paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on EvilOne's Review / Comments on EvilOne's Review / Comments on EvilOne's Review / Comments on EvilOne's Review / Comments on EvilOne's Review

Comments on EvilOne's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

EvilOne Monday, July 14th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month100 of 115 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman custom 98, spyder flash, e-99, impulse, sto autococker
Marker Setup: Evil Omen Black
Evil Pipe Kit
WGP 70/4500 Dual reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any HPA is strongly recommended
Any fast loader
Evil Pipe
Strengths: Cam feeder, detonator vert reg, solid strong feel but not too heavy, closed bolt.
Weaknesses: Trigger could be a little more stiff, and more adjustable
Review: I purchased my Omen™ 2 days before a 3-man tournament so I didn't have time to mess with it much, but it performed great. The Omen is very accurate as long as you hold the gun firm and aim good; it has a little recoil that can throw your aim off. I'm not sure if it is just a fluke, but the gun is a gas HOG and very loud if you don't have paint in it.. other than that it gets pretty good gas mileage.
In the tournament I shot Ultra Evil paint(nasty stuff) with an Evil Omen gun through an Evil Pipe, wearing an Evil beanie... if anyone from the Evil factory reads this, send me a jersey, gloves, & pants to finish out my attire.. contact at bottom.

HPA is a must for this gun. I set my incoming pressure from my tank to about 480-490psi. CO2 works but spikes in the pressure can make the gun break paint due to the sensitive re-cock pressure adjuster. Once I figured out how to tune the detonator reg and the re-cock pressure it didn't chop at all. Read the instructions that come with gun closely, the reg and the re-cock are very sensitive and usually only 1/4 a turn is enough to change it.

The cam feeder actually works pretty good, but is a little difficult to clean. If you do out run your hopper the feeder will save you every time. I am not sure, but I think the only broke paint I had was from the re-cock pressure being too high and the paintball exploded when the bolt came forward.

The trigger on my Omen™ was a little too loose for my taste. It would move from side to side a little, and was not stiff enough for me. The trigger pull, however, is sweeeeeet. I am used to a blade style trigger, but this one has a hump in the middle that you can tap to get a little trigger bounce going. Once you find the bounce you can throw a quick line of paint with no problem.

The delrin bolt is no better/worse than other delrin bolts. The rubber thingy that sits on the hammer spring is a bit annoying though. Not sure exactly what it is for, but after 1 tournament it looked like my dog had been chewing on it. Luckily they send an extra with the gun. The entire rear of the gun pops out to re-cock when you shoot and looks cool when you shoot fast.... just don't too close with your mask or face.

Great gun.
Conclusion: The Omen shoots fast, and accurate. It's not too heavy, but not so light you think it will break with the first bunker dive. The Evil Pipe makes a GREAT upgrade. The trigger could be a little better so I give it a 9. I would recommend this gun to anyone, no matter what they are using now.... Angels included.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 21st, 2003 at 2:18 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
JiGGaMaNwOOt Friday, November 7th, 2003 | 2:08 pm PST
I knew it YES!!!
he read the manual
and knew how to get the pressures right
and the gun performed nice
its good to see people following directions
you are the true people who get the gun, read, and learn enough to do what the gun needs to have done to it in order for it to own

thanks alot
b.l.e.h.
   

sosoDAF Wednesday, December 31st, 2003 | 9:26 pm PST
Yeah, he knows how to turn a small screw. Honestly, half of the reviewers of this marker did not know how to turn a screw to adjust recock pressure.
lol
   

underated Thursday, January 1st, 2004 | 10:21 pm PST
there are a lot a markers better than a angel. Please don't assume that they are the best. they are not
   

luisodude Monday, February 2nd, 2004 | 9:56 pm PST
underated he never said it was the best gun ever he said hed recommend this gun to neone he neversaid it was the best oh and for ur information the omen WILL hold its own with ne gun out there
   

Streaks Tuesday, March 30th, 2004 | 6:35 am PST
Um...ok, he said he's played with these markers...

"tippman custom 98, spyder flash, e-99, impulse, sto autococker"

Yet he says he had to noodle with the front and inline reg to figure out that the marker's recocking is sensitive? Dude any Autococker owner just smirks at that! It should be old hat to a 'cocker owner.

The "rubber thingy" that rides the spring is akin to what Spyders use....again, should have been old hat.

And according to him, it's a gas hog......until you put paint in it.....otherwise it hogs gas if you dry fire it......am I the only one whe read it that way??? d-uuhhh dude! c'mon man, slow down when writing posts and think your review through.....Thank you Captian Obvious! :roll:

And again, someone who bashes Co2, which can run just as good or better than HPA > IF < you dual regulate it....you know, the way an HPA system is setup?! *fumes*

Kids these days ;)


Streaks
   

batmang8k Sunday, April 4th, 2004 | 7:55 pm PST
This guy doesnt know what hes talking about he didnt even glue this gun to a PURPLE spyder sonix. comon jees the gun is useless wihtout glueing it to a PURPLE spyder sonix.
Last edited on Sunday, April 4th, 2004 at 7:55 pm PST
   

Streaks Sunday, April 4th, 2004 | 8:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by batmang8k
This guy doesnt know what hes talking about he didnt even glue this gun to a PURPLE spyder sonix. comon jees the gun is useless wihtout glueing it to a PURPLE spyder sonix.



ssssoooo....your saying you dis-like the Omen then eh? Nice, thought provoking way to illustrate your view on it :)
   

kgk7502 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 | 3:37 pm PST
is this better than the impy?
   

Fidelis Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 | 4:52 pm PST
no
   

kgk7502 Thursday, April 22nd, 2004 | 12:49 pm PST
ok
   

spyderboy14 Saturday, April 24th, 2004 | 9:54 am PST
i have a question if u use just co2 will a anti sipone tank help its performence or dose it mattter
   

Paintballkiddd Friday, April 30th, 2004 | 7:58 pm PST
fidels you own a impulse that why you say its better. Impulse super fast. Omen supper accurate fast.
   

Fidelis Monday, May 3rd, 2004 | 8:28 pm PST
impulses are supper accurate as well as fast. they are better.
   

kgk7502 Friday, May 7th, 2004 | 1:18 pm PST
impulses dominate!
   

Six Feet Under Monday, May 10th, 2004 | 4:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by batmang8k
This guy doesnt know what hes talking about he didnt even glue this gun to a PURPLE spyder sonix. comon jees the gun is useless wihtout glueing it to a PURPLE spyder sonix.

WTF are you talking about?
   

Fidelis Monday, May 17th, 2004 | 2:28 pm PST
seriousally, that made 0 sence.
   

mattw Friday, May 21st, 2004 | 4:38 pm PST
ok first of all, a stock impulse is not as good as a stock omen. Plus i hate smart parts too. but thats not the reason why the impulse is worse. The trigger on a stock impulse is not good at all, a tippmann with a ballistic sports electro trigger fires better. You need many upgrades to get an impulse working good like vision, tapeworm, LPR, barrel,etc. The omen comes stock with the cam feed(not as good as vision but better than nothing on an impulse), a nice trigger, closed bolt(don't even try to argue the difference, i don't care), on/off ASA, good regulator( vert maxflos are just bulky and ugly), A barrel thats basically a one piece evil pipe, and a very uncomplicated design WHICH IS NOT A PIRANHA/SPYDER MIMIC! And once you set up an omen, they don't break paint. Trust me, ive owned an impulse and my friend has an omen, needless to say i sold my impulse because it was no match for the omen.
   

BiG rENo Saturday, June 5th, 2004 | 10:40 am PST
how many bps does it shoot?
   

ikey Thursday, June 10th, 2004 | 2:26 pm PST
well ur right, stock omen is better. but if u get a trigger and vision and impy will rock any day. also they are super upgradeable. you can take a stock impulse and upgrade it and basically have a strange impulse. (besides looks and weight)
   

headshot101 Friday, July 2nd, 2004 | 9:46 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by batmang8k
This guy doesnt know what hes talking about he didnt even glue this gun to a PURPLE spyder sonix. comon jees the gun is useless wihtout glueing it to a PURPLE spyder sonix.
dude wtf are you talking about? glueing guns together?
   
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media