paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on JCRV's Review / Comments on JCRV's Review / Comments on JCRV's Review / Comments on JCRV's Review

Comments on JCRV's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

JCRV Thursday, April 19th, 2001
 
126 of 148 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Looks mean. Very Quiet. Light, but not too light. Great price!!
Weaknesses: Nothing really, does'nt seem to shoot cheap paint very well, see conclusion.....
Conclusion: I actually took this barrel out and did some "testing". I shot at two different targets (a tire rim hanging from a wall and an old car door) from about
75 feet (25 yards) out. I used Viewloader and Super Swirl paintballs. I recorded
each brands performance and wrote it down :

VIEWLOADER :

Out of 100 balls only 1 broke. Accuracy when I would shoot one shot at a time
would vary dramatically, alot of curves and dives. But when I would shoot
5 -10 shots very rapidly the accuracy was almost perfect. Distance when I
would shoot 1 at a time would also vary. Like I said, alot of curves and dives.
But again, when I would shoot rapidly the barrel impressed me, hitting almost
the same exact spot each time from 75 feet out. I would not reccomend using
Viewloader paintballs with this barrel.

SUPER SWIRL :

Out of 100 balls 0 broke. Accuracy when I would fire 1 shot at a time was
almost perfect. Accuracy when I would fire rapidly was even better! Distance
was equally as impressive. The rim hanging from the wall was at about 5 feet
high and 75 feet away - the paintball never seemed to lose velocity as it
traveled towards it. I experienced no curves or dives with this paint as I did
with the Viewloader. I reccomend this paint or any paint that's not Brass Eagle
or Viewloader. I myself use Diablo (Midnight, Blaze, Sheridan) PMI Gold, or
Super Swirl.

This seems to and very well may be the absolute best barrel in it's price
range. It havent "battle tested" it yet, but when
I do I will give a follow up review on it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 1st, 2004 at 1:33 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Woogie12 Tuesday, July 29th, 2003 | 2:42 pm PST
Man, you put alot of work into this...good job!
   

mattwestlake Tuesday, October 21st, 2003 | 4:28 pm PST
Thanx a lot, I found exactly the same thing. I tend to use cheaper paint and as soon as I start shooting fast they just go straight, thanx.
   

pbkid1085 Monday, November 17th, 2003 | 6:40 pm PST
hey man thanks... i was thinking about buying this barrell, and your review... and a couple others made me order it... i found that i liked it alot too
   

red111sniper Sunday, November 23rd, 2003 | 5:00 pm PST
thanks alot man your review alone made me order it and when i got a ran the same kinda a test and you were 100% right thanks alot... lol now i my favorite barrels are the boomstick and the tear drop
   

Rancher16 Saturday, December 20th, 2003 | 7:38 am PST
I wish all posts look like this because this you can trust! thanks man(btw this barrel is awesome)
   

pokinatcha Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 1:48 pm PST
what size bore is this barrel
   

randomness3360 Friday, January 2nd, 2004 | 12:15 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pokinatcha
what size bore is this barrel
.68 i believe(whatever size proballs are)
   

RsF_T-bone Sunday, January 11th, 2004 | 5:56 pm PST
hey i just got my spyder electra and i was wondering if game face paint shoots good?

thx :)
   

cypher69 Monday, February 2nd, 2004 | 8:49 am PST
thanks alot dude, this is truly the mother of all reviews
   

cypher69 Monday, February 2nd, 2004 | 8:50 am PST
thanks alot dude, this is truly the mother of all reviews
   

paintballpat Wednesday, March 17th, 2004 | 12:25 pm PST
Hey man nice review, its good to know there are people out there ACTUALLY reviewing the product instead of just comparing it to other stuff. Good Job!
   

splatterhead Sunday, April 18th, 2004 | 9:29 am PST
nice review, made me feel a lot better about having one of these on its way to me in the post, i'll put up a review when i get mine and test it
   

S77bubba Friday, June 11th, 2004 | 10:47 pm PST
Which barrel is better, the twister, evil driver, teardrop, or flatline?
   

ghost1 Monday, July 5th, 2004 | 12:45 pm PST
how is it better than the progressive barrel?
   

$peedStick Monday, November 29th, 2004 | 5:20 pm PST
^I was wondering the same. I think only the cosmetics are different.

I just ordered a Teardrop for my A5 and will have a review up in a few weeks. (have to test first)
   

NATO Wednesday, December 8th, 2004 | 9:00 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by S77bubba
Which barrel is better, the twister, evil driver, teardrop, or flatline?

I myself own an Evil-Driver and some friends of mine own a flatline, and while competing in some tournys i had the chance to see the Teardrop in action and i still remain impressed with all of them. The Driver is kicka$$...highly accurate but if you have old or cheap paint its not afraid to chop. The flatline kicks to cause its so F#ckin accurate but it slows down the balls tad. The Teardrop shoots clean fast and accurately...its not REAL quiet but its better than most barrels...it chopped when i observed it but the gun contributes to chops as well.
   

sandman515 Thursday, December 9th, 2004 | 4:17 pm PST
I have a spyder imagine and i am looking for my first upgrade barrel. Which should 1 should i get that is under $50
   

$peedStick Sunday, December 12th, 2004 | 12:29 pm PST
^I'd say a progressive or teardrop.
   

NATO Sunday, December 12th, 2004 | 3:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sandman515
I have a spyder imagine and i am looking for my first upgrade barrel. Which should 1 should i get that is under $50

For a spyder i'd get a Driver but thats me...if you dont mind spending $70 bucks
   

PaintBaller1818 Friday, December 31st, 2004 | 9:24 am PST
I ordered this barrel and I have heard that if you have a break it's hard to clean the barrel because of all the holes. Is this really that big of a problem, and if so how do you deal with it?
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media