paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Streaks' Review / Comments on Streaks' Review / Comments on Streaks' Review / Comments on Streaks' Review / Comments on Streaks' Review

Comments on Streaks' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Streaks Saturday, August 9th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP reg, AKA Sidewinder, Palmer Stabilizer (male and female), etc..
Marker Setup: Shutter
Lapco Stainless Autospirit
Spudnukle bolt
Madman Rocket Valve
Madman spring kit
Sprint frame
Check-it 15° ASA
Shocktech drop
CP on/off
Palmer Stabilizer
12v revy
Strengths: It's easy to adjust
Very compact if that's what your looking for
consistant
Weaknesses: Seems to not get along well with Co2!
ours is freezing!
Review: I had problems initially with this due to the fact that (as many pointed out, and thank you for your help), I was running a remote with an antisiphon installed on the tank (DOH). But, after finding this out, I quickly went to JUST the remote and the reg did a lot better. However it still has issues with Co2 under rapid fire.

When I put an HPA bottle on it works just fine. So if you plan on running HPA then this is a very good reg. I've read in a few places that they use MacDev's design or are contracted through them somehow....probably just scuttlebutt. But this one is very consistant when using HPA.
Conclusion: So, if your planning to run HPA or Nitro I'd say to pick this one up. It is very easy to adjust and seems to be constructed very well to boot. I'd say to look at a Bob Long Torpedo reg if you are on Co2 as I've heard they handle it well or even better, a Palmer Stabilizer which is the best I've found so far for C02. I've heard rumors that it's made on MacDev's tools but don't quote me as it's just rumor *cough*Pevs*cough* ; ) I would reccomend this product to those using HPA.

Though, I have seen that the longer units sport some kind of oddball thread situation on their bottom port. I'm getting one soon (direct trade for this short one), so I guess I'll find out what that's all about soon enough.





Streaks
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 26th, 2004 at 6:47 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
akaAssasyn Sunday, August 17th, 2003 | 11:07 am PST
i don't think your suppose to use a remote and anti siphon together
   

Streaks Sunday, August 17th, 2003 | 3:08 pm PST
Why? The remote is after the anti-siphon so it won't impact the bottle's performance in any way. The remote gives added surface area for any liquid Co2 to use for expansion (heat transfer).

What have you heard about pairing the two? And if your not supposed to use those two together, wouldn't it stand to reason you shouldn't combine the anti-siphon with other things?





Streaks
   

PersianImmortal Saturday, August 23rd, 2003 | 6:29 am PST
never ever use a remote and anti siphon together! it makes it suck up only liquid! that why the regulator didnt work!
   

Streaks Saturday, August 23rd, 2003 | 8:07 am PST
But, it still freezes up even having gone back to just the drop forward.

And nobody has yet to explain WHY a remote would draw more liquid from an antisiphon tank vs a normal one!


Streaks
   

reneirwolf878 Saturday, August 23rd, 2003 | 8:16 am PST
An antisiphon tube is a tube that goes straight down the the bottem of the tank and then points up. IF you are using it w/ a remote guess where all the liquid is? The bottem. Either get rid of the tube of get a bottemline kit. Here's a picture that might really help. http://members.cox.net/tranman87/tube.JPG
Last edited on Saturday, August 23rd, 2003 at 8:46 am PST
   

Streaks Saturday, August 23rd, 2003 | 8:54 am PST
Alright, then why does it still freeze up now that I've been using the stock drop forward on the shutter? And wouldn't an ASA or drop forward with a few degrees of angle, then negate the tube anyway?


Streaks
Last edited on Saturday, August 23rd, 2003 at 9:20 am PST
   

Caleb98 Sunday, August 24th, 2003 | 8:59 am PST
ok if you have an anti-siphon tank a you use a remote...that makes it siphon...why???
I dunno but it does...
   

Streaks Sunday, August 24th, 2003 | 9:58 am PST
arg, I'm confused! : )

Streaks
   

james11 Friday, August 29th, 2003 | 9:40 am PST
Its because you are using co2 with the reg. most regs cannot run with co2. get nitro and it will work much better.
   

g234 Thursday, September 11th, 2003 | 8:07 pm PST
Guys the antisiphon thing is pretty simple. It is simply a tube with a hook or holes on one side. It is for use on horizontal bottles and has to be set up to your particular drop forward or bottom line. With your tank fully screwed in the opening of the tube is orientated upwards when the gun and tank are in the horizontal(aiming) position. Thus when you are aiming your marker the liquid CO2 settles to the bottom half of the tank and the anti siphon pulls gas from the top of the tank. Using a vertical bottle will put the siphon tube right into the liquid C02. Turning your gun upside down will also do the same.

If you are using the bottom line get the tube set up to it by an air smith and that should be fine. With the remote take the tube out. When you tried the bottom line the tube may not have been set right thus instead of sucking in primarily gas you will suck up all liquid.


   

mujothebard Thursday, October 2nd, 2003 | 4:36 pm PST
Where can I buy a CP reg?!? I really want one, please help

You can email me at mduncan7@comcast.net
   

Marius423 Monday, October 6th, 2003 | 10:36 pm PST
HAHAH anti-siphon and a remote!
   

sonnemann Sunday, November 16th, 2003 | 11:47 am PST
(smack)
yah man anti-siphon = remote=coldness
   

automagman Monday, November 17th, 2003 | 8:39 pm PST
Heres a better example. Know how they fill ur co2 tank? basically a remote and a big dip tube i think its called. It is the same as an anti syphon but its a lot bigger. K they fill ur tank with liquid right? SO if an anti syphon and a remote are the same as a fill station then ur filling ur gun with liquid like a fill station fills tanks.
   

Mr. Imagine Thursday, November 20th, 2003 | 2:02 pm PST
yah ur anti siphon prolly isnt set up for that drop. go to a shop and get it set right.
   

isuck2 Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003 | 5:11 pm PST
antisiphon only works in the right position
   

Streaks Sunday, December 21st, 2003 | 6:12 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by g234
Guys the antisiphon thing is pretty simple. It is simply a tube with a hook or holes on one side. It is for use on horizontal bottles and has to be set up to your particular drop forward or bottom line. With your tank fully screwed in the opening of the tube is orientated upwards when the gun and tank are in the horizontal(aiming) position. Thus when you are aiming your marker the liquid CO2 settles to the bottom half of the tank and the anti siphon pulls gas from the top of the tank. Using a vertical bottle will put the siphon tube right into the liquid C02. Turning your gun upside down will also do the same.

If you are using the bottom line get the tube set up to it by an air smith and that should be fine. With the remote take the tube out. When you tried the bottom line the tube may not have been set right thus instead of sucking in primarily gas you will suck up all liquid.




Thank you, I suspected this was the case but nobody seemed to explain it well enough. I've never bothered with the tubes before to be honest, despite having played sense '85. Of course the one time I actually try it something is screwy!

:D
   

iEl-Ricx! Sunday, February 8th, 2004 | 11:00 am PST
heres the explination for the freezing. liquid co2 is really cold and there are few regs out there that actually help move co2 from the liquid to gas state. my guess would be that the reg frosted up bc of all the mositure in the atmospere.

the propultion from a co2 source comes from it's gass state when it expands from the liquid state. so if a bottle with an anti-siphon tube is placed right side up (like for remote purpose) the gas is at the top of the tank forcing the liquid down and out throught the tube.

in short, if u plan on stying on co2 expansion chambers work fine. u'll probably want to get a 6 stage one. there are plenty out there that will match ur wifes gun. however if u do plan on bumping up to the tourney level u wanna get a hp tank first bc spyder operatet at a pressure that is close to or equal to the output of high-output preset tanks. get the tank and then worry about the reg.
Last edited on Sunday, February 8th, 2004 at 10:45 pm PST
   

scorpionp8ntbal Sunday, February 8th, 2004 | 4:49 pm PST
Ok i dont know if this has been said yet as it didnt seem that everyone else here knew what was going on. So here you go this should solve your problems.

As for the freezing reg, never use anti siphon with a remote unless the botle is laid horizontally and you know that the anti siphon tube is pointing up. If you are unsure, DONT DO IT. imagine a 2 liter of pop laying on its side. Theres an air bubble that forms around the topside of the bottle. Anti siphon tubes are installed in the inside of the tank, attached to the botle valve. Now imagine a straw on the inside of the pop bottle, attached to the valve at one end, and the other end curving up so it is in the air bubble. Thats how anti siphon works... only if the bottle is on the side and only if the straw is pointing up... otherwise your sucking liquid directly into the gun.

to chech and see how yours is set, put an on off on the botle. lay it on its side and turn it on enough to get frost blowing out the airway. roll it along the tabl until the frost turns clear so u cant hardly see it (and it looks more like a gas than snow)... until you find the point that the clearest gas comes out. mark that point as up and screw the tank into your gun, making sure to screw it in as far as you can with that mark pointing up.

As for using the remote, get a non anti siphon tank and it will fix that problem.

Last, if you still dont understand, go see your local shop and have him explain how the tube works. they should also be able to set the tube to your gun.

Hope that helps. The CP reg isnt the culprit... and humididty rearely affects anything in PB besides the paint itself, causing it to swell.
   

Streaks Tuesday, February 10th, 2004 | 4:57 am PST
Ok, so I get the antisyphon+remote thing now. And scorpion's post answered another question I'd had. Because it still freezes even when I mount the bottle right to the marker. So I have to assume that the tube is misplaced or something. Though I had thought that perhaps the angle the bottle is at, due to the Shutter's stock drop forward, might be flooding the tube as well.


Thanks again for the replies! :)
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media