paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on brett_winters' Review / Comments on brett_winters' Review / Comments on brett_winters' Review / Comments on brett_winters' Review / Comments on brett_winters' Review

Comments on brett_winters' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

brett_winters Wednesday, July 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder flash, pirana e force, spyder sonix , electra dx all better
Marker Setup: tippmann 98
14" cp
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, responce expansion low pressure kit
Strengths: easily upgradable, decent looking ,good trigger pull
Weaknesses: loud, dependability, range, field strip,
Review: this was my first marker when i started out a few years ago. I read the reviews and trusted it would be a good beginner marker. People talk about its dependability and how great it is. I thought that i would rarely do anything on it but oil it. I was wrong This gun is about as dependable as a brass eagle. when i first got it the elbow was rattling and the gun was leaking co2 out of the bolt and the macro line. i sent it back to them and had them fix everything wrong with it. a little later i bought a spyder flash which i had heard great things about. when i got the tippmann back, it became my backup marker. I let my friends borrow it when we went paintballing. After 2 days of letting them borrow it, the gun began to double fire and then not recock itself. Then the gun began to shoot at the most 15 feet. This is pretty sad that it has broken on me 2 times when i havnt even put 2 cases through it I went home and took it apart i checked everything that could be wrong with it. i oiled it and cleaned it just to make sure. when i called tippmann they just told me to send it in. I would do that but it is like 12 dollars each way to mail it. I asked them what could be wrong they just kept telling me they didnt know and just mail it in. when the gun did work it was loud as hell. also it is a pain to oil and take apart. i think it is a bad valve thats causing this. when the gun worked i would give it an 8 but that was rare.
Conclusion: i dont think this is a marker for anyone who wants to spend their time fixing the marker instead of playing. Maybe i just got a defect, but im not sure. I cannot even use this gun as a backup i am giving it a 3 which i think it deserves in my case
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004 at 1:56 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
UrbanRanger04 Wednesday, July 23rd, 2003 | 12:25 pm PST
you must not know how to work a gun. ive used alot of different guns and i own a 98 and if you think its hard to take apart then you must really not know what you are doing. yes it has alot of pieces but its easy to put them in their places. dont thrash a gun unless you know how to use it b/c ive had mine for 2 years and ive never had a problem
Last edited on Wednesday, July 23rd, 2003 at 12:40 pm PST
   

pimpdragon75 Sunday, December 21st, 2003 | 10:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by UrbanRanger04
you must not know how to work a gun. ive used alot of different guns and i own a 98 and if you think its hard to take apart then you must really not know what you are doing. yes it has alot of pieces but its easy to put them in their places. dont thrash a gun unless you know how to use it b/c ive had mine for 2 years and ive never had a problem

First of all, dont call a marker a "gun" thats the kind of thing that gets paintball banned. ANd when he said hard, he probably meant that it takes a long time to get out all 7 screws. DO yourself a favor and stop talking.
   

tippmanman Friday, January 9th, 2004 | 7:26 am PST
a stock tippmann with macroline??????????
   

pimpdragon75 Tuesday, February 24th, 2004 | 1:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by tippmanman
a stock tippmann with macroline??????????

It would still be considered stock with a macro. Since the macro is not really an upgrade.
   

TIPPY NIKY 98C Thursday, March 18th, 2004 | 11:08 pm PST
PLEASe learn how to play
   

sk8punk24 Thursday, June 10th, 2004 | 9:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pimpdragon75


It would still be considered stock with a macro. Since the macro is not really an upgrade.


its true that macro isnt an upgrade, but he said he got it from the factory,and no tippy comes from the factory with macro
   

sk8punk24 Thursday, June 10th, 2004 | 9:46 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pimpdragon75


First of all, dont call a marker a "gun" thats the kind of thing that gets paintball banned. ANd when he said hard, he probably meant that it takes a long time to get out all 7 screws. DO yourself a favor and stop talking.


Dude, calm the hell down, why does it matter if we call a marker a gun, it is a gun, it fires projectiles. Right? Yeah it does. And it is kind of hard to take apart, well harder than other markers.
   

Bassimastprime Monday, June 28th, 2004 | 8:40 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by UrbanRanger04
you must not know how to work a gun. ive used alot of different guns and i own a 98 and if you think its hard to take apart then you must really not know what you are doing. yes it has alot of pieces but its easy to put them in their places. dont thrash a gun unless you know how to use it b/c ive had mine for 2 years and ive never had a problem

Exactly, I hate when people mess up their stuffand then think its the markers fault. I've had mine for three years and only had one problem in my first year, after it got fixed its been shooting fine.
   

woodsballrocks Sunday, July 11th, 2004 | 2:04 pm PST
i gibe this guy credit because he didnt go after Tippmann and said tippy's stink and stuff like that. If you read his conclusion it states that he could of gotten a defect. Thats being honest. Nice review
   

TXtippmann Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 | 7:41 pm PST
No company will make as many guns as Tippmann and never have any problems. All you had to do was send it in, and they would have fixed it. But I guess you have to be smart enough to use a gun ( Oh No! I called it a gun! pimpdragon will have to scold me) so sending it in would be a difficult task for such a moron.
   

cmcan22 Thursday, August 19th, 2004 | 5:02 pm PST
haha funny story sbout stripping and cleaning. i was at my friends house b/c he asked me to clean his custom b/c i had an a5 and i could strip and clean mine in 5 minutes. well any way i was taking it apart and the spring shot out the back onto his bright rug. yeah that was pretty much lost. well it was my fault anyway so he jsut brought it to the field and paid like 2 bucks for it to be good as new. so the moral is dont take a gun apart unless u know what ur doing 100 %. i knew mine but not his.
   

Erik_Tilton Tuesday, August 31st, 2004 | 10:21 pm PST
Sorry you had a bad experience with the 98 Custom.

Paintball GUN --- Paintball GUN --- Paintball GUN :)

I shot my brother with a gun. An AIR GUN. With paint BULLETS.
   

IMADORK Tuesday, September 7th, 2004 | 9:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Erik_Tilton
Sorry you had a bad experience with the 98 Custom.

Paintball GUN --- Paintball GUN --- Paintball GUN :)

I shot my brother with a gun. An AIR GUN. With paint BULLETS.


HAHA! I heart this kid!
   

E-Victor Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 | 5:30 pm PST
I think its funny how if u rate a tippy bad a bunch of people all rush defend it....the gun is really not that good...they are durable, but they are just a average performing gun thats why they are only like 130 buckes...and ive seen plenty of tippmanns break down, ive seen a few friends have break downs and a TON of rentals at the arena...by the way...i really think this gun is ugly..i just had to say that..good review.. oh..by the way..pimpdragon...paintball GUN
Last edited on Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 at 5:33 pm PST
   

TXtippmann Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004 | 2:04 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by E-Victor
I think its funny how if u rate a tippy bad a bunch of people all rush defend it....the gun is really not that good...they are durable, but they are just a average performing gun thats why they are only like 130 buckes...and ive seen plenty of tippmanns break down, ive seen a few friends have break downs and a TON of rentals at the arena...by the way...i really think this gun is ugly..i just had to say that..good review.. oh..by the way..pimpdragon...paintball GUN
I think it's funny how you misspelled bucks here and on your review. That proves that it is not a typo, and you are just an idiot. If you don't know how to spell something as simple as that, why would you have the intelligence to know what a good gun is. They are only 130 bucks so you can afford the gun in the first place and then upgrade it how you want to. Gee, what a novel idea. I wonder how they came up with the name custom? It might have something to do with letting you put what you want on it instead of Spyder's idea of crappy upgrades already on the gun that will only have to be replaced. Let's see, an average performing gun, above average durability, and below average price. That sounds like a heck of a deal to me. Also, quit using a bunch of periods between all of your thoughts................................. That is annoying, pointless, and grammatically incorrect, moron. By the way, nobody cares if you think it is ugly. That is entirely subjective and has nothing to do with the gun's performance. What do looks have to do with putting paint on your opponent? You did do one thing right, however. You made fun of pimpdragon. I guess if I was to rate your comment on a scale of one to ten, you would get a two instead of a one just for that.
Last edited on Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004 at 2:05 pm PST
   

IMADORK Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004 | 4:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by E-Victor
i really think this gun is ugly..i just had to say that

Well we think you are ugly too, but that's besides the point. And if Tippmanns sucks so much as you believe then why did Team Tippmann demolish the World Team at the TWC VI this weekend by a score of like 18,538 to 16,249? That's just sad! You're just sad!
   

IMADORK Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004 | 6:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by E-Victor
i a worthless peice of sh!t

Looks like you just called yourself a worthless piece of dog poo (to be PG friendly). Hey you said it, not me!
   

E-Victor Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004 | 6:31 pm PST
typo...........
   

IMADORK Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004 | 6:50 pm PST
More like

stupid...........
   

E-Victor Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 | 2:34 pm PST
well...the tippmann is just a newb gun, thats what it comes down to. The only thing i like about them is that they are durable. Thats what i think of it and im gonna keep thinking that, reguardless of what you two have to say..
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media