paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on l33tgam3r_0's Review / Comments on l33tgam3r_0's Review / Comments on l33tgam3r_0's Review / Comments on l33tgam3r_0's Review

Comments on l33tgam3r_0's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

l33tgam3r_0 Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I tested my friend's 12-volt revvy and have very briefly tested a Ricochet, also i have used a VL200-style gravity hopper.
Marker Setup: Spyder E99, 14in Dye Excel barrel, HALO TSA
Strengths: it has a sound and tilt sensor, it agitates on every ball, it's fast.
Weaknesses: shell became fingerprinted and grimy very quickly. Also, its a little loud.
Review: I was generally quite pleased with the TSA. It is very similar to a Ricochet, in that it agitates once for every ball, and the angular, aerodynamic shape slightly resembles that of a ricochet.

The TSA feeds fast, i could not outshoot it with my E99 on semi mode, or using 3-shot burst. Also, the pushbutton on/off is much more convenient than the lever-style one on my friend's Revvy (he kept forgetting to turn it off). The shell seems to be made of a thick plastic that didn't look as if it would break or crack, although it did get dirty quite easily. My only other complaint besides the griminess is that the spinning action is loud, louder than a revvy and definetly more noticeable because it spins all the time.

The selling feature of this loader is the tilt-sound mechanism. The sound sensor (the means of agitating) is slightly twitchy: i got yelled at by a ref today while using it and it started spinning continuously, it was kind of stupid. However, it never misses a beat when it comes to shooting: you pull the trigger and you've got a ball waiting there. The tilt thing (the impeller spins in different directions to compensate for loader tilt) works, too, but i didnt directly notice it while playing. It all adds up to the fact that there WILL be a ball in your stack, unless you shoot inhumanly fast.
Conclusion: it's only 15-20 dollars more than a revvy, so why not? You get a lot of functionality and great features from the HALO, as long as you don't mind the whirring and keep it generally clean. i'd give it a 9.5, but i cant.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
pntballer2k3 Wednesday, June 25th, 2003 | 9:03 am PST
IN 3rd grade you learned something called rounding. Well now would be a good time to use it because ur spoiling its rating of 10/10. No effense or anything but you might as well
   

penguins_r_kewl Thursday, July 24th, 2003 | 6:11 am PST
the reason you cant outshoot it is cause esp frames are capped at 13bps, the tsa feeds 14pbps
   

sonnemann Thursday, August 21st, 2003 | 9:02 am PST
...which is still a respectable speed...
   

chibissj Saturday, August 23rd, 2003 | 6:16 am PST
kinda wierd that u said it's like the richochet when the only other sound activated hopper is the empire.
   

wulf1010 Monday, October 6th, 2003 | 2:16 am PST
i think what he means is that it dosent use an electronic eye. It feeds by detecting sound and the ric feeds by detecting movement, i so there is less chance of a gap in the ball stack, resulting in more consistant feed rate. Hopers like the revys or even the eggs wait for a gap in the ball stack befor they spin, the tsa, rics and reloaders all feed with either ball moment or vibration from the guns firing.
   

Jakob1561 Tuesday, November 11th, 2003 | 4:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by penguins_r_kewl
the reason you cant outshoot it is cause esp frames are capped at 13bps, the tsa feeds 14pbps

Wrong, no agitated loader can feed faster than 13.3bps.
   

schlsucks55917 Monday, November 24th, 2003 | 8:10 pm PST
They can in burst, but not full auto or pulling your triger as fast as you can. Put it in full and see if you outshoot it.
   

Paintballshurt Sunday, December 14th, 2003 | 4:46 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jakob1561


Wrong, no agitated loader can feed faster than 13.3bps.


Are you talking about how gravity makes it so a non force fed hopper can only feed 13.3bps at the max?
Last edited on Sunday, December 14th, 2003 at 4:46 pm PST
   

Jakob1561 Sunday, December 14th, 2003 | 8:34 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Paintballshurt


Are you talking about how gravity makes it so a non force fed hopper can only feed 13.3bps at the max?


Yes, I am.
   

johnnyblaz13 Saturday, January 17th, 2004 | 2:35 pm PST
he comparied it to the ric because it sometimes gets bounces
   

mtdewpaintballr Thursday, February 26th, 2004 | 1:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jakob1561


Wrong, no agitated loader can feed faster than 13.3bps.


dude ya, go to halos web site, the LCD does feed 14 bps
   

Jakob1561 Thursday, February 26th, 2004 | 8:57 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mtdewpaintballr


dude ya, go to halos web site, the LCD does feed 14 bps


It dosen't mattter what they "claim" on their website, physics prevent any non-force fed loader from feeding faster than 13.3 bps.
   

athanaseus Sunday, March 7th, 2004 | 7:33 am PST
there are many variables which make your physics theory stupid and or pointless. i can explain how eggs, halos, revvys, and ricos work with only a bottle of S.PELLEGRINO sparkling water.
   

Jakob1561 Monday, March 8th, 2004 | 2:34 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by athanaseus
there are many variables which make your physics theory stupid and or pointless. i can explain how eggs, halos, revvys, and ricos work with only a bottle of S.PELLEGRINO sparkling water.

And these variables are? There are none that would allow it to feed faster than 13.3bps, unless the balls where being forced. The TSA does not force the balls therefore it cannot exceed 13.3.
   

Amaier100 Sunday, March 21st, 2004 | 1:49 pm PST
My father is a mechanical engineer and has educated me quite a bit on the laws of physics. Jakob1561 knows what he's talkin about. Go back to school athanaseus.
   

PB4841LVR Sunday, May 16th, 2004 | 5:08 pm PST
then why does it say an egg can feed 17 bps it is gravity isnt it?
   

Jakob1561 Monday, May 17th, 2004 | 8:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by PB4841LVR
then why does it say an egg can feed 17 bps it is gravity isnt it?


Because the egg is a force-fed loader, that does not rely solely on gravity to feed the balls.
   

PB4841LVR Sunday, May 30th, 2004 | 6:57 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jakob1561


Because the egg is a force-fed loader, that does not rely solely on gravity to feed the balls.


it does rely on gravity when they go down the feed neck because there is nothing that is pushing it into the feed neck. the only thing the paddle does is put the in front of the feed neck on a ramp and then gravity does its job from there. trust me i have used a egg. i think physics got screwed this time
Last edited on Sunday, May 30th, 2004 at 6:59 pm PST
   

Moose0nTheLoose Sunday, November 7th, 2004 | 6:45 pm PST
i thought this was a semi force fed hopper like the apache
   

legaltender1 Thursday, May 5th, 2005 | 9:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jakob1561


Wrong, no agitated loader can feed faster than 13.3bps.


The theoretical maximum for gravity feed is 33.5 bps, considering the effect of gravity alone. The speed of the bolt will slow it down further, but this is marker dependent and therefore indefinite. You can see the mathematical derivation at http://www.paintball-gun-review.com/articles1/paintball-hopp
er-gravity-feed-rate.htm.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media