paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review

Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PAINtball Ruler Friday, September 5th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested20 of 204 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex-Great Mask, Ultra Low Profile, Best For Speed-ball
JT Proteus 2- Also a great mask, probably my favorite. Its light ,comfortable, you have a full field of vision and your hearing is amplified, it's like your not wearing a mask at all.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Factory Installed Response Trigger
Dye Boomstick 16' (backup)
Freak 16' With 2 Inserts, .684, .693, All American Front, Stainless Back
Pure Energy 68cu 4500psi (16oz Co2 backup)
GTA site rail, from Psycho Ballistics
Strengths: -Looks
Weaknesses: -Eating Paint
-Exposed Neck
-Bad Hearing
-Small Field of Vision
Review: The Dye Invision Goggle System is the most overpriced goggle system I have seen. When I first tested it out, I put it on, and ran to the town center, for the refs explanation of the game. The Game started out great, no fog comfortable etc... Well anyways, the other team had hustled to the town, and controlled the Bridge, the wall, and the church tower. Well me and about 20 others, flanked a small hut on the outskirts and pressed on from there. Well about 20 minutes in, My group of about 20 took a few more buildings and were nearing town center. Well, I popped up to see if a small group of others had taken another hut, seeing through a window in that building, that there were two guys waiting on either side of the door. I yelled out to the group, and from out of nowhere, I took one clean in the mouth, straight through the Vents. That was my most horrible paintball experience. It ruined the whole Scenario Game for me. I had to get a stitch on my bottom lip. Another time Speed balling, I was laying down at a Taco Bunker, and a guy came right around a corner and bunkered me, RIGHT IN THE NECK, from 3 feet away. Well, those were the two main events that caused me to sell my mask for a Proteus 2, by JT.
Conclusion: I personally hated this mask, although I will admit for the short while I owned it, I thought it looked good. If you wish to avoid an experience like mine, then get a Proteus 2, they offer Pro-Flex neck protection, and Are WAYWAYWAY better. If You're Really Into Speed-ball, then get a Pro-flex. I also own on of them. I prefer the Proteus, but a true speed-ball nut would prefer the Pro-Flex.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 8th, 2003 at 7:29 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Paulcoraci2287 Friday, September 12th, 2003 | 6:39 pm PST
hey, i read your review and although i can sympathize with your experiance, it is not the masks fault that you had some bad luck.
   

petergm214 Monday, September 15th, 2003 | 4:14 pm PST
dude, no freakon pro would use a product that isnt beneficial to their gameplay. the mask is awesome.
   

newordergmpb Thursday, October 9th, 2003 | 12:35 pm PST
wow i luv my invision this guy does not deserve to play paintball, my bro has a proteaus and it is so small around the chin area and the visor goes down over ur eyes. i cant stand the flex cause when u get hit in the chin it deflects towards ur neck and all good players no that neck hits are one of the worst.
   

truefreestyle Saturday, October 11th, 2003 | 6:59 pm PST
You obviously are to afraid of being hit. If your gonna freak out and change to other equipment every time you get hurt, why don't you cry about it. Every product will have ups and downs. If you get shot in the neck it will still hurt with a jt or dye mask. If your worried about neck shots wear a 32 degrees neck protector. O yeah, my dye mask said it doesn't like you.
   

Six Feet Under Friday, October 31st, 2003 | 3:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Christian713
if this mask was so "horrible" then why do a whole bunch of profesional teams use it.

One word... SPONSORSHIP.

If you actually take the time to research the kind of gear most professional teams use you'll see that 90% of it is "provided" to them by their sponsors. Personally I don't like how high it sits on your face (i.e. the lack of lower jaw and some neck protection) because neck shots really suck- I've seen people pass out and be transported by ambulance to the nearest hospital because of neck shots at ranges of under 10 feet. I know people need to be more responsible and give their opponents a chance to surrender, but that whole ordeal was kind of rediculous. Yes, it really DID happen- at Wayne's World in April of this year (2003) I was at one of the scenario games and they had to call the ambulance because someone was shot at extremely close range and collapsed.
   

Shulacker Saturday, November 1st, 2003 | 2:05 pm PST
"'ve seen people pass out and be transported by ambulance to the nearest hospital because of neck shots at ranges of under 10 feet." MASKS DONT PROTECT THE NECK. I have never seen a mask big enough to cover a players neck completely, and if there was one, it'd be hella uncomfortable. So if you get shot in the neck it just means that u really suck at paintball. The reason there isnt as much chin protection is because of voice projection and manuverability. If ur afraid to get shot at hurt, go play airsoft.
   

lobsterboy360 Monday, November 3rd, 2003 | 4:36 pm PST
The invision mask is awesome. This dudes just blaming some bad experiences on the mask. I have one ans it works so well. And whether a proteus is better, it's not. He complains about the mask exposing the neck but the proteus exposes more than the invision does.
   

PaintBrawler05 Monday, November 10th, 2003 | 9:40 am PST
this mask is awesome, but it won't make any difference if you suck at paintball, like everyone says and knows the pros use it so it is good. and if you cant suck it up and eat a little paint hear and there maybe you shouldn't paintball.
   

Brushfire Cap. Monday, November 24th, 2003 | 7:34 pm PST
Man you are way out of line dissin the DYE Invision mask! It is by far the best mask on the market! I have never even seen fog in it. NOT ONE SPEC OF MOISTURE! You obviously have no sense of what is good and what is bad. I just don't understand some people.
   

Illidan Sunday, December 14th, 2003 | 11:55 am PST
Man you people are visicous lol. I also think he gave the mask an unfair review, but name calling wont help anything, it is his review, and anyone who reads it will obviously see he gave the mask a 1 because he got shot and it hurt... I can see grading down a little because you don't think it gives enough protection, but comeone a 1? You even said it doesn't fog. No mask will protect your entire face and neck, if you want one to, put a fishbowl over your head. Oh and when I see someone with a proteus (JT aka BE Blows), it reminds me of Halo for some reason, Im not sure why.
   

Skyhawk Saturday, December 20th, 2003 | 4:27 am PST
yes ok, i don't think being causious about being shot in th neck makes you a wuss. i mean i've been shot in the neck (i'm 12) and yes it hurt, but i did not cry. now i have one of these masks and i think they're the best out there. if you don't want to be shot in the neck get a protector like me


Skyhawk
   

reg Friday, January 16th, 2004 | 10:03 am PST
definetly true
   

thedogtookacrap Sunday, January 18th, 2004 | 9:41 pm PST
My JT mask works just as good as the invision and costs less than half of it!
   

The beaR Friday, February 13th, 2004 | 8:22 pm PST
man dont blamed the goggles this probly happens with every type of mask i got bunkered and shot in the mask in the vents no biggy cleaned it up went to the next game maybe it was just bad luck for you o yeah i can hear perfectly well out of this mask and they sell neck protectors for a reason. o yeah i learned from my mistake long time ago when your in a bunker make a move ,.
   

underated Sunday, February 22nd, 2004 | 9:58 am PST
dude, holy sh*t, you guys, if he does not like a mask, he does not like the mask. That is the whole point of this site, to be able to put your own oppinion. You can't be able to go out, have a couple of bad experinces whith a product, and be able to come back and say "wow, that product was really great!"
This guy is able to diss whatever the hell he wants, its in the 1st amendment of the consitution, if you don't like the constitution, go move to iraq
   

timid_dragon Sunday, February 29th, 2004 | 8:09 pm PST
Hey bout the iraq quip, dude those guys say wtf ever they want. Also how are you comparing paintball and war? Anyways, I love the invision; yea its a lil scant around the neck but the pro's outweigh the con's by far. This guys review is a bad one. No objectivity. If your debating between this one and any other go for the DYE!!! You will NOT be disappointed.
   

ARC Saturday, March 13th, 2004 | 3:50 pm PST
Let us not get out of hand with name calling and can't play paintball. I think that you should expect that no product will give you 100% protection, especially in paintball. The Dye mask is one of the finest masks available to date. There is no mask that can deliver all things to all paintball players. They all have their issues, being vision, fogging,comfort, sound quality, durability, reliability, safety, price, name recognition, good looks and absolute protection. This mask is as close as it gets with todays technology and design. My only dislike is the high price of the mask. I am sure that when you have more experience with paintball, you will find the higher end products used by serious players to be legitimate ones. I am sure that if you were not hit in the neck and face that you would have rated the mask higher. The rating should be based on your review of the mask and not on hard luck hits that could have been avoided.
   

psychochild Thursday, March 18th, 2004 | 11:26 am PST
mo matter what mask you are wearing, you will always eat some paint, theres no avoiding that, and the masks only cover your face, an unfortunate incident, but don't blame the goggle system. The invision is definetly the best goggles i have ever used. I luv them
   

nickiswack Friday, March 19th, 2004 | 10:50 pm PST
people if you dont want your neck to get hit but ahhhhh.. neck guard thats what hey are for
   

ethanguy Sunday, March 21st, 2004 | 2:52 pm PST
i got bunkerd and got shot in the neck so dont complain PAINTBALL Ruler!
Last edited on Sunday, March 21st, 2004 at 2:56 pm PST
   
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media