paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on mustangb26's Review / Comments on mustangb26's Review / Comments on mustangb26's Review / Comments on mustangb26's Review

Comments on mustangb26's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

mustangb26 Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
- 32 degrees carbon fiber barrel 14 inch.
Marker Setup: - Spyder Electra
- carbon fiber barrel 14 inch.
- halo A. loader
- C02
Recommended
Paintballs:
-evil paintballs
-marballizers
Strengths: -This barrel looks pretty cool
-It makes your gun a tad quiter
Weaknesses: -breaks too many balls
-expensive
-must squeedgie if theres a break
Review: I was fairly dissapointed when I got my armson stealth 16inch rifled barrel. Sure it was very accurate when it shot out the paintball. key: when it shot out the paintball!!!

i had so many breaks in the barrel its unbelievable. I tried turning my velocity down but that didnt work. Turning it up just made more of a mess.

I would go and play and within about 50 shots i can GUARANTEE it would break a ball. so then i would end up switching back to my stock barrel! then i have to ask myself...why did i even buy this barrel in the first place.

It did however shoot very very straight when i could manage to get a ball or 2 out.

and dont efven try to go rapid fire with this thing.
Conclusion: I would recommend something else. If you want an accurate barrel....then just try any of the other hundreds that are out there. Armson tried with the rifling but this is a paintball not a rifle bullet.
Rating:
2 out of 10
 

Review Comments
AyanamiRei Tuesday, December 9th, 2003 | 3:40 pm PST
hmm strangely i've only seen bad reviews on spyder and other low-end guns(low end does NOT mean poopy guns, they just mean less expensive)
   

gipaintbrawler0 Wednesday, February 4th, 2004 | 12:13 pm PST
i've noticed that too man. Most of the people with spiders rated it low. However i did find some 10/10 ratings from some spyder owners. So it depends on the person and the set-up of the gun.
   

Magical Peanut Monday, March 1st, 2004 | 4:29 pm PST
well dude i dont know what you are talking about mustangb26 cause i have a 16" and i havent broken a single ball (not counting when i forget my plug) but i have gone through at least 6k of balls witht this and i have gotten not so good accuracy but that is becasuse i have had my velocity low and i have been trying cross field shots but that is all good now i have shot people that had just a little tiny bit of their head and just enough of their guns out to shoot and i have tagged them no problem but to each his own
   

BigBallsJay Sunday, April 18th, 2004 | 1:36 pm PST
Get Better Paint! When I use good paint in this barrel i get no breaks, When I use bad paint I get just as many breaks as any other barrel.
   

buckhunter344 Wednesday, May 19th, 2004 | 8:26 pm PST
i bought this barrels for seventy$ i think it is cheap. U must of got a faulty barrle or something where the rifiling got messed up and chopped the paintballs, or you were using cheap paintballs like brass eagles, afterburners, or i balls. those will bust in my stock barrel for my a-5! For me this barrel didnt add too much range maybe like 30-40ft at max. but i can hit almost anything i shoot at from close to far range. I would recomend u buy marbilizers they work very well and keep good ball speed. I cracked my friends mask from over 100ft away. If you buy new paintballs like marbs or other high brand paintballs and it still chopps bring back the barrel and get a new one. It is worth it. I also have response with a crank on my a-5 so i can shoot faster then 13 shot burst and still dont bust paintballs. I would give this barrle a 9.9, because it doesnt add much range to your shot but very acurate shot, and DOESNT bust paintballs.
   

chimpo55 Saturday, May 29th, 2004 | 3:06 pm PST
I have tried this barrel and it is pretty good i have a spyder xtra an d iwould not give it a low rating. I love it!
   

Phyexial Friday, June 18th, 2004 | 11:12 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by buckhunter344
I cracked my friends mask from over 100ft away.

This has ABSOLUTELY nothing to do with your barrel. You seriously need to turn down your velocity as you are shooting way above the accepted 300fps range.
   

Mehs Thursday, July 8th, 2004 | 12:41 pm PST
If you have so many breaks, don't use crappy paint, go use some rps paint, or about anything with small bore size.
   

Omeg@10 Tuesday, August 24th, 2004 | 12:57 am PST
I can tell you that all your ball breaks are definatll summin to do wiv your paint, wiv my electric trigger i got 10-12 bps in my spider shutter.
THERE AINT NOTHING WRONG WITH IT!!
   

Slimz Thursday, October 14th, 2004 | 8:29 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Phyexial


This has ABSOLUTELY nothing to do with your barrel. You seriously need to turn down your velocity as you are shooting way above the accepted 300fps range.


1. Phyexial: man, what are you smoking? 100ft shots are considerably less than i can shoot with a 12" All Ameican @ 275fps (Chrono'd). Tippmann, for instance, prints on thier website and in the manuals that effective range for a STOCK '98 is 150ft. Don't slam someone else just because you can't do it.

2. Your barrel has less to do with ball breakage than most people think. The vast majority of breaks occur in the chamber before the ball ever enters the barrel. Breaks are ussually caused in one of two ways:
1. The ball has not completely seated, hence it gets pinched by the bolt while it is only halfway into the chamber. (A better hopper will fix this).
2. Turbulance from the bolt, both in the form of uneven gas distribution, and rough edges on the bolt surface or chamber walls itself can puncture the paintball when the bolt moves forward to strike ball. (a better gun will fix this)
Also, SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY AND GET GOOD PAINT! What the author of this review describes sounds exactly like the time I tried using brass weasle (I mean eagle) paint on a tried-and-true system. Every other shot was breaking and I kept adjusting my equipment thinking there was something wrong with my velocity.
   

JJmann Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 | 5:49 pm PST
The barrel uses small bore paint.
Check your paint in the barrel, if you can't see two moons then the balls too big.
Try Diablo Formula-13, not too pricy, run small, and is a mad good paintbrand.
Last edited on Sunday, June 26th, 2005 at 8:35 am PST
   

sniperboy66 Saturday, December 25th, 2004 | 9:00 pm PST
omg its called getting the right paint i have had this barrel and i have shot more than u can imagine and i have yet to have a break.
   

leavemealone496 Sunday, May 29th, 2005 | 10:49 pm PST
I think your problem has to do with one of two things:

1. your velocity is incredibly high
2. you are trying to put an expensive barrel on a cheap gun....

I have an A-5 with a 16" stealth barrel, I also have an e-grip, so I can easily squeeze out 20 BPS and I have NEVER chopped a ball with that barrel. I have chopped more balls with the stock barrel than with this thing. I think you need to seriously consider turning down your velocity all the way down, then shooting it while slowly increasing the velocity knob until a ball breaks. Once you do that, put a dab of whiteout on your velocity knob so you know where to keep it. If that doesn't work, invest in a better gun...
   

JJmann Sunday, June 26th, 2005 | 8:34 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Slimz


1. Phyexial: man, what are you smoking? 100ft shots are considerably less than i can shoot with a 12" All Ameican @ 275fps (Chrono'd). Tippmann, for instance, prints on thier website and in the manuals that effective range for a STOCK '98 is 150ft. Don't slam someone else just because you can't do it.


wow, hes talking about the mask cracking, not just hitting the person in the mask. Anyone can shoot 100 feet but it you break the persons mask then the velocity is too high, and dangerous.
   

Da'dtou-di Sunday, June 26th, 2005 | 10:00 pm PST
Many things are messed up here.

Lengthy barrels will add range, and this is many times because of increased ammounts of porting. more porting on the barrel makes the paintball have a less turbulent exit.

That being said, paint to bore matvh with a stealth is crucial. Dont get cheap paintballs. You will be rewarded with goo.

Keep shooting. Clean your barrel and move on. I found that I had a "break-in" period with the rifling grooves.

The Stealth will work well on spyders, I have one on my FLASH. Been using it for I think 3 years. It's really acurate, and I can use it with any small bore paintball. Just remember that you need to know your barrel, then everything will be right as rain.
   

Jonboy13 Monday, January 2nd, 2006 | 8:26 pm PST
the only time i broke paint insane with mine was when i had to crappy paint and to much dwell on my valve.... after that i was fine.... until i noticed whenever i had any paint on the inside of the barrel anywhere, i break paint, and it gets worse and worse until u turn your gun into a spray can. so at the first sign of bad acuracy, just swab the barrel, and its clear sailing. doesnt take long if you catch it soon.
   

thatsmytaco Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 11:58 pm PST
Wow, alot of you guys got your ideas backwards. Lemme straighten this before anymore onlookers see this and beleive.

Slimz, they are saying that the ball is being put under stress by the rifling, thats wut causing it to break. When i ball breaks in barrel= barrel break, breaks in gun (pinched by bolt as you said) =Chop!!! Not only the hopper might be slow but the timing might be off.

Also buying a more expensive gun will help but is not the problem. Markers are delicate and need to be timed correctly for them to function correctly. Now you might have a cheap bolt or the velocity might be high or timing problems but the marker itself is not the problem. Also, you should always squeegy the barrel when a ball breaks or chops. Shooting after a break will lower the accuracy.

I also dont know how you guyz got this idea but buyin a new barrel will not make it go farther. It has been researched that the ball travels to its maximum velocity within the first 8-10 inches. Any length farther than that will just add accuracy. But if the barrels actually too long, it will detour accuracy because the extra length will slow down the ball giving it unconsistent shots. The matter is velocity. Thats why this guy is shooting way too hot if his marker can break a persons mask.

Porting is for the air in front of the ball to get moved out of the way so it will have a less turbulent exit. Thought, it will not add range. The ball is not in a vacuum. The ball reaches its maximum velocity in the first 10 inches. Porting just makes the barrel more accurate.

Just wanted to get all that off my chest!!!
   

Ace-o-Spades Friday, September 1st, 2006 | 8:59 pm PST
ok heres my scoop on this whole schpeel:
better barrel-to-ball bore match. to test this, put a ball into the barrel, if you can see two crescent moons, youre good. if you see no moon, get smaller bore paint, two bigger-than-crescent moons, get bigger bore paint. *theoretically*, if you have perfect b-2-b bore match, if you do get a break, the gas escaping around the ball following the path of the rifling should clear the paint out.
   

Pandazo Friday, November 10th, 2006 | 6:38 pm PST
ummm.................no
   

Pandazo Friday, November 10th, 2006 | 6:40 pm PST
ummm.................no
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media