paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review / Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review

Comments on PAINtball Ruler's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PAINtball Ruler Friday, September 5th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested20 of 204 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex-Great Mask, Ultra Low Profile, Best For Speed-ball
JT Proteus 2- Also a great mask, probably my favorite. Its light ,comfortable, you have a full field of vision and your hearing is amplified, it's like your not wearing a mask at all.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Factory Installed Response Trigger
Dye Boomstick 16' (backup)
Freak 16' With 2 Inserts, .684, .693, All American Front, Stainless Back
Pure Energy 68cu 4500psi (16oz Co2 backup)
GTA site rail, from Psycho Ballistics
Strengths: -Looks
Weaknesses: -Eating Paint
-Exposed Neck
-Bad Hearing
-Small Field of Vision
Review: The Dye Invision Goggle System is the most overpriced goggle system I have seen. When I first tested it out, I put it on, and ran to the town center, for the refs explanation of the game. The Game started out great, no fog comfortable etc... Well anyways, the other team had hustled to the town, and controlled the Bridge, the wall, and the church tower. Well me and about 20 others, flanked a small hut on the outskirts and pressed on from there. Well about 20 minutes in, My group of about 20 took a few more buildings and were nearing town center. Well, I popped up to see if a small group of others had taken another hut, seeing through a window in that building, that there were two guys waiting on either side of the door. I yelled out to the group, and from out of nowhere, I took one clean in the mouth, straight through the Vents. That was my most horrible paintball experience. It ruined the whole Scenario Game for me. I had to get a stitch on my bottom lip. Another time Speed balling, I was laying down at a Taco Bunker, and a guy came right around a corner and bunkered me, RIGHT IN THE NECK, from 3 feet away. Well, those were the two main events that caused me to sell my mask for a Proteus 2, by JT.
Conclusion: I personally hated this mask, although I will admit for the short while I owned it, I thought it looked good. If you wish to avoid an experience like mine, then get a Proteus 2, they offer Pro-Flex neck protection, and Are WAYWAYWAY better. If You're Really Into Speed-ball, then get a Pro-flex. I also own on of them. I prefer the Proteus, but a true speed-ball nut would prefer the Pro-Flex.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 8th, 2003 at 7:29 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
darkrider160 Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 | 12:12 pm PST
It seems a lot of low ratings on products comes from too high or irrelevant expectations. Attitude, more than anything else, goes a long, long, LONG way my friend. I've always found bruises and bleeders to be very satisfying when kicked back after a long day. It means you were out there, mixing it. People who sit on the couch for recreation don't get hurt--they just get soft.

Besides, chicks dig scars. Or so they tell me.
   

pilot acs Saturday, November 19th, 2005 | 7:20 am PST
Ok i don't want to dis anyone but the other day i tried this mask on at my local pro shop and it is very nice. People say that it is too expensive but now that the new invision is out it only cost 65 bucks. Another thing people say is it doesn't protect very well, I'm very precocious about safety even though i'm 12 i have a big head and it protects all my face and my neck and you're supposed to tuck your neck anyways. That's all i wanted to say.
   

Coco Savage Saturday, December 24th, 2005 | 11:33 pm PST
Dispute:
Gives the mask a low rating, because it didnt protect his neck? Masks are meant to protect the face, they make Neck protectors for necks.....misinformed review
   

krutke Thursday, December 29th, 2005 | 12:30 am PST
cry baby if you dont like paint taste since everyone will sometime get hit there put a cloth or rag over your mouth
   

Blackcobra Sunday, March 12th, 2006 | 6:17 am PST
Dispute:
you say i has a small vision of range i dont think soit had 260 degrees that you can see around and its a awsome mask.
   

fuzzyllama Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 | 6:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cockercane
I made a mask out of recycled Coke bottles and oil filters that covers your entire neck . It is also shrouded in Copenhagen can lids to confuse your opponents. You should make one too. I solved the paint-eating problem by loosely duct taping cardboard to my mouth with a straw so I can breathe better. You don't have to worry about communication when you are the only one on your team! Save the planet and play paintball at the same time.

I am currently working on a jock strap that's made from discarded batteries and movie tickets.

GET YOUR NUB!!!

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i nearly passed out when i read that, lmao i picture some confused kid trying to make one, with his eyes all serios and squinting and a frowning face, lmao
   

FDS Thursday, June 8th, 2006 | 4:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Shulacker
"." MASKS DONT PROTECT THE NECK. I have never seen a mask big enough to cover a players neck completely, and if there was one, it'd be hella uncomfortable.

Actyually the V-force shield is supposed to cover your neck.
   

The Madmarshall Friday, June 16th, 2006 | 10:18 am PST
Sounds to me like your just stropping, you spent most of the review talking about what you did during a game. You write a review about a product, not a game! Sorry kid but neck shots are painfull and it comes with the game! This is an extreme sport and is very safe, but you do risk injury! I've been shot in the mouth so many times! At least you still have your eye sight because of your goggles! This is a very good pair of goggles, it has it's faults but the ones you've said are not them.
   

superiorpb Tuesday, August 15th, 2006 | 8:31 pm PST
Dispute:
you obliviously have never owned a dye mask because that could never happen... and it is a very good mask and you can see alot very good peripheral vision. so donot post if you donot use the product
   

bulldogue_88 Saturday, August 26th, 2006 | 4:28 pm PST
yeah i have a dye invission mask man and i play 1 to 3 hour bushball games with no boundaries running sweating the whole shabang and the only time its ever fogged up is in the rain i love mye dye mask who knows maybe you even have lemon it can be possible ive used many other masks from scott brass eagle xtreme rage and none compare in my mind to the invision
   

autocockerkid99 Wednesday, September 6th, 2006 | 8:36 pm PST
wow what a baby. you get hit in the neck then go around crying and telling every one that it was the masks fault. haha.
   

Fastfingers28 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 | 8:52 pm PST
Yes, of course this mask covers your NECK! What are you thinking? Ha Ha.
This guy has no clue! Don't listen to him, I've tried this mask and its freegin incredible!
   

Acornz Saturday, December 30th, 2006 | 7:54 pm PST
Dispute:
Dude we want a REVIEW OF THE GOGGLE not a review of your game and that goggle is great i own one
   

dyebpoy Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 | 8:35 pm PST
Dispute:
the mask has great hearing he said it didn't the mask is one of the best at keeping out paint and is a really great mask
   

indiancreekman Saturday, May 12th, 2007 | 1:29 pm PST
Dispute:
Well u must not be that good since ur always getting hit! dont blame it on the mask cuz maybe u just suck. my entire speedball team uses them and they are great so stop whining u baby and go back to ur oh so awesome JT!!!!!!!!!! whiner
Last edited on Saturday, May 12th, 2007 at 1:34 pm PST
   

gmanuelp Tuesday, October 2nd, 2007 | 12:16 pm PST
Dispute:
small view of field?!?!
wow...
u got the wrong mask...
   

camo14 Thursday, June 26th, 2008 | 12:22 pm PST
Dispute:
Ok, you got shot in the neck and it hurt... that means the mask sucks?
   
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media