paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on bruiser's Review / Comments on bruiser's Review / Comments on bruiser's Review / Comments on bruiser's Review

Comments on bruiser's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

bruiser Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years11 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
--Marbleizers--
--El Tigros--
--Zap Premium--
--Diablo Hellfire--
--Kick 'N' Premium--
--32* Tournament--
Marker Setup: -----Tippmann 98 Custom-----
----------16" Tru-flight-------------
-----------20 oz. Co2---------------
Recommended
Barrels:
Tru-Flight
All American 2 piece
Strengths: Key Strengths: Cheap, durable, fairly accurate, consistant from case to case
Weaknesses: Key Weaknesses: A bit inacurate, very thick, snot-like fill, dent easily from age (weeks)
Review: I know what I'm talking about when I review these big balls because i have used them religiously for the past 2 years at least once a month. The main two things that these balls have going for them are the price, and the consistency from case to case. These balls are also wonderful with breaks. I've shot probably about 10,000-15,000 of them in my whole career and have not gotten ONE BREAK other than a barrel chop that was from me holding my gun sideways. Of course, this kind of durability must mean something about how they break on the people you are shooting. What I've been noticing even more and more is that the balls just dont break very easily. I play alot of woodsplay in a leauge and I more than often get the players out when they scream "I'm Out" from the intense pain of a bouncy-ball like paintball hitting them (and yes I don't shoot over 300 fps). The balls also have a very thick goupy fill that isn't obvious at all those times the balls do break. They are just kinda weird.
Conclusion: The balls are good for playing close range but the farther away you're shooting from, breakage on the player becomes almost rare. Would work every time if they hit the mask... they arn't that hard. Make sure they are fresh cause time does evil things to them (sweat, dents, hardening).
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
hawks4 Wednesday, April 21st, 2004 | 5:29 pm PST
are u kidding me??? these balls are awesome for long distance. I played on a 5 acre field and these balls had aaboslutely no trouble reaching anybody (from reasonable distance- 399 ft.) Maybe tis your tippman. go with spyder
   

bradkoll09 Wednesday, July 28th, 2004 | 8:19 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by hawks4
are u kidding me??? these balls are awesome for long distance. I played on a 5 acre field and these balls had aaboslutely no trouble reaching anybody (from reasonable distance- 399 ft.) Maybe tis your tippman. go with spyder
I don't want to "attack" you but almost all paintball guns have an effective range of 150 feet! How can you possibly shoot that far without a flatline??? No offense but there is no way in heck I can believe that.
   

bradkoll09 Wednesday, July 28th, 2004 | 8:21 am PST
O and by the way Tippmanns are way better than spyders. I go play with my older brother and friends and the tippmanns get together and the spyders get together and the tippys have always won.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 28th, 2004 at 8:21 am PST
   

i want food Monday, August 9th, 2004 | 7:16 pm PST
ya tippmanns are better
   

bleezer Sunday, August 22nd, 2004 | 3:32 pm PST
of course tippmans r bettr for outside thats what ther made for u moron, play some speedball and see who gets owned
   

xtra paintball Sunday, August 22nd, 2004 | 4:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by bradkoll09
O and by the way Tippmanns are way better than spyders. I go play with my older brother and friends and the tippmanns get together and the spyders get together and the tippys have always won.
you say whatever you want... it depends on the upgrades you have and the barrel that is about it! I mean come on I am sure that a spyder xtra could kick and tippman with a pump. Sorry but Spyders and tippmans are the same. well at least if they are in the same price range... Most spyders and Custom 98 would be about = but as for the A-5's well that is a prettty good gun! But I am happy with my spyder...
   

xtra paintball Sunday, August 22nd, 2004 | 4:09 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by bleezer
of course tippmans r bettr for outside thats what ther made for u moron, play some speedball and see who gets owned
exactly
   

Mehs Monday, August 23rd, 2004 | 6:58 pm PST
You people are moronic, it doesn't depend on the gun, it depends on the skill of the player, making what kind of gun you have obsolete, you could have a Brass Eagle Talon against "The best gun ever" and still win.
   

xtra paintball Wednesday, August 25th, 2004 | 2:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mehs
You people are moronic, it doesn't depend on the gun, it depends on the skill of the player, making what kind of gun you have obsolete, you could have a Brass Eagle Talon against "The best gun ever" and still win.
I guess I do have to agree with that! But it does give you a great advantage if you have a better gun with a better and sharper aiming barrel!
   

Tom37 Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 11:16 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by hawks4
are u kidding me??? these balls are awesome for long distance. I played on a 5 acre field and these balls had aaboslutely no trouble reaching anybody (from reasonable distance- 399 ft.) Maybe tis your tippman. go with spyder

Alright i shoot an a5 an i gotta say, spyders suck in comparison- theres no competition. also the upgrades on a spyder are not as good as those on a tippmann, face it you made a stupid comment and you gotta take it.
   

elmatto91 Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 4:30 pm PST
U guys are all idiots, any proffessional would tell you that the Brass Eagle Blade 02 is the best gun ever.
   

somedumkid Tuesday, September 6th, 2005 | 6:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by elmatto91
U guys are all idiots, any proffessional would tell you that the Brass Eagle Blade 02 is the best gun ever.
i gotta admit, this guy knows wut he's talkin about
   

paintballer667 Sunday, January 1st, 2006 | 5:16 pm PST
This is a review on paintballs, not tippmanns or spyders.
   

paintballjames Monday, January 2nd, 2006 | 10:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mehs
You people are moronic, it doesn't depend on the gun, it depends on the skill of the player, making what kind of gun you have obsolete, you could have a Brass Eagle Talon against "The best gun ever" and still win.

exactly...great point
   

bakerskater124 Saturday, February 4th, 2006 | 7:20 pm PST
u shoot over 300 fps!? wow ur really helping the sport aren't u????
   

bakerskater124 Saturday, February 4th, 2006 | 7:21 pm PST
omg im sry i read that wrong. sry dude.
   

NB_Paintballer Sunday, February 26th, 2006 | 2:23 pm PST
Ok , In the review it say in Strengths that there Fairly Accurate and in Weaknesses it says There fairly Unaccurate , Make up your god damn mind.


<Edit> And by the way any Spyder kicks the crap out of a Tippman 98 custom.
Last edited on Sunday, February 26th, 2006 at 2:24 pm PST
   

somedumkid Monday, February 27th, 2006 | 7:06 pm PST
jeez u ppl r annoying. tippy 98s and spyders in the same price area will perform about the same. the difference is that tippys have a reputation for being more reliable and durable, whereas spyders are known to have mechanical problems after about 2 years. and neither are great for speed ball unless ur willing to spend lots of money on ups to the point that your money would be better spent on another gun. btw, this review was on RPS Big Ball paint, not spyders and tippies
   

notinthenutts! Saturday, June 10th, 2006 | 8:32 pm PST
Dispute:
Thick fill is not a weakness.. unless your the one being shot..
   

PB4Christ Thursday, July 6th, 2006 | 6:46 pm PST
ok what the heck is wrong with everybody!?!?!?! This is about Paint not Spyders vs Tippmanns! sheesh you guys are crazy! (btw I own a 98c and an MR1 luv'm both)
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media