paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on tstricklin9641's Review / Comments on tstricklin9641's Review / Comments on tstricklin9641's Review / Comments on tstricklin9641's Review / Comments on tstricklin9641's Review

Comments on tstricklin9641's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

tstricklin9641 Monday, July 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mildly upgraded impulse - really does'nt compare to the Evil.
Marker Setup: Evil Impulse - There's really nothing to add since it comes with all the evil goodies. I did replace the PMI reg with a max-flow tank for obvious reasons.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anyone that can walk a trigger good will need a halo to get the most out of this marker.
Strengths: The speed of the I-frame and the accuracy of the pipe kit.
Weaknesses: No milling for $900 and it was'nt "dialed in" out of the box.
Review: Let me start by saying that when I ordered this marker I thought I was getting a top of the line tournament marker built by a super tech at PMI but that was'nt the case. When I went to pick up my marker I was a little disappointed that it was'nt milled at all, being someone who's not into looks anyway I soon got over it and wanted to go see what it would do. I got it set up and went to go shoot, I put two hoppers though it and realized I had used 1800psi of air. I took it back in to the store to ask the tech to look at it for me, after a quick testing he informed me it had not been "tuned in" the dwell was maxed out, and the LPR was'nt set. After he tuned it we had FSDO for 2 to 5 shots and shoot down problems. We finally decided to take the marker apart to find almost no lube anywhere in the gun and the little round piece on the back of the LPR was almost off, after reassembly we had to set the dwell on 13 beeps to get rid of the FSDO so the efficiency is still horrible. I'm having to break down and send it back to PMI to be looked at.
Conclusion: Anyone who likes the way an impulse shoots will love the speed and accuracy of this marker but I'm very disapointed and aggravated with Evil and PMI for not having this marker dialed in out of the box and I hope they take care of the problems when it gets there.
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Hierophant Thursday, July 17th, 2003 | 1:30 pm PST
The Evil Impulse does not have an I-Frame. Those are produced by HSW. The Evil Impulses actually have an Evil Trigger Frame, which is more compact than the I-Frame, but does not get as good leverage towards the top of the trigger.
   

tstricklin9641 Friday, July 18th, 2003 | 1:55 pm PST
Hey Hierophant,
If you read the extended decription it says the Evil uses the I-frame from HSW.
   

Hierophant Saturday, July 19th, 2003 | 12:09 am PST
Evil must be the distributor then, cause it's called the Evil Frame, and it's nothing like the I-Frame. Finger cups are more defined, the pull is not as light, and its more compact. Either that or the description is incorrect. Also, You cant buy the Evil Frame from HSW, so I'll check that out to be 100% correct. Thanks for pointing that out though, it just doesn't make sense . . . Just gonna assume HSW makes for Evil for now.

   

tstricklin9641 Saturday, August 2nd, 2003 | 10:44 am PST
tstricklin here, I have sent the impulse back to PMI who agreed to take care of the problems. I also found out that PMI don't even build their own evil impulses, paintball wholesalers built it and would'nt even talk to me about fixing it, so they suck. I'm glad PMI is stepping up and taking care of it. I did go thru 3 people before I got some straight answers.
   

Team_Eternal Tuesday, August 5th, 2003 | 4:59 pm PST
I got mine directly form the evil factory when the local am team was down there.
   

tstricklin9641 Friday, August 29th, 2003 | 6:53 pm PST
Got my Impulse back a week ago and PMI still sucks and they can kiss my @#$, the gun was still not set up and the solenoid went out on the second hopper of paint. I'm now going to take ALL the Evil stuff off and start from scratch. PMI you suck!
   

Catbag Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 | 1:14 pm PST
Well mine is awsome but sorry bout the prob but hey at least you'll have a tricked out custum imp when your done but still get a respirator they're nice. good luck.
   

h2opoloplyr6 Sunday, April 18th, 2004 | 10:44 am PST
were can i pic on up and see a pic?
   

BiG rENo Saturday, June 5th, 2004 | 11:58 pm PST
what is fsdo?
   

PBSpartan Saturday, June 26th, 2004 | 1:41 pm PST
fsdo is first shot drop off
   

tstricklin9641 Friday, July 2nd, 2004 | 6:02 pm PST
I got rid of all the Evil parts and bought all New Designz stuff, let me tell you it's unreal how much better this gun shoots, 1300 shots out of a 45/4500 w +/- 5 over the chrono. I'd rather be kicked in the balls than take a free evil impulse. I also got to shoot air though 1 of their pimp kits guns today after the tech took it apart and fixed it. sounded like a piece of s--t. There were milling marks all over the whole gun.

STAY AWAY FROM THE EVIL GUNS, PARTS, AND CLOTHES FOR THAT MATTER.
   

Sno-coneman3 Sunday, July 4th, 2004 | 2:38 pm PST
Of couse it is not milled, didnt you even GLANCE at the gun before you bought it? It is basically a 2003 impulse body with their frame and internals. Second thing is that after evil shoots your gun to see if it works, they reset everything and wipe all the oil of the parts before they shipped it out. Your antisipation and arrogance kept you from doing basic things that you should do before getting a new gun, or recieving back from the shop.
   

tstricklin9641 Sunday, July 4th, 2004 | 6:13 pm PST
Let me explain something to you since your not that bright. There were no pics of any evil impulse at the time it arrived at the local store, so no one knew what one looked like. Plus at the start of the evil impulse idea they were going to mill them just like the pimp kit is milled now. Second PMI did'nt even put the gun together, they contracted it out to Paintball Wholesalers who got mad at PMI over the whole thing and they shipped them out without as much as even dry firing them. You have to be stupid to think that anyone wipes oil or grease off a gun before it ships because they don't, ask any company out there. Nutsak
   

Sno-coneman3 Thursday, July 8th, 2004 | 11:46 pm PST
Let me tell something to you because obviously YOU ARE NOT BRIGHT. YOU BOUGHT A 900 DOLLAR GUN WITHOUT SHOOTING IT, OR EVEN LOOKING AT IT! Before I buy my guns I ALWAYS shoot it, take it apart and lube /clean it, check for defects, and last of all contact the company for information i might need in the future if i need to return it or get it repaired. Let see, you didn't do even one of these things before you bought it, and you didn't even lube or clean it when you recieved the impy! I can already tell you that you are going to run into disappointments before you recieved it. You wouldn't buy a car without at least riding in it would you? ( We are talking about a 900 dollar gun)


I DO NOT CARE IF THEY DID NOT LUBE IT. lets just say this, if you took the precautions before shooting it, your going to lube it no matter if it was lubed or not. All of the guns that i had owned never had oil in it new (98c, silverbullet, cashmoney impulse, omen,03 shocker) When i tried out an evil impulse, everything was set to 0, even the dwell.

Call me a nutsack, i do not care. Im not the one with a $900 peice of crap. You could have had a working gun, but instead you bought something that you didn't even know what it was. I think you should delete your review, because a evil impulse at its prime (the one i tried) is way better than a 5.
Last edited on Thursday, July 22nd, 2004 at 11:06 am PST
   

Sno-coneman3 Thursday, July 8th, 2004 | 11:59 pm PST
. Please rate the gun when it is at its prime because if the gun was shooting like it should, wouldn't that effect the rating? If you do not like something on the gun, or it doesnt meet your preferance, rate your score on that or not write a review at all because not EVERY SINGLE evil impulse is not going to be working well.
Last edited on Friday, July 23rd, 2004 at 11:16 am PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media