paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on drick's Review / Comments on drick's Review / Comments on drick's Review / Comments on drick's Review

Comments on drick's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

drick Sunday, October 5th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocker barrel, dye 12"
Marker Setup: 99' cocker, ans jackhammer II internals, delrin bolt, dye 45' trigger assembly / grip, evolution II hopper system, ans drop forward / bottom line for compressed air (not co2)
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil or draxxus shot very well
Strengths: accuracy, stabilized chrono, paint choices
Weaknesses: price, carry case, availiiblity
Review: well, i like the barrel kit, no question about it..

3 complaints, all about logistics related to the barrel system versus the operation of it.

1. their order entry / tracking system is pretty bad. no one could tell me when it was going to ship, or when it would arrive. i expect more than that for the price tag.

2. no competition or availiblilty to purchase online from another vendor. you can buy any other barrel system from any of 25 online stores and this in turn drives the prices down, which is good for the consumer. since i purchased directly from them, i had to pay full price. i hope that more companies begin to stock them, and that the prices go down, and selction goes up.

3. the "case " that they come in. all of the other barrel systems i looked at that cost LESS (freak, evil, etc.) come with a hard case to protect the DELICATE inserts. I've had my inserts for under 72 hours, and already chipped one of them by dropping something onto the soft case. i think powerlyte should provide a MUCH better case than the soft plastic case which really is just a holder, and provides no protection.

aside from those complaints, the barrel shoots VERY straight, with great patterns. the dye 12' barrel i was using before is put to shame by comparison.

my advice would be to wait until more online stores stock them, and to purchase it from a reseller with a hard case at the same time.
Conclusion: if you can afford this, are patient, and don't mind purchasing a 3rd party carry case for the syste, then this is the system for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
drick Tuesday, October 7th, 2003 | 4:32 pm PST
nice post.

if you know so much, show me 5 sites that carry the 5 piece sceptre systems.
   

mijintel Monday, November 3rd, 2003 | 12:38 am PST
DUDE!!? are you doing a review on the barrel system or there coustomer service? Dont be mad because you paid a lil extra. People like you make this site worthless. Always cryin about some stupid a$$ $hit!! gte over it dawg! you got burned, life goes on. now review the damn barrel!!!!!!!!
   

drick Tuesday, November 4th, 2003 | 4:26 am PST
those are not 2 separate things in my opinion..

the barrel shoots GREAT, and the patterns are tight..

i'm not mad at all, just poiinting out some shortcoming in the system.

   

supersoaka Friday, December 19th, 2003 | 4:28 am PST
availibility and orice is to go in the reviews so shut up if no one carries it then it will cost more and ythat sucks
   

ghostkamikaze Thursday, December 25th, 2003 | 5:45 pm PST
he has a point those cases if u can call them that are pieces of $hit but u dont rate it 8 because u couldnt track it or because the people YOU ordered it from had bad service dont take the rateing beacuse you had a bad experience w/ service this site is ment to find the best product not the best service and the only point u had that had 2 do with the product was the bad case.
   

hereiskyle Friday, January 2nd, 2004 | 11:38 pm PST
review the barrel not the customer service and the barrel bag.
   

Scott07 Sunday, January 4th, 2004 | 8:52 pm PST
I think its totally fine to dock points for the barrel case, thats part of what you paid for and didnt meet expectations, but shipping and customer service has nothing to do with the product. Everything on that site shares shipping and customer service so dont throw it in with the thing you ordered.
   

Car3270c Wednesday, January 14th, 2004 | 8:06 pm PST
I agree that ur supposed to be reviewing the barrel. You bad experiences didn't seem to happen with the other reviewers. The availibility problem was that it was an extremely in demand barrel because its so good. YOu shouldn't be talking about the customer service unless you ordered it straight from powerlyte and even so you are reviewing this awesome piece of barrel. The scepter system should have all 10's across the board.
   

cutomcocker1 Saturday, March 13th, 2004 | 12:17 pm PST
um...the bending of the inserts was your fault...not the barrels...
   

waffles Monday, March 22nd, 2004 | 3:03 am PST
man, I gotta agree with everyone else. Gotta review the BARREL. I'm not looking for reviews of the customer service of some web site.

And to dock points for chipping an insert? Now if you did it while putting the insert IN the barrel I can understand that. But for dropping something on it? thats 'tarded...

"Well ... I really like the Halo B but I dropped it and the shell chipped so I'm giving it a 7..."

Consider changing your review to actually review the PRODUCT....
Last edited on Monday, March 22nd, 2004 at 3:05 am PST
   

waffles Monday, March 22nd, 2004 | 3:07 am PST
Actually, I understand docking points for the soft case which in turn caused damage to one of the inserts...

My apologies..
   

drick Tuesday, March 30th, 2004 | 8:54 pm PST
update on the barrel system (so everyone can get off me now)

4 other observations,

1. the soft case sucks, and that's how i chipped the barrel, dropping it WHILE IN THE CASE.

2. i've also noticed that the grooves on the stainless back have gotten rough, and the barrel got stuck in the gun so bad i had to use a soft wrench to get it out. i clean my gun / barrels religiously and use a generous amount of lube on everything, so not sure why that happened. the bottom set of grooves is already getting worn / chipped.

3. i've found the last few times i've played, that the new evil paint is still falling out of the gun, even with the .684 (smallest one that comes with the 5 piece) insert in. when i get the new .680 insert i will let you all know if that fixes the problem.

4. i also ordered the 16" front, i want to see if that will extend my accuracy/range at all, the system is great close in, but accuracy and breaks tail off further out.
   

player4 Monday, May 31st, 2004 | 3:50 pm PST
let's just go throw our barrels around, you idoit
Last edited on Tuesday, June 1st, 2004 at 2:54 pm PST
   

player4 Monday, May 31st, 2004 | 3:51 pm PST
and take s*** care of them
   

thamcon Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 7:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by hereiskyle
review the barrel not the customer service and the barrel bag.

You might have gotten the one in a million bad barrel, but dont mark it down for customer service!!!
   

Shifty01 Saturday, April 9th, 2005 | 12:38 am PST
There's gotta be a way to get rid of irrelevant reviews.............
Last edited on Saturday, April 9th, 2005 at 12:38 am PST
   

Battleaxe3 Monday, May 2nd, 2005 | 6:11 pm PST
Just because he didnt give it a 10 everyone gets all worked up just because in thier opinion its an awesome barrelr its an opinion, hes explained himself very well so lay off him, 5 is average and he gave it an 8... chill.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 10th, 2005 at 2:28 pm PST
   

inston02 Wednesday, July 6th, 2005 | 8:32 pm PST
GO BATTLEAXE3!
   

AsphaltDragon Sunday, September 25th, 2005 | 4:53 pm PST
Agree'd with BattleAxe. Y'all so stoopid, this site is meant to give you information, and if you can't take a dissing on your barrel then clean the sand outta yo' muffin and shut up about it.
Fwa-Shing!
   

jam*wil Friday, October 21st, 2005 | 10:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by drick
3. i've found the last few times i've played, that the new evil paint is still falling out of the gun, even with the .684 (smallest one that comes with the 5 piece) insert in. when i get the new .680 insert i will let you all know if that fixes the problem.

Just so you know, if balls are rolling out of your gun, thats a problem with your detents, not your barrel.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media