paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review

Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PAINtball Ruler Friday, September 5th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested20 of 204 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex-Great Mask, Ultra Low Profile, Best For Speed-ball
JT Proteus 2- Also a great mask, probably my favorite. Its light ,comfortable, you have a full field of vision and your hearing is amplified, it's like your not wearing a mask at all.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Factory Installed Response Trigger
Dye Boomstick 16' (backup)
Freak 16' With 2 Inserts, .684, .693, All American Front, Stainless Back
Pure Energy 68cu 4500psi (16oz Co2 backup)
GTA site rail, from Psycho Ballistics
Strengths: -Looks
Weaknesses: -Eating Paint
-Exposed Neck
-Bad Hearing
-Small Field of Vision
Review: The Dye Invision Goggle System is the most overpriced goggle system I have seen. When I first tested it out, I put it on, and ran to the town center, for the refs explanation of the game. The Game started out great, no fog comfortable etc... Well anyways, the other team had hustled to the town, and controlled the Bridge, the wall, and the church tower. Well me and about 20 others, flanked a small hut on the outskirts and pressed on from there. Well about 20 minutes in, My group of about 20 took a few more buildings and were nearing town center. Well, I popped up to see if a small group of others had taken another hut, seeing through a window in that building, that there were two guys waiting on either side of the door. I yelled out to the group, and from out of nowhere, I took one clean in the mouth, straight through the Vents. That was my most horrible paintball experience. It ruined the whole Scenario Game for me. I had to get a stitch on my bottom lip. Another time Speed balling, I was laying down at a Taco Bunker, and a guy came right around a corner and bunkered me, RIGHT IN THE NECK, from 3 feet away. Well, those were the two main events that caused me to sell my mask for a Proteus 2, by JT.
Conclusion: I personally hated this mask, although I will admit for the short while I owned it, I thought it looked good. If you wish to avoid an experience like mine, then get a Proteus 2, they offer Pro-Flex neck protection, and Are WAYWAYWAY better. If You're Really Into Speed-ball, then get a Pro-flex. I also own on of them. I prefer the Proteus, but a true speed-ball nut would prefer the Pro-Flex.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 8th, 2003 at 7:29 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
OWNAGE17 Monday, January 17th, 2005 | 3:03 pm PST
dye invision is the bomb dont blame the mask because you got owned two different times..
   

PeterTheGreat Monday, January 17th, 2005 | 6:10 pm PST
i speak spanish, Margarita
   

p8nt_freak1852 Monday, January 24th, 2005 | 7:53 pm PST
umm hey buddy i know that every one of us has taken a shot to the mouth or been bunkered in the neck hell, i got my whole friggin left side lit up 39 times!! u have no room to complain. i have an invision, did i blame the mask i got bonus balled like hell? NO and u shouldnt blame the mask cuz u get pwned dont be such a wuss. and i have to ask u somthing, how come there are 100 some odd good reviews on it and urs is about the only bad one? ive had a proteus and i absolutely hated it, it would get to warm do to the mouth part being to close and that would cause fogging and noone could understand me due to the fact it has horrible voice traveling capabilities.
   

p8nt_freak1852 Monday, January 24th, 2005 | 7:55 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cockercane


I am currently working on a jock strap that's made from discarded batteries and movie tickets.


lololololololololol can i pre-order one? hahahahahahahaha very cool
   

cockercane Tuesday, January 25th, 2005 | 7:12 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by p8nt_freak1852


lololololololololol can i pre-order one? hahahahahahahaha very cool


The beautifull thing is... you don't have to! Make one for free yourself!
   

shlobo Sunday, February 6th, 2005 | 6:55 pm PST
ok, listen. i have the invision to. i also have a proteus 2. i couldnt stand the proteus 2. first off, no mask covers ur neck u moron. i got shot in the neck from like 6 inches away and yes, it hurt like hell, but i wasnt a wuss about it. ya i cried, but who wouldnt, it hurts to get hit from that close. as for the mouth shot. that could happen with ANY mask. the same thing happened to me with the proteus except i didnt need stitches. getting shot ion the mouth is bad with any mask. there are holes to breathe through. but the holes in the proteus are actually bigger than the ones in the invision. dont blame the mask for u being a wuss. thats ur fault.
   

pulseXX Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 6:13 pm PST
This is a good mask u getting shot in the neck is not mask fault its ur own for being a newb this mask is small because its low profile so its harder to hit. it is a nice mask and looks very kool and intimidating
   

Rammstein187 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 4:08 pm PST
dude, i dont think ive ever seen a mask that protects your neck, if your so worried about it buy a NECK PROTECTOR. thats not what masks are made for, they are to protect your FACE and EYES, not neck.
   

johndough Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 5:29 pm PST
I think I know your problem I won't say I'm the most experienced guy out there but I've played enough paintball to know that you might not be aware enough. This mixed with some bad luck may be your problem. I myself have been in similar situations, in fact I think I've been hit in the face more than anyone I know. But I don't think you should blame your problems on the mask.
   

sktr1988 Friday, March 25th, 2005 | 5:22 am PST
Eating paint isnt the masks' fault maybe youre just not good enough to be on the field and as far as hearing goes, they invented hearing aids now you should check them out.
   

jr4241 Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 2:30 pm PST
PAINtball rular, you need to quit playing paintball if you can't take a hit! sorry pal but that the way it has to be........
   

smartparts Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 | 9:18 pm PST
You suck alot of balls. My whole teams uses invisions and not one of them complains about the size or the field of vision. Personally i like this goggle system more then the profiler. You might say "wow this kid is a (You can fill in the blank) for liking invision over profilers". Invisions are better cause they are smaller and more compact. Plus how do u get shot in the mask in a scenario game while peaking out a window???????? I mean really if u stuck your head out into the open that be a different story but i have to say you suck. O and ummmm proteus sucks too, and you cant play paintball.
   

Baller4 life Thursday, March 31st, 2005 | 6:34 am PST
r u serious?
r u serious?

what r u talking about this mask could, just possibly be one of the greatest masks i have ever used. i'm sure many people would agree with me. and i f u r worried about the price i got from a store for $55!!!

how dare you insult the invision!
   

invision222 Monday, April 4th, 2005 | 1:23 pm PST
hey if the pros use it its good.this comment above mine is so right and i got mine for 40 dollars with a sunshade lens.
Last edited on Monday, April 4th, 2005 at 1:24 pm PST
   

DraXxuS Player Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 | 7:55 am PST
Just wear a neck protector, its that simple.
   

acharlesb Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 | 2:11 pm PST
hey man i was looking at your gun setup and who has a 16" barrel for a backup, but back to the mask , you must have had a bad experiance with this mask because it is excellant.
   

Syme21 Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 | 8:00 pm PST
dude u sound like a toddler. u cant take a lilttle paint in the mouth. i've gotton bunkered hundreds of times and in the neck to. Take it liek a man and dont blame ur mask that ur nexk was exposed. There r no mask that cover ur entire neck. And if they r i can imagine they look horrrible and constrict ur movement. and worst of all would be more to shoot at. Go onto an airball field with a neck guard and see what happens
   

steviepongostik Thursday, May 5th, 2005 | 1:13 pm PST
NECK PROTECTOR numnuts... come on, i have this mask and it is Awesome w/ a capital A. wear a neck protector and you'll be just fine sir... I am thirteen and I have taken Very Very hard shots to the neck and they don't send me crying to pb review...
I'm wearing mine now as we speak...hehe
Last edited on Thursday, May 5th, 2005 at 1:14 pm PST
   

CH paintball Sunday, June 12th, 2005 | 11:29 pm PST
The invisions are the best mask in the world, I mean hell I don't consier someone a real paintballer unless they've eaten a little paint but noone I know whines like you do.
   

RobVsWorld Wednesday, September 21st, 2005 | 4:31 pm PST
Cry me a river.....
   
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media