paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Raines8416's Review / Comments on Raines8416's Review / Comments on Raines8416's Review / Comments on Raines8416's Review

Comments on Raines8416's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Raines8416 Monday, August 4th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 60 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Barrels, Boomys, Freaks, Pipes, tons more.
Marker Setup: Free Flow Cocker w/ Eblade + Pipe
Recommended
Paintballs:
Higher End Paint. ex) Marbs, El Tigre, All Star, Evil, Premium
Strengths: Weight.
Weaknesses: Color, Durability.
Review: When I bought my gun the seller gave me one of these barrels since he had no use for it anymore. I already had a couple boomsticks so I just set it aside and it never got used for quite some time. When I was playing one day I decided to try it out since it just sits in my gearbag never getting use. I remebered all the great reviews about how it rarely breas paint, and when it does it shoots through them so easy. Right off the break I start shooting and the first shot goes pretty good and the next shot break. So I get to my bunker and shoot it a couple times to "Self clean" it, and the first couple shots come out but the barrel is far from clean. The third breaks once again so I said screw it, and pulled out my straight shot. I continue with the game and probably not even 100 shots later another break. So I go through the whole previous proccess again. After that I play some more finnally get through most of the game without a problem but near the end of the game it happens again. I got so frustrated I just walked off the field. (I was using El Tigre this day too, so it wasnt a paint specific problem). I threw the barrel back in the gearbag only to take it back out later to trade to some kid for his CP barrel, which I tested the game after and it shot great with no problems.
Conclusion: The barrel is OK if you just have good luck with it I guess. The color sucks though, doesnt match anything, and its the ONLY color. Not too durable, I nicked mine up just from hyperball tubes. This is the only product I have ever hated. (I even told the kid whose CP I traded for that it sucked and I hated it).

Sure its a cheap barrel, but if your on a budget deffinatly get a CP barrel. CPs are surprisingly strong, and shoot awesome for a $25 barrel. Not to mention just look 10x better.

I give it 3 since its a unique concept, and its not super expensive. Although I would deffinatly not reccomend it!
Rating:
3 out of 10
 

Review Comments
doyoung2win Friday, December 19th, 2003 | 8:57 pm PST
u should do some research before judging things
there is a black color as well. not just one color
and because it is an already used barrel
you cant really tell the tru performance of the barrel
plus the fact u hid it for 5 million years
   

PBChamp Sunday, March 21st, 2004 | 4:28 pm PST
Also, you should have made sure that the paint that you were using matched the bore. Its not the barrels fault that you screwed up. I bet if you were using Hellfire (small bore) you would have given it a 10.
   

redquailneo Tuesday, June 15th, 2004 | 7:01 am PST
Quote:
"Also, you should have made sure that the paint that you were using matched the bore." -PBChamp

i agree, but it does sometimes have a little trouble cleaning itself out well.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 15th, 2004 at 7:01 am PST
   

paintballer8807 Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 | 7:35 pm PST
i have been having problems with my j&j to. it kind of goes down at a high ROF. i haven't been using the best paint but once you get over 5 bps or so it kind of turns to crap and it does not shoot threw the brakes. good at a low ROF though.
   

Maleficus Friday, November 19th, 2004 | 8:41 am PST
I have a ceramic for my mag and I've never had a problem and I don't' know how old it is because i bought it used, but on the inside it looks great no scratches on the outside there's some minor dings but its used, its always worked great and the only reason i've ever broke paint was because my gun was low on air and got a ball lodged on the barrel and shot again or at a scenario game the balls were horrible and resembled squares. so maybe its your gun or your using crap paint.
   

TXtippmann Sunday, November 21st, 2004 | 12:23 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintballer8807
i have been having problems with my j&j to. it kind of goes down at a high ROF. i haven't been using the best paint but once you get over 5 bps or so it kind of turns to crap and it does not shoot threw the brakes. good at a low ROF though.
That would be your gun, not the barrel. Your gun apparently can't handle the high rate of fire, and is losing some velocity in the process.
   

chugalug Thursday, December 30th, 2004 | 7:15 am PST
You are just plain retarded. 1: If the paint broke it's probably because you had your gun to high. Barrels don't break paint, retards do. 2: If it didn't self-clean than that means you were using old paint that went bad! Don't blame the barrel because you can't use paint fast enough.
Last edited on Monday, January 10th, 2005 at 11:56 am PST
   

Phathed Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 | 11:05 am PST
He must stock pile the stuff in a warehouse somewhere.
Buy smaller quanities of paint.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 at 11:05 am PST
   

the pickle Saturday, April 23rd, 2005 | 12:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TXtippmann

That would be your gun, not the barrel. Your gun apparently can't handle the high rate of fire, and is losing some velocity in the process.

yah, ROF is all gun and internals. bolt, hammer, trigger, air system. has nothing to do with barrel. learn the basics then comment. good lookin' out TXtippmann.
   

~DaFlip~ Saturday, October 29th, 2005 | 7:56 pm PST
J&J hater you know its way better then a expension POS dye boomstick. your not a 3 year player on paintball, sounds like you just started you prick. you dont know any basics, lets see i wonder what else makes your balls break. YOUR GUN!!, maybe if you buy a better more reliable gun, you will see if the j&j is an awesome barrel. quit paintball, you know nothing of it and i bet your those little annoying non balls dropping kids that sit at the very back bunker and shoot at there own teammates
   

noahvc Friday, November 25th, 2005 | 6:28 pm PST
You need to take better care of your equipment before you start complaining. I'm pretty new to paintball, and have put maybe 8- 10,000 shots ( through this barrel. So far, I have not had ONE ball break on me. I buy the cheap stuff too, like Brass Eagle and Scorch from WalMart. It could be because I shoot slow and make my shots count, but even then, not a single break. Also, color / durability? What color does black not match (are you even reviewing the right barrel?) ? If you take care of your crap, durability shouldn't be a problem.
   

mark98custom Sunday, January 8th, 2006 | 7:16 pm PST
Are you reviewing the wrong barrel? do you have it on like sideways or something? Was there a stick shoved in the barrel the whole time? Maybe you should take your gun to a shop to get it *cough*sold *cough**cough* thrown away*cough* i mean excuse me, looked at and cleaned. i have used mine alot and guess what when i got back home there was not one speck of dirt in it and just to be sure i ran a squeegee through it and guess what, That just made it less clean. oh and guess what i had no paint to barrel match cause i never checked it. oh and were you using old paint? Were you just pouring painting paint in your hopper and shooting it? were you freezing your paintballs? were you using your own genital type balls? i dont know what the problem was but it wasn't the barrel.
   

cabrown Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 9:51 am PST
awww.... is the barell not pretty enough for you???
   

silentbob831 Sunday, March 19th, 2006 | 7:23 pm PST
My team captain has a J&J Ceramic barrel on his Victor I and I've never seen him break a ball. Then again, he doesn't have to shoot at a high ROF anyway, nobody should need to. By the way, PMI Premiums worked excellent with this barrel, see my review on the J&J Ceramic. Also, for pics of my team's guns, including the Victor with 14" J&J Ceramic, view our website at www.texassoldiers.tk. Turn pop-up blocker off to view it, and thanks to anyone who does! Sign the guestbook :D
   

paintball913 Sunday, April 30th, 2006 | 7:00 pm PST
you NEED to dry fire it to clean it du-du-du
   

Craig Niland Saturday, November 10th, 2007 | 6:02 pm PST
As a fellow 'Cocker owner I'd like to say I'm willing to bet it's not the barrel. I own a 5 piece Scepter kit, one of the highest rated kits on pbreview. Whenever paint bore permits, I shoot my J&J INSTEAD of my Scepter because I like it that much. Anytime I have problems with barrel breaks, it's usually because the LPR is to low or the COFF on my E1 isn't high enough for upper rates of fire.
The more barrels you use, the more you realize one isn't a whole lot different than another, and it's not the barrels fault for breaks. Think about it, if it can shoot the majority of balls without breaks, obviously there isn't anything wrong with it; but each ball IS indeed different, and chances are out of 2,000 some of them WILL have something wrong with it. J&J is a great barrel; it's quiet, accurate, very light and strong, and looks good IMO. No way it deserves a crappy score.
   

paintballinfrea Sunday, January 4th, 2009 | 6:43 am PST
Dispute:
You probally used the incorrect barrle for your gun. There are different sizes for different guns. Mine works great. But get the right J&J and your good.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media