paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on JLeabo's Review / Comments on JLeabo's Review / Comments on JLeabo's Review / Comments on JLeabo's Review / Comments on JLeabo's Review

Comments on JLeabo's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

JLeabo Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years93 of 125 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster, Stingray, PMI Trracer, Hammer, Spyder Compact, Tippmann SL68II and Pro-Lite.
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98 Custom 32 Degrees Special Semi Automatic with standard open blowback bolt and 12" 32 Degrees Ice Cold (Medium Bore .691) Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
16" 32 Degrees Whisper (Medium Bore .689-.691) and 16" 32 Degrees Quiet Riot (Medium Bore .688-.690) Barrels. Tippmann Custom 98 Response Trigger. Halo B Electronic Loader. 32 Degrees Model 98 Rear Velocity Adjuster.
Strengths: It works so you don't have too!!!
Weaknesses: Weak Reviews!!!
Review: This product is one of the most customizable markers on the market today. It's also one of the most reliable which is why so many fields use them as rentals. Originally, I had the drop in electronic kit but soon realized that it was more than I needed, even on a professional level. So I dropped it out and went back to basics. Besides, any experienced player knows that with good trigger manipulation you can make up for it, and it only takes a single shot to end your opponents day. Full Auto is great for defensive players who need to lay suppressive and grazing fire but for an offensive player it's not really needed. Another nice feature is the removable elbow which allows for quicker cleaning for ball breakages. The balance is pretty good, a little front heavy but the expansion chamber or fore-grip makes up for it. I recommend that you upgrade your stock barrel. The longer the barrel, the more friction occurs between the barrel and the paintball. And consequently more air pressure is needed to force the paintball out of paintball barrels. I use a 12" 32 Degrees Ice Cold Medium Bore Barrel which is just that, Ice Cold!!! With your velocity set at 285 fps and the use of quality (Diablo Blaze) medium bore paintballs this barrel shows no mercy. Don't waste your time trying to hide because with this barrel you should dominate the field.
Conclusion: Think of it this way. If my marker only worked sometimes would you want me on your team?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 12th, 2004 at 8:57 pm PST
 

Review Comments
JLeabo Tuesday, April 6th, 2004 | 7:42 pm PST
I've played religiously now for 13 years, I've served in Operation Southern Watch, Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom. I've played against Pro's with the best markers on the market and won. I average 75% of the kills per game. Out of five games, I'll be eliminated once, and I use a Tippmann.
I'm not a beginner..... I'm a Pro!!!

What makes me such a good player is my understanding of the game. There are LIMITS!!! Distance is one of them, at 300 fps a paintball is only designed to travel a distance of 100 feet. It is believed that at 100 ft. the velocity is so weak that the round shouldn't even break, and that is regulated by the NPA for safety reasons. Just like your not supposed to shoot someone in the mask closer than 20 ft. which is a rule often ignored.

The newest version of the Halo loader now features a belt driven feed system for ultra quiet operation! It also allows a well tuned marker to achieve 20+ BPS.

Most people see a marker that can shoot 20+ BPS as being awesome. I figure if you have a 200 rnd Viewloader you'll be reloading every 10 seconds. Reloading is a distraction and there are too many distractions on the field as it is.

Parts, I don't recommend aftermarket bolts/power tubes, as they mostly cause more
problems than help.

erik vandenavon,

The 20ft rule has nothing to do with speedball or any other scenario game. It's the minimum safety distance for goggles. I know we've all broken the rule at one point or another. However, there is always the risk of your goggles shattering if you get shot closer than 20 ft. Though highly unlikely, it's possible. Maybe someone didn't take care of their mask. Who knows, but most insurance companies expect the field to enforce those safety guidlines to prevent mishaps.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 25th, 2004 at 7:26 pm PST
   

erik vandenavon Tuesday, May 25th, 2004 | 4:04 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by JLeabo
I've played religiously now for 13 years, I've served in Operation Southern Watch, Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom. I've played against Pro's with the best markers on the market and won. I average 75% of the kills per game. Out of five games, I'll be eliminated once, and I use a Tippmann.
I'm not a beginner..... I'm a Pro!!!

What makes me such a good player is my understanding of the game. There are LIMITS!!! Distance is one of them, at 300 fps a paintball is only designed to travel a distance of 100 feet. It is believed that at 100 ft. the velocity is so weak that the round shouldn't even break, and that is regulated by the NPA for safety reasons. Just like your not supposed to shoot someone in the mask closer than 20 ft. which is a rule often ignored.

The newest version of the Halo loader now features a belt driven feed system for ultra quiet operation! It also allows a well tuned marker to achieve 20+ BPS.

Most people see a marker that can shoot 20+ BPS as being awesome. I figure if you have a 200 rnd Viewloader you'll be reloading every 10 seconds. Reloading is a distraction and there are too many distractions on the field as it is.

Parts, I don't recommend aftermarket bolts/power tubes, as they mostly cause more
problems than help.




i got a halo b. reloading is not a big deal. you still got 200 shots and if you got a good harness you will be fine. however i play speedball and and allot of time the game goes so quick i don't need to reload. playing in the woods i can see wear your coming from.


the 20ft rule is not even broght up in speedball. i have been shot and have shot others less than 5ft away.
   

bigboy_cars_0 Monday, July 12th, 2004 | 5:46 pm PST
Um.....Longer barrels use more air than shorter barrels, because the added length causes extra friction on the paintball which in turn requires more air to propel the ball. Also, longer barrels tend to lob paintballs which gives much less distance. Only talk about things that you know about. You don't want some noob to read your review then go out and buy a 21 inch 'sniper' barrel. Ok?
   

TXtippmann Friday, August 13th, 2004 | 3:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by bigboy_cars_0
Um.....Longer barrels use more air than shorter barrels, because the added length causes extra friction on the paintball which in turn requires more air to propel the ball. Also, longer barrels tend to lob paintballs which gives much less distance. Only talk about things that you know about. You don't want some noob to read your review then go out and buy a 21 inch 'sniper' barrel. Ok?
That's what he said in his review, Genius. Sounds like you don't know what you are talking about, fattie.
   

matx33 Saturday, August 21st, 2004 | 4:19 pm PST
I used a rental so it wasn't as good, I just asked the ref or his squeegee to clean it out. New barrel would be good, it's heavy an loud compared to my Piranha GTI. However, it is still good and I can agree pretty much with this review. But if you want a lighter and quieter gun, this is unfortunately not the one to get IF you want to keep it stock. It is reliable and all, but for god's sake keep it in good condition or it'll be crap.
   

pbwildman Sunday, October 3rd, 2004 | 12:54 pm PST
Generaly a good review i dont really understand the whole 10 rating i mean this is one of the best guns for the price but when people are rating the tippmann a 10 right up there with the angel speed andboblong alias isnt there a problem.....sorry i just had to say that ....peace
   

TXtippmann Sunday, October 3rd, 2004 | 5:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pbwildman
Generaly a good review i dont really understand the whole 10 rating i mean this is one of the best guns for the price but when people are rating the tippmann a 10 right up there with the angel speed andboblong alias isnt there a problem.....sorry i just had to say that ....peace
The 98 is not to be compared to angels and bob longs. It is to be rated with other markers in it's category. Can you buy an angel for $130 brand new?
   

beetleboy09 Friday, December 3rd, 2004 | 3:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by bigboy_cars_0
Um.....Longer barrels use more air than shorter barrels, because the added length causes extra friction on the paintball which in turn requires more air to propel the ball. Also, longer barrels tend to lob paintballs which gives much less distance. Only talk about things that you know about. You don't want some noob to read your review then go out and buy a 21 inch 'sniper' barrel. Ok?
how would a longer barrel require more co2 or HPA to shoot it? the barrel isnt part of the gun which would make it use more air. and you said NOOB in your review. I think your the noob. NOOBY NOOBY NOOBY NOOB
   

TXtippmann Saturday, December 4th, 2004 | 10:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by beetleboy09

how would a longer barrel require more co2 or HPA to shoot it? the barrel isnt part of the gun which would make it use more air. and you said NOOB in your review. I think your the noob. NOOBY NOOBY NOOBY NOOB

Wow. You really set yourself up for this one. He already explained why it uses more air. It does not directly affect the air usage. It slows the paintball down, and when you turn up the velocity to get that paintball shooting as fast as it was, you are using more air. So the barrel length does indirectly affect your air usage. Now you look like a complete idiot. It wasn't bad enough that you were immature about calling him a nooby noob (whatever that means), but you had to rag on a perfectly good comment making yourself look like a total moron. I bet you're proud of yourself now.
   

beetleboy09 Sunday, December 5th, 2004 | 9:32 am PST
the way i read it made him sound like he thought the barrel had to use more air which it doesnt, but u will sacrifice distance. thats how i understood it. so i am actually right thinking the way i thought of it, and you are right thinking the way u thought it so ha. im not the idiot im thought out to be.
   

TXtippmann Monday, December 6th, 2004 | 1:05 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by beetleboy09
the way i read it made him sound like he thought the barrel had to use more air which it doesnt, but u will sacrifice distance. thats how i understood it. so i am actually right thinking the way i thought of it, and you are right thinking the way u thought it so ha. im not the idiot im thought out to be.
No, you're an idiot. He was very clear in what he said. Anyone with any sense could understand what he meant. So, in conclusion, you are still a moron that made yourself look very stupid. You'd be smart (or at least not AS stupid) to stop now, before it gets any worse.
   

kjbkjb9 Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 8:46 am PST
no i would not want you on my team now get off right now.
   

Tippmann19 Sunday, January 9th, 2005 | 4:30 pm PST
why would you put a halo on a tippmann? the frickin halo cost more then the gun
   

Uberface Thursday, June 9th, 2005 | 3:10 pm PST
Tippmann19 is righ; JLEabo obviously hasn't tested see what his BPS actually is. There is no way a Custon can go 20 BPS. The bolt can't cycle faster than 15. Buying a Halo B for a Custom is a waste of money, as the gun can never go close to as fast as the hopper.
   

SplatMan98 Friday, June 10th, 2005 | 9:47 am PST
Your review was great. The only thing is-you don't need a Halo B for this gun. A viewloader revolution is more like it.
   

SplatMan98 Friday, June 10th, 2005 | 9:49 am PST
Your review was great. The only thing is-you don't need a Halo B for this gun. A viewloader revolution is more like it.
   

JLeabo Friday, June 10th, 2005 | 11:26 am PST
Obviously, you didn't understand my point. I never recommended the Halo B. I only talked about it's capability. I also never said that the Custom 98 could shoot 20 BPS. What I did say is:

The newest version of the Halo loader now features a belt driven feed system for ultra quiet operation! It also allows a well tuned marker to achieve 20+ BPS.

Most people see a marker that can shoot 20+ BPS as being awesome. I figure if you have a 200 rnd Viewloader you'll be reloading every 10 seconds. Reloading is a distraction and there are too many distractions on the field as it is.
   

cradle_of_filth Friday, November 11th, 2005 | 11:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TXtippmann

Wow. You really set yourself up for this one. He already explained why it uses more air. It does not directly affect the air usage. It slows the paintball down, and when you turn up the velocity to get that paintball shooting as fast as it was, you are using more air. So the barrel length does indirectly affect your air usage. Now you look like a complete idiot. It wasn't bad enough that you were immature about calling him a nooby noob (whatever that means), but you had to rag on a perfectly good comment making yourself look like a total moron. I bet you're proud of yourself now.

you got it right.the longer barrel slows the ball down so people turn up the velocity therefore using more air.the way bigboy said it was that the barrel itself slows it down.beetleboy was merely pointing that out and not concentrating on the true facts. so give him a break
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media