paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on DW_Justin's Review / Comments on DW_Justin's Review / Comments on DW_Justin's Review / Comments on DW_Justin's Review / Comments on DW_Justin's Review

Comments on DW_Justin's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

DW_Justin Tuesday, September 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO stock reg - CP is like a million times better :)
Marker Setup: Black 2k3 BKO (diamond milled) with a 2k2 trigger frame
Pure Energy 68/3000 HPA
12vt Revolution w/ Vortex
Vapor Bolt
Vapor Valve
Mitey Max
SP mod
Full freak system with stainless steel back
CP regulator
Strengths: Consistent
Efficient
Compact
seems very well constructed
lots of colors
THE PRICE
Weaknesses: some dont like the looks of it, but it looks great on my bko
Review: A few weeks ago I decided it was time to move on from my stock BKO reg and get something better. I asked Travis about the Dye Hyper reg and the sidewinder, and he said they were both good regs, but that the new CP reg actually kept up and surpassed both of them in some key areas. I decided to get the reg and the bottom extender piece for about an extra $7

I decided to give it a shot, the price is right for about $60, and even though I was skeptical when I tested it I was in awe. The reg preformed simply amazing. I took it out of the box and unscrewed it to have a look inside, everything looked thoughtfully put together and well lubed. I hooked up my hpa and started increasing the pressure...the gauge creeped up with NO sticking as my stock reg had done so frequently. The first shot came out fine so I decided to do a rapid fire shoot of about 20-30 paintballs...there was NO visible shootdown and it seemed to have a really good recharge rate.

the reg also comes with a 5 YEAR WARRANTY in the box.
Conclusion: if you're in the market for a new regulator the new CP reg should definately be amonst the top of your list. Its alot cheeper than most of the new regs out today, looks very well constructed, and can easily outperform a number of competitors. It also comes with a 5 year warranty to boot. Great work CP! I'm glad I bought this reg and saved money over something like a dye or sidewinder.

I think travis put it best when he said "the preformance of a sidewinder at the cost of a torpedo"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 2:33 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
spyderxtra36896 Wednesday, June 15th, 2005 | 4:43 pm PST
Uziel gal what reg do u recommend i use ofr the xtra????????
   

Uziel Gal Thursday, June 16th, 2005 | 11:39 am PST
Without any LP mods, you don't really need an inline regulator on your Xtra. Your Spyder Xtra can run straight off the air system regulator with no problems at all. If you added an inline regulator without reducing the operating pressure of the marker, the inline would just be acting as a gas through foregrip, and would most likely restrict the flow rate to the marker.
   

spyderxtra36896 Thursday, June 16th, 2005 | 3:41 pm PST
what odes it mean when a gun is a high end gun what is the difference ebtween a low end??????????????
   

airsoftisgay Wednesday, July 6th, 2005 | 12:18 am PST
Is this REG better on a high pressure tank or a low pressure tank?
   

Uziel Gal Thursday, July 7th, 2005 | 9:43 am PST
It can work with either type of air system, depending on what output pressure you require..

When used with a high pressure air system, the recommended output range is 200-500psi. To achieve consistent pressures below 200psi, a low pressure input (no more than 500psi) is recommended.

A high pressure piston is available for those who need more than 500psi output pressure - a high pressure output air system would have to be used in conjunction with this.
   

myarmpitsmells Tuesday, July 19th, 2005 | 7:43 pm PST
this reg is 500 psi right?
and a crossfire lp tank has a 450psi output right?
also if u buy this reg with the gauge port does it come with a screw to block the port if ur not using the port?
   

Uziel Gal Wednesday, July 20th, 2005 | 10:07 am PST
Yes, the maximum output with the standard piston is 500psi. I believe the high pressure piston allows for 650psi.

The output pressure of the LP Crossfire is approximately 450psi, yes. Obviously, this would not allow you to obtain a 500psi output from the regulator, but would allow you to set a pressure below 200psi.

I don't actually use the CP with gauge ports, but I believe that the two lengths of the CP regulator that feature gauge ports are supplied with blanking plugs to seal the holes.
   

myarmpitsmells Wednesday, July 20th, 2005 | 11:55 pm PST
damn u know a lot about this reg uziel gal and thanks but which would be best for this reg LP tank or HIGH? i heard u can use both but what would be best?
   

Uziel Gal Thursday, July 21st, 2005 | 10:59 am PST
What output pressure does your marker need to function correctly?

Unless you need to be able to adjust the regulator to 200psi or below, I would recommend a high pressure output air system.
   

myarmpitsmells Thursday, July 21st, 2005 | 1:46 pm PST
hmmmmmmmm im not sure its for my ion
   

Uziel Gal Friday, July 22nd, 2005 | 12:23 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by myarmpitsmells
hmmmmmmmm im not sure its for my ion

You may well need to get under 200psi for use with an Ion, so you would need the LP air system for best results with this regulator.
   

myarmpitsmells Saturday, July 23rd, 2005 | 10:34 pm PST
wouldnt low pressure be best cuz the output is 500 and a lp tanks output is 450
   

Uziel Gal Sunday, July 24th, 2005 | 6:15 am PST
To get under 200psi output from the regulator (to match the Ion), you would need to use the LP tank, which is what I said in my last comment.

If you want 500psi output, then the LP tank would be no good, as it only gives out 450psi. The regulator cannot increase the pressure from the air system, it can only lower the pressure.

The air system has to give out around 200psi more pressure than what you want your regulator to provide, or you will run in to flow rate problems.

So, if you want 250psi or less from the inline regulator, you can use the 450psi LP air system, as it will still provide the regulator with the additional 200psi. If you want to run the regulator over 250psi, then you need to be feeding it more than 450psi. You would then need an HP tank. You aren't trying to match the output of the air system to the output of the regulator. The output of the air system has to be HIGHER, than the output of the regulator. You can only use the low pressure tank with a very low regulator output pressure.
   

myarmpitsmells Sunday, July 24th, 2005 | 12:07 pm PST
oh i get it now thanks i just go get a torpedo
   

Hobbes Black Sunday, September 4th, 2005 | 7:16 am PST
Can this reg be used in conjunction with a remote?
   

Uziel Gal Monday, September 5th, 2005 | 12:33 am PST
No reason why it couldn't be.
   

empirefreaker Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 1:40 pm PST
i have two a questions: if i buy a cp reg without the gauge port in how many places can u put the hose?. do i need to buy a 1/8 plug?
   

Uziel Gal Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 12:30 am PST
The hose attaches at the bottom of the reg, so you can align the hose in any direction you want - this means that multiple input ports are not required, so there is only the one. The blanking plugs are required to fill the unused gauge ports, so if you buy one of the versions without gauge ports, you won't need any blanking plugs at all.
   

corsairfire Saturday, February 25th, 2006 | 1:24 am PST
Where is the cheapest place to buy?!
   

empirefreaker Monday, July 24th, 2006 | 10:42 am PST
ok i have a nerve the operating pressure is 225psi if i buy the cp reg and use it with a hp tank will it be ok?? and in my nere u adjust the pressure down to change the fps in the cp reg where do i adjust the pressure ????
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media