paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on DW_Justin's Review / Comments on DW_Justin's Review / Comments on DW_Justin's Review / Comments on DW_Justin's Review / Comments on DW_Justin's Review

Comments on DW_Justin's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

DW_Justin Tuesday, September 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO stock reg - CP is like a million times better :)
Marker Setup: Black 2k3 BKO (diamond milled) with a 2k2 trigger frame
Pure Energy 68/3000 HPA
12vt Revolution w/ Vortex
Vapor Bolt
Vapor Valve
Mitey Max
SP mod
Full freak system with stainless steel back
CP regulator
Strengths: Consistent
Efficient
Compact
seems very well constructed
lots of colors
THE PRICE
Weaknesses: some dont like the looks of it, but it looks great on my bko
Review: A few weeks ago I decided it was time to move on from my stock BKO reg and get something better. I asked Travis about the Dye Hyper reg and the sidewinder, and he said they were both good regs, but that the new CP reg actually kept up and surpassed both of them in some key areas. I decided to get the reg and the bottom extender piece for about an extra $7

I decided to give it a shot, the price is right for about $60, and even though I was skeptical when I tested it I was in awe. The reg preformed simply amazing. I took it out of the box and unscrewed it to have a look inside, everything looked thoughtfully put together and well lubed. I hooked up my hpa and started increasing the pressure...the gauge creeped up with NO sticking as my stock reg had done so frequently. The first shot came out fine so I decided to do a rapid fire shoot of about 20-30 paintballs...there was NO visible shootdown and it seemed to have a really good recharge rate.

the reg also comes with a 5 YEAR WARRANTY in the box.
Conclusion: if you're in the market for a new regulator the new CP reg should definately be amonst the top of your list. Its alot cheeper than most of the new regs out today, looks very well constructed, and can easily outperform a number of competitors. It also comes with a 5 year warranty to boot. Great work CP! I'm glad I bought this reg and saved money over something like a dye or sidewinder.

I think travis put it best when he said "the preformance of a sidewinder at the cost of a torpedo"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 2:33 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Omegaboy13 Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004 | 5:46 am PST
?
What is the max operating pressure for this reg. Is it the same or better than the torpedo or powerstation?
Last edited on Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004 at 5:46 am PST
   

iEl-Ricx! Sunday, March 7th, 2004 | 10:04 pm PST
i belive it's 600psi
   

tippmann_nick27 Thursday, May 6th, 2004 | 5:43 pm PST
yo could i run my 3000 psi pure energy aluminum tank on this reg???its a high pressure tank would it work fine?
   

cali141 Friday, May 21st, 2004 | 9:52 pm PST
where did you get this for $50 (or around that)
   

AirSin2000 Friday, August 27th, 2004 | 6:20 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by tippmann_nick27
yo could i run my 3000 psi pure energy aluminum tank on this reg???its a high pressure tank would it work fine?
Yes you can
   

FREAKbarrel10 Monday, October 11th, 2004 | 11:59 am PST
how long is the smallest size????
   

Uziel Gal Thursday, December 9th, 2004 | 12:02 am PST
The shortest one is 88mm (3.46") from tip to base. This includes the ASA thread. Once this is actually screwed in to the ASA. it projects about three inches below it.
   

Uziel Gal Friday, December 24th, 2004 | 7:58 am PST
One of the ports needs to be blocked with a 1/8 NPT threaded blanking screw, the gauge is then screwed in to the other port.

You should be able to get the blanking screw from any paintball shop, but it would probably be easy enough to get one from a hardware or automotive store. It is basically just a large grub screw - you just need to find one with the correct thread.

Install the blanking screw with some weak Loctite (222, 242 or "Lock and Seal" are fine), or use some PTFE tape.
   

darktrigger666 Tuesday, January 11th, 2005 | 1:44 pm PST
is it better to have the ports on it? what do the ports do?
   

Uziel Gal Wednesday, January 12th, 2005 | 11:52 am PST
The gauge ports are literally just threaded holes in the side of the regulator, mounted just below the ASA thread. The holes tap in to the output chamber of the regulator, and so are exposed to compressed air at the pressure that the reg is set to. The holes are threaded 1/8 NPT - the same thread that is standard on the pressure gauges used on paintball markers and air systems. It allows you to fit a pressure gauge directly on to the regulator, to indicate the output pressure. Any hole not in use has to be plugged to stop the air escaping. The ability to fit a gauge is a handy option, as the gauge is a useful way of maintaining the performance of your marker, and making sure that the regulator is functioning properly. However, some people find that the guage gets in the way of where they like to hold the regulator.
   

pattysmack Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 6:51 pm PST
I was wondering if this reg would work on a spyder imagine with a 3000 psi crossfire tank.
   

Empyre Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 | 10:24 am PST
if you have the macroline fitting on the side of the regulator, how are you supposed to hold it? is there enough room for your hand to be completely above the fitting or do you have to grip it too?
   

Uziel Gal Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 10:07 am PST
The gauge ports in the side of the regulator, towards the top. If you find it gets in the way (as I would personally) simple answer is not to fit the gauge.

The macroline fitting or hose thread (depending on which model you buy) is mounted at the bottom of the regulator, not the side, so this will not get in the way at all.
   

pntballbmw Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 | 1:18 pm PST
is it a low pressure reg?(o-600) and is the recharge rate faster than the powerstation or torpedo?
   

pntballbmw Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 | 1:27 pm PST
can u use co2? if not what reg would u reccomend for co2 that has a really fast recharge, consistant, and about this price?
   

Uziel Gal Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005 | 11:22 am PST
CP recommend 0-500psi, and suggest the use of an optional high pressure piston for use over 500psi, but I wouldn't be surprised if you could squeeze 550-600psi out of it. I've never needed more than 300psi, so I haven't tried to find out how high it will go. However, you can increase the maximum pressure (within reason) by adding a shim or extra belleville spring washer (a washer with a slight cone pattern) to the spring pack, to increase the amount of gas pressure required to move the regulator piston, and hence close off the gas supply. Removing washers to allow the piston to close off the air supply more easily would lower the pressure range. The cone washers, set in an alternating pattern, ie )()()()( , act as a spring.

Recharge rate is hard to measure without specialised equipment. Suffice to say that on a pressure gauge, the recharge rate of the CP is as close to instantaneous as makes no difference. You would have to be shooting very fast to see any obvious shootdown.

This design of regulator, basically the same as the WGP regulators, generally handles CO2 quite well. Any problems with creeping pressure etc. can generally be traced to a dirty reg seat seal, which can just be wiped clean and given a light smear of oil, and it should be good as new again. However, it is always best to use an anti-syphon when using CO2 with a regulator. The reg seat seal is generally reversible in these designs, so if the seal does get worn, you can flip it over and use the other side. Again, this will bring the performance back up like new.

Looking at the other common type of regulator, which uses a pin valve to regulate gas pressure, the best one for CO2 use is the Palmers Stabilizer (Fatty or standard will work - the Fatty is intended for lower pressure).
Last edited on Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005 at 11:52 am PST
   

p8ntballer25 Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 3:10 pm PST
can a reg increas gas efficency of a marker?
   

Uziel Gal Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 5:51 am PST
Indirectly at least, yes. The regulator will allow you to change the pressure being supplied to your marker, which gives you a lot more tuning options than if your marker is running off of a fixed pressure HP air system or straight CO2. With the ability to try your marker with different operating pressures (obviously, you have to re-set your velocity at each different pressure you try), you are almost guaranteed to find a more efficient pressure than if you limit yourself to an 800-850psi operating pressure, as is common with HP output air systems, and room temperature CO2. For best results you would also need access to a spring kit to tune your valve dwell.

Generally, you are looking for the pressure that produces the highest velocity from your marker, and then set the velocity from there. You can then try different spring combinations to fine tune the valve dwell.

As a side note, a high flowing regulator can be more efficient than a lower flowing one, particularly if you are trying to put together a low pressure set-up.
   

spyderxtra36896 Tuesday, June 14th, 2005 | 5:59 pm PST
will this reg work with a spyder xtra with a 47 ci 3k corssfire high pressure tank????????????/
   

Uziel Gal Wednesday, June 15th, 2005 | 11:26 am PST
Normal maximum output pressure for the CP regulator is 500psi. If your Xtra can operate at 500psi or below, then the CP will be fine. If you need a higher operating pressure than this (and I believe that an unmodified Xtra would need a higher pressure than this), then this will be no good to you. You could increase the pressure range by adding one or two belleville spring washers to the spring stack, but there is only so many you can use before the stack becomes virtually solid, and stops functioning. I think you'd be better looking at a regulator with a higher pressure range out of the box, rather than modifying this.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 15th, 2005 at 11:26 am PST
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media