paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on mindraker's Review / Comments on mindraker's Review / Comments on mindraker's Review / Comments on mindraker's Review

Comments on mindraker's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

mindraker Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 stock barrel - Not that great
J&J Ceramic Barrel - beautiful barrel that is cheaper than the All American and I highly recommend it
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98
Smart Parts 12" All American Barrel
Blackpoint Engineering Folding Combat Stock
32 Degrees Remote Kit
Anti-Siphon Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI/RPS SuperSwirl
RPS Big Ball
Just about any kind of paint
Strengths: Not paint picky
Looks cool
Decent accuracy
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as I thought it would be
Paint chips off
Review: This is a great barrel for the price. For some reason, I was thinking when I bought my "lengendary Smart Parts All American barrel that has the best review on the website", it would be better than what I got. But it was pretty cheap, I only payed like $45 for it and it is indeed a big improvement from the stock barrel accuracy. Mine is also the pressed together kind which you cant unscrew like the newer models so I don't know if that effects it at all. The paint has also started to chip off of mine in various places, so it wasnt that thoroughly coated. But it is an ok barrel and I like it well enough to keep it and not spend money on a different one.
Conclusion: This is my first after market barrel, which this product seems to be focused on due to its significantly dropped price. After buying this product, myself and a friend of mine with a J&J (even cheaper) ceramic barrel and I traded for a game. I LOVED the J&J. It was incrediably accurate and made my 98c sound like a BEAST. My friend enjoyed my AA too but he gladly took his J&J back. If you are going to buy a first after market barrel, I strongly recommend trying the J&J first. The AA is a nice barrel indeed, but for a starter barrel there are better deals for your money.
Rating:
7 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
tippmann987 Friday, July 16th, 2004 | 7:05 am PST
AA for sure w/ a freak front. Teardrop is mediocre never played with the empire or evil but my friend with the 98 flatline said if your gun is angled the ball will curve like crazy. But the flatline does give you the range if you sacrifice accuracy.
   

±Í†çhý± Saturday, July 17th, 2004 | 11:45 pm PST
I must express my thanks for this post, as I am buying an A-5 and was debating what stick to slap on the end of it. It was up in the air between the J&J and the AA. Afterall, I do have other expeditures like rent etc, so the cheaper barrel has now prevailed. But... I will be purchasing the Smart parts "Smart Girls" barrel condom....
Last edited on Saturday, July 17th, 2004 at 11:45 pm PST
   

69warrior Monday, July 19th, 2004 | 7:13 pm PST
i dont think you got an all-american. sounds like you got scammed. lemme think...45 bucks and it doesnt go into 2 pieces...doent sound like the aa to me at all. so number one this review should be void and number two review a real aa strapped onto something better than a 98 and with HPA. o yeha by the way tippmann987 i have a flatline and see what you hafta do is loosen your barrel a lil bit, shoot your gun and then keep rotating the barrel until the ball shoots straight---and of course if you hold the gun angled u r not gonna shoot straight ESPECIALLY wiht the backspin on the flatline.
   

wicked one Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 | 10:00 pm PST
alright 69warrior, how long have you been paintballing? In 1996 or 95, smart parts released the first All American barrel, this of course, was a 1 piece barrel and it also says All American on the barrel itself, so unless you think hes blind or illiterate (i dont think its either obviously) then do sum reasearch before you make an uneducated smart ass comment. and dont bash his gun, he may just be starting out but even if he wasnt, tippy 98's are damn good guns even when not run on HPA. so just keep ur mouth shut if you dont have anything intelligent or nice to say (wow, i just totally contradicted myself:P)

Oh and by the way, yes the one piece AA barrels are less accurate then the New AA barrels.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 10:01 pm PST
   

TXtippmann Saturday, August 14th, 2004 | 7:51 pm PST
There are a lot of rumors out there about the flatline. There are also a lot of idiots out there that have them and didn't bother to learn about them first. They must be installed properly, first of all. They require paint that isn't too big. And the velocity should be adjusted to find the best accuracy. It is not hard, but takes a little time and is well worth it.
   

notorious possy Sunday, January 2nd, 2005 | 8:07 pm PST
i agree with ya tx tippmann
   

pntballguy877 Sunday, February 13th, 2005 | 6:56 pm PST
alright 69warrior, how long have you been paintballing? In 1996 or 95, smart parts released the first All American barrel, this of course, was a 1 piece barrel and it also says All American on the barrel itself

actually it was first made in 1993
   

99 ANGEL RULZ Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 6:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by 69warrior
i dont think you got an all-american. sounds like you got scammed. lemme think...45 bucks and it doesnt go into 2 pieces...doent sound like the aa to me at all. so number one this review should be void and number two review a real aa strapped onto something better than a 98 and with HPA. o yeha by the way tippmann987 i have a flatline and see what you hafta do is loosen your barrel a lil bit, shoot your gun and then keep rotating the barrel until the ball shoots straight---and of course if you hold the gun angled u r not gonna shoot straight ESPECIALLY wiht the backspin on the flatline.



Dude the new AA s are two pieces. the older ones only 1 piece
   

spyderman2009 Sunday, February 20th, 2005 | 6:31 pm PST
Hey is the freak front on an all american better than the all american front whats the difference besides apperance
   

chuck51991 Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 | 6:28 pm PST
hey the reason ur barrel isent being accurate is becaus ur using paint that is too big for ur barrel is u get rpspmi premium paint like $42 it works like a charm ive played like 100 games n only borke on ball in the barrel

ive choped plenty tho
   

chuck51991 Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 | 6:32 pm PST
personaly i like the aa front better wit a freak back but thats my opinion u would have to try it out ive tryed both and wit expierance i feel that the aa front is better
   

SPYDER PB FREAK Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005 | 12:52 pm PST
Guys Should i buy the aa or a J&J full tilt ceramic
   

Kevin721 Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 2:39 pm PST
buy the aa. it is better in my opinion
   

Lord Vodka Saturday, September 10th, 2005 | 7:06 pm PST
Try buying decent paint.
   

shot-on-sight Tuesday, October 25th, 2005 | 4:33 pm PST
The evil driver 1 piece barrel is the one piece version of the evil pipe, the evil pipe in my opinion is the best barrel kit out there and most accurate barrel (i own one and speak from experince) out of all the many barrels ive tested the pipe is still the best, and the evil driver is just the 1 pice pipe wich i also own as a backup barrel on my backup gun wich i have tested against the AA and found it to be just slightly more accurate at a range of 82 feet with no wind shooting at a 6x6 in box. I would recomend the evil driver as it is only 41 dollars compared to the AA's 70.

   

paintballer667 Saturday, November 26th, 2005 | 4:06 pm PST
For $45 i dont think you got a real AA barrel.
   

Cicero Friday, December 9th, 2005 | 9:03 am PST
paintballer667, read above comments before making one.
   

Baker2g180 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 12:11 pm PST
Anyone who uses a Tippmann 98 should not be allowed to talk about accuracy in barrels. The 98 is a very innacurate marker, and no matter what barrel you stick on there, its not gonna be as accurate as most people would like. As for the paint chipping off, I have never heard of that complaint before
   

Baker2g180 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 12:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by chuck51991
personaly i like the aa front better wit a freak back but thats my opinion u would have to try it out ive tryed both and wit expierance i feel that the aa front is better


would you need the barrel insert for that? Just wondering
   

Baker2g180 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 12:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by chuck51991
personaly i like the aa front better wit a freak back but thats my opinion u would have to try it out ive tryed both and wit expierance i feel that the aa front is better


would you need the barrel insert for that? Just wondering
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media