paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on eastwood2's Review / Comments on eastwood2's Review / Comments on eastwood2's Review / Comments on eastwood2's Review / Comments on eastwood2's Review

Comments on eastwood2's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

eastwood2 Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year61 of 75 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Black Spyder Imagine
Ricochet AK electro feeder
20 oz. CO2
ACI Zero Gravity barrel, 13.5"
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
agitated hopper
Strengths: Light
Great looking
Durable finish
Reliable
Fast
Easy to strip/clean
Universal Spyder parts
Weaknesses: SIGHT RAIL EDGES CAN CUT YOU!!!
Grip covers not water proof/resistant
Review: Bottomline: excellent marker at a great price ($120 Action Village and other sights, Rocky Mountain $124)

TWO KEY WEAKNESSES:
1. Kingman really screwed up on the design of the sight rail vs. the bolt opening. Edges of sight rail are razor sharp (no lie) and are located exactly where you have to reach in with two fingers to pull the recessed bolt back. Amazingly stupid design flaw!!! If you reach in from a low angle, you're OK; however, if you reach in from a high angle YOU CAN EASILY GET A SEVERE CUT--be very careful. I discovered this the hard way and received a wicked gash across my thumb--thanks Kingman! Solution: REMOVE THE SIGHT RAIL and either leave it off or file it down. Do this immediately! Before you play with it. The sight rail is cosmetic anyway since this is a vertical feed gun and would block any sight. However, the rail does look nice and you will probably want to file it and put it back on.

2. Plastic grip covers on electronic trigger frame are not water proof or even water resistant. Another really dumb design flaw. The electronics are completely vulnerable to water and other crap that is found on most woodball fields, at least here in the Northeast. Come on Kingman! Don't they product test these things before they put them into production?! On my gun, the grip cover that you need to remove to access the battery (the left cover) actually bows out from the frame slightly, leaving a significant gap open to everything. The first day I used this gun, it was sprinkling off and on all day and had rained heavily the day before. We were splashing through swamp and streams. How hard would it have been to build some sort of gasket into the grip frame??? Not very.

The action on this electronic marker is fantastic. Like clicking a mouse. Essentially fires as fast as you can click the trigger on semi. Fields up here don't allow burst or full auto, but it's still worth getting even for semi mode. Also, fun to mess around with other modes. You'll need an agitated hopper for full auto or you'll chop balls, which is true for any electronic marker. Modes: semi, 3 round, full auto.
Conclusion: Despite the flaws (easily solvable or avoidable) I noted above, this is an excellent gun. It's more compact and lighter than the Shutter, for instance, with a very durable finish. The BLACK Imagine looks really cool! I'm sure the green does as well. Also, if you're interested in a great aftermarket barrel for the black Imagine, get the ACI Zero Gravity ($40 +/-) --it happens to have the EXACT same finish and color as the black Imagine! This barrel is also incredibly light, very accurate, and fairly quiet.
You'll be thrilled with this gun. A great value at $120 +/- from several sites: ActionVillage for one. Just remember, take the sight rail off immediately and either leave it off or file it down. I'm giving this gun a 9.5 for now, but may upgrade it to a 10 once my cut heals. It's a high quality gun at an affordable price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 29th, 2004 at 1:43 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
bamhickey Tuesday, November 18th, 2003 | 5:54 pm PST
hey dude i think you just gotta screwed up gun, because my sight rail isn't sharp, and i've never heard of n e one els's sharp either....
   

spyder9908 Saturday, January 17th, 2004 | 12:43 pm PST
Well i think my sight rail is sharp thaNKs for the advice and i didn't kknow it wasn't water proof
Last edited on Saturday, January 17th, 2004 at 12:44 pm PST
   

John Moreland Wednesday, February 4th, 2004 | 6:36 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by bamhickey
hey dude i think you just gotta screwed up gun, because my sight rail isn't sharp, and i've never heard of n e one els's sharp either....

Are u kidding me its a razor.
   

radley25 Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004 | 7:43 pm PST
The frame panel for the battery doesn't stick out unless you jam the wires in there when you put the battery in. Put the 9-volt cable under the jumpers so you can easily fit the battery nice and snug in there. Now your Electro is safe.

Anyways, about the gun. I played for the first time with my new Imagine, and I love it, except it chops balls like a blender. I think this is my: 1. Barrel 2. Hopper 3. Paintballs. I think the paintballs make a difference as I used some of my friends paintballs and it chopped much less. But if you get this gun stock make sure you bring a good squeegee.
   

muzzmastah Friday, March 5th, 2004 | 2:53 pm PST
Has the possibility occured to any of you that some rails might be sharp and some might not? You sound like second-graders.
   

rick raulson Tuesday, March 16th, 2004 | 1:26 pm PST
love this gun but one thing how do u make it shoot 3 shoot burst and full auto oh yea my sight rail is not sharp and why would kingman put one one a gun that u can't even use.
   

rick raulson Tuesday, March 16th, 2004 | 1:28 pm PST
love this gun but one thing how do u make it shoot 3 shoot burst and full auto oh yea my sight rail is not sharp and why would kingman put one one a gun that u can't even use.
   

torqueEX Wednesday, March 17th, 2004 | 10:26 pm PST
hey raulson, go 2 kingman.com and look at the videos on how 2 do stuff 2 ur gun. (push the button in the grip 2 change modes if the bottom light is yellow=3burst red=full auto
   

muzzmastah Thursday, March 18th, 2004 | 9:15 am PST
radley25 - i have an imagine also, and i chopped a hell of a lot of balls on the first couple of days i got it. From what I've heard, the liquid CO2 (it was under 40 degrees out when i was shooting it) can cause the marker to double-cycle, chopping balls (it cycles around 40 or 50 times per second). I tried it the next day, when it was about 50 out, and I didnt chop a single ball. An agitated loader helps a lot, too.
Last edited on Friday, March 19th, 2004 at 2:16 pm PST
   

rick raulson Thursday, March 18th, 2004 | 1:35 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by torqueEX
hey raulson, go 2 kingman.com and look at the videos on how 2 do stuff 2 ur gun. (push the button in the grip 2 change modes if the bottom light is yellow=3burst red=full auto
thx
   

Spyder_Nate Wednesday, March 24th, 2004 | 6:54 am PST
Anyone who gets their imagine at walmart gets screwed, in order to get the gun to fire fully auto and 3 round burst, you must either buy a tournament chip or do what i did, wrap the two vertical prongs with wire. this will enable the gun to fire full auto and 3 round burst
   

tylergreen Saturday, April 3rd, 2004 | 9:17 pm PST
your right, kingman really screwed up the sight rail it serves no purpose there you can't even use it, i took mine off and it looks alot better to... and about it not being water proof i found that out to, and i found that the best way to fix that was to get a grip cover, they make them with the hole for for the settings and it keeps it pretty water proff
   

tyler95023 Tuesday, May 18th, 2004 | 11:52 pm PST
If you bought you're gun from walmart like I did, open up the light-side cover on the grip and look for the two wires that are orange and yellow, then keep looking down next to the battery and there should be two metal prongs sticking out and thats where you put the jumper and it works perfect. And you can get a jumper from a junk computer or radio shack for a few cents.
P.S. You don't need to buy any kind of tournament chip so don't waste youre money.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 18th, 2004 at 11:56 pm PST
   

gmc Monday, July 12th, 2004 | 9:04 pm PST
stupid
   

waverocker Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 | 12:46 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by DThompson421
hey you must be retarded or something because that sight rail is not sharp i tried to run my finger over it any way i cany but i havent had it cut me yet!

My Imagine's Sight Rail is very very sharp. I looked on my friends Imagine's Sight Rail and his is no where near sharp as mine. His is very dull and mine is very sharp. Why they very...I have no clue. So DThompson, before you go making those kind of comments, try thinking first...
   

Loren Ihm Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 | 12:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Spyder_Nate
Anyone who gets their imagine at walmart gets screwed, in order to get the gun to fire fully auto and 3 round burst, you must either buy a tournament chip or do what i did, wrap the two vertical prongs with wire. this will enable the gun to fire full auto and 3 round burst

You are absolutely right because that is where I got my gun. I got a E-99 trigger from my friend and that was the way I got full auto
   

EmperorPB10 Sunday, June 19th, 2005 | 10:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Spyder_Nate
Anyone who gets their imagine at walmart gets screwed, in order to get the gun to fire fully auto and 3 round burst, you must either buy a tournament chip or do what i did, wrap the two vertical prongs with wire. this will enable the gun to fire full auto and 3 round burst

Cutting a paper clip and wraping it around works also.
Last edited on Sunday, June 19th, 2005 at 10:38 am PST
   

EmperorPB10 Sunday, June 19th, 2005 | 10:38 am PST
Who cares if the your sight rail is sharp and his is not.
   

Kindness Sunday, July 16th, 2006 | 6:18 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by rick raulson
love this gun but one thing how do u make it shoot 3 shoot burst and full auto oh yea my sight rail is not sharp and why would kingman put one one a gun that u can't even use.
That is a good question that I also have asked myself.
And the razor edge could be used to slice your opponent if they wander to close *assassin* jk.
   

Agitator Monday, October 9th, 2006 | 8:10 pm PST
the sight rails r ghey. My buddy had an imagine. it was the first thing he took off, followed by the trigger and barrel.

just take the rail off....................
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media