paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on KnuckleBoom's Review / Comments on KnuckleBoom's Review / Comments on KnuckleBoom's Review / Comments on KnuckleBoom's Review / Comments on KnuckleBoom's Review

Comments on KnuckleBoom's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

KnuckleBoom Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months68 of 74 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreme, PT Enforcer - The Delta 68 is a vast improvement, but still needs work.
Marker Setup: 2 - Customized Tippman A-5's
1- Customized Spyder AMG LCD
2 - PT Extremes
1- Delta 68
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: Solid construction
45 frame w sticky grips
Easy field stripping
Killer Looks!
Weaknesses: It's Really Big - doesn't fit well in my PT Extreme Holster
Valve issues
Review: When I first found this pistol I was really excited to get my hands on it. I have 2 PT Extremes and was getting pretty tired of dealing with them. Out of the box the gun worked great, for a while. After 20 or so cartridges it began to leak through the valve, (just like it's predecessors). After replacing all the o-rings (that show no wear) I would get 1 or 2 cartridges before it would fail again. After much tinkering I found that the Spring that controls the vale opening (when the bolt stikes it) looses it's strength. So I stretched it a bit, worked for a while but again the failure returned. So I found a replacement at a local hardware store that was slightly longer and had a little more tension and that seems to have done the trick. Another cool thing is that the spring kit for my Spyder works great for the striker so I am able to get the pistol up to the 300fps range (it was only shooting 235 with maxed out factory settings). CO2 usage has stayed about the same about 25 shots per 12 gram cartridge, not great, but it's not meant to be your primary weapon. The new cup seal is better, bet be sure to keep the o-ring lubed, replacing it isn't something you want to do ofter, plus that size o-ring seems to be hard to find (at least around here). Other than that I'm super happy with it. As long as it works, it's an awesome pistol, very accurate & consistent. Large bore, milled barrel lets you shoot just about any paint without ball-break problems and cleans well.
Conclusion: This is a great improvement on the PT Extreme, but don't expect it to be perfect out of the box (although I have a very low serial number - under 550, you may have better luck)
When it works it kicks butt and has a well balanced feel. When moded right you can hit anything you primary gun could hit, it's good for shock value on the field to peg someone with a pistol at a distance :-P And for what it's worth, I'm buying a second Delta 68 to replace my other PT Extreme...
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Porby Thursday, October 9th, 2003 | 7:22 pm PST
Use of commas and periods will get you farther in life buddy.
Backup weapons are made for backup, not for primary use, as the name states. When your primary is out of ammo and you don't have time to pull out your reload tube you reach for your secondary to keep your opponents from just running up to you. The pistols reload ten times faster than your primary unless of course you use speed pods. Besides the fact that they are fun to use, pistols can also be shot from the most unusual positions, and one handed firing is sometimes needed.
   

sonnemann Tuesday, October 14th, 2003 | 3:21 pm PST
plus sidearms are fun for scenario or backyard games, or when you're playing against rental players that don't have tricked out guns. Hey knuckleboom, would you be willing to sell one of your pt extremes? I like to tinker...
   

KnuckleBoom Tuesday, October 14th, 2003 | 3:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sonnemann
plus sidearms are fun for scenario or backyard games, or when you're playing against rental players that don't have tricked out guns. Hey knuckleboom, would you be willing to sell one of your pt extremes? I like to tinker...

Sorry, they're already gone.
   

red111sniper Sunday, November 23rd, 2003 | 6:00 pm PST
im just wondering cuz i cant find this anywhere nothing directly states it. is the delta 68 semi auto? that will save me a lotta time lol
   

sonnemann Tuesday, November 25th, 2003 | 12:12 pm PST
yeah it is
   

red111sniper Tuesday, November 25th, 2003 | 1:02 pm PST
thx
   

bradkoll09 Thursday, June 24th, 2004 | 5:06 pm PST
If anyone is out there should i buy the delta 68 the sheridan pgp or a pt extreme?
   

PiranhaGuy Monday, August 23rd, 2004 | 11:02 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by RichieCzop
yo man no offense but why do u buy back up guns theyre a waste cause look u got 12 balls i sure aint gonna wait and let u shoot me theyre a waste of money and if u got paint for the backup put it in the primary weapon cause it will get u farther

I had someone say the same thing to me when my CO2 ran out and I had to use a sling shot. I eliminated him the next game.
   

gdog5 Friday, September 3rd, 2004 | 7:33 pm PST
just to say 25 shots off a 12 gram is not bad at all. When i used 12grams on my zues i was lucky to get 17. I get more like 25 on my pgp. Semi's tend to be more air hogs. So if you truly got 25 on your delta thats awesome.
Last edited on Friday, September 3rd, 2004 at 7:35 pm PST
   

aguywithaspork Monday, November 1st, 2004 | 7:29 pm PST
I play hard-core woodsball and scenario games with my team. When i get this gun im going to use it for assassinations...................
   

Malichi Friday, November 26th, 2004 | 10:48 pm PST
goin in like tomb raider with double handguns?
   

pbcornholio Sunday, December 12th, 2004 | 9:04 pm PST
i have one but its so crappy can u guys give me some suggestions it leaks like crazy and i only get like 3 shots a 12 gram thx
   

tipp98delta68 Monday, December 27th, 2004 | 2:17 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pbcornholio
i have one but its so crappy can u guys give me some suggestions it leaks like crazy and i only get like 3 shots a 12 gram thx

Ya, sure man. Did it leak directly out of the box? cuz mine did. Me and my stepdad played with it and found that that flat piece that pushes the butt of the cartridge in is also a screw, so just turn that so it comes out farther. This will make a smaller space for the cartridge to fit in so it punctures with no leaks. The only set back is that the clamp is harder to open and close.
   

pbcornholio Friday, January 7th, 2005 | 7:53 pm PST
thx
   

UNGER Saturday, February 5th, 2005 | 6:21 pm PST
A company called Ariakon just released the OVERLORD, it really looks like a sci-fi milled Delta. I would really appreciate it if someone who owns a Delta could give me an opinion on this. Is it IS or is it AINT a Delta? Here is the link to scroll down and view it.

http://forum.ariakon.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=3015&get=la
st
Last edited on Sunday, February 6th, 2005 at 1:34 am PST
   

diidrik Sunday, August 7th, 2005 | 9:53 pm PST
hey, i was wondering if anyone could answer all my questions about the delta 68...

- when you point it down, does the paintball roll out?
- how accurate is it?
- what is its exact length and height?
- does it compare to the zeus g1? (does the zeus stomp it into the ground?)
- whats it made of completely? (as in the body, internals etc.)
- what is that little gauge thing on the handle grip?

also can someone give me some pictures of it from better angles than just front view? thats the only one you ever see... one more thing, can someone give me some instructions to fix all the major problems from out of the box? ive never taken apart a paintball gun and im kind of a newbie with parts, can you make it simple for me?

for whoever read this, and especially whoever answered me, THANK YOU!

- diidrik
   

TheMedievalMan Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 | 12:10 pm PST
1. The Delta has a ball stop to prevent the ball from rolling out of the barrel.
2. Ive tested it and its fairly accurate for a pistol. Just imagine a Spyder firing around 250 fps with a stock eight inch barrel.
3. The Delta measures approximately around 12-13 inches long, and around 8 inches from top to bottom, this is including both clip and handle. I would suggest you find out which holsters can fit it good because sometimes they are difficult to find the right sized holster.
4. The Zeus is far more upgradable, but more expensive. Plus Zeus's are known to not give good shot to gas ratio. I hear some of them as bad as around 10-15 shots a 12gram. The Delta is cheaper (right now actionvillage.com is selling black Deltas for $64.99) but needs to be adjusted out of the box maybe. A Spyder spring kit can help with the low fps and maybe leak problems. Both Zeus and Deltas are known to leak.
5. It is made mostly of metal with only a few plastic parts. I say around 80-90% is metal. And much of that metal is aluminum, including the bolt.
6. The "little gauge thing" is not a gauge, it is just a brand name label glued to the handle grip.

As for the pictures, go to actionvillage.com and they have pictures of the Delta from five different angles. Hoped this helped!

-TheMedievalMan
   

Psycho_warden Sunday, January 15th, 2006 | 10:57 pm PST
If your first sucked so bad, why did you buy a second, and then third?
   

ccanni1028 Tuesday, January 17th, 2006 | 6:49 pm PST
I got this gun used from someone and it worked great at first, but while playing I lost two pins in the gun. They are the ones circled in red on http://img61.imageshack.us/my.php?image=delta680qa.jpg . Since they fell out, the gun won't stay cocked and won't fire. Does anyone know where I can get replacements and how to replace them? It looks like the inside of the trigger mechanism is covering the holes now and I don't know how to disassemble it.
   

KIngman-Boy Wednesday, October 18th, 2006 | 6:25 pm PST
Would the delta be worth buying? And how much is it today?
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media