paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review / Comments on Forsayken's Review

Comments on Forsayken's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Forsayken Monday, May 19th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month400 of 417 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various other blowback semi's. Sherriden, tippmann 98 custom, a few brass eagles (I pity the owners) and I saw an angel fired once. In terms of rate of fire and accuracy, only the angel beats it. And the angel had an electro trigger and it didn't beat the A-5 by much.
Marker Setup: I use the A-5 right out of the box. That's it. It's all I need.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only minor things for casual players because this gun has so many extra features that are usually mods or upgrades. You dont need electric hopper because this has a unique cyclone feed. You dont need electro trigger because this thing fires too fast as it is. You dont need longer barrel because this I use open sights and can hit small targets (probably about 4 inches x 4 inches) from 50 feet away without any problems. A fun thing to get would be a red dot or a scope because this gun does have the standard scope grooves. I don't have either of these upgrades yet, but I'm looking into them.
Strengths: -Durability: strong
-Reliability: accuracty, rate of fire
-Built-in features: cyclone feed, vertical CO2 adapter
Weaknesses: -slightly bulky hopper
-VERY slight Co2 inefficiency due to cyclone feed.
Review: I did a lot of homework before making a final purchase decision. I wanted a marker that I know what last, have great durability, reliability, stability and accuracy, but I didn't want to spend a lot of money. This sounds sort of selfish in a way: I want an awesome marker for not a lot of money. Well, after doing a lot of research and reading a lot of reviews on this site as well as any others I could find, I started shopping around for prices on a Tippmann A-5. I finally found a place that had the Tippmann A-5 for a nice price and that shipped to Canada.

Now onto my review of the gun: This marker was so easy to set up out of the box: put it on safety, load it, and attach the Co2 cylinder. Done. From the very first shot I knew I had made the right decision. Just holding this marker gives you the feeling that a lot of work went into making this marker just right. And it's worth every penny even if it is slightly more expensive than most blowbacks. This gun has everything the average paintballer would ever need: Amazing accuracy, height rate of fire when it's needed, durable construction, easy to use sights, and the almighty cyclone feed.

What this really means is that you don't have to go out and spend another $200 to get the gun to work the way you thought it would. You can get about 10 balls a second just by pulling the trigger normally. The cyclone feed works just as well as the advertisements say: the faster you pull the trigger, the faster this thing loads the balls. And it never messes up (well, not so far. And I've done some pretty rigorous testing). The gun shoots pretty straight compared to every other gun I've seen, this is the most accurate. This gun also has a built in front handle that's darned comfortable albeit a little small for those with big hands. Also, the vertical Co2 adapter is a nice feature when you want a compact marker for indoor play.

First off, I'm going to break down the cocking, loading of the balls, rate of fire and accuracy. The cocking handle is located on the left side at the front of the fun. It's easy to pull back and actually quite fun to load because it mimics a real gun.

If you don't know how the cyclone feed works, it's actually pretty simple. A star shaped object (a sprocket if you will) sits at the bottom of the hopper. In between the sprocket are 5 balls. To the left of the sprocket is the hole where the balls are pushed from the sprocket located at the bottom of the hopper and go into the chamber. When the trigger is pulled, the ball in the chamber is fired. At the same time, excess Co2 is diverted from the barrel to a smaller chamber to force the sprocket to rotate, pushing a fresh ball into the chamber. This sounds like a timely process, but it's not. It can happen up to 15 times a second according to the advertisements. Of course, you do need an electronic trigger to achieve a rate of 15 rounds per second. It's the main reason this gun fires as quickly as it does. The faster you pull the trigger, the faster a fresh ball will enter the chamber after firing. So far it has worked perfectly. Not a single ball has backfired or been chopped by the bolt.

Traditionally, rate of fire is usually inversely proportional to the accuracy. Well this is not the case with the A-5. The accuracy is just as great if you are sniping while prone or charging the enemy base. The balls shoot pretty much as straight as a spherical object can given that wind and air resistance can have a profound affect on its trajectory. For example, in a low wind situation, I can kneel about 30 feet away from a pole about 1 inch in diameter and hit it more than 50% of the time at a rate of about 4 balls a second. Most of the misses are within 1-inch left of right of the pole. Bear in mind that I am in a kneeling position and attempting to react to the slight recoil while maintaining a constant ROF. With practice I'm sure I could get up to 75% accuracy.

Secondly, I will know discuss the construction, weight and durability of the marker.

The gun weighs in at about 6 pounds total with 200 balls in the hopper and a 12oz Co2 tank attached. I'm not really sure if that is heavier than the average gun, but it feels very solid and stable. The frame of the gun is a very dense plastic.Strong plastic! Almost every piece of the body of the marker is held in place by additional support as well. My only concern is the manual-loading arm for the cyclone feed. It's only normal plastic and does not have much support. The armís only use is to manually rotate the sprocket in the event that a ball is not pushed into the chamber (You can also just fire 1 blank round to force the cyclone feed into action to load a new ball anyways). This arm is also needed when your Co2 tank is low on gas. Occasionally the sprocket wonít rotate, but at this point, your muzzle velocity is so low due to lack of gas that you should just replace the cylinder anyways. I'm sure that I will never break this piece off in the lifetime of this gun because it runs parallel to the main part of the body and has some protection from the strong hopper. This arm is also very flexible too; I'm sure it would take a lot of stress to break it off.

Another great feature of this gun is the quick strip. Me, being the casual paintballer, will probably never need to use this feature. But I did quick strip it just to see some of the innards of this marker. And yes. You can strip this gun down very quickly. 2 pushpins and the handle falls off. A few more and you can get to any piece of the gun. Also, you donít have to worry about the pushpins falling out while playing. A pin has to be pushed from one side of the gun, and then pulled from the other side. The pin is also securely fitted as well.

All right, I've pretty much gone over the technical end of things. I will now proceed to my experiences while using the gun in a game.

I have to say, I love the realistic look of this gun. From the sights down to the handle and the cocking handle, it feels very authentic. You probably donít want to carry this one in your front seat on the way down to your local park, nor would you want to ever fire this gun in an urban area. I live in the bush so no one cares. Anyways, this is the best thing I have ever invested money in. So far it's performed exactly how I wanted it to. With the exception of the weak looking manual cyclone feed loader arm and the slightly bulky hopper I am thoroughly satisfied with my purchase. The hopper only looks bulky because of the wide neck. It's really not any bigger than any other 200 round hoppers. It's just that I place the gun on my left shoulder so the hopper blocks a small portion of my field of view. For everyone else that places the Co2 against their right shoulder, you probably won't even notice. And let me reiterate that reliability of the cyclone feed and the gun in general: I thought it would be a good idea to waste what was left of a 200 can of Brass Eagle paintballs that were nearing the age of one year. I fired them off as fast as I could and not a single ball broke nor did they curve off of their trajectory. I then proceeded to load up some quality paint and was very pleased with the results.
Conclusion: If this in-depth review doesn't convince you to spend the extra bit of cash and get an A-5 as opposed to a marker that will need more maintenance and upgrades, then nothing will. For approximately $240 US (lower if you shop around) you get a lot more bang for your buck because of all the included extra features at are otherwise mods or upgrades for every other gun. I sincerely hope this review helps someone out. Inthefrey, another person who wrote an excellet review of the Tippmann A-5 under this section was posted on march 7, 2003 sold me on this marker. So I hope I am writing this to atleast back up his claims that the A-5 is an "excellent piece of Tippmann engineering and workmanship". It was worth every penny to get it. I hope anyone who buys this gun enjoys it even half as much as I have.

P.S. I want to thank all those that submitted whole-hearted, detailed reviews of the Tippmann A-5. You helped me make the right purchase decision.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
BarsbyPB27 Sunday, June 25th, 2006 | 8:16 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by recball
sthu loser AIRSOFT SUX NO INTENSITY HOW IS THAT REALISTIC???? SHOOTING PLASTIC PEBBLES AT EACHOTHER.... i have an airsoft- IT SUCKS-SO BORING!

Airsoft is also wayyy more expensive to get a semi auto or full auto gun. Seriously, AEG's in airsoft cost about 150 dollars more than my tippy did. It's too easy to cheat in airsoft too.
   

Dead_Dude Monday, July 24th, 2006 | 1:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by intruder_89
if anyone wants a "military" simulation u shouldent be playing paintball. one word AIRSOFT!!! airsofts guns actually look exactly like a real gun.

Okay that was the dumbest thing I've ever heard. Airsoft guns are for 8 year olds...they shoot 50 ft and they curve like crazy. You couldn't hit a board that's 20x20 from 50 ft away. Paintball guns can shoot 525 fps+ at the max and you can make them feel exactly like a real gun (with weight). Airsoft guns r like 5 ounces. THEY ARE LAME!!!!!!!!! And besides be a man, paintballs hurt more then a dinky ball of plastic that only hurts if u get hit in the eye or something.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 7:04 am PST
   

Dead_Dude Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 | 7:03 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by smokeymcpot573


What a stupid comment ive played airsoft and paintball, sure i like paintball better but the GOOD airsoft guns can go up to 600FPS and can penetrate the skin and are accurate up to 75 yards


There is no such thing of an airsoft gun shooting 600fps...completely untrue......even the airsoft guns that use co2 dont' shoot as hard, even if the gun can shoot hard those litte freaking pebbles curve after traveling 10 ft. O and they can't penetrate the skin, thats only if ur using a much more powerful pellet gun with metal pellets that is ILLEGAL to shoot at ppl...
Last edited on Thursday, July 27th, 2006 at 3:05 pm PST
   

elite pballer Sunday, July 30th, 2006 | 7:31 pm PST
what should i do-keep BT-4 or sell and get A-5??? plz help
   

Paintballfever Saturday, August 19th, 2006 | 5:07 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Dead_Dude


There is no such thing of an airsoft gun shooting 600fps...completely untrue......even the airsoft guns that use co2 dont' shoot as hard, even if the gun can shoot hard those litte freaking pebbles curve after traveling 10 ft. O and they can't penetrate the skin, thats only if ur using a much more powerful pellet gun with metal pellets that is ILLEGAL to shoot at ppl...

I agree with you 100%. Why would someone even want to get hit by a bb traveling at 600 fps.
   

marmot Sunday, September 10th, 2006 | 5:20 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by tippmann987
the cyclone is incredibly durable just like the rest of the gun. I was in the same position as you and when i got the A-5, i was amazed at how much quality work was put into it.
Disagree.

I've seen three failures of A-5 Cyclone drives in as many months, that sent their owners home. When this puppy goes, you're hosed, because unless you're an expert A-5 airsmith, you cannot just soldier on. It will stop feeding ball, period, and you will no longer be able to play! With many (not all) other powered/motorized feeder systems, if it fails you can use it in "gravity" mode; with all other such systems (apart from the Q-loader), you can simply take the loader off and replace it with a $5 gravity hopper and still be able to play. You cannot do this with an A-5.

Just about the only advantage it gives you is that it uses no batteries. But going home after a failure is too high a price to pay, IMHO.
Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 5:21 am PST
   

Simbrian Thursday, September 14th, 2006 | 7:03 pm PST
where would you guys say is the best (cheapest) place to order a tippmann gun that ships to canada? i have been shopping around and the best i have found so far is tippmannparts.com.

im still not sure to get an a-5 or a custom 98. i will probably be playing mostly woodsball. thanks.
   

dill606 Monday, November 6th, 2006 | 5:21 pm PST
i agree
   

Little Jon Wednesday, November 8th, 2006 | 5:10 pm PST
I'd say instead of trying to save 5 bucks, go somewhere that has a lifetime warranty on the gun, you'll probably pay an extra 30 bucks, but hey....lifetime instead of one year or two year.
   

Rishardo17 Monday, December 25th, 2006 | 10:02 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Fear_Paintball
The Gun Is made of plastic it already sounds crappy it also can only do 12 bps with that huge as hopper thats pretty worthless and the gun suxs if its made of plastic who pays like 400 dollars for a peice of plastic crap i think you are all insane if you buy this gun there is like no upgrades it is got the the worst aim in the world and its heavy as hell

Thats the stupidest thing i think ive ever heard anyone say.

BPS has absoutely nothing to do with the size of the hopper and tippmanns have probably the most upgrades available for them. And the gun isnt plastic
   

Little Jon Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 | 5:25 am PST
Plus, it's not heavy and it's not a piece of crap. Plus, it doesn't cost $400. The A-5 also does 17 BPS.
   

osage101170 Sunday, February 11th, 2007 | 7:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cybrax



My a-5 has been real durrable and never chops.

I need some help. I just bought an A-5 and it goes through paintballs like a blender. It will chop 6-10 balls or more per 1/2 hopperful. This includes x-ball bronze and Kingman redlabel balls. The accuracy is pitiful. Even with a Freak Barrel Kit. I bought my sons 98 customs with the same barrel. The shoot beautifully. I'm going to have to leave my A-5 at home and use my Spyder Sonic because I'm afraid to take on the 98's and the Sonics with my A-5.
   

jedi mike0 Friday, April 6th, 2007 | 11:45 am PST
Dispute:
Weaknesses: -slightly bulky hopper
-VERY slight Co2 inefficiency due to cyclone feed.

The Co2 inefficiency is not because of the Cyclone feeder. The Cyclone feeder runs off excess gas. Other than that, it's a great review.
Last edited on Friday, April 6th, 2007 at 11:46 am PST
   

logjon Wednesday, April 18th, 2007 | 10:18 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by tbon
bddrummer8802 put it correctly, when my POS piranha broke down i jsut used my brothers 98 and did alot better with it than the PMI

How does it just "break down"?
   

RJVD Friday, May 25th, 2007 | 1:31 pm PST
Lolz... reading these reviews....If anyone reads these comments, let me update you upon a few misconceptions. First, I read of people dissing paintball, prefering airsoft. Well, airsoft is no paintball, although Guns CAN shoot in excess of 550 fps, and accurate at 75 yards easily, also better ones are full metal, 100% realistic, BB CAN PENETRATE SKIN, HAD ONE IN MY LEG for a while. But, with realism in mind? The only up for AirSoft is the look of a gun. Paintball guns make noise, one of the most important parts of realism. Second of all, WHY WOULD OUR MILITARY TRAIN WITH PB GUNS IF THEY WERE UNREALISTIC? thats right, a .38 caliber paintball is used at 550 fps for many military training, war games, ect. Paintball has more realism, more pain, more fear,(Yes U will be scared with whistling balls flying above you, smacking into something like a whip on flesh) therefore more realistic.

A5 section:

Whatever moron said the A-5 is plastic is blind. 80% of externals and internals are ALUMINUM ALLOY OR STEEL. Everything else is a strong ABS plastic, or in case of front-grip, stock, Handle, ect.; carbon Fiber, which is what M4's and many modern weapons are made of. A-5 can shoot in excess of 20bps with e-grip, anymore and the cyclone feed must be upgraded. Stock barrel is crap, will not tolerate larger bore sizes. But Overall, the A-5 is probably the most durable marker on the planet, I've used mine dozens of times, and w/ a cleaning still looks brand new. OSAGE your barrel bore is too small for paint caliber your using, or there is a blockage.
   

cattew Wednesday, June 6th, 2007 | 7:18 pm PST
airsoft is fun i play it with my brother. the only reason i use airsoft is cuz my bros 10 and my parents wont let him get a paintball gun. Paintballs fun to play friends and tourneys and sh*t but paintballs WAY more fun (WAY MORE)
   

bonzipon Thursday, June 28th, 2007 | 8:29 am PST
i agree erik if your playing like a soldier youll get shot out, have you noticed all the tragedies in the actual war?..... anyways you have to know how to dive duck roll jump crouch and charge. use your tactical knowledge. back to the A-5 i have a Pro ACT E and i love it and recently my dad has purchased an A-5 and i was like ..... SWEET it looks awesome oh his has the respone trigger so no longer 12 bps, hes shooting 20 bps cuz of his rt. its an awesome gun with a tonload of options. its cool
   

purelycanadian Saturday, July 28th, 2007 | 5:34 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by bonzipon
i agree erik if your playing like a soldier youll get shot out, have you noticed all the tragedies in the actual war?..... anyways you have to know how to dive duck roll jump crouch and charge. use your tactical knowledge.


Lol... You still will get shot out if you don't play like a soldier. There are tragedies in "actual war" because they use "actual guns" with "actual bullets". Then you say you have to know how to dive, duck, roll, jump, crouch, and charge? And use tactical knowledge? That is playing like a soldier. That's why there aren't more tragedies. Same tactics can apply to woodsball that apply to war.

....And good review.
   

pbaref93 Monday, December 3rd, 2007 | 12:44 pm PST
Ok, i cant help but be amused by this lackluster effort at a reliable review. As an owner of a A5 w/ response, i love this marker, but on the other hand i also own a. Angel G7, Angel 1, Angel LCD, along with an Invert Mini. These electronics blow the A5 away, but theres nothing wrong with that.....the A5 is made to be played with in the woods, so please, dont compare an Angel to a Tippman, i am seriously disturbed that you think a mechanical marker can compare to a gun that operates on a advanced computer chip. either use the forum to be honest or PLEASE just dont post, reviews like this are gonna make people go get an A5 thinking that it will shoot 30 bps right out of the box
Last edited on Tuesday, December 4th, 2007 at 9:36 am PST
   

pbaref93 Wednesday, December 5th, 2007 | 10:57 am PST
Dispute:
lol, it cant out shoot an angel
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media