket located at the bottom of the hopper and go into the chamber. When the trigger is pulled, the ball in the chamber is fired. At the same time, excess Co2 is diverted from the barrel to a smaller chamber to force the sprocket to rotate, pushing a fresh ball into the chamber. This sounds like a timely process, but it's not. It can happen up to 15 times a second according to the advertisements. Of course, you do need an electronic trigger to achieve a rate of 15 rounds per second. It's the main reason this gun fires as quickly as it does. The faster you pull the trigger, the faster a fresh ball will enter the chamber after firing. So far it has worked perfectly. Not a single ball has backfired or been chopped by the bolt.

Traditionally, rate of fire is usually inversely proportional to the accuracy. Well this is not the case with the A-5. The accuracy is just as great if you are sniping while prone or charging the enemy base. The balls shoot pretty much as straight as a spherical object can given that wind and air resistance can have a profound affect on its trajectory. For example, in a low wind situation, I can kneel about 30 feet away from a pole about 1 inch in diameter and hit it more than 50% of the time at a rate of about 4 balls a second. Most of the misses are within 1-inch left of right of the pole. Bear in mind that I am in a kneeling position and attempting to react to the slight recoil while maintaining a constant ROF. With practice I'm sure I could get up to 75% accuracy.

Secondly, I will know discuss the construction, weight and durability of the marker.

The gun weighs in at about 6 pounds total with 200 balls in the hopper and a 12oz Co2 tank attached. I'm not really sure if that is heavier than the average gun, but it feels very solid and stable. The frame of the gun is a very dense plastic.Strong plastic! Almost every piece of the body of the marker is held in place by additional support as well. My only concern is the manual-loading arm for the cyclone feed. It's only normal plastic and does not have much support. The armís only use is to manually rotate the sprocket in the event that a ball is not pushed into the chamber (You can also just fire 1 blank round to force the cyclone feed into action to load a new ball anyways). This arm is also needed when your Co2 tank is low on gas. Occasionally the sprocket wonít rotate, but at this point, your muzzle velocity is so low due to lack of gas that you should just replace the cylinder anyways. I'm sure that I will never break this piece off in the lifetime of this gun because it runs parallel to the main part of the body and has some protection from the strong hopper. This arm is also very flexible too; I'm sure it would take a lot of stress to break it off.

Another great feature of this gun is the quick strip. Me, being the casual paintballer, will probably never need to use this feature. But I did quick strip it just to see some of the innards of this marker. And yes. You can strip this gun down very quickly. 2 pushpins and the handle falls off. A few more and you can get to any piece of the gun. Also, you donít have to worry about the pushpins falling out while playing. A pin has to be pushed from one side of the gun, and then pulled from the other side. The pin is also securely fitted as well.

All right, I've pretty much gone over the technical end of things. I will now proceed to my experiences while using the gun in a game.

I have to say, I love the realistic look of this gun. From the sights down to the handle and the cocking handle, it feels very authentic. You probably donít want to carry this one in your front seat on the way down to your local park, nor would you want to ever fire this gun in an urban area. I live in the bush so no one cares. Anyways, this is the best thing I have ever invested money in. So far it's performed exactly how I wanted it to. With the exception of the weak looking manual cyclone feed loader arm and the slightly bulky hopper I am thoroughly satisfied with my purchase. The hopper only looks bulky because of the wide neck. It's really not any bigger than any other 200 round hoppers. It's just that I place the gun on my left shoulder so the hopper blocks a small portion of my field of view. For everyone else that places the Co2 against their right shoulder, you probably won't even notice. And let me reiterate that reliability of the cyclone feed and the gun in general: I thought it would be a good idea to waste what was left of a 200 can of Brass Eagle paintballs that were nearing the age of one year. I fired them off as fast as I could and not a single ball broke nor did they curve off of their trajectory. I then proceeded to load up some quality paint and was very pleased with the results.
Conclusion: If this in-depth review doesn't convince you to spend the extra bit of cash and get an A-5 as opposed to a marker that will need more maintenance and upgrades, then nothing will. For approximately $240 US (lower if you shop around) you get a lot more bang for your buck because of all the included extra features at are otherwise mods or upgrades for every other gun. I sincerely hope this review helps someone out. Inthefrey, another person who wrote an excellet review of the Tippmann A-5 under this section was posted on march 7, 2003 sold me on this marker. So I hope I am writing this to atleast back up his claims that the A-5 is an "excellent piece of Tippmann engineering and workmanship". It was worth every penny to get it. I hope anyone who buys this gun enjoys it even half as much as I have.

P.S. I want to thank all those that submitted whole-hearted, detailed reviews of the Tippmann A-5. You helped me make the right purchase decision.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
tippmann 9& Tuesday, June 28th, 2005 | 4:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by CarlosLN
Tippmann owners are all the same well i have to say this to you if you want a slow marker that weighs more than your fat prom date go ahead and get an a-5. For the money though you would be better getting a BKO it's about the same and with a couple upgrades you can get around 23-25bps. Speaking as someone who owned and used this gun for a while it absolutely sucks in just about every area imaginable. I'm talking speed, accuracy, weight and cost. These are the meat and potatos of the marker shopping folks learn them. 1)Speed it's at most 12 bps tops thats a joke even to most spyders (which are cheaper to buy) 2)Accuracy if your shooting anything other than marbs or hard paint your accuracy will suck with this gun it's just sad really 3) it weighs a lot and for speedball when timing is critical thats a problem. Personally if i had to start over knowing what i know now i would have never bought an A-5 at all i would have gone with a BKO or an Impulse (since almost all of you have bought the flatline for this gun thats an extra $100 into the gun and a stock impulse isn't that far of a stretch). In fact i know someone who went into a paintball store to buy a gun choose the A-5 and got every upgrade and ended up spending $700 bucks i mean come on. That much money would have nabbed him a VISION IMPULSE lets not be freaking retarded here. I mean dang i know a few places that for a hundred dollars more he could have gotten an angel speed. The A-5 is a purely recreational marker meant for people in the woods at best mabye. Once you get something better like i did you'll look at it in disgust and think of ways to get rid of it since it will be in the corner collecting dust. If you bleed Tippmann and absolutely MUST have one you would be better off getting a 98 custom. For the price this gun should be a LOT better and it's a joke (plus it resells poorly) to even squeeze a little performance out of the marker you have to upgrade it which is an even bigger waste of money.
the a-5 is a much beter woods ball gun than the bko and its cheaper, the only up grade you really need for the a-5 is a barrel if buy a bko you need an electronic hopper and nitrogen if you dont want to screw the gun up and tippmanns are way beter than spyders at just about everything especialy reliability and quality
   

tippmann 9& Tuesday, June 28th, 2005 | 5:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by smokeymcpot573


What a stupid comment ive played airsoft and paintball, sure i like paintball better but the GOOD airsoft guns can go up to 600FPS and can penetrate the skin and are accurate up to 75 yards

that sounds like fun haha geting holes poked in you
   

westwrestlngguy Friday, September 9th, 2005 | 9:00 pm PST
Guys, end this crap. Tippmann's are great for the woods, everyone in the world realizes that. A 98 or A-5 CAN be used for speedball, but it takes a lot of work. A better speedball gun would be an Angel or Shocker or any other electro. Everyone likes their paintball gun for different reasons, and odds are, they will continue to like their guns no matter what you say. This pointless debate needs to end, and so does the usless flaming. Can't we all just like paintball, and leave it at that?
   

bigmouth12 Sunday, October 9th, 2005 | 9:30 am PST
Nice comment way better than me
   

SABRECRUSADER Thursday, November 17th, 2005 | 5:33 pm PST
This is truly a great review....well done and i hope to meet any player who thinks that they cant beat the A-5 because i dont care what gun you have.... its the skills in player and without the skills in the player there is no gun that can save you!
   

SABRECRUSADER Friday, November 18th, 2005 | 3:56 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by TXtippmann

I play like that, and I have no probem winning. Would you like to play against me with your tactics? I don't think you would stand a chance.

hey i agree with the guy that plays like a soldier it adds a great aspect to the game that some of u panzies cant stand when we beat you with them
   

SABRECRUSADER Friday, November 18th, 2005 | 12:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TXtippmann
P8nthavcmkr, you are so right. All these little punks on here have no idea how devastating a well trained soldier can be.
absolutely...amen brotha those wussies who think paintball is nothing like war should go home and review a battle and then a paintball battle....see a difference? NOOOOO!!!!! except 4 dying there is no difference!!!!!
   

SABRECRUSADER Saturday, November 19th, 2005 | 8:53 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Tool11PinkFloyd
the who wrote this review probaly has down syndrom to say that its just as fast as an angel and better then dm4s.... thats just retarded, if he knew n e thing about a good paintball gun he wouldnt say something as ignorant as he did in his whole review. this gun blows and any electro marker out there is better which is a lot of guns. the a-5 sucks and anyone who buys it is an idiot
i think your mistaken....as i do recall the angel is a foreign piece of crap that is over rated and overpriced...this is comming from a guy who for christmas bought himself a dirtbike and his own mini-paintball field so money isnt a problem for me but spending 1000 dollars on a gun is for retards...paintball is a game if you all hadnt noticed!!!!!!! by the way you want a real paintball game play with tippmanns!
   

45longcolt Friday, November 25th, 2005 | 9:40 pm PST
paintball is exactly like war.
a trained soldier with a 98c could woop a rich little speedballer with an angel any day in the woods.
all those angels and dm6,s look like guns from a low budget sci-fi movie.
and any idiot could go rambo in speedball but it takes skill,patience,and actuall thinking to win in the woods(all the speed ballers are scratchin their head right now sayin "HUH, thinkin was dat?")
i love tippmanns cause they look like real guns (you can tell by my username i like guns) ,their durable, and a skilled person A-5 with an e grip and a flatline could could take on some speedballer with an angel any day
   

lil_marine Saturday, November 26th, 2005 | 3:57 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by 45longcolt
paintball is exactly like war.
a trained soldier with a 98c could woop a rich little speedballer with an angel any day in the woods.
all those angels and dm6,s look like guns from a low budget sci-fi movie.
and any idiot could go rambo in speedball but it takes skill,patience,and actuall thinking to win in the woods(all the speed ballers are scratchin their head right now sayin "HUH, thinkin was dat?")
i love tippmanns cause they look like real guns (you can tell by my username i like guns) ,their durable, and a skilled person A-5 with an e grip and a flatline could could take on some speedballer with an angel any day



you've got that right......i have a 98 Custom and a R/T flatline and a lot of upgades....and a friend of mine had a a5 with the same upgrades......and i had some friends over and they had angels,autocockers, bko.... and all those big money guns........and of course since me and my friend have a tippy and we are going to play against a bunch of more expencive guns that started talking trash about our guns.....well a bunch of them bet that we were going to be the first one out.......and that are guns would brake the first game........so we played the first game and we wasn't the first ones out but was the last ones out....in fact we won that game......the reason being is not because we could shoot more paint then anyone but was because we could shoot slower and have more accurate shoots.... plus three out to the four of the autocockers broke that day....plus all the angles.....(there was five angels their) and bko and all the other ones broke or where leaking or something else......... and our guns were still working......so we reterned the favor and start talking trash about all there crapy guns...... and now...all exepted three have a5s now......and love them more then there old guns......so i don't know about you but i am sticking with tippmanns....... so the next time you @$$holes want to talk trash about tippmanns....... think agian...... and why are you idiots compareing a low-end mechanical to a bunch of high-end electronic markers?!?!?! if you ask me that is the sign of a bunch of true @$$holes.........


p.s. speedball is g@y!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Sunday, November 27th, 2005 at 8:26 pm PST
   

lonesalamander Friday, December 16th, 2005 | 10:21 pm PST
just to dispel a myth, the gun is not made of plastic. the upper receiver is cast aluminum, and the foregrip, lower receiver/trigger assembly and hand grip are made of military grade polymer (you know the stuff that the M16 is made from?)

And as for comparing the A-5 to the angel or whatever (lets put aside the fact that they are in entirely different classes anyways). Consider the fact that if you put $500-$1100 (the difference in prices between the two) worth of upgrades into the A-5, I am completely confident that you'd have a gun equivalent, or superior to the angel. Additionally, when I made the decision to buy the A-5, I considered that if I wanted a spyder or 98c with a similar ROF to the A-5 I'd spend more money in the long run just to get them to preform with the same effectiveness, buying e-grips, electric hoppers and what have you.

Not to mention the fact that neon-blue markers are for wimps and cowards anyways. Tactical black is for real men.
   

ryankm Saturday, January 7th, 2006 | 3:09 pm PST
The classic battle of speed ball v. woodsball its funny because alot of speedballers know nothing about woodsball and a lot of woods ballers know nothing about speedball. I personnally like woods ball more thats just me probably cause i have played it more but i play both.
   

ryankm Saturday, January 7th, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
Get the MR2 it come with a stock and you get 25 bps. It also is full auto i was going to get an a5 because i have had expireience with it and then i saw mr2 and i got the instead it is infact a lot better gun. The only down side is you need expensive hopper. The MR2 is kingmans first woodsball type gun.
   

dirtyA-5_77 Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 7:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Fear_Paintball
The Gun Is made of plastic it already sounds crappy it also can only do 12 bps with that huge as hopper thats pretty worthless and the gun suxs if its made of plastic who pays like 400 dollars for a peice of plastic crap i think you are all insane if you buy this gun there is like no upgrades it is got the the worst aim in the world and its heavy as hell

well i bet someone has never used an A-5 before. The gun can do 17bps, and its not made of plastic, its actually like closer to $200 rather than $400, and its only heavy if ure like really, really weak or like 6 yrs old.
   

pbdude55 Wednesday, April 26th, 2006 | 7:19 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by spyder sniper00
The Spyders and Tippmanns are all good guns. I like to think i am in war when i play paintball especially when i go to Oklahoma D-Day! I prefer my spyder xtra over my a-5 because it is a better sniping gun since i dont have a flatline on my a-5 but it is a great speedball gun for now(I HATE SPEEDBALL! TOO MUCH WASTED PAINT!).
You've probably never really tried speedball.
   

noobielol Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 | 5:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by CarlosLN
Tippmann owners are all the same well i have to say this to you if you want a slow marker that weighs more than your fat prom date go ahead and get an a-5. For the money though you would be better getting a BKO it's about the same and with a couple upgrades you can get around 23-25bps. Speaking as someone who owned and used this gun for a while it absolutely sucks in just about every area imaginable. I'm talking speed, accuracy, weight and cost. These are the meat and potatos of the marker shopping folks learn them. 1)Speed it's at most 12 bps tops thats a joke even to most spyders (which are cheaper to buy) 2)Accuracy if your shooting anything other than marbs or hard paint your accuracy will suck with this gun it's just sad really 3) it weighs a lot and for speedball when timing is critical thats a problem. Personally if i had to start over knowing what i know now i would have never bought an A-5 at all i would have gone with a BKO or an Impulse (since almost all of you have bought the flatline for this gun thats an extra $100 into the gun and a stock impulse isn't that far of a stretch). In fact i know someone who went into a paintball store to buy a gun choose the A-5 and got every upgrade and ended up spending $700 bucks i mean come on. That much money would have nabbed him a VISION IMPULSE lets not be freaking retarded here. I mean dang i know a few places that for a hundred dollars more he could have gotten an angel speed. The A-5 is a purely recreational marker meant for people in the woods at best mabye. Once you get something better like i did you'll look at it in disgust and think of ways to get rid of it since it will be in the corner collecting dust. If you bleed Tippmann and absolutely MUST have one you would be better off getting a 98 custom. For the price this gun should be a LOT better and it's a joke (plus it resells poorly) to even squeeze a little performance out of the marker you have to upgrade it which is an even bigger waste of money.
u r 1 dum !@# this is a woodsball/rec ball gun dumass u dont use it fer speedball and most of what u said is lies i mean a 98 better than a A5 like actually test the product next time geese.
   

Matt6996 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006 | 3:35 pm PST
Your an idiot. It's a good gun (Y) but you can't get an elctronic hopper. If you find out a way let me know how you got that. And plus you can't shoot that fast with the stock trigger.
   

NoBiEmAn Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 | 11:11 am PST
hey guys,
i have a a-5 and was wondering wuts better, the Sim 4 elite or the A-5?
   

BarsbyPB27 Sunday, June 25th, 2006 | 8:09 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintball bob
Hey, first of all it only costs 228$, and the tippmann guns have the most upgrades for them in the world! And if it has the worst aim in the world get a flat line! Or a better barrel, the barrel it comes with is not that great, but no gun has a good stock barrel. AND YOU SAID IT WEIGHTS TO MUCH?!?!?! SELL YOUR PAINTBALL GUN AND BUY A PEE SHOOTER!!! IF YOU THINK IT WEIGHTS TOO MUCH!! What are you smokin? You noob!

I like how this guy thinks, I can't believe so many ppl think that A-5's are too heavy. Who can't lug around 6 pounds?
   

BarsbyPB27 Sunday, June 25th, 2006 | 8:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by P8nthavcmkr


Paintball is way more realistic than airsoft, the only thing real about airsoft is the look of the guns thats it, the feel and sound of Paintball is way more real, even Vets say Paintball is the closent thing to war without the death.


Paintball is way more developed then airsoft. Even though the guns look real in airsoft it doesn't mean its more militaristic. Try and play with Special Ops Paintball, they're more hardcore than any airsoft group you see.
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media