paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on waffles' Review / Comments on waffles' Review / Comments on waffles' Review / Comments on waffles' Review

Comments on waffles' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

waffles Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months116 of 123 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200 :)
Marker Setup: M3 Patriot Sniper:
CP chrome Flame Drop - Empire Chrome On/OFF - Check-It Powerstation Reg.
Dye Boomstick 14" - Check-it Assault Block - Maddman Rocket Valve
Check-it Delrin bolt. - Empire Reloader - PMI 65/3000
Strengths: Sound activation doesn't wait for gap to feed balls
Weaknesses: See Below
Review: You have to ask yourself, what do you want out of your hopper? It really goes without saying that the HALO B is the top hopper in the industry, but for a majority of the people out there, it is overkill. The ricochet line is very good, but its arguable that they do feed slightly slower than the Reloader and they are more expensive. But they only use 1 9v cell vs the 2 9v cells that the reloader requires. the VL revolutions, well there is ABSOLUTELY no reason to go with a Revy over the Reloader. The eVLution II is quite fast and it is arguably better than the Reloader, but it is also more expensive.

How often do you REALLY shoot above 15 bps? I think it is more important to spend the money on making your gun more accurate so it takes LESS shots to mark someone.

For $50 the Reloader gives you flawless 15 bps.

There are a few little quirks I've had with my reloader though. My particular shell seems a bit cheap, but it also isn't the same shell my friend got on his brand new reloader. I broke the cover that goes over the batteries when I Dropped the hopper. Now I have a screw holding it in place. If you overfill the hopper than the impeller doesn't have enough room to work, so it doesn't hold a full 200 rounds. I still don't quite know how long the batteries last. I kind of have the habbit of changing batteries before I head out onto the field for the first time, but they do last a full day quite easily.
Conclusion: With hoppers you have LOTS of options. If you have nothing else to spend the $30 to $50 difference on then go ahead and get an EvoII or a Halo B. what the heck. But if you have upgrades for your gun that you still need to do then go with the Reloader and save the $30 to $50 for upgrades.

Because there ARE faster hopppers out there I can't say its a 10, but when you take PRICE into consideration it is definately among the best in its price range. Therefore I have to give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Squirrelrocket Sunday, February 22nd, 2004 | 8:50 am PST
Nice review
   

Stanman Thursday, April 15th, 2004 | 12:35 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Squirrelrocket
Nice review

Yeah what he said...
   

hybrid-sniper Friday, April 23rd, 2004 | 11:01 am PST
Reloader can only feed a max of 13balls per second, thats all gravity will allow.
   

barrel0fMonkeys Wednesday, May 5th, 2004 | 6:49 pm PST
with some force of the propeller it might
   

Stanman Thursday, May 6th, 2004 | 7:01 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by hybrid-sniper
Reloader can only feed a max of 13balls per second, thats all gravity will allow.

we have to take into consideration the pressure from the overlying balls... For example if you poke a hole in the top of a 2 liter bottle it just dribbles out right? Now if you poke a hole in the bottom of the bottle liquid come streaming out... So one must take that into consideration... of course that does mean that your maximum feed rate does fluxtuate with how many balls are in your hopper...
   

DAR_ZP06 Wednesday, May 12th, 2004 | 7:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Stanman


we have to take into consideration the pressure from the overlying balls... For example if you poke a hole in the top of a 2 liter bottle it just dribbles out right? Now if you poke a hole in the bottom of the bottle liquid come streaming out... So one must take that into consideration... of course that does mean that your maximum feed rate does fluxtuate with how many balls are in your hopper...

Wow, i never thought of any thing like that... thats cool. btw, good review
   

samx Friday, May 14th, 2004 | 12:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Stanman


we have to take into consideration the pressure from the overlying balls... For example if you poke a hole in the top of a 2 liter bottle it just dribbles out right? Now if you poke a hole in the bottom of the bottle liquid come streaming out... So one must take that into consideration... of course that does mean that your maximum feed rate does fluxtuate with how many balls are in your hopper...

thats right, i once got 12 bps out of a gravity fed hopper when it was full, but only for 5 shots before it chopped.
   

Slyclops14 Sunday, September 12th, 2004 | 10:55 am PST
The batteries will last way more than a day... I had one set in for about 9 months and it still never started flashing, indicating that the batteries were low. Although I was not playing every day or week, I still played many times - much more than one day.
   

The_Hawk Tuesday, December 14th, 2004 | 6:12 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by samx

thats right, i once got 12 bps out of a gravity fed hopper when it was full, but only for 5 shots before it chopped.

Soooo...let me get this straight...you...got 12 bps from it by only shooting 5 shots? Did you keep shooting after the break, or did you just stop? 'Cause if you stopped...then that'd be only..5 balls per second. Just wondering..
   

monkey-poo Saturday, December 18th, 2004 | 1:26 pm PST
he should of stopped shooting when it started chopping
   

pballer4587 Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 | 7:18 am PST
chya u can say that again never shoot with a broken ball in the barrel or in the thing near the bolt and the feed neck.!!:-D
   

um..... Monday, December 27th, 2004 | 7:46 am PST
i have an e-99 avent and the crap vl quantom loader. would the empire work good on my avent???
   

taLking_cheDDar Thursday, December 30th, 2004 | 6:29 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by The_Hawk

Soooo...let me get this straight...you...got 12 bps from it by only shooting 5 shots? Did you keep shooting after the break, or did you just stop? 'Cause if you stopped...then that'd be only..5 balls per second. Just wondering..


i was going to say that also
   

PaintballNasty1 Saturday, January 1st, 2005 | 7:41 pm PST
I thought that gravity hoppers only feed at a max of 8bps without help.
   

benkipper Wednesday, February 9th, 2005 | 7:18 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by um.....
i have an e-99 avent and the crap vl quantom loader. would the empire work good on my avent???

Anything is better than a s*** quantum
   

i_am_ramone Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 | 4:19 pm PST
Wow There's a lot of comments on this review. Most of them having nothing to do with the review. Great review though. You got your priorties straight.
   

airsoftisgay Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 | 7:34 pm PST
Hey can any of u tell me if Revolution shells can fit on my reloader?
   

desertscreamer Friday, July 1st, 2005 | 7:38 pm PST
is a gravity loader much different from the one found in stock packages or would the stock loader be a gravity loader cuz im relli confused
   

Azmodon Wednesday, July 6th, 2005 | 7:54 pm PST
okay.... first off, nice review, but it's not "when do you really shoot 15 bps" it's, WHEN you do, do you want to shop, or keep shooting. (in comments->) Everything was cool until hawk asked "wouldn't that be 5 bps" ... and cheddar also has this question.. so, I'll answer that. QUESTION: I shoot 2 balls 0.0625 seconds apart... just 2 balls. I've just shot at 16 balls per second (0.0625*16=1). so he shot 5 shots at 0.0833 seconds apart, then it chopped, hence, "shot 5 shots then chopped at 12 bps".

The speed of a gravity hopper actually slows to 0 if nothing is done to it, their design is to be used on older mech guns which have kick, which vibrates them enough to load the next ball. Technically you could get a gravity hopper to feed around 18 bps if the balls were stacked one on top of the other.

If you are using a mechanical gun, a revvy will work fine, a "reloader" is a revvy with a sound activation board inside that makes it a bit faster and will work with any paint.

revvy shells should fit... they are the exact same design.

a gravity loader is the one most often found in "stock" or "beginner" packages, they range in price from 4-9 dollars. It's a bent pod with a tube in the convex side... no motor, just plastic. To find out more, go to google.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 6th, 2005 at 7:55 pm PST
   

paintballer279 Wednesday, July 20th, 2005 | 9:56 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by hybrid-sniper
Reloader can only feed a max of 13balls per second, thats all gravity will allow.

Hey guys give him a break, I just did a test and unloaded 185 balls in 12 seconds which come out to be 15.42 bps... so yes the reloader does produce a flawless 15 bps
Last edited on Thursday, July 21st, 2005 at 2:46 pm PST
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media