paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on mocv's Review / Comments on mocv's Review / Comments on mocv's Review / Comments on mocv's Review / Comments on mocv's Review

Comments on mocv's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

mocv Friday, September 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month37 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: WDP Angel IR4, Air America 68/4500 Armageddon tank, Halo B Z-Code hopper, 14" Dye Titanium Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cobra Trigger, Cobra Bolt
Strengths: Trigger Adjustments on gun, Twisted Feed Gate adapts to any hopper, accuracy, speed, user interface
Weaknesses: only comes with car charger! Manual says push yellow and blue buttons that dont exist
Review: I was one of the first 200 people in U.S. to recieve this gun and it seems like Im the first one to write a review on it so I feel special =)
One of the many good things I loved about this gun is how many features it was packed with. The user interface took a little while to get used to but it became second nature after only about an hour of use. The pro-engineering detailed models and step by step instructions in the manual were also excellent help. Lots of issues most IR3 users had in the past were addressed with the IR4 so this was a step up.
Im not even going to go into how accurate and how fast this gun is. You all should know by now what an Angel can do. Instead I will say what I didnt like in the gun.
One of the annoying things I found was that the gun came only with a car charger. I know most of you are gonna say "boo hoo", but thats a pretty capitalistic thing for WDP to do because they know it's a pain charging it in ur car all the time so you will have to go out and pay another $40 for a charger that won't void their warranty.
Another thing I will be nit picky about because Im gonna have to go out and buy it is the volumizers. It comes with 3 different size volumizers but the gun supports 2. I would have much rather had the gun come with 2 of the same size than having it look odd with 2 different sizes.
Finally the pressure gauge on the gun...Whose bright idea was it to put that tiny ass gauge somewhere where no one can see it? Yeah, whoever is reading this, you know who you are! When I saw that thing I was more confused than Adam on Mothers Day. I tried asking one of the technicians from WDP about this gauge's position, when I was through with him, he was sweating like a freakin pregnant nun.
One last thing is for one of the adjusters on the gun, you litteraly need to have fingers of a 10 year old or else no way could you use the adjustment knob. And if you try to be a hero and use a tool, you better pray u dont slip or you will be scratching ur eyes out and crying "what have I done" for the rest of the night...

With all this said, this is still a sweet gun and even though there are some things I would do differently when designing this gun, I will still be sleeping with it at night unless my girlfriend gives me sh*t again. 10/10!
Conclusion: If you own an IR3, its not worth it to upgrade. I know the features the IR3 has and I will tell you how this is going to end up...You will sell your IR3 on ebay to some newb for 700 bucks. The IR4 is 1400 meaning you'll be losing another 700. IR4 does not have enough features to make it worth the upgrade. It probably has about 12 new features in all...5 that are actually solid features. Thats like 60 bucks a feature. Not worth it if you ask me...However if you never owned an angel before and are thinking of buying one - Dont ask your mom, DO NOT speak to girlfriend about this (I already made that mistake), rush to the first store that has it, give them their blood money, get your blood red Angel 4, rush home, shoot friends with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Usair03 Saturday, September 20th, 2003 | 5:39 pm PST
that review is pretty funny but aside from that I wish you would of put something in there about the accuracy diff between the IR3 and the 4. hit me back man let me know. Thanks
   

mocv Sunday, September 21st, 2003 | 2:03 am PST
Usair03>>

I just got back from Jungle Island - a buddy of mine who was using a dark IR3 dropped his jaw when he saw the speed on the A4. This thing is unbelievably fast!!! The trigger adjustment can be set to a fraction of a millimeter and as far as accuracy goes, I would say its just as accurate as the IR3 although in either case its not just the gun that makes it so accurate its the barrel....but as far as the speed here is one of my small success stories. I had 3 newbs shooting at me all at one time, within 1 and a half seconds I took them all out at once. One of them got pissed because I asked him to stop screaming. I did put 6 balls into his side but who is counting. Some of those guys were so scared, they dedicated a freakin ref next to my bunker to constantly keep checking my sorry ass and let them know the second I am out. It was funny. As long as you got the money to blow on this thing the gun is amazing, and redefines the word one-man-team. God help the newbie that tries to bunker me.
   

kamakazee Sunday, September 21st, 2003 | 4:35 pm PST
Open up the grip frame, there you go theres the yellow and blue buttons... when you buy a gun this expensive and advanced maybe you should try to learn a little about it. For the car charger the reason WDP does this is because Angels are used all over the world and there is not a standard AC plug for the planet so they use the car charger because that's one outlet that doesn't change country to country. The guage is in its place because they wanted it somewhere where it isn't in the way. If you've noticed angels have a fairly short reg and VRA so if they mounted it on the side of the VRA I'm sure many people would be unhappy becuase then the guage would be in the way of they're hand. I'm sure I would. Also what are you talking about with the trigger adjuster knobs? They are not hard to use at all and I'm not a 10 year old.

Another thing how can you suggest upgrades that don't even exist yet? Stock bolt is a ripoff of the R-11 Bolt which was better than the Cobra bolt and half the price. So I know that it will be much better than the Cobra. Then the trigger is a personal preference thing.

For this review you really should have acutally gone through the new features and acutally explain how well the work and what the pros and cons of them are(check the box it came in and actually look at what the features are). As I said earlier when you buy a gun this expensive and advanced maybe you should try to learn a little about it...
Last edited on Sunday, September 21st, 2003 at 5:13 pm PST
   

mocv Monday, September 22nd, 2003 | 1:24 am PST
Kamakazee>>

First of all, I DID know what I was getting into. I am not a pro but Im also not 5 years old, I know how to read the instructions very well and no where in the manual did I see that the yellow and blue buttons were located under the grip except for their pro-e models in the manual. That is what I was refering to - that they dont specifically explain where the buttons are in each step they are being referenced on. Someone who is using the Angel for the first time wouldn't know that if all he was doing was as you say "reading about it"
As far as the trigger adjustments go if you have the angel like you say you do you would know what Im talking about. I was talking about the over-travel wheel not the return stroke. If you live in Calif, you come down to jungle-island sometime and show me just how "easy" it is adjusting that wheel.
Now as far as the car charger which annoyed me more than anything, listen to this. I got pulled over before because a cop saw my paintball gun in the front seat with me. I dont know how and when you charge your angel but I hope you do know that its illegal to have it in your car. According to the cops the only place its allowed to be in is in the trunk. Check for yourself, contact your local police department or highway patrol...dont take my word for it.
And lets not forget about the gauge - I don't know how you play but I never seen bob long having problems putting the gauge on the side of the gun. You trying to justify why it was positioned where it is difficult to read is lame. "So it doesnt get in the way"...good one.
I didnt think me posting a review required me to talk about every feature this gun has. If you want to know every feature this gun has go to http://www.wdp-paintball.co.uk ...As far as my post, I said what I thought of the gun, how it felt, and what I would like to see differently. Sue me.
   

pbpsycho51 Thursday, September 25th, 2003 | 5:00 am PST
dude you have issues for calling up and bothering the guys at wdp.
   

mocv Thursday, September 25th, 2003 | 9:35 am PST
psycho>>if you had blown 1400 bucks on a paintball gun you'd be calling too. Im not calling to b*tch at them, I just wanted to leave feedback and I know if enough people do hopefully some things can be improved.
   

Emmit Monday, September 29th, 2003 | 3:06 pm PST
open your manual to page 7.......there's a pic of your board showing your blue and yellow buttons

the gauge is useful, and is in the right place, it's the only place you can look at it and not turn the marker to the side.

the vernier wheels are not supposed to be easy to manipulate, if you can't reach the back one take the grip cheeks off and adjust it.

I have to agree about upgrades that don't exist, that's just plain whacked.

as for saying that it's just a glorified IR3.....well that's just plain well........I'm going to bite my tongue....

I have however written a full review that discusses ALL the features of the Angel 4, and it can bee viewed at the Angel Owners website.
   

mocv Tuesday, September 30th, 2003 | 12:41 am PST
emmit>> dude what is it with you people and not reading...I specifically said that I saw the fancy pictures bud, I wanted instructions! Do you need me to draw you a picture? Someone who purchased the Angel 4 for the first time wouldnt know where the buttons are just from the pictures wouldnt you agree? Or are you such a pro that you can tell everything about the gun just by looking at a picture that has no labels?

Your reasoning for why the gun gauge was positioned where it was makes me glad I pointed out this flaw, I have not yet seen ONE intelligent reason of why it is there. Lets look at yours...."its the only place you can look at it and not turn the marker to the side"....very interesting. So I take it you look at this wonder gauge the entire time you are on the field right? I hope you dont think its a compass or something. Its just a pressure indicator and in my opinion you only need to look at it when you're tweaking your gun that is why I thought it would be best if it was on the side. Of course I could be wrong, what do I know right? Im just some confused newb and you pros know everything...hopefully some genius who really knows the reason why its there will enlighten those that agree with me of its uselessness.

Lets get to your next smart comment..."the vernier wheels are not supposed to be easy to manipulate"....interesting remark considering that WDP claims for it to be "the easiest and most precise trigger adjustment in the world"....go to wdp website and tell me I am wrong.

Some of you people fascinate me by trying to show me what a real review should be like. Talking about all these numinous features the Angel 4 has and what not...Well I am writing a review from the USER perspective and not from WDP's. I am telling all of you who have not bought this gun yet, have never owned an Angel before and are thinking of it - what its like to own it. What is good, what is bad, how useful I found some features to be and what I thought was lacking. Rather than criticizing my post and telling everyone how perfect this gun is, which Im sure everyone already knows why dont you do the readers of this forum good and mention some flaws with the gun so that it can be improved.
   

ulpian Tuesday, September 30th, 2003 | 6:43 am PST
FUNNY, very funny, mocv, are you sure you know how to use the gun, have you read the manual yet? or you are the kind of person who only play paintball twice a year?
   

Emmit Tuesday, September 30th, 2003 | 7:09 pm PST
you want a review? I showed you where there was a review. Yes I do own one, this is my 4th Angel. Yes I have one of the very first. Yes I know exactly how to operate this marker. If you can't figure it out, I'm sorry there's not much help for you
   

mocv Wednesday, October 1st, 2003 | 12:51 am PST
Emmit>> I already read your novel review on the angelowners...I found it discussing so many useful features we all needed to know..."The marker arrived intact, and scratch free"...good feature for you to point out Emmit, on a brand new gun...."Even with an Angel AIR system, which some people seem to think is extremely heavy, this marker is still super light. "...yeah Emmit, its "super light", if you're the incredible hulk. I think you also seemed confused at times when writing and/or operating your marker and you must have talked about the new vernier trigger at least 3 times even though once was more than enough. Still you did write a lot on the gun so I will feed you a bone on that.

With that said, I will finish off by saying I own the gun, I am very happy with it, I havent ran into ANY problems yet, I have researched and figured out every feature this marker has BEFORE I made any postings, my posts were complains with certain instructions and things I wished would have been done different.
   

pblover124 Tuesday, October 14th, 2003 | 6:33 pm PST
mocv- I have the angel speed. I am looking at the new 4 but im not sure if it is worth it to spend money. Is it significantly better then the speed and worth the extra 500?
   

kid paintballer Wednesday, October 15th, 2003 | 7:46 pm PST
yea i just wanted to say about mocv and any1 else who thinks the angel air is heavy which it sort of is........... you can swtich the tank with a lighter fibre one while still keeping the computer part of the angel air ...........i herd this from one of the angel techs from badlands
Last edited on Saturday, October 25th, 2003 at 9:45 pm PST
   

mocv Wednesday, October 15th, 2003 | 7:54 pm PST
pblover>>If I had the speed, I'd have to be high to spend 500 bucks for the extra features you get out of the A4...I'd keep the speed if I was you. Wait till the Angel 4 Force comes out...it looks promising.
   

pblover124 Wednesday, October 15th, 2003 | 7:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mocv
pblover>>If I had the speed, I'd have to be high to spend 500 bucks for the extra features you get out of the A4...I'd keep the speed if I was you. Wait till the Angel 4 Force comes out...it looks promising.
thanx dude. Good review
   

paladin Sunday, October 19th, 2003 | 8:24 am PST
I don't yet have an Angel 4 but just from looking @ the picture you can tell it looks like it is a cheap gauge and it is obviously in a Sh*tty spot. But I don't see what the big deal is, Its A STOCK GAUGE! Ignore it if you don't like it and get a new inline or use it if you don't like it. I agree with you>MOCV. OH, and another thing i don't get is why does WDP have nothing about the A4 on their site?????
Last edited on Sunday, October 19th, 2003 at 8:29 am PST
   

mocv Monday, October 20th, 2003 | 10:21 am PST
Thanks paladin....they used to have it pop up on their home page, now they are trying to promote their overpriced clothing line I guess. The link to the A4 was not removed tho, you just can't get to it from anywhere. http://www.wdp-paintball.co.uk/news2003/angel4/angel4ii.htm

   

afee Friday, October 24th, 2003 | 4:57 am PST
I am sorry mocv but no offence but you are saying that you arent a NooB, but im afraid i cant beleive you on that one... you only have to look at most of the posts on this gun and see how good it is ... WDP put a lot of thought into this gun ... and im sorry but the reg guage is in a perfectly fine place ... there are 2 reasons for the positioning...

1) it reduces profile
2) ever heard of ergonomics???

and as for the "not knowing where the blue and yellow switches are " that is just lame .. the picture shows a picture of teh board with an lcd screen on ... hmmmmm now where could that be ? well its obviously not in the barrel or the bolt chamber is it?

a little common sense is needed when buying a gun like this ...

if you think you can be a better gun designer then fcuking well do it yourself if you think your so good

PLUS your review makes no sense .. you slag it off then you give it 10/10 ... nuff sed..
   

mocv Friday, October 24th, 2003 | 11:22 am PST
ok afee...just curious is that short for Mcafee? Anyways, yes I said that Im not a noob, I also said Im not a pro either. Really, for the millionth time though, I SEE THE YELLOW AND BLUE BUTTONS dude. I am not blind. My point was, no labels, no directions where they were ANYWHERE in the manual. Yeah, the pretty pictures are nice but the pictures have no labels. Im supposed to figure it all out huh or ask my pro friends, why have a manual at all?

For once on this post Im not gonna attack you on the reg gauge, just because your choice of words were better than "So it doesnt get in the way" or "Its the only place you can look at it and not turn the marker to the side"...but in either case, I still think it's useless.

I didn't say the marker is that bad afee dont take it so personally just because I wanted to point out flaws on a package that all you pros think is flawless, and the reason I gave it 10/10 is because when I went on the field I felt like a god....
I took people on 3 at a time, newbies were shivering when they saw me spraying balls at their friends, I took out families (A dad, and his 3 kids hidding behind him), I caused damage in peoples relationships (This guy was yelling at his girlfriend for not covering the right side properly otherwise they wouldnt get bunkered by me and hit with 6 balls each, the girlfriend was crying "well you didnt tell me to, you dont tell me anything...you never talk to me!" and had people screaming to ref "REF! dammit!!! do your job, someone is using a freakin machine gun down there!!!" ...I only lost against serious hardcore pros (and Im not talking about pros that have good guns, Im talking about pros that have excellent team tactics)
So this was my reason for the 10/10 afee, and always will be. The little things I was knit picky about are no big deal to me when Im actually playing on the field...I never said the marker performed poorly or broke down on me all the time, all I said was no labels on all the control buttons, reg gauge randomly positioned, car charger is given instead of wall charger and one of the adjustment knobs was hard to maneuver.

If you want to know what I think would be sick - instead of that gauge, have a pressure sensor and display the pressure going into the gun on the LCD screen, have the trigger adjustments electronic instead of mechanical and incorporate Bluetooth technology into the marker for communication because IR is old news , but then again what do I know...you are the pro right afee? Im just some confused noob...
   

pblover124 Saturday, October 25th, 2003 | 5:46 am PST
all angels including the angel 4 come w/ detailed manuals
   
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media