paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review

Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PAINtball Ruler Friday, September 5th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested20 of 204 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex-Great Mask, Ultra Low Profile, Best For Speed-ball
JT Proteus 2- Also a great mask, probably my favorite. Its light ,comfortable, you have a full field of vision and your hearing is amplified, it's like your not wearing a mask at all.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Factory Installed Response Trigger
Dye Boomstick 16' (backup)
Freak 16' With 2 Inserts, .684, .693, All American Front, Stainless Back
Pure Energy 68cu 4500psi (16oz Co2 backup)
GTA site rail, from Psycho Ballistics
Strengths: -Looks
Weaknesses: -Eating Paint
-Exposed Neck
-Bad Hearing
-Small Field of Vision
Review: The Dye Invision Goggle System is the most overpriced goggle system I have seen. When I first tested it out, I put it on, and ran to the town center, for the refs explanation of the game. The Game started out great, no fog comfortable etc... Well anyways, the other team had hustled to the town, and controlled the Bridge, the wall, and the church tower. Well me and about 20 others, flanked a small hut on the outskirts and pressed on from there. Well about 20 minutes in, My group of about 20 took a few more buildings and were nearing town center. Well, I popped up to see if a small group of others had taken another hut, seeing through a window in that building, that there were two guys waiting on either side of the door. I yelled out to the group, and from out of nowhere, I took one clean in the mouth, straight through the Vents. That was my most horrible paintball experience. It ruined the whole Scenario Game for me. I had to get a stitch on my bottom lip. Another time Speed balling, I was laying down at a Taco Bunker, and a guy came right around a corner and bunkered me, RIGHT IN THE NECK, from 3 feet away. Well, those were the two main events that caused me to sell my mask for a Proteus 2, by JT.
Conclusion: I personally hated this mask, although I will admit for the short while I owned it, I thought it looked good. If you wish to avoid an experience like mine, then get a Proteus 2, they offer Pro-Flex neck protection, and Are WAYWAYWAY better. If You're Really Into Speed-ball, then get a Pro-flex. I also own on of them. I prefer the Proteus, but a true speed-ball nut would prefer the Pro-Flex.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 8th, 2003 at 7:29 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Addictied_to_PB Monday, March 22nd, 2004 | 5:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Six Feet Under


One word... SPONSORSHIP.

If you actually take the time to research the kind of gear most professional teams use you'll see that 90% of it is "provided" to them by their sponsors. Personally I don't like how high it sits on your face (i.e. the lack of lower jaw and some neck protection) because neck shots really suck- I've seen people pass out and be transported by ambulance to the nearest hospital because of neck shots at ranges of under 10 feet. I know people need to be more responsible and give their opponents a chance to surrender, but that whole ordeal was kind of rediculous. Yes, it really DID happen- at Wayne's World in April of this year (2003) I was at one of the scenario games and they had to call the ambulance because someone was shot at extremely close range and collapsed.




I also have a few words to say: NECK PROTECTOR

don't diss the mask cuz you were shot in the neck. it covers all your face plus a bit of the neck. Plus if it was such a danger the safty what evers WOULD HAVE NEVER PASSED THE MASK FOR SAFETY. COME ON!!
   

intimmy Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004 | 8:29 pm PST
I would have to agree with most of the people who have commented on this.
first off u sounds cared to death to get hit. get used to it, it happens to everyone if u dont like it go play x-box. second as someone mentioned b4 it is impossoble to get hit in the neck when ur bunked while laying in a taco bunker. 3rd last time i checked no maks covers the neck extremely good, the proteus is the same way, the flex 7 well flexes obviously so its worse (i own a flex 7 also). also if ucant handle eatin paint then why not jus cry to the companies and request bubble gum flavor. as u said u got hit in the VENTS and paint went in ur mouth (DUH! stupid that happens when u get hit on ANY vent) it plain out sounds like ur looking for a excuse to blame something esle for ur inability to play halfway decent and are jus scared to get hit. btw momma called she said its passed your bedtime...
   

red cocker Thursday, April 8th, 2004 | 6:32 pm PST
i doubt ur skills in paintball and u sound weak ohhh u got hit in the neck.....shut up when u get good at paintball then u can write reviews but until then stay off the site
Last edited on Thursday, April 8th, 2004 at 6:33 pm PST
   

dan77904 Friday, April 30th, 2004 | 8:19 pm PST
these are supposed to be comments guys. Take this to the forums.
   

luvtoplay Monday, May 10th, 2004 | 10:13 pm PST
I have an Invision and it has been great. Sure it doesn't have the most protection around the neck but I see that as a good thing. Anyone can hear you when you talk through this mask. It is really easy to turn your head because there isn't excess plastic hanging off the mask. If you're really that worried about being shot in the neck, then wear a neck guard; don't trade in your good gear.
   

PB4841LVR Friday, June 4th, 2004 | 9:49 am PST
I enjoy eating paint because I think it is tasty, until 20 seconds later when it starts to taste like a hairy bar of soap
   

BIGcocker69 Sunday, June 20th, 2004 | 8:16 pm PST
have u ever thought that most mask dont cover ur neck? its not the mask fault u got hit in the neck. if a ball brake through the vents, the dudes velocity was way to high
   

Tony_needspills Friday, June 25th, 2004 | 11:46 am PST
GUYS i have one of these and have had it for 2 years! this thing still doesnt fog but, i had a ball hit right on the vents and paint went through. i got a little cut but nothing bad.. oh this was from about 20 feet
Last edited on Friday, June 25th, 2004 at 11:47 am PST
   

mpbmasih Thursday, July 1st, 2004 | 6:04 am PST
you can have any mask and paint will go thru it if you get shot in the mouth. if you cant handle the taste of paint, saran wrap your mask. then you will complain about fogging and voice projection issues. some people are so annoying. jeez
   

Moose0nTheLoose Monday, July 5th, 2004 | 8:25 pm PST
dude masks period have not much neck protection. get a neck guard
   

98crt Thursday, July 29th, 2004 | 6:54 pm PST
-Dude seriously couple bad experiences you can't blame this mask man
-Check out all the other mask on the market none i repeat "NONE" have neck protection
-about the bunkering it will or already happened to anybody in competitive speedball
-Dude don't blame the mask for somebody probally havin to hi of velocity blame the scenario field for that one for not checkin it that good
- and sorry bout the stitches but everyone eats paint once in a while
   

Coco Savage Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 | 6:56 am PST
To blame a mask for poor neck protection, is well silly and lame. They make neck protectors for a reason. If something on the mask didnt proctect, then thats something to complain about...but not overreact. I have a JT flex, ya chin shots suck ass but i knew that when i bought the mask, i still enjoy it and wont have a tratrum just cause of it. Put more thought into your review, not just a trantrum of complaints.
   

pullethmyfinger Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 | 10:04 am PST
dude if u didnt like that it didnt protect ur neck y would u buy a proteus? THEY ARE SMALLER!!!!!!
   

master935 Thursday, October 28th, 2004 | 3:51 pm PST
wich is better the dye or the v force profiler ?
   

dilly man 2 Friday, November 12th, 2004 | 7:28 pm PST
well i am not personaly fond of the invision... well actually i am not fond of DYE... all i have to say is that if Brass eagle made it it would cost 40-60 $$ cause if it cost 90$ noone would buy it really think about it a 90$ brass eagle mask or a 90$ DYE mask... say they look different but other wize are exactly the same everyone would buy the DYE because everything they make they sell it for obsene prices. and if it set at those high prices it must be good right? but noone would buy a 90$ mask manufactured by Brass Eagle now would they???

may i suggest the proto switch or the morph....?






WAL-MART is an evil corperation
Last edited on Friday, November 12th, 2004 at 7:29 pm PST
   

Menohl Friday, November 19th, 2004 | 12:46 pm PST
ok, here's a nice change for you - a comment that follows the rules and is not insulting! :)

First off, 60% of your review was telling stories of games you've played in, the stories were not required, and i found myself waiting to see if you would come to a point about the mask. I'd recommend taking the stories out, all you need to say is, I popped up one time and took one in the mouth. Simple, Direct, and to the point.

Secondly, getting hit in the neck is not the masks fault, personally i use a JT Elite Headshield, the most protective mask in the market because it is full head protection, and it still DOES NOT protect the neck! If you don't want to get hit in the neck, go buy yourself a neck protector they cost about $9 at any store.

As for the stich in the lip, that is regettable, however any mask with venting (which is all of them) is going to allow paint and some shell through, there's not a whole lot you can do about except to tape up, or seal up all the venting in your mask, which is going to cause major sweat to build up in your mask, and you will probably fog as well. There's not a whole lot you can do about paint getting in through the vents

You made good points for your opinion, i just think that you could have worded them differently, i would consider re-writing your review, and you might find people more receptive to your opinion. There will always be the annoying losers who simply want to flame you and you can't avoid that, but i think with a little editing you can write a better review to support your 1 of 10.
   

Maleficus Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004 | 8:15 am PST
your a cool kid. Cool kids are weiners, thus you are a weiner.
   

WDPaintball32 Wednesday, November 24th, 2004 | 11:22 am PST
Just because you suck, doesn't give you the right to blame your equipment. Invision is too good for you.
   

cockercane Wednesday, December 8th, 2004 | 7:04 am PST
I made a mask out of recycled Coke bottles and oil filters that covers your entire neck . It is also shrouded in Copenhagen can lids to confuse your opponents. You should make one too. I solved the paint-eating problem by loosely duct taping cardboard to my mouth with a straw so I can breathe better. You don't have to worry about communication when you are the only one on your team! Save the planet and play paintball at the same time.

I am currently working on a jock strap that's made from discarded batteries and movie tickets.

GET YOUR NUB!!!
Last edited on Wednesday, December 8th, 2004 at 7:08 am PST
   

desert eskimo Friday, January 14th, 2005 | 9:32 pm PST
youre just mad because you keep getting shot and bunkered from three feet away
   
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media