paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Streaks' Review / Comments on Streaks' Review / Comments on Streaks' Review / Comments on Streaks' Review / Comments on Streaks' Review

Comments on Streaks' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Streaks Saturday, August 9th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP reg, AKA Sidewinder, Palmer Stabilizer (male and female), etc..
Marker Setup: Shutter
Lapco Stainless Autospirit
Spudnukle bolt
Madman Rocket Valve
Madman spring kit
Sprint frame
Check-it 15° ASA
Shocktech drop
CP on/off
Palmer Stabilizer
12v revy
Strengths: It's easy to adjust
Very compact if that's what your looking for
consistant
Weaknesses: Seems to not get along well with Co2!
ours is freezing!
Review: I had problems initially with this due to the fact that (as many pointed out, and thank you for your help), I was running a remote with an antisiphon installed on the tank (DOH). But, after finding this out, I quickly went to JUST the remote and the reg did a lot better. However it still has issues with Co2 under rapid fire.

When I put an HPA bottle on it works just fine. So if you plan on running HPA then this is a very good reg. I've read in a few places that they use MacDev's design or are contracted through them somehow....probably just scuttlebutt. But this one is very consistant when using HPA.
Conclusion: So, if your planning to run HPA or Nitro I'd say to pick this one up. It is very easy to adjust and seems to be constructed very well to boot. I'd say to look at a Bob Long Torpedo reg if you are on Co2 as I've heard they handle it well or even better, a Palmer Stabilizer which is the best I've found so far for C02. I've heard rumors that it's made on MacDev's tools but don't quote me as it's just rumor *cough*Pevs*cough* ; ) I would reccomend this product to those using HPA.

Though, I have seen that the longer units sport some kind of oddball thread situation on their bottom port. I'm getting one soon (direct trade for this short one), so I guess I'll find out what that's all about soon enough.





Streaks
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 26th, 2004 at 6:47 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
ratimpy04 Tuesday, May 25th, 2004 | 11:42 pm PST
stop complaning dont say that the review was bad just because he didnt like the regulator.
   

Streaks Wednesday, May 26th, 2004 | 4:21 am PST
Ya, what he said :D Thanks ratimpy04


Besides, even with NO syphon tube, and on a coiled remote, on a HOT day IT STILL FREEZES ON Co2!!!


sssoooo....my opinion still stands, it's good....but use HPA only.
   

Cr33pY Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 | 4:43 pm PST
The guy that said he uses a remote and antisiphon is an idiot. An antisiphon is a tube that comes off your valve and up slightly so you dont get liquid going into your vave and going to the gun. When you hold the tank vertically what happens? Liquid flows to the bottom and starts to raise up. Then that antisiphon acts as a straw and picks up liquid. No wonder it didnt work :.
   

Streaks Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 | 6:54 pm PST
Heh, dude welcome to the party, it's old news by now :) I'm currently using a non-antisiphon tank screwed into a Palmer's female Stabilizer feeding into a Sidewinder :)
   

jmstech Saturday, July 10th, 2004 | 4:45 pm PST
The real problem is CO2. A couple things you should never use with just CO2; Inline or bottomline regulators without expansions chambers. Macro line (I always laugh when 20 oz of CO2 blow out). I wish people would realize the limitations of CO2 before their guns or themselves are broken. HPA is the way to go.
   

Streaks Sunday, July 11th, 2004 | 6:19 pm PST
Funny, seeing as Co2 was the industry standard for years and years and years before HPA hit the market. If you see any blow-outs it isn't the fault of the Co2, it's the stupid users, I've used macroline on Co2 for years and it works fine. Blowouts are a result of idiots not knowing how to properly install the line into the fittings. If it's good enough for Doc Nickle and Glen Palmer, then it's good enough for me. :)




Edited
Last edited on Friday, October 1st, 2004 at 6:24 am PST
   

t-man91 Thursday, September 30th, 2004 | 5:46 pm PST
ur not suppose to use co2 with cp regs the seals get screwed up and its inconsistant
   

Streaks Friday, October 1st, 2004 | 6:25 am PST
Well I know that now :)

S'ok, I traded it for a blue, standard length one (didn't know they had that retarded, macro only connection that's way up in side), which is now on my wife's '03 autococker and using HPA :)
   

Roosevelt Monday, November 1st, 2004 | 6:04 pm PST
I think this whole idea of using CO2 in an awesome reg. is dumb......
   

Streaks Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004 | 5:53 am PST
Ah, then THIS> http://mysite.verizon.net/streaks/pics/autococker_Co2_new.jp
g must really fry your eggs. :D

And the CP reg is now on HPA.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004 at 5:56 am PST
   

Moose0nTheLoose Monday, November 15th, 2004 | 8:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Marius423
HAHAH anti-siphon and a remote!
lol wow
   

joe98200 Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005 | 8:21 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by mujothebard
Where can I buy a CP reg?!? I really want one, please help

You can email me at mduncan7@comcast.net


Email me and I'll find one for you. It's not that hard to get one.
   

zcrotum Sunday, December 4th, 2005 | 5:45 pm PST
buddy, its not made 4 co2. its designed mostly for hpa use
   

aim18 Sunday, March 26th, 2006 | 5:44 pm PST
Dispute:
cp products arent compatible with c02 everyone knows this its freezes it its just plain out wrong to base this review on inaccurate information
   

Lyxtwing Thursday, June 1st, 2006 | 7:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by aim18
cp products aren't compatible with c02 everyone knows this its freezes it its just plain out wrong to base this review on inaccurate information

Though allot of people say it shouldn't be run on CO2 it can. I have checked the CP website and see nothing about using it with air only, so unless the manual has something in it (if it comes with one, I don't know). Giving it an 8/10 because it doesn't work well with your air source seems reasonable to me, as the company that makes it did not inform him of the issue. Besides, its 8/10. If he gave it a 3 or something you'd have the right to blast him.
   

Carnifex4u Tuesday, July 24th, 2007 | 7:08 am PST
you may have your reg set to high and you are drawing too much liquid CO2 into your gun this why you are freezing up. Also another thing is when you enter rapid firing with CO2 the CO2 has much less time to turn from liquid to gas state and starts entering your gun. the only way you can aviod all of this is to go HPA. CP regs aren't designed for CO2
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media